Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Tyndale House The Reason Why: Faith Makes Sense - eBook

Tyndale House The Reason Why: Faith Makes Sense - eBook

Average Customer Rating:
4.417 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(12 Reviews) 12
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (12 reviews)
5 stars
7
4 stars
4
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
0
11 out of 1292%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for The Reason Why: Faith Makes Sense - eBook
Review 1 for The Reason Why: Faith Makes Sense - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

i like it

Date:May 9, 2013
Customer Avatar
paulette
Location:cols, oh
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
It works for me. very insightful ii am still reading and i believe it is just what i need to meet me where i am in my life now.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for The Reason Why: Faith Makes Sense - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Perfect tool for evangelizing!

Date:May 9, 2013
Customer Avatar
MCJohnson
Location:Interlochen, MI
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book was recommended to me by an elder at my church. I was looking for a good book to give to a few people that I was witnessing to. So far, one of them has made a proclamation of faith in Christ! The others are not far behind. Amen!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for The Reason Why: Faith Makes Sense - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Timely Update of a Forgotten Mega-Bestseller

Date:May 3, 2012
Customer Avatar
San Clemente
Location:Charlotte, NC
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Reason Why: Faith Makes Sense (Mass Market Paperback)
Robert Laidlaw, successful New Zealand business leader, originally wrote The Reason Why for his large staff to explain God in a thoughful, sensible way.
Mark Mittelberg has updated this vintage, highly influential work penned about a century ago--it sold an astounding 50 million copies--but which has been largely forgotten by the 21st century reader. Mittelberg, who has degrees in business and philosophy, uses pithy prose, refined arguments and vivid illustrations to enhance Laidlaw's thesis. The foreword is written by Ken Blanchard, author of another runaway best-seller The One Minute Manager, whose wife Margie was reached by The Reason Why yet recognized the importance of recreating the classic.
The Reason Why: Faith Makes Sense also targets Christians who have never asked crucial questions about their beliefs or who are harboring nagging doubts. Perhaps the biggest barrier hindering the Christian worldview in modern times is the misconception that Christianity is irrational, akin to intellectual suicide. But "why" is a basic question of knowing we ask every day on a variety of subjects but for too many of us "not so much" regarding spiritual issues. Mittelberg explains "why" by focusing on six central, "make or break" questions.
If you are spiritually curious, ignored the possibility that God exists, or have questions about a faith you accepted but never critically examined then this book is for you.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for The Reason Why: Faith Makes Sense - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

STRONGLY RECOMMEND!

Date:April 12, 2012
Customer Avatar
bmitch654
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Even if think you'll disagree with it, this is an important read--literally for every person on the planet. That sounds extreme, but it's meant to be and here's why...it would be intellectual (and potentially eternal) suicide to not seriously read and understand the claims of Christianity before making a decision on its veracity. The Reason Why sets forth the basic tenets in such a way that one cannot read it honestly and fail to understand the core truths.
I believe that once a person has read the book with a sincere desire to learn and consider the claims of Christ, it will set the course for further investigation and (I hope) a decision of the mind, heart, and will to become a Christ follower. At the very least, one won't be able to say, "I never knew" or "No one ever told me."
For those who are already Christ-followers, this book will further clarify and bolster your own understanding of what you believe. Furthermore, after you've read the book, you'll want to pass along copies to everyone you know who is on a spiritual journey seeking truth.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for The Reason Why: Faith Makes Sense - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great book to give to friends!

Date:April 2, 2012
Customer Avatar
NorskeGirl
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book does a fantastic job of explaining the central message of the Bible ... the gospel! I give it to friends, family, and even people I meet here and there -- like waitresses and waiters at restaurants -- as a way to introduce them to Christ. It's very clear, gets to the point, and shows that faith in Jesus really does make sense.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for The Reason Why: Faith Makes Sense - eBook
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Leaves A Lot to be Desired

Date:March 28, 2012
Customer Avatar
Danny
Location:Colorado Springs, Colorado
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I cannot recommend this book. At best it is mediocre in it's content. It's a cheap book with poor delivery of the Gospel. If you want an excellent book to advise people of the True Gospel then you need " Your Quest for God" by Richard A. Bennett. This is the best witness book on the market today.
-3points
0of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for The Reason Why: Faith Makes Sense - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:January 27, 2012
Customer Avatar
larry
Location:eugene oregon
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
the book was written in plain to understand english & was easy to understand. Therefore, it conveyed what the author was saying to the reader. Beside, it made sense.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for The Reason Why: Faith Makes Sense - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Tough, important topics in an easy-to-read format

Date:May 22, 2011
Customer Avatar
Haelie
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Why believe in God?
And furthermore, why have active, evident faith in God? After all, "even the demons believe." (James 2:19)
In times like ours as well as throughout history, many people question their once firm faith in God and many others do not believe that God exists at all. In fact, many of those who do not believe have made it their mission to prove it so and even to convince believers to give up their faith in God.
Mark Mittlelberg has done quite the opposite for us in his book The Reason Why: Faith Makes Sense.
If you recognize the title, it is because Mittlelberg has updated and expanded the original book The Reason Why which was written by Robert A. Laidlaw almost a hundred years ago. Mittelberg has done a fabulous job updating this little (a.k.a. short) treasure of a book.
Mittelberg walks the reader through several tough but necessary topics such as "Matters of Faith that Really Matter", "Is there a God?", "Can the Bible be Trusted?", "Are We Accountable to God?", "Who Was Jesus and What Was His Purpose?", "Is Divine Forgiveness Available?", and such. He covers all of this in a book whose dimensions are about the size of a postcard and includes 127 pages. Short, small, easy to read but tackles some heavy topics. Regardless of where you stand on the spectrum of faith in God, I challenge you to get a copy of this book and read it and see what revelations may happen in your heart and mind.
If you are skeptical, I challenge you with Mark's words, "May I encourage you to think again, and at least to say, 'Maybe'? Admit to yourself that if these things are true, then Jesus' point about the importance of the soul is valid---big time! Do you doubt that? Then at least be consistent enough as a skeptic to also doubt even your own doubts..."
Mittelberg, once a skeptic himself set on disproving God, states, "I am confident of this: the deeper you look---assuming you'll read with a receptive mind and an open heart---the more you'll become persuaded concerning the basic claims of the Christian faith. I say this because after more than three decades of studying both the attacks against that faith and the evidence for it, I'm surer than ever that it is based on real facts. In short, I'm convinced that Christianity is true."
Disclaimer: I received this book for free from Tyndale House Publishers. No other compensation was received. The fact that I received a complimentary product does not guarantee a favorable review.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for The Reason Why: Faith Makes Sense - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

