Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for B&H Books The Duchess and the Dragon - eBook

B&H Books The Duchess and the Dragon - eBook

Average Customer Rating:
3.609 out of 5
3.6
 out of 
5
(23 Reviews) 23
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (23 reviews)
5 stars
9
4 stars
7
3 stars
0
2 stars
3
1 star
4
7 out of 978%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for The Duchess and the Dragon - eBook
Review 1 for The Duchess and the Dragon - eBook
This review is fromThe Duchess and the Dragon.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Date:September 9, 2013
Customer Avatar
havenone
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
It was a disappointment. I didn't like this story and I didn't even finish it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for The Duchess and the Dragon - eBook
This review is fromThe Duchess and the Dragon.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Only the Lord can tame a Dragon

Date:January 3, 2013
Customer Avatar
Crystal
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Having read Jamie Carie's brilliant first novel, 'Snow Angel', I was extremely excited for her second novel with the unusual title 'The Duchess and the Dragon' despite a few negative opinions!
Drama enters on the very first page as we find the dashing Drake Weston Duke of Northumberland the victim of a deceitful and vengeful now deceased father, cutting Drake out his will and only heir to his estate and fortune, BUT WHY? Furious, Drake concocts a scheme to hide the body from public eye, pose as his father, marry a stranger, produce a brother, and steal the inheritance! Drake doesn't expect someone to find out his plan, but when a man confronts Drake and expects a hefty sum of $$ to cover the truth, Drake corners the man and believes he has taken his life! Drake now on the run from the law and his life has no choice but to abandon his plans, his life, his home, his name, his money, from England by ship to America! Now being forced to travel in poverty, he's haunted by guilt, anger, and illness is rescued by Amish, Serena Winter when the ship docks in Quaker, Philadelphia. Innocent Serena is immediately drawn by his beauty, and dark mystery, and convinces her father to bring him home to bring him back to health. The two eventually fall passionately and almost scandalously in love, Serena facing the facts she must marry him and leave her simple ways, her home, her family and lifestyle behind her, all the while Drake continues to harbor, deceit, and lies about his past! Will he tell her the truth, will Serena stand by her husband? A forgiving, gripping, page turner that will leave you breathless and full of hope!
*This book was given my non-profit, unbiased, honest review*
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for The Duchess and the Dragon - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Interesting story

Date:October 31, 2012
Customer Avatar
SLee
Location:Wilson, NC
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Most of the book held my interest but it slowed down in spots. Over all it was a good story line
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for The Duchess and the Dragon - eBook
This review is fromThe Duchess and the Dragon.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Gift for wife

Date:August 11, 2011
Customer Avatar
Todd
Location:Waterport, NY
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
My wife is enjoying this novel. These are the kind of stories she like, and I thought I would buy this for her.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for The Duchess and the Dragon - eBook
This review is fromThe Duchess and the Dragon.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 21, 2011
Customer Avatar
Catherine Coile
Location:Florida
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I loved the book from beginning to end! Great story line and a very good read.
I already have friends waiting to read it too!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for The Duchess and the Dragon - eBook
This review is fromThe Duchess and the Dragon.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent reading

Date:June 10, 2011
Customer Avatar
snooky
Location:Renfrew, Ontario
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I could not put this book down. The most enjoyable book of love and family values and how much family is needed during stuggling times. Simply the best
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for The Duchess and the Dragon - eBook
This review is fromThe Duchess and the Dragon.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

totally enjoyed the story

Date:April 12, 2011
Customer Avatar
suzyQ
Location:Kelso, WA
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
somewhat predictable but enjoyed the characters and could understand the struggle within Drake. Romantic and adventurous.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for The Duchess and the Dragon - eBook
This review is fromThe Duchess and the Dragon.
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Could have been a cautionary tale...

Date:April 6, 2011
Customer Avatar
Deborah Doolin
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I am not one to write negative reviews, but felt compelled, in this case, to warn other parents out there -- that this is NOT a novel to pass along to your daughter if you're hoping to inspire purity until marriage and wise decision making in the choice of a husband. What could have been a cautionary tale ended up losing its way. To put it simply, lust is accepted as a justifiable reason to choose a mate. Although mistakes are recognized to some degree and forgiveness and redemption are emphasized, the value of seeking and evaluating another's heart in terms of faith, and aim, and honesty is never addressed. Deceit is a major aspect of the relationship, but it all works out in the end, anyway. This story had wonderful potential, but in my mind, truly missed the mark as Christian Fiction.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for The Duchess and the Dragon - eBook
This review is fromThe Duchess and the Dragon.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

