Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for WaterBrook Press The Christmas Singing - eBook: A Romance from the Heart of Amish Country

WaterBrook Press The Christmas Singing - eBook: A Romance from the Heart of Amish Country

Average Customer Rating:
4.569 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(51 Reviews) 51
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (51 reviews)
5 stars
35
4 stars
11
3 stars
4
2 stars
1
1 star
0
49 out of 5196%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for The Christmas Singing - eBook: A Romance from the Heart of Amish Country
Review 1 for The Christmas Singing - eBook: A Romance from the Heart of Amish Country
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Entertaining Read

Date:November 11, 2013
Customer Avatar
Bonnie Kerns
Location:Thorndike, ME
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Thoroughly enjoyed reading this edition. The author is a fine story teller and I am adding other books by this author to my collection. Keep up the good job.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for The Christmas Singing - eBook: A Romance from the Heart of Amish Country
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

The Christmas Singing

Date:February 29, 2012
Customer Avatar
a walk through the pages
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The Christmas Singing tells the sweet story of Mattie and Gideon.
They grew up together in the Amish community of Apple Ridge, Pennsylvania. Just when most would be considering marriage, they suddenly broke things off after Mattie finds Gideon in the arms of an English woman.
Mattie must begin again. She moves to Ohio, opens a cake shop and has a new boyfriend. Things seem to be going well when suddenly everything begins to fall apart. She is injured when Mattie’s Cakes catches on fire. With her shop destroyed, she goes home to Apple Ridge to recover with family. Little does she know an old chapter of her life will be reopened when she encounters Gideon again.
There is much more to the story behind their breakup. You will not discover the conclusion of Mattie and Gideon’s story until to come to the final pages of this novella. It is an enjoyable journey.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for The Christmas Singing - eBook: A Romance from the Heart of Amish Country
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A great Amish romance!

Date:December 25, 2011
Customer Avatar
Nicole
Location:Charlottesville, VA
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have never read a book that took place in an Amish community or by Cindy Woodsmall before this and from the first page of this book I absolutely fell in love with it. Woodsmall draws you in to the story and makes you feel at home. I felt devastated when Mattie did and when she was happy I smiled right along with her through the book. From start to finish I read this book in less then 15 hours, I was completely absorbed. Woodsmall gives you just enough detail about these characters lives that you feel you are among them, living this life with them. This is a book I will most definitely be recommending!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for The Christmas Singing - eBook: A Romance from the Heart of Amish Country
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Loved this story!

Date:February 2, 2012
Customer Avatar
Jeanne Kimball
Location:NM
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book was a Christmas present. I really enjoyed it. I could not put it down. I hope to find a sequel to the book. I would love to read about the rest of her story ie. her wedding and family life married to Gideon.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for The Christmas Singing - eBook: A Romance from the Heart of Amish Country
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

great story

Date:December 15, 2011
Customer Avatar
Debbie
Location:Alabama
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I just finished reading The Christmas Singing, by bestselling author, Cindy Woodsmall. I enjoy reading Amish fiction and have read a few of Cindy Woodsmall’s other books.
The plot dealt with an Amish woman who had been jilted by the man she loved. Several years later, after moving away, finding a new relationship, and opening a business, her old boyfriend came back into her life and she began to discover that the past was not what she had believed it to be.
I found the first couple of chapters a bit slow in this book—there were a lot of characters to keep up with. But once I got a bit into the book, the story really pulled me in. I stayed up late to finish the book because I didn’t want to put it down! This is a great story for Christmas or any time.
Thank you to WaterbrookMultnomah for providing me with a free e-book for this review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for The Christmas Singing - eBook: A Romance from the Heart of Amish Country
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

So much fun for Christmas! Must have!

Date:November 30, 2011
Customer Avatar
Leorah
Location:USA
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Cindy W. is definitively a new favorite author of mine. I haven't read a lot of Amish fiction but wanted to try it out so I bought a load. This was one of the definite favorites though!
It was such a wonderful story and I loved the characters! The story also just seemed so real to me which is something it a book I favor.
All in all it was just a sweet little Christmas read that got me really pumped for Christmas. I really found myself wrapped up in this book. Speaking of wrapped up, I am planning on wrapping a few of these to give out as gifts as after reading this, I knew it was something I for one would like to receive. This is a must read and I totally recommend it!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for The Christmas Singing - eBook: A Romance from the Heart of Amish Country
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

christmas singing review

Date:January 6, 2012
Customer Avatar
beckie
Age:35-44
Gender:female
I received "The Christmas Singing" by Cindy Woodsmall for free from Blogging For Books. This is a novella about a girl Mattie and her bitter breakup. Three years prior, Gideon, her boyfriend, broke up with her when she walked in on him hugging another girl, in his house, alone. She moves 6 hours away to live near her brother, start her own cake making business, and to move on. She meets Sol and has been dating him the last 2 years. Sol is not the passionate love that one dreams of. He is safe, direct, not passionate, and gets along fine without Mattie. Which means he won't break her heart since he never really has it.
Mattie's cake shop catches fire and she has to move back temporarily with her parents. Back to Gideon. While there, Mattie and Gideon meet back up with passion. Of course it is the passion of hate, but still its a blaze.
I like this book fairly well. As you know, I'm not a big fan of Amish books, but this one is not bad. The people are real. There biggest fear isn't where and when they will find their next shoo-fly pie. They are normal everyday people. I like that in my Amish.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for The Christmas Singing - eBook: A Romance from the Heart of Amish Country
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

"The Christmas Singing"

Date:January 3, 2012
Customer Avatar
Shoopette
Location:Indiana
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Three years ago at Christmastime, Mattie Eash’s childhood sweetheart, Gideon Beiler, broke her heart. Since then, Mattie has picked up the pieces of her life. She moved to Ohio, started her own cake shop, and even found a new beau.
But when she must return home due to unforeseen circumstances, Mattie comes face-to-face with Gideon and with the truth that has been hiding all these years.
Christmas is a special time of year for everyone, but especially for Mattie and Gideon, and it might just be the gift they were both looking for.
When I sat down to read this book, it was the absolute best time I could have chosen. My daughter was napping, the house was peaceful, and the first snow of the winter season in Indiana was falling outside. (Sigh.)
For the rest of the afternoon, I just enjoyed this nice story that takes place during the Christmas season.
The Christmas Singing is by Cindy Woodsmall, and it is an Amish novella that includes characters from at least one of the author’s previous books.
One thing I liked about this book was that even though I was not familiar with the characters, I was still able to enjoy the story. There was enough background given by the author that I understood what was going on. I also liked the aspect that Mattie owned her own bakery. It was an interesting addition to the plot, and I loved the name of her shop: “Mattie Cakes.”
My one complaint is that towards the end Mattie and Gideon spend a day together, and I would have loved to go through that day with them. I felt as if the story had built up until this point, and I was disappointed to not be able to experience that day through their eyes.
The plot of The Christmas Singing is typical for a romantic Christmas story, but I still enjoyed it. I didn’t find myself being bored, even though it was comfortable. It was a great little book to curl up with on a snowy afternoon and read about the Christmas season.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for The Christmas Singing - eBook: A Romance from the Heart of Amish Country
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Lessons from a Christmas Singing

Date:January 1, 2012
Customer Avatar
Bullwifey
Location:Longview, TX
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book is another great work by Cindy Woodsmall. It is the continuing story of The Sound of Sleigh Bells. I loved how the reader is led to believe one thing about Gideon and Mattie, the two main characters. Cindy weaves the truth through segments in conversations and finally when the truth is revealed--Mattie's heart breaks once again, but not in a betraying way. The one truth that is taught through this story is to never marry or have an easy relationship to avoid hurt. Life hurts sometimes, and two is better than one...another truth that is revealed in this relationship saga between Gideon and Mattie. What would you choose to do---if you found out dreadful news that would affect two people?---End the relationship or continue --knowing that pain will follow? Read this book and enjoy the ending as much as I did.
I received this book for free from WaterBrook Multnomah Publishing Group for this review
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for The Christmas Singing - eBook: A Romance from the Heart of Amish Country
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

An Enchanting Christmas Tale

Date:December 31, 2011
Customer Avatar
Amanda
Location:Michigan
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This week I got the pleasure to read “The Christmas Singing” by Cindy Woodsmall. Once I started reading it I couldn’t put it down. It is a delightful story about a young Amish woman who learns there is always hope for a broken heart in the magic of Christmas.
It is a story that speaks of tragedy, loss, and brokenness, and the restoration and hope that comes from second chances. “The Christmas Singing” will grab your attention from the start and hold it until the very end. You will leave it believing that God is truly a god of second chances and is always willing to breathe life into forgotten and lost dreams.
You will defiantly want to take time this holiday season to read “The Christmas Singing” by Cindy Woodsmall, even if you are not into Amish fiction I think anyone would enjoy this beautiful Christmas story. I do not usually go for the Amish fiction but I truly enjoyed this one and finished it in one afternoon.
I received this book from Waterbrook Multnomah Publishers through their Blogging for Books program in exchange for this review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for The Christmas Singing - eBook: A Romance from the Heart of Amish Country
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A Sweet Romance!

Date:December 31, 2011
Customer Avatar
Robin Prater
Location:Missouri
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Cindy Woodsmall is such a talented writer. She has that ability to share a story and allow your heart to feel the emotions that each character is going through at the time. This is such a sweet, tender story of love, trust and honesty. The story just flows and the characters are believable.
This is a great book to cuddle up with this season and count your blessings one by one. Love can be lost, yes, but great love finds a way back to your heart.
Something I really love about the story is how restoration comes. Although you see broken hearts, we see that God has a way of always repairing that brokenness and setting us above the heartache to find joy. Most of the time that joy is found in places we least expect them.
We too cannot replace what we are missing with something else just to sooth our heart. God is our love story. He and only He can complete us. We clearly see throughout this story that when we wait upon the Lord, He shows us what is clear and true.
I love the character, Gideon. He is so in love with Mattie that he feels in some way he must protect her as he goes through a trial. A trial he doesn't want to touch, Mattie. He truly feels he must keep it a secret, but the Lord makes way for his truth to be known and shows him that honesty is always the best blessing. Through his trial, God grows him and makes Maddie's heart ready to hear the truth.
A sweet, sweet romance that you yourself will fall in love with.
This book was a gift from WaterBrook Press for it's review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for The Christmas Singing - eBook: A Romance from the Heart of Amish Country
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A delightful Amish novella

Date:December 29, 2011
Customer Avatar
Marianne
Location:El Mirage, Arizona
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My Review
What a delightful story author Cindy Woodsmall brings to us this Christmas season - right from the heart of Amish country, from an Amish community in Ohio to one in Pennsylvania. I believe it is because the Amish have intentionally removed themselves from many of the things we use, that they are able to cultivate the closeness of community that we all wish for. 
Although this is a novella, Cindy very aptly deals with all the issues you might find in a full length novel, and the characters are all well developed. Issues like betrayal, heartache, loss, and restorationone are some of the most promanent in this novel. Since this is a Christmas novella, the story is short and fast, but sweet and easy to relate to. Mattie is sincere, but easily distracted, Gideon feels he can control life. How often don't we tend to fall into the same things?
The story is told both from Mattie's view point as well as from Gideon's. This might be confusing, except the author has done a very good job keeping this clear in the reader's mind.
I read this in one afternoon, and would recommend it to any of my friends. Even if you don't particularly enjoy Amish romance, I believe that you would enjoy this short glimpse into the life of Mattie and Gideon.
I received this book from WaterbrookMultnomah Publishers through their Blogging for Books program in exchange for an honest review. I was not required to make a positive review, and the opinions expressed in this review are my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for The Christmas Singing - eBook: A Romance from the Heart of Amish Country
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

The Christmas Singing

Date:December 29, 2011
Mattie Eash was enjoying her life in Berlin, Ohio. Her bakery was doing well and she loved her job. All the hard work of decorating was worth it as she saw the joy on the customer's faces when they saw her handiwork made for them.
Mattie was dating Sol and couldn't ask for a nicer guy. They went on dates and enjoyed their time together. They allowed one another time to do their own hobbies. They had a very comfortable relationship. She was finally able to stop thinking about Gideon Beiler. She had dated him until he cheated on her three years ago.
Mattie's bakery burnt down so she returned home to Apple Ridge, Pennsylvania. She wasn't planning on going, but her mother's health was getting worse. She wanted to spend time with her. Mattie was planning to return to Ohio on Christmas Eve.
While Mattie was staying in Apple Ridge, her Aunt Lizzy and cousin Beth were getting married. She wanted to make their wedding cakes. She couldn't make them at her parent's house. She worked on them at Beth's new house that was being built. The only problem was that Gideon was the one working on the house.
Mattie went from being angry at Gideon to deciding to forgive him. They grew up together, so they know each other well. Mattie actually started to enjoy their time together, just like the old days. Sol decided to visit Mattie. He let her know that he'd be at the Christmas Singing on Christmas Eve waiting for her when she returned to Ohio.
Mattie found out the truth as to why Gideon broke her heart the way he did. She returned to Ohio confused by her emotions and what to do with them. When she received a package in the mail on Christmas Eve, she found her answer. Meanwhile, in Apple Ridge, Gideon decided to go to the Christmas Singing. He is sure that Mattie would never return to Apple Ridge but he wanted to keep his promise to her this one last time. When they were a couple, he told her he would always go to the yearly Christmas Singing until they were married. He kept his promise and went every year since, even after they broke up.
Maddie attended the Christmas Singing with the man she truly loved. Is it Sol, who would never break her heart? Or is it Gideon who had already broken her heart? Read The Christmas Singing to find out.
I liked Mattie as soon as she was first introduced. She was a caring person who loved people. I was anxious to find out the truth as to why Gideon hurt Mattie. It didn't match his character to do what he did. I liked how Cindy Woodsmall let everything slowly unfold. She had me really guessing about Gideon. I couldn't wait to see how everything ended. This book is one that I couldn't put down.
I received a free copy of this book from WaterBrook Multnomah for my honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for The Christmas Singing - eBook: A Romance from the Heart of Amish Country
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Small Enjoyable Read.

