Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Howard Books A Love That Multiplies - eBook

Howard Books A Love That Multiplies - eBook

Average Customer Rating:
4.926 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(27 Reviews) 27
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (27 reviews)
5 stars
25
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
27 out of 27100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for A Love That Multiplies - eBook
Review 1 for A Love That Multiplies - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Wonderful book!

Date:June 19, 2013
Customer Avatar
AdventuresinOdysseyLover
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book is a wonderful book to read - the Duggars are a great family!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for A Love That Multiplies - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great book! Just one problem with Christian Book's

Date:April 4, 2012
Customer Avatar
ilse
Location:Ohio
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is a great book for fans of the Duggars as well as those who've never heard of them. However, Christian Book's e-book version quickly skips past the last page in a chapter, which sometimes looks like a nice picture. If I had known this beforehand, I would have bought the hardback version from Christianbooks.com so I could still support a good Christian company.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for A Love That Multiplies - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A book I will use as a reference from here on out!

Date:March 29, 2012
Customer Avatar
DavidsMom
Location:Louisiana
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I loved this book. I got it b/c I love the shows and I knew it broke some of their beliefs out. It did follow some of their story that I had watched but there was a lot of behind the scene stories and also the biblical reference on how they live. I love how Michelle and JimBob parent and how they focus on God and family. The world would be better if there were more people like the Duggars! I loved alot of their examples and plan to use some and try some of the recipes given throughout the book!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for A Love That Multiplies - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This product was a great with lots of extras

Date:January 16, 2012
Customer Avatar
bebop
Location:Ponchatoula, Louisiana
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I really enjoyed reading how a couple manages to run a household with such a large family. The book has recipes and information on home school and college. I would recommend this book to my friends.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for A Love That Multiplies - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

I bought the Book's for my Wife & she loved them.

Date:February 16, 2012
Customer Avatar
roktoy
Location:Cape Girardeau,Mo.
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My Wife really enjoyed the book would highly recommend this book my wife realy loved this book.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for A Love That Multiplies - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Still multiplying!

Date:February 2, 2012
Customer Avatar
Stephanie
Location:upstate NY
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Admittedly, the first third of the book had me in tears. Most of the beginning of Michelle and Jim Bob's second book deals with the scary circumstances surrounding Josie's birth and the difficulties of a preemie in the following months. My situation wasn't the same, but my husband and I lost our first baby boy at 26 weeks, and the Duggars' story reminded me of that frightening time in my own life.
If you've watched only one episode of the Duggars, you will quickly realize that their convictions are not popular. Jim Bob, Michelle, and their children are very open and forthright about their strong biblical standards. In A Love That Multiplies, they tell the reader over and over again that they believe children are a precious gift from the Lord.
Early in their marriage, Jim Bob and Michelle gave God complete control over how many children they would have, and they have never wavered from that decision, despite nasty and ignorant comments from the outside world.
Throughout the entire book, I was impressed with the Duggars' strong faith in God's Word. Everything they do, from babies to school to work revolves around the Bible. For example, the children memorize a passage from Matthew 18, which gives the biblical steps for conflict resolution. As they memorize, they incorporate what they've learned into everyday life. Squabbles with sisters and brothers are to be resolved biblically.
My two favorite parts in the book were both written by Michelle. When watching the TV show, I continually wondered how she can be so calm and quiet. Even her niece remarked in one show, I've never heard her yell!
Well, Michelle enlightens us in the book! Apparently she used to raise her voice and lose her temper! However, during a school study on anger, one of the Bible verses she was reading to the children stood out to her - Proverbs 15:1, `A soft answer turneth away wrath: but grievous words stir up anger' - and she was so convicted of her wrong behavior! She immediately asked the children to forgive her and asked the Lord to help her control her tongue.
Michelle says the Lord immediately tested her with a can of pineapple.
You'll have to read the story yourself!
But, I was so encouraged to see that she has struggled with anger, yet with the Lord's help has worked on having a calmer, kinder tone with her children.
I was also glad to read that Michelle felt overwhelmed with the responsibility of homeschooling. Her teachable spirit is obvious and such an encouragement to other moms, as she appears so organized and unflappable, but is truly human like each of us!
Many can admire this `and-counting' family in a well-good-for-them-but-not-for-me kind of way, but true biblical faith is hard for the lost world to understand. I believe the Duggars faith and conviction can be boiled down to Matthew 6:33, `But seek ye first the kingdom of God, and his righteousness; and all these things shall be added unto you.' If you put the Lord first in all you do, EVERYthing will fall into place.
I really enjoyed learning more about what makes the Duggars tick. Several things were quickly mentioned that they covered in more detail in their first book, The Duggars: 20 and Counting! I think I'll have to check that out soon!
If you're curious about that how-many kids?! family, A Love That Multiplies is a fascinating look into the Duggars' crazy life - or `serene chaos,' as Michelle says! You'll read about Jinger's stolen diary (!!!), the popcorn round of Memory Lane, as well as delicious recipes, helpful household tips, pictures of the family, and so much more!
*I received a free copy in exchange for an honest review. No other compensation was given, and all thoughts are 100% mine.*
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for A Love That Multiplies - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Wonderfully written book.

