Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Tyndale House In the Presence of My Enemies - eBook

Tyndale House In the Presence of My Enemies - eBook

Average Customer Rating:
4.692 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(13 Reviews) 13
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (13 reviews)
5 stars
10
4 stars
2
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
6 out of 6100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for In the Presence of My Enemies - eBook
Review 1 for In the Presence of My Enemies - eBook
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

It kept me reading!

Date:July 23, 2012
Customer Avatar
D. Snider
Location:Sudbury, Ontario
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I found this book difficult to follow at times and a bit disjointed in its writing style, however it is worth the read, just keep plugging ahead.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for In the Presence of My Enemies - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 20, 2012
Customer Avatar
OddNiki
Location:Manitouwadge, Ontario, Canada
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I appreciated the opportunity to be able to read an e-book on my laptop as I have never done this before. It was a very convenient way to read the book and there was no wait for the item to be shipped to me either!
This is an excellent book which I highly recommend you read, but I will not give away anything about it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for In the Presence of My Enemies - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Informative and encouraging

Date:July 20, 2012
Customer Avatar
PrayerGram
Location:Sherwood Park,Alberat,Canada
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I found this book to be a little hard to follow in the beginning but persistence brought me to a greater understanding of what the characters had faced and the strength of faith they exhibited in walking through their trials. I found it encouraging to be reminded that God is always with us, He walks with us through every event of every day. A real blessing. Thanks.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for In the Presence of My Enemies - eBook
This review is fromIn The Presence Of My Enemies.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Good

Date:July 17, 2012
Customer Avatar
Janet Hill
Location:Alabama
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was asked by a missionary friend to read this book. It is a good book that really makes one think about our missionaries that are daily in harms way.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for In the Presence of My Enemies - eBook
This review is fromIn The Presence Of My Enemies.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great book!

Date:December 30, 2011
Customer Avatar
shay
Location:SCS, MI
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This was a very good book about a missionary couple held hostage in the jungle and how their faith got them through each day. It was a remarkable, suspenseful book. Would definitely recommend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for In the Presence of My Enemies - eBook
This review is fromIn The Presence Of My Enemies.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

An incredible story of courage

Date:June 17, 2011
Customer Avatar
Sooznlee
Location:Murrieta, ca
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We, as a book club, just discussed this book. It is an incredible true story that many will remember from 10 years ago. The author, Gracia Burnham, Did an excellent job putting the reader right there on their journey without making us completely suffer along with her and her husband. We could tell she hadn't written much prior to this, but the words were beautiful, and her message was conveyed well.
We all loved this book and highly recommend it, especially if someone has a heart for missions.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for In the Presence of My Enemies - eBook
This review is fromIn The Presence Of My Enemies.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 15, 2010
Customer Avatar
Rollalyn Ruis
I was somewhat familiar with the story of "In the Presence of My Enemies," so there were no big surprises for me. I was glad to finally read and listen to this firsthand account by Gracia Burnham. "In the Presence of My Enemies" is the story of Martin and Gracia Burnham who were American missionaries in the Philippines. They were celebrating a wedding anniversary when the Muslim terrorist group, the Abu Sayaf, kidnapped them in the middle of the night. The terrifying ordeal lasted for over a year. I appreciate the honesty and transparency of Mrs. Burnham. She could've sugar-coated what really happened, but I believe she was truthful. There were times when she wasn't very Christ-like at all. But don't we, as Christians, act like that also? And we're not even held hostage! What's important is that despite the low points of their kidnapping, the Burnhams still shared the Gospel with their enemies, whether in word or deed. In regards to the audiobook, Pam Ward narrated the book full of emotion. The only problem I had was the pronunciation of some of her words. I'm familiar with Tagalog, and it bothered me when she mispronounced the words. The story really made me think about how far would I go to defend my faith. Would I be strong enough to hold onto my convictions? I'd like to think I would. But I know when actually coming face-to-face with that fear, one might react differently. I pray that I never have to be in a situation like the Burnhams, but if I do, I want to be able to proclaim Jesus Christ at all costs!This review was written as part of the christianaudio Reviewers Program.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for In the Presence of My Enemies - eBook
This review is fromIn The Presence Of My Enemies.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 11, 2007
Customer Avatar
Grace Community Chapel
Today's generation's call to life long Christian service. A Generation past had "Through Gates of Splendor"- we have "In the Presence of My Enemies"... moving- life challenging- bold- honest- open- insightful of the human nature- a necessary read.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for In the Presence of My Enemies - eBook
This review is fromIn The Presence Of My Enemies.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 10, 2005
Customer Avatar
Kathie Gennrich
I enjoyed this riveting account of missionary faith under extreme circumstances. We live near the New Tribes Mission headquarters where the Burnhams were based and followed the story as it unfolded. I couldn't put it down.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for In the Presence of My Enemies - eBook
This review is fromIn The Presence Of My Enemies.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 29, 2004
Customer Avatar
Jim Smith
It was a Christmas present. I was lukewarm about it until I started reading. I wouldn't even put it down while I shaved and brushed my teeth. An amazing testimony to me and everyone who picks it up. I was reminded of "The Hiding Place".
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for In the Presence of My Enemies - eBook
This review is fromIn The Presence Of My Enemies.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 26, 2003
Customer Avatar
Pam
I am not an avid reader, yet I found it hard to put this book down. You could never imagine what these people went through. And how they survived, is only by the grace of God. It brought tears to my eyes and special prayers to my lips for all of the missionaries, evangelist, pastors and teacher. My heart goes out to Gracia and her family.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for In the Presence of My Enemies - eBook
This review is fromIn The Presence Of My Enemies.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 12, 2003
Customer Avatar
Cathy
These books will touch your very soul! You can't even come close to imagining what these people went thru without picking up and reading this book. I am humbled and much more aware and concerned for our missionaries around the world! Please pray for them and support them whenever you can.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for In the Presence of My Enemies - eBook
This review is fromIn The Presence Of My Enemies.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 6, 2003
Customer Avatar
Carol
Once I picked up book - I was pressed to continue reading at every opportunity. Very moving reading. I think it is important for us to come face to face with the questioning of our faith during these end times. Is my faith strong enough to overcome, endure, and stand firm through such hardships. (Faith building reading). Also, great insite on the way these kidnappers "radical Islam" understands or views their actions. I cried alot. May God strengthen and deliver all those persecuted for Christ.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.