Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Tyndale House Love Must Be Tough: New Hope for Marriages in Crisis - eBook

Tyndale House Love Must Be Tough: New Hope for Marriages in Crisis - eBook

Love Must Be Tough is for the husband or wife who is steadily losing the one they love. If you sense a growing disrespect from the one you love, then this book is for you. It is for your eyes only; don't ask your spouse to read it. The principles discussed are more effective if not discussed in the confines of a troubled marriage. Dr. James Dobson offers you guidance to rekindling romance and renewing your relationship with your partner. A Focus on the Family Recommendation.
Average Customer Rating:
4.622 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(37 Reviews) 37
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (37 reviews)
5 stars
27
4 stars
8
3 stars
0
2 stars
2
1 star
0
19 out of 2095%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Love Must Be Tough: New Hope for Marriages in Crisis - eBook
Review 1 for Love Must Be Tough: New Hope for Marriages in Crisis - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Love must be tough

Date:December 30, 2013
Customer Avatar
Joyce
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book is awesome. I purchased this book from Barnes and Noble in Fargo, ND right after Hurricane Katrina. I gave it to a friend to read and never got it back. "Well, you know how that is" I came back home to New Orleans in 6/2006 and tried to purchase this book and was told they no longer printed this book. I was very disappointed. I would encourage anyone who is having a difficult time in a relationship to read this book. It will boost your self-esteem. You will not have to wonder how to handle tough times in your marriage/ relationships. This is a great book.
You have to purchase and read the book. I just cannot tell you everything.
New Orleans, La
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Love Must Be Tough: New Hope for Marriages in Crisis - eBook
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Online reader is very difficut to use.

Date:December 27, 2013
Customer Avatar
Tamie
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I was very excited to read this book, but the format I am forced to read it on is hard to use, doesn't scroll through very easily, and it's pretty crazy that I have to log in every time I want to read this book. The format made the book not worth the price I paid.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Love Must Be Tough: New Hope for Marriages in Crisis - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great Points and Perspective

Date:November 29, 2013
Customer Avatar
hope12
Location:Louisiana
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This book has certainly opened my eyes regarding tough love. I apply the principles as much as possible. It's not easy but I suppose it's tough to practice tough love during trying times.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Love Must Be Tough: New Hope for Marriages in Crisis - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Love is tough

Date:April 9, 2013
Customer Avatar
Cheni
Location:San Pablo, CA
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I got this book due to a recent problem with my spouse. It was recommended by probe.com so I thought I should read it. It reinforced things I already knew about confronting your spouse but unfortunately the approach didn't really work for me. Unless your spouse is a believer, it may not be worth trying.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Love Must Be Tough: New Hope for Marriages in Crisis - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great resource

Date:March 12, 2013
Customer Avatar
Lisa
Location:North Carolina
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I read along with a friend experiencing trouble in her marriage. Although she was in the early stages of her grieving the loss of trust, she realized she could be strong in the midst of it all! This book demonstrates time and time again there is strength in all situations
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Love Must Be Tough: New Hope for Marriages in Crisis - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

excellent

Date:April 16, 2012
Customer Avatar
anon
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
There is no other book on the market that so thoroughly understands and comes alongside the person whose spouse is slipping away, or has already strayed. There's an incredible understanding of what's going on in the relationship and how to handle oneself as partner walks the other direction. It's a breath of fresh air to the one desiring reconciliation and an amazing encouragement in the midst of what is typically a chaotic and confusing and very difficult time in life. A must read, and yes, definitely by yourself. There is hope.
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Love Must Be Tough: New Hope for Marriages in Crisis - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great advice and terrific insight

Date:April 3, 2012
Customer Avatar
Carol
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book has helped me realize that all issues cannot be resolved without some consequences which may not be the outcome we desire. But the advice has helped me personally to re-evaluate my life and situation and to move forward.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Love Must Be Tough: New Hope for Marriages in Crisis - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great book with great insight

Date:March 30, 2012
Customer Avatar
monast
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book is great. The idea is great. However this toughness must be applied carefully if there is depression in the picture. In my case my depressed husband translated everything as I was done with him and drew further away from me. These principles can still be applied on such situation but at a mild level.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Love Must Be Tough: New Hope for Marriages in Crisis - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This book is profound, punchy & practical.

Date:November 16, 2011
Customer Avatar
Katherine
Location:Australia
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book gives me new confidence to face a difficult season in my life. The bible verses are expounded clearly and have helped me to gain a better understanding of what God thinks of marriage. Love must be tough, I have found out for myself and I appreciate the support offered through this book and the ministry behind it as I learn to express love in truth and gain the respect of my spouse.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Love Must Be Tough: New Hope for Marriages in Crisis - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

very easy to understand and follow

Date:September 21, 2011
Customer Avatar
kaukauboy
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
great reference book, if your partner is willing to participate, both of you will suceed as a couple...
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Love Must Be Tough: New Hope for Marriages in Crisis - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Best book for families in crisis

Date:September 21, 2011
Customer Avatar
Bonnie
Location:Orlando, FL
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My husband and I have been to counseling before but have not had much success. This has helped us get to the heart of the problems and we have had great conversations! I would recommend this book to anyone!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Love Must Be Tough: New Hope for Marriages in Crisis - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 7, 2011
Customer Avatar
Donna
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I can't say enough about the excellent insights from Dr. Dobson!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Love Must Be Tough: New Hope for Marriages in Crisis - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

What I needed to set me free of guilt.

Date:August 24, 2011
Customer Avatar
hpcgw
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reading it through a second time to get me through the moments of weakness. I did the tough love which gave me confidence. I quit believing that it was ALL my fault for husbands leaving. Excuses husband gave were in the book, published before he said them. The enemy uses the same lines over and over, doesn't he.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Love Must Be Tough: New Hope for Marriages in Crisis - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 12, 2011
Customer Avatar
andystep
Location:Birmingham, AL
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book is especially good if you are dealing with infidelity, but it is helpful for anyone in a relationship in which you feel disrespected
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Love Must Be Tough: New Hope for Marriages in Crisis - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Superb!

Date:August 11, 2011
Customer Avatar
Lisa
Location:Baltimore, MD
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Simply put Dr. Dobson is excellent. GOD has anointed him with insight that we rarely get to see. Thanks Dr. Dobson for providing us with a book that will allow us to maintain our marriages and speak the truth in love.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Love Must Be Tough: New Hope for Marriages in Crisis - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great book

Date:July 12, 2011
Customer Avatar
Angie
Age:25-34
Gender:female
I felt this book brings an inner spiritual guidance on how "we" as married couples should be treated and respected with the help of God. Very good book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Love Must Be Tough: New Hope for Marriages in Crisis - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

is extremely good reading for the "victim"

Date:June 9, 2011
Customer Avatar
Leilani Cunningham
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have given this book away several times and that is why I purchased more copies. I have given out every copy that I have owned. Working with young moms, I have found this extremely helpful for marriage "problems." I believe reading this book, gives the hurting spouse strength to say "I am going to make it thru this situation either way."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Love Must Be Tough: New Hope for Marriages in Crisis - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Very Helpfull in addition to God's words...

Date:April 16, 2011
Customer Avatar
Hopefullhusband
Location:Long Island,NY
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
A great read for someone who wants to get their loved one back through their own growth. There is no better book than the Bible but for a fresh perspective on how to do things to get your loved one back it is a must read. God Bless and "Let no man separate what God has joined"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Love Must Be Tough: New Hope for Marriages in Crisis - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 14, 2011
Customer Avatar
jackson2j
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
excellent real life examples that let you know that there are others going thru the same marriage trials
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Love Must Be Tough: New Hope for Marriages in Crisis - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Not sure

Date:December 6, 2010
Customer Avatar
Looking for help
Location:Wyoming
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
While I really liked the book and felt that much of it's ideas were probably useful and important, it was heavily directed at adultery situations. For me, I had a hard time seeing my situation with the way that Dobson kept coming back to adultery as the cause of divorce/separation.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>