Date:January 23, 2012
Customer Avatar
RubyAnn
Location:Tarboro, NC
Age:55-65
Gender:female
I loved the plain language in which this book was written. Also liked the way God was used in the raising of their children.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for A Love That Multiplies - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

My wife devoured it then gave it to her sister.

Date:January 13, 2012
Customer Avatar
petecw98
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My wife devoured it then gave it to her sister. Then I think her sister passed it on to a friend. Great read!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for A Love That Multiplies - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great read with lots of good advice and knowledge

Date:December 30, 2011
Customer Avatar
Juanita
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Dugger family is very strong in their faith and give great advice in their book on how to raise Children to know Christ. I would recommend this book to my family and friends.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for A Love That Multiplies - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 29, 2011
Customer Avatar
deanna
Location:connersville indiana
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love watching the show and so I bought the book to see how they do it. Once I opened the book and started reading I couldn't put it down! I read it in 3 days! They totally motivate u to live right and get closer to the Lord. I am excited to read their others book now!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for A Love That Multiplies - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great book!

Date:September 29, 2011
Customer Avatar
Misty
Location:Kopperl, TX
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Love this book and this family! They are such a wonderful family and sharing their ups and downs while remaining steadfast in their faith is nothing but uplifting. This book made me laugh, cry and I took took away lessons for my own life. I highly recommend it!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for A Love That Multiplies - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:September 23, 2011
Customer Avatar
dede
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I have watched most of the shows and a lot of the stuff about Josie was already covered. I am not sure what I was expecting, but on the other hand, if they write another book, I'd buy it.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for A Love That Multiplies - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Fantastic book!

Date:September 17, 2011
Customer Avatar
Zoegirlfan19
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book was exactly what I hoped. I may not agree with everything the Duggar family does or thinks but getting their insight has really helped me to be a better wife and mother. Thank you, Mr and Mrs Duggar!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for A Love That Multiplies - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great book

Date:September 1, 2011
Customer Avatar
Pinkdolphin
Location:Pa
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book is awesome! I'm not one to sit down and read a book but this book I just want to keep reading.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for A Love That Multiplies - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 29, 2011
Customer Avatar
Sigmar
Location:San Juan, PR
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love this book and this family, its a great inspiration for all of us. Im an only child, and their example of a large family captivates my interest. Also their christian values are to be published everywhere. God bless them all, and I look forward to another book of them!!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for A Love That Multiplies - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

love the book

Date:August 26, 2011
Customer Avatar
utahgirl61
Location:ludington mi
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
good book. going to try some of the recipes. going to read it over again
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for A Love That Multiplies - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Wonderful book!!

Date:August 26, 2011
Customer Avatar
Susan
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I got this book as a gift for my sister. My sister watched my two daughters during this summer while I worked, along with her four children. I put together a gift basket full of goodies for her at the end of summer and I believe this book was her favorite thing. She started reading it right away! She loves the Duggar family and so do I :)
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for A Love That Multiplies - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A good read and great value!

Date:August 26, 2011
Customer Avatar
Jess
Location:Effingham, KS
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The book had more than I expected, with personal family recipes throughout the book. The book is a great educational tool for any new parent or someone looking for a little parenting advice. Regardless of whether you are interested in homeschooling your children, raising a big family, or teaching your children to be better christians; this book is a great resource for any family.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for A Love That Multiplies - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent book - inspirational and practical!

Date:August 13, 2011
Customer Avatar
dts95
Location:NJ
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Outstanding encouragement! Michelle is an inspiration for all women. Excellent practical applications.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for A Love That Multiplies - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

this product is very informative

Date:July 27, 2011
Customer Avatar
meli
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
very good book , that i enjoyed greatly. we love to watch this show so all the information in the book just added to the pleasure we get in watching the tlc program.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>