Date:December 28, 2011
Customer Avatar
Alicia
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Mattie Eash is a very successful and independent woman. Her cake decorating business is doing really well. She is in a smooth relationship with a man who loves her. She is surrounded by her brothers' loving family in Ohio. As Christmas draws near her heart continues to remember her hurtful breakup, by her childhood friend Gideon Beiler, On Christmas eve.
Gideon has loved Mattie ever since they were children and can not stop loving her now, even after he hurt her. He believes that because of an unexpected situation in his life he was right to leave Mattie. He knows that telling her the truth at that time would have caused her more pain than his break up.
After an unforeseen tragedy occurs, Mattie is forced to return to her childhood home. She hates the fact of leaving everything that is familiar to her, her bakery, beau, and family. She is even less reluctant to see Gideon again. She wants nothing to do with the man that hurt her. As her stay in Apple Ridge lengthens she is constantly seeing Gideon. She is even remembering all the sweet childhood memories with her best friend. Why is her heart yearning for someone who does not want her? Who hurt her?
Gideon knows he has to tell Mattie the truth, but does not feel he is ready. Will certain people and situations force the truth into the light? Journey with these loving characters through the perilous journey of love, forgiveness, hate and second chances.
I thought this was a very heartwarming story. The plot of the story was very interesting. This book was definitely a page turner. I would have loved for the actual story to have been longer. This book had a collaboration of clean romance, sad moments, and very worthwhile meditations. This book teaches people to live their life to the full in Christ because we do not know when we will leave. The book ended way to fast for my liking. However, I did enjoy the fact that the book had a crisp and good ending. The ending did not leave you wondering. I think that overall Cindy Woodsmall did an excellent job writing this small novel. I would recommend this book to all those who are first starting to read Amish books, and those who want a small good read. I would give this book 4 stars.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for The Christmas Singing - eBook: A Romance from the Heart of Amish Country
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

great Amish romance novel

Date:December 28, 2011
Customer Avatar
cathy
Location:Kansas
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Christmas Singing by Cindy Wooksmall is self discribed as a romance from the heart of Amish country and that is what it is. Mattie has moved from her childhood home in Pennsylvania to Ohio to make a new life for herself after her childhood sweetheart, Gideon had broken up with her. She has made a new life for herself setting up a bakery business and getting aquainted with Sol. Sol offers her a security that she didn't have with Gideon but she know that she will never love Sol as she loved Gideon. When Mattie's bakery catches fire and burns to the ground she finds that she has to return to her parents home to plan her aunt's wedding. The story is of her return to Pennsylvania and acceptance of Gideon and her new relationship.
I read this delightful book in one setting it was so good. Cindy Woodsmall draws the reader into the Amish community and leaves them wanting more. I sure do hope that there is more of this story in another book yet unwritten. I was left wondering how Mattie and Gideon would marry and raise their children. Please continue writing Ms Woodsmall. I would recommend this story for any age group.
I recieved this book free from Waterbrook Multnomah for this review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for The Christmas Singing - eBook: A Romance from the Heart of Amish Country
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

I cried....

Date:December 27, 2011
Customer Avatar
Reese
Location:Prattville, Alabama
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
What would you say if the one you loved, the one you intended to marry, suddenly became distant, cold and broke off the relationship with you? Hurt, betrayed, angry even? That's what happened to Mattie in the new book called The Christmas Singing by Cindy Woodsmall. When Mattie learns from Gideon that he no longer loves her, and in fact has betrayed her with other women, her life is shattered and she moves as far away from her Amish community as she can. She builds a new life for herself in the same town as her brother and his family, setting up a prosperous bakery where her creativity is appreciated and earns a good living. She even develops a new relationship with Sol, an Amish man who loves to hunt. Mattie and Sol have the kind of relationship where they do not get into each others' business. It's a comfortable relationship, a relationship where boundaries and distance is understood, but no deep, passionate love is found. However, that's exactly the way Mattie wants the relationship to be. It is understood that she and Sol will one day marry, but neither is in any hurry.
Through an accident possibly brought about by Mattie's absentmindedness, Mattie returns home to live with her family for a few months. There she cannot help but run into Gideon, to whom she gives a cold shoulder and does her best to ignore. Mattie has to learn to let go of hurt and to truly forgive. And what happens when she does, and when she learns the truth about what happened between herself and Gideon, changes her life forever.
This is a story of forgiveness; of learning to look beyond our own personal ideas and understanding the hearts of others. Once we look beyond ourselves we often see things much differently, and in the truest light. By the end of The Christmas Singing my tears were flowing so freely I could hardly read! I will definitely encourage anyone to read this book and take to heart the lessons taught by Cindy Woodsmall.
In order to comply with new Federal Trade Commission regulations, please note that this book was provided compliments of WaterBrook Multnomah Publishing Company.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for The Christmas Singing - eBook: A Romance from the Heart of Amish Country
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Amazing story that draws you in!

Date:December 23, 2011
Customer Avatar
Nicole
Location:Charlottesville, VA
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have never read a book that took place in an Amish community or by Cindy Woodsmall before this and from the first page of this book I absolutely fell in love with it. Woodsmall draws you in to the story and makes you feel at home. I felt devastated when Mattie did and when she was happy I smiled right along with her through the book. From start to finish I read this book in less then 15 hours, I was completely absorbed. Woodsmall gives you just enough detail about these characters lives that you feel you are among them, living this life with them. This is a book I will most definitely be recommending!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for The Christmas Singing - eBook: A Romance from the Heart of Amish Country
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Beautiful, Simple Christmas Story

Date:December 20, 2011
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have confessed before that I'm not really a fan of Amish fiction. I'm not sure if I'm ready to go back on that claim altogether, but I will say that I'm a fan of Cindy Woodsmall!
The Christmas Singing is a beautiful stories of a girl with a broken heart trying to move on and build a life for herself. When her bakery burns down, she must return home and find a way to start over. Once home, she must face the man who broke her heart and determine if forgiveness will lead to a second chance at love.
I instantly connected with Mattie. She is a strong woman who has big ideas about what she wants for her life. She struggles with how her desires for the future can mesh with the possibility of love and the ideals of her faith. She display strength and courage. She is different from many of the female characters I've "met" in Amish books, and I really liked her.
I'm totally fascinated by the Amish lifestyle that was portrayed in The Christmas Singing. It seemed to be a bit more . . . relaxed . . . than in other books I've read. There was still simplicity but it wasn't quite as extreme.
Cindy told a beautiful story and I was captivated from beginning to end. This is the first book by Cindy Woodsmall that I've read and I will definitely read more of her work in the future!
I received a free copy of this book from WaterBrook Multnomah's Blogging for Books program in exchange for my fair and honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for The Christmas Singing - eBook: A Romance from the Heart of Amish Country
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Sweet Short Story

Date:December 18, 2011
Customer Avatar
Tammi
Location:maine
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Christmas Singing is a sweet short story, that I really enjoyed. The plot is well developed, and so are characters and their realness comes through the pages.
Mattie is a cake maker/decorator of beautiful cakes. Her love of making them is reflected in the faces of the people she makes them for and always brightens her day. I hated to see her shop burn down, but this is where the story truly begins to unfold.
I think you will enjoy The Christmas Singing, as much as I did.
The Blurb:
After Gideon coldly broke her heart, can the warmth of the season revive Mattie’s hopes?
Mattie thought her childhood sweetheart adored her until he abruptly ended their engagement on Christmas Eve.
Three years later, will learning the truth behind his rejection restore her Christmas joy – or open the door to even deeper heartbreak?
Spend Christmas with the Amish in this story of love, romance, heartache, and restoration.
**The Christmas Singing by Cindy Woodsmall was provided for me free by WaterBrook Multnomah Publishing Group in exchange for my honest review.
Blessings,
Tammi
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for The Christmas Singing - eBook: A Romance from the Heart of Amish Country
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This book has great highs and lows in it.

Date:December 17, 2011
Customer Avatar
PaulaS
Location:Kosciusko, MS
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a wonderful Amish love story. Mattie loses her childhood sweetheart and thinks she will never find love again. Then another man, Sol, comes into her life. It will keep you in suspense throughout the book wondering who she will choose and what will happen next.
She owns her own cake decorating shop in Ohio, then a tragedy hits and she has to go home to Pennsylvania. This book has tragedy and humor in it. If you like a great love story this is one!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.