Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Tyndale House Torrent Falls - eBook

Tyndale House Torrent Falls - eBook

The year is 1888; Copper is a young widow with a baby trying to make a go of the ramshackle farm she received from her father in Troublesome Creek. Copper's life seems as dilapidated as the farm as she struggles to come to terms with her shattered world. Desperate to rekindle the easy faith she had as a child, she searches for peace and God's direction in the serenity of the Kentucky mountains. Further complicating her life is a budding romance with John Pelfrey, Copper's long ago sweetheart. Once sure she could never love again, Copper gives her heart to John only to face betrayal. A skilled midwife, Copper is challenged in many ways as she ministers to the women of eastern Kentucky. Always a believer, Copper still has much to learn as she grows in wisdom and in faith.
Average Customer Rating:
5 out of 5
5
 out of 
5
(14 Reviews) 14
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (14 reviews)
5 stars
14
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
2 out of 2100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Torrent Falls - eBook
Review 1 for Torrent Falls - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

I couldn't put it down.

Date:December 6, 2011
Customer Avatar
quinshelbmom
Location:Orangre Park, FL
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I read the first two books in this series and just had to find out what happened next. I was not disappointed. Just like the first two, I couldn't put the book down. Jan Watson writes so wonderful that I felt like I was there seeing, hearing and smelling everything.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Torrent Falls - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 16, 2011
Customer Avatar
proverbs226mom
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I liked this book even more that the first one. I couldn't put it down.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Torrent Falls - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 21, 2009
I sure hope Jan Watson keeps writing. This series is so engaging that I don't want it to end! This read is not fluff, but it has an enormous appeal to probably a very wide range of readers. I think teens would enjoy this, also. I read a lot of fiction, and this is one of the best series out there.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Torrent Falls - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 15, 2009
Customer Avatar
Susan Bennett
This book was just as spell binding as the others in this series. Would like to see more of this series.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Torrent Falls - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 22, 2009
Customer Avatar
Shirley Davis
I wrote my first fan e-mail to Jan Watson for this wonderful series. She describes the characters with such clarity that you can visualize them in your mind. I am waiting with great anticipation for the fourth book in this terrific series. Thank you, Jan.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Torrent Falls - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 8, 2008
Customer Avatar
KIM
Jan Watson has written a series of 3 incredible books. After reading torrent falls, Jan Watson has left me longing for a sequel. Sure hope there is another one coming soon.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Torrent Falls - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 2, 2008
Customer Avatar
MEKA
I can't help but compare all Jan Watson's works thus far with The Sin Eater by Francine Rivers and F.R. books are classics! No small comparison and I don't make it lightly! Jan has the same gentle way of weaving a compelling story with intense yet subtle tiny unobtrusive bits of lore surrounding characters that positively bore their way into my heart! I can hardly put her books down.This winter I was so glad to see at Christianbooks.com that several new favored writers in the genre that I enjoy most had new books being released soon. I ordered them ~ whenever I receive a box from Christianbooks, it's like Christmas morning because I enjoy reading soooo much! MUCH to my surprise, I was disappointed to some degree with every single one of their new releases. When I received Torrent Falls and began reading it, to my great pleasure it is absolutely positively as wonderful as Troublesome Creek and Willow Springs were! No disappointment whatever! These characters become people you want to have been in your family tree: godly, simple in the "less is more" way, fortified with humble dignity, hard-working, oozing character and strength! I'm so glad Jan hasn't lost her vision and "edge". May God continue to bless the talent He has gifted and trusted with Jan!Thank you again,Marilyn A.Maumee, Ohio
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Torrent Falls - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 4, 2008
Customer Avatar
Jeanie Jarvis
Once again Jan Watson has written a book that grabs the reader from the first page and takes them along for the journey. The wonderful backwoods folks will actually feel like they are your friends and you will feel their joy and their sorrow as you read this third book in the unmatched tales of faith, hope and love filling the heart of these characters who come so vividly to life. I think Jan Watson has a special gift and I wish I could travel back and sit on the porch rocker with Copper and talk a spell before dinner! This is the kind of outstanding fiction that will remain with you long after the book is back on the shelf. Read this one...you will be glad you did.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Torrent Falls - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 25, 2008
Customer Avatar
Karen
The third book in the series is awesome. It is a great read. I could hardly stand to put it down. Jan Watson's Troublesome Creek series are the best three books I have read in a long time.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Torrent Falls - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 14, 2008
Customer Avatar
Diane
This a fantastic book!!! I have read all three of the books in this series by Jan Watson! She is a great author!! I cannot sing her praises enough. She knows just how to write a book that makes you feel like you are right there with the characters. I really love her books and look forward to many more!!!!!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Torrent Falls - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 5, 2008
Customer Avatar
Joyce Peeler
only hope she has another book in this series. wonderful story. the first 2 books moved so well and then torrent falls picks up and moves you into cooper and john's life. very, very good.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Torrent Falls - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 1, 2008
Customer Avatar
Donna Harper
All 3 of these books were incredible. I could hardly wait to take my reading time so I could devour them. I recommend reading this awesome series. I'm thinking there may a #4 added to the series.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Torrent Falls - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 12, 2008
Customer Avatar
Harriet Klausner
In 1888 widow Copper Brown Corbett returns to her home in Troublesome Creek, Kentucky accompanied by her almost two years old baby Lilly Gray. Her daddy deeded Copper his rundown farm; she plans to turn it around and make a home for her and her daughter as she seeks solace after the tragedy that sent her home.-----------------Her neighbor John Pelfrey wants to court Copper as he has always loved her; they were once sweethearts but she gave her love to another and believes she will never love again. Copper readapts to the hilly countryside providing midwife services to the nearby women. Her faith in the Lord keeps her strong as she thanks him (and their Mammaw) for sending two young siblings Dimmert and Darcy to help her on the farm. John remains persistent, but as she begins to fall in love, Copper realizes he hides something from her that once she knows the truth will end their relationship.------------The third Troublesome Creek Americana tale (see TROUBLESOME CREEK read and WILLOW SPRINGS not read) is an interesting look at life in the late nineteenth century in the Eastern Kentucky hill country series. The story line focuses on Copper as she proves she can take care of herself and her daughter while tending to the ill and working the farm. She is a terrific character while John provides a tangled strong love interest. However, the tale is stolen by the two farmhand siblings and their horde of others D siblings plus Ezra (not Dezra) as they vividly bring out the locale. Readers will enjoy the latest entry in a strong historical saga.------Harriet Klausner
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Torrent Falls - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 26, 2007
This is the third book in the Troublesome Creek series. I was worried that since I hadn't read the other two I would be completely lost. Luckily this book can stand alone as a novel because there is enough back story so a new reader would not be lost. I really liked Copper's character. She's a single mom living in the frontier but she is fully capable of supporting herself. Yes there is a man she is in love with but she doesn't need him to take care of her all the time. Her relationship with her daughter is very loving and tender. This is especially important because Copper is also a midwife and also serves as the area's doctor to those in need. The other characters in the story are interesting especially the siblings Dimmert, Darcy and Dance. The first two come out of nowhere to help out Copper and her daughter while the Dance needs Copper to help her with her own child. I enjoyed reading about these characters because they added life to the story. Copper's relationship with John is passionate yet they both keep restraint due to being strong in their faith. I was worried that the ending would be typical of most Christian fiction when involving secrets that could ruin an engagement. However I was pleasantly surprised at the outcome because it was unique and not at all what I had expected. Fans of the other two books will probably enjoy reading more about Copper and her adventures. I myself am looking forward to going back and reading the previous novels in this series and I'm hoping to read more future novels about Copper's life.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.