Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Tyndale House Chosen by God - eBook

Tyndale House Chosen by God - eBook

Average Customer Rating:
4.714 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(14 Reviews) 14
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (14 reviews)
5 stars
13
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
1
1 out of 1100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Chosen by God - eBook
Review 1 for Chosen by God - eBook
This review is fromChosen by God.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 20, 2012
Customer Avatar
mjohn11
Location:Huntsville, AL
Age:25-34
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent book! Logical and spiritual book on predestination that is easy to read. For a more technical view on the same subject by the same author, try Willing to Believe: The Controversy over Free Will by RC Sproul.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Chosen by God - eBook
This review is fromChosen by God.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 9, 2010
Customer Avatar
Dana Wiles Jr
This book is an absolute must read for those who are struggling with the doctrine of predestination. Dr. Sproul presents this doctrine with unbelievable clarity. It is an easy read as well. I would recommend this to anyone who is interested in learning about predestination.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Chosen by God - eBook
This review is fromChosen by God.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 9, 2010
Although not apparent because of its popular style, this is a scholarly presentation of an unpopular doctrine written by a mature theologian, and I appreciate Sprouls unbiased and honest study of this controversial subject. Im certain this is one of the better books for the non-specialist on this neglected topic, and Sproul was obviously in rare form when he wrote it. Having read several of his books, I believe anyone would be hard-pressed to find a better book written by this master-communicator! Buy this book. Find a quiet place to sit and read it. Youll be amazed at what you discover!
+19points
19of 19voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Chosen by God - eBook
This review is fromChosen by God.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Date:November 16, 2009
Customer Avatar
Anthony Shuler
Not very scholarly or mature, very bias and dishonest. I'm certain better books on this topic from this perspective could be found easily. Sproul has definitely written better books.
-23points
0of 23voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Chosen by God - eBook
This review is fromChosen by God.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 4, 2009
Customer Avatar
Mike
Before reading this book, I strongly opposed the Reformed view of salvation, but the way Sproul so clearly explains how completely biblical this view is has truly changed my perspective. Sproul shows how your view of "original sin" affects the way you view salvation. He also takes the time to explain the five points of Calvinism in simple terms and logically answers some of the most common and difficult arguments agains the Reformed view. I stongly recommend that EVERY Christian who seeks to know God more read this book, because this book (along with careful study of God's Word) has shown me how indescibable God's grace truly is!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Chosen by God - eBook
This review is fromChosen by God.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 24, 2008
Customer Avatar
Robert Scott
This book has help me gain a broader understanding of a tough topic - predestination and the different bibical viewsof the subject from many Godly men. A special thanks to Dr. Sproul!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Chosen by God - eBook
This review is fromChosen by God.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 29, 2008
Customer Avatar
Steve Wratt
This is a good read. It is a good place to start if you want to understand the basics of the Reformed position of Christianity. Sproul makes it clear what the basic terms mean and uses illustrations that clearly explain these terms. He also offers a good foundation for understanding Original Sin and why we accept the state of things. In other words, he answers our objections as why we are sinners.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Chosen by God - eBook
This review is fromChosen by God.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 25, 2008
Customer Avatar
Ken Willig
This my most favorite book on theology. I have read it so many times that the bonding has come loose. I stay with my old copy because of all the yellow highlighting I have done in it plus all the notations I have made. I probably have given away at least 70 copies of it and recommend it may more. RC has clearly articulated very difficult aspects of theology. It is definitely a MUST read for every person who wants to really know God.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Chosen by God - eBook
This review is fromChosen by God.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 27, 2007
Customer Avatar
JRA
This is absolutely a must buy if you are starting your journey through the study of Biblical election and predestination. It clears up many of the misconceptions many ignorant people have about the concept. I don't see how anyone could believe in free will due to our fallen nature, nor how anyone could not trust the Creator that they love so much with their soul. I trust God with my soul more than I trust myself. The author makes it easy to read, and is even humorous in his approach at times. Very entertaining and informative...I rarely read at all but I finished this wonderful book in 2 sessions.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Chosen by God - eBook
This review is fromChosen by God.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 29, 2006
Customer Avatar
Chap. A.R. Reid
If you are wondering whether or not you should buy this book, stop wondering, and buy it! Then read ityoull be glad you did. I first read Chosen by God in 1994 just after making a theological shift from Arminianism to the Reformed faith. This book cleared up the last of my questions, thus solidifying for me the truth of the biblical (Calvinistic) idea of Gods grace in predestinating the salvation of His elect, and the error of the unbiblical (Arminian) view of election by Gods foreknowledge of human decisionand I thank God for it! Chosen by God is an absolutely outstanding resource for anyone struggling with the biblical inconsistencies of Arminianism.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Chosen by God - eBook
This review is fromChosen by God.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 25, 2006
Customer Avatar
Fred Steck
I highly recommend this book especially to those who may be just starting their journey into the doctrine of predestination. My only 'minor' complaint is that Sproul doesn't dig deep enough into Holy Scripture to bring into light the absolute Sovereignty of God and the Depravity of Man.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Chosen by God - eBook
This review is fromChosen by God.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 5, 2002
Sproul begins by sharing his own personal struggle as a former-Armenian (advocate of free-will salvation). He then relates that as he studied the Bible more intensely, he learned that it is more important for us to believe what the Scriptures SAY rather than what we would LIKE for them to say. Sproul didn't savor the prospect of being a Calvinist (advocate of predestined salvation), but moved to that stance because of the biblical support for it.The author addresses each of the five points of Calvinism:Total depravity of manUnconditional electionLimited atonementIrresistible gracePerseverance of the saintsSproul gives special attention to the "total depravity" of man, renaming it "radical corruption." He modifies other points of the well-known "TULIP" acrostic, using more accurate terms where necessary. He closes his book by offering responses to commonly raised questions regarding the Reformed (Calvinistic) position.This book is a definite MUST READ for pastors and teachers. I am unaware of any other volume that defines so clearly and concisely the Reformed position. Buy it, read it and grow in your understanding of Reformed theology!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Chosen by God - eBook
This review is fromChosen by God.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 5, 2001
Customer Avatar
David N. Scott
I came to this book quite curious about the mechanics of the Reform doctrine of predestination. I left it with a large body of my questions answered. Sproul handles the material well, writing in a tone that is both accessible and engaging. At the same time, Sproul demonstrates that this doctrine is applicable to Christian LIVING and not merely a scholarly piece of Christian THINKING. It's most notable weakness is that Sproul has the bad habit of occasionally speaking TOO simply but, thankfully, he does not display it often. Sproul makes good use of relevant biblical texts and his citations of other established authors (both modern and classic) provide a good "map" for readers desiring to pursue further related studies.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Chosen by God - eBook
This review is fromChosen by God.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 26, 2000
Customer Avatar
Rev. J. Puskar
This brief volume on Reformed Theology is a must buy. Sproul succinctly defines and defends the "Five Points of Calvinism." Definitely helpful for disproving those who assert that none of the five points are biblical.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.