makin' sense of it all

Date:April 27, 2011
Customer Avatar
markbraye
Location:Temiskaming Shores, Ontario, Canada
Age:25-34
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The Reason Why: Faith Makes Sense by Mark Mittelberg is an updated version of a book from about a hundred years ago called The Reason Why written by business leader Robert Laidlaw.
Laidlaw originally wrote the book for his employees to articulate his faith in a thoughtful and easy to understand fashion. the book took off and sold millions upon millions of copies.
this work, Mittelberg's The Reason Why, is an updated and expanded version of the original book.
it's wonderful. it is well-written and easy to follow. it's developed in a reasonable manner. the chapters build off each other as you read through the book.
Mittelberg has crafted an excellent book that's wonderful for spiritual conversation and small-group study. it would make a great gift for someone exploring the Christian faith as an introductory text. it's perfect for the fan of C.S. Lewis, Ravi Zacharias, Lee Strobel, and other apologists of the Church.
great read. enjoyed it thoroughly.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for The Reason Why: Faith Makes Sense - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

a fine example of Christian apologetics

Date:April 20, 2011
Customer Avatar
Darlene
Location:Las Vegas, NV
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I received a complimentary copy of " The Reason Why Faith Makes Sense" by Mark Mittelberg from Tyndale House Publishers to review.
Mark Mittelberg's book " The Reason Why Faith Makes Sense" falls directly in the category of Christian apologetics. Mark is an author, speaker and leader in Christian ministry. He has written this book to answer the questions of faith we as believers may be asked. Questions such as 'Is there a God?' 'Can the Bible be trusted?' and 'Are we accountable to God?'
The original work of Robert Laidlaw, entitled " The Reason Why" is a 1970's Christian classic. Mark Mittelberg has updated that exemplary work for today with contemporary language and examples and added information and evidence not previously available from the disciplines of science ( astronomy, nanoscience )and archaeology to back up his statements of faith. With transparency in personal life experiences and an active pursuit of truth the basic questions of faith are answered. We can share the gospel boldly having the knowledge and authority to do so.
I personally enjoyed reading this book for it's wealth of knowledge and insight, and clear teaching on personal faith. With the extensive footnotes and references in the notes in the back: a definite 'do not miss', I learned how to clearly state why I believe what I believe and am more equipped to share the gospel of Christ with others.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for The Reason Why: Faith Makes Sense - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

introductory apologetics, not a rigorous study

Date:April 20, 2011
Customer Avatar
bookwomanjoan
Location:Oak Harbor, WA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Have you ever had “spiritual vertigo,” that dizzy feeling you get when someone else's arguments knock you off your spiritual moorings? You wonder is you'll ever be sure again about what you believe.
Examining your beliefs can be unsettling. Mittelberg wants you to know there are reasons for belief. He has updated The Reason Why, written a century ago by Robert Laidlaw. Mittelberg read that book at a crucial time in his life and recognized its value. He presents the same important truths as the original book, mixing some of the original stories with his own.
Mittelberg starts with reasons for believing God exists. “...[T]he evidence for God is strong and getting stronger.” (27) He correctly identifies the reason people do not want to believe in God: accountability.
He then addresses the authority of the Bible, that humans are accountable to God, who Jesus is, and His role as the substitution payment for our sins.
In the final section of his book, Mittelberg shows how we can access forgiveness from God. He includes an opportunity for the reader to accept Jesus as savior.
This is not a scholarly work. It is short and has a rather “friendly” style to it. This book might work well to give to someone who has shown an initial interest in the reasons for Christian belief but it would merely be an introduction to the topic. One would need to follow up with more rigorous books on the topic.
I received a copy of this book from Tyndale House Publishers for the purpose of this review.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for The Reason Why: Faith Makes Sense - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent, to the point. Highly recommended!

Date:April 5, 2011
Customer Avatar
Sasha
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Reason Why: Faith Makes Sense is an excellent book and resource by Mark Mittelberg. It's a short, concise little book, weighing in at 135 pages. I was able to read through it quite quickly. Apparently, it is based on a book by the same title by Robert A. Laidlaw. I never have personally seen this other book, but the fact that it's being revamped nearly 100 years later and said to have been a 50-million-copy bestseller, speaks volumes for a book. I can't compare this new edition to the former, but I will say that this is an excellent book! I first read a book by Mark Mittelberg about two years ago and instantly fell in love with his to-the-point, factual, apologetics. I have done a lot of studying this year on science and evolution, the validity of the Bible, and other faith probing research. While I have enjoyed the quantity of material that I've read and studied, I thought this book did an excellent job at concisely arguing the facts of why faith matters, that God is real, and that forgiveness is available! For someone who is looking to strengthen an ambiguous faith, or for an unbeliever, I think this book is excellent. I would highly recommend it.
I received a complimentary copy of this book from the publisher and was not required to write a positive review.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.