Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Tyndale House Life Application Bible Commentary New Testament Set

Tyndale House Life Application Bible Commentary New Testament Set

The Life Application Bible Commentary takes the popular Life Application Bible and greatly expands the amount of information given, for a fuller and deeper look at the Bible. This set, which includes commentaries on the entire New Testament, offers a cohesive look at the major themes, issues, and doctrines that Christians are seeking to apply in their own lives. It's numerous maps, charts, diagrams, quotes and illustrations make it extremely useful in helpin Christians to grow in their understanding and maturity. Each volume is split into three sections: an introduction, the commentary itself, and a reference section. Insight from various church leaders including John Calvin, Martin Luther, Charles Wesley, A.W. Tozer, and C.S. Lewis communicate truths in a clear and understandable way, with the goal of aiding further communication of the life-changing message of the Gospel.

Overview of the Life Application Bible Commentary:
  • Theologically conservative (evangelical)
  • Non-technical (no knowledge of Greek necessary)
  • Uses the New International Version (NIV) and New Revised Standard Version (NRSV) predominantly, but also quotes from the New King James Version (NKJV) and the King James Version (KJV)
  • A verse-by-verse exposition of the entire New Testament
  • Geared for general Christians seeking to grow in their understanding and maturity, but helpful for teachers and pastors as well
Unique features:
  • Introduction, commentary and references for each book of the New Testament
  • Charts, diagrams, maps and illustrations helpful for applying the text to one's life
  • Practical application tips and information
  • Highlighted (in bold text) verses for easy reference
  • Bibliographies for each volume
Average Customer Rating:
4.929 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(14 Reviews) 14
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (14 reviews)
5 stars
13
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
8 out of 8100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Life Application Bible Commentary New Testament Set
Review 1 for Life Application Bible Commentary New Testament Set
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great for preaching and teaching

Date:June 3, 2013
Customer Avatar
Dannyboy5013
Location:Americus, GA
Age:25-34
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This commentary set is exactly what it says it is: an application commentary. The classic question we get as pastors is this: "How does this 2000-year-old passage of Scripture APPLY to my life today?" The application commentary helps me as a pastor better answer those questions for the people in the pews. It also sparks some of my own thoughts as I'm inspired by its ideas. This is not a deeply intellectual commentary set, but if you're looking for help and fresh ideas for your Sunday morning sermons, this is a good place to look.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Life Application Bible Commentary New Testament Set
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Valuable Resource

Date:February 1, 2013
Customer Avatar
Chris
Location:Fredericksburg, Virginia
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I highly recommend the Life Appllication Commentary. I have found it to be very useful in sermon preparation over the years. It offers excellent background material as well as thoughts on how passages have practical application for everyday living. I use my commentaries on a weekly basis.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Life Application Bible Commentary New Testament Set
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Where's the Old Testament Set?

Date:November 30, 2012
Customer Avatar
clayhands
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The Life Application Study Bible is my favorite. This commentary digs a little deeper with more in dept commentary. I would much rather have the hardcover than the softcover. I gave it 4 stars instead of 5 because we are not perfect. I would like to have the Old Testament Set to go along with the New Testament Set. I am not all that fun of the NIV. (to watered down) I haven't read all the commentary set yet. I'll be waiting for the Old testament set meanwhile.
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Life Application Bible Commentary New Testament Set
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

outstanding resource. Wish they had one for the Ol

Date:April 18, 2012
Customer Avatar
Bro Vic
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Life App. is for everyone. It's easy to read and apply to each person's circumstances.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Life Application Bible Commentary New Testament Set
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

I gave this set to a Pastor I did work for.

Date:March 30, 2012
Customer Avatar
MESLLC
Location:Brooklyn, MI
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I recently designed a church expansion and made a great friend in the Pastor. I gave him this set and he REALLY liked it. He said it fit into the direction of applying the bible to our daily lives that he was preaching this year. I have given sets to four different pastors in the past four years and all have liked them as a resource for their ministries.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Life Application Bible Commentary New Testament Set
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Sunday School Teacher Resource

Date:June 24, 2011
Customer Avatar
Nanabee
Location:Savannah, GA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent resource for a Young Adult Sunday School Class. Aids inthe effort to keep the lessons interesting and not repetitive.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Life Application Bible Commentary New Testament Set
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This is the best bible study aid I have read.

Date:May 1, 2011
Customer Avatar
sugarfoot
Location:Opelika, AL
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have used this commentary for several years and found it to be outstanding. After my second stroke, I started studying the new testament verse-by-verse. I cannot sufficiently express the assistance the Life Application Bible Commentary has been to me mentally, physically, and spiritually.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Life Application Bible Commentary New Testament Set
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Very useful

Date:March 28, 2011
Customer Avatar
Lionel
Location:Switzerland
Age:25-34
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It's very useful for preaching or leading bible study :)
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Life Application Bible Commentary New Testament Set
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 28, 2009
Customer Avatar
Leverta Massey
This is an excellent set of commentaries. I would recommend them. They are a great study tool for ministers as well as laypeople.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Life Application Bible Commentary New Testament Set
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 18, 2008
Customer Avatar
Vernon Nikkel
I have used books of this series for many years. They are explicit, easy to understand and concise. Best of the many that I have reviewed.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Life Application Bible Commentary New Testament Set
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 3, 2008
Customer Avatar
Jane Caster
My seminary professor recommended these commentaries to me. I am a high school Bible teacher and have used and recommended this set for five years now. Not only have I recommended that the schools I've taught in purchase it, but I own a set myself. The book introductions are excellent as is the background material that impacts one's understanding of the text. Furthermore, difficult passages are treated fairly with more than one view suggested. The charts are superb as are the personal applications. I can't say enough about this quality research tool! Jane Caster
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Life Application Bible Commentary New Testament Set
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 12, 2007
Customer Avatar
Deborah Rury
This set of commentaries is an excellent resource for anyone that wants to dig a little deeper. As a small group Bible study leader, it helps me to be fully prepared. You don't need to be a Bible scholar to understand it, but regular use makes you feel like one!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Life Application Bible Commentary New Testament Set
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 3, 2004
Customer Avatar
Mike Crosby
A very solid commentary of the New Testament.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Life Application Bible Commentary New Testament Set
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 8, 2003
Customer Avatar
Vernithia Parker
I have some of the books in this set, they have helped me to grow in bible school, and in my personal relationship with GOD. I have used these commentaries for about 4 months now and I can't believe how much I have grown in the word. I wish they had an Old Testement set.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.