good book

Date:February 27, 2011
Customer Avatar
sam i am
Location:Stilwell, OK
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
very entertaining book. love scenes could've been a little toned down. But the message of fogiveness is great.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for The Duchess and the Dragon - eBook
This review is fromThe Duchess and the Dragon.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 16, 2009
Customer Avatar
Karen Parsons
True to form! I love how Jamie entertwines the love of Jesus into each of her books showing the human emotions and questions that we all experience. An excellent book!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for The Duchess and the Dragon - eBook
This review is fromThe Duchess and the Dragon.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 10, 2009
Customer Avatar
Tori Smith
I thought this book was very good. Lots of people reviewing this book have said that it has no place in Christian fiction. I for one, completely disagree.Jamie Carie was not out of line with the sensuality in this book. While Serena starts to loose reason in one scene in the book Drake knows what they are doing is wrong and he wasn't going to allow it. After they are found kissing alone in a room, they agree to marry. I for one think there is nothing wrong with passion between husband and wife, but maybe I'm strange.This book is a wonderful romance that not only Christians can love, but non-Christians as well. I found it highly entertaining and thought it was wonderfully written. I wish there were more books like it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for The Duchess and the Dragon - eBook
This review is fromThe Duchess and the Dragon.
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Date:March 8, 2009
Customer Avatar
Katrina Beck
I thought the plot line was great, but was not expecting such steamy scenes in a Christian book. There is a reason I gave up mainstream romances. I also had a problem with the fact that she was yoked together with a non-believer and that she walked away from her faith. I kept expecting her to find another church to start attending even if she was no longer welcome among the Quakers.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for The Duchess and the Dragon - eBook
This review is fromThe Duchess and the Dragon.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 7, 2008
Customer Avatar
deborah Ikujeniya
For a christian book, the love story is truly captivating and I stayed up all night just to finish it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for The Duchess and the Dragon - eBook
This review is fromThe Duchess and the Dragon.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Date:November 10, 2008
Customer Avatar
Lauretta
While the story is captivating, I find that it should not be listed against Christian Fiction. There is too much sensuality that one would be ashamed to have it on one's bookshelf. I feel that an author can create a very strong chemistry between couples without the blatant sensuality. Linda Chaikin is gifted in this area that one feels what the characters feel for each other without even the physical contact that authors always think is necessary.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for The Duchess and the Dragon - eBook
This review is fromThe Duchess and the Dragon.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Date:November 7, 2008
Customer Avatar
Leata
I was highly disappointed with this book. The "love" story was so shallow, full of lust not love. The detail of their encounters was inappropriate for a Christian book. The plot was quite unbelievable. I kept waiting for something to make it seem like a Christian book but there just wasn't much.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for The Duchess and the Dragon - eBook
This review is fromThe Duchess and the Dragon.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 10, 2008
Customer Avatar
debby morris
this is an excellent book. Not "sappy" or depressing or predictable, but a great story line with a good ending. I really enjoy reading Jamie's books.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for The Duchess and the Dragon - eBook
This review is fromThe Duchess and the Dragon.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 27, 2008
Customer Avatar
Melissa Glass
I Loved this book! I could'nt put it down! There are some many unexpected twists that leave you wanting to read more!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for The Duchess and the Dragon - eBook
This review is fromThe Duchess and the Dragon.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 12, 2008
Customer Avatar
Kathy
I look forward to reading any and all books by this author. I love her style and message!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for The Duchess and the Dragon - eBook
This review is fromThe Duchess and the Dragon.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Date:July 5, 2008
I don't usually read "Christian Romance" stories, so that may account for my opinion. I must say I have to agree with both Angie and Michele..."it reads like a Harlequin novel...and it reads like a "lust story" not love story." Quite frankly I don't believe it has a place in Christian fiction.Then there are the characters. I like Serena, her family, her art and her service to the sick and indentured servants. I didn't like how easily she abandoned her faith and family for Drake.Then there is Josiah, Serena's father. He has much to teach Drake who seems a willing student, maybe not in silver smithing, but in life. I think there was much that could have been done in that relationship. I don't buy her father's willingness to allow her and bless her to go her own way for this man, knowing so little about him, all the while still believing he is running from something. Instead he enabled him to continue to run from his past, dragging his daughter with him. Then there is the young farmer, her intended, before Drake. His love for Serena is portrayed as so boring. When the newly wedded couple flee Philadelphia, does it make sense for them to run to him for safe harbor...and at what cost to himDrake, the the noble with no inheritance to call his own. You are asked to look past his temper, haughtiness, deceitfulness, past his philandering lifestyle of wealth and entitlement. You are asked to pity his lot as he escapes the law as an indentured servant. To sympathize with his wretched condition as he arrives in America. You, like Serena, are asked to lay aside his character for his incredible good looks and the "excitement" he stirs in our young heroine. And because he is converted by the end of the story we are supposed to believe it "worked together for good." Please. I can't recommend this book. If you choose to read it anyway, consider this...is this what you would want for your daughter...and is the fairy tale ending realistic?
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for The Duchess and the Dragon - eBook
This review is fromThe Duchess and the Dragon.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:June 10, 2008
Customer Avatar
Marcia Calhoun
This was a wonderful story about a man's redemption. It really made me interested in seeing the Duke change as he realized God was working in his life.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>