Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Tyndale House Runaway - eBook

Tyndale House Runaway - eBook

Welcome to Starlight Animal Rescue, where problem horses are trained and loved, abandoned dogs become heroes, and stray cats become loyal companions. It's also where people with nowhere to fit in find a place to belong.

In the first book by Dandi Daley Mackall, author of the bestselling Winnie the Horse Gentler series, you'll meet 16-year-old Dakota Brown. She used to love all things "horse" until she lost everything, including hope. The minute she sets foot on her foster parents' farm--Starlight Animal Rescue--she plans her escape. But can an "impossible" horse named Blackfire and this quirky collection of animal lovers be the home she's always dreamed of? Recommended for ages 8 to 12.

Average Customer Rating:
4.333 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(12 Reviews) 12
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (12 reviews)
5 stars
9
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
1
4 out of 580%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Runaway - eBook
Review 1 for Runaway - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Wonderful heart warming story

Date:January 2, 2014
Customer Avatar
Kay Monroe
Location:Telford, PA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Well done. Very enjoyable read. If your looking for a horse story hang in there it gets there, but more about love. Just read it for the fun of it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Runaway - eBook
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Disappointed couldn't get into story

Date:March 12, 2013
Customer Avatar
Toots
Location:S D CA
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Review lead me to think story would be more along a horse
story. Then an angry boy, not appreciating what had been given to him. You don't have much of an in site of what led him to be this way, when you start story. Or is it just him made at the world. Some people might enjoy this. I didn't.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Runaway - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

I love this book. It is fantastic!

Date:March 1, 2013
Customer Avatar
Twittlebug
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is an awesome book. I loved it. I recommend it for any girl older then 9 years. It's a great story. I recommend the whole series
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Runaway - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A truly wonderful book

Date:August 31, 2011
Customer Avatar
Booklover21
Location:Gresham, OR
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recently I sat down and read Runaway, the first book in Dandi Daley Mackall’s Starlight Animal Rescue series. Having never read one of Mackall’s books before, I wasn’t quite sure what to expect, even though I had heard a lot of really good things about some of her other teen book series. All in all, I have to say that I was very much pleased, and that this book exceeded my expectations.
Runaway tells the story of Dakota Brown, an orphan who has a penchant for running away from the foster homes she gets placed in. So when she gets dropped off at the Starlight Animal Rescue farm, she has no plans of sticking around. Once she hears back from her friend in Chicago and formulates a plan she’ll be away from this place for good. That is, until she meets Blackfire, a horse who just might be more afraid of life then she is. But will this horse, and the crazy cast of characters who reside at the farm with her, be able to soften her heart and show her what truly matters in life before it’s too late?
Wow, I have to say that I was extremely impressed with this book. Mackall definitely has a love for all animals, especially horses, and that truly shines through in this book. The way she describes the horses, how they act, what they smell like, and how a person feels when they’re around them is truly amazing. I honestly don’t think anyone can write about horses the way she does. So if you are looking for an enjoyable, faith based book for a young reader, I would most definitely recommend this book, because I know that whoever reads it will absolutely love it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Runaway - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 4, 2011
Customer Avatar
Daisylady
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bought this series for my granddaughter, who loves horses. This was on her Christmas list. Excellent, quick shipping. I'm very pleased with the transaction, and will continue to order more. Thank you!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Runaway - eBook
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Date:July 6, 2010
I have read two of the books in the series. I purchase books for my church library. I do not recomend them for the age group of 8-12. 8 to 12 year old children would be in 2nd grade to maybe 4th. Way too young for stories about runaway, troubled kids that do their best to runaway from the foster care system. Dakota tries to plan her escape to meet up with her boyfriend that she met in teen group home. How is that content for a young child. I do not like the series and would not recomend them at all. If the author focused on the animal rescue aspect of the stories it would be a lot better for young readers.
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Runaway - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 12, 2009
Customer Avatar
Eva
This book is great a nice easy paced christian book not to hard to read full of adventures and has a great moral
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Runaway - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 12, 2009
Customer Avatar
Eva
This book is great a nice easy paced christian book not to hard to read full of adventures and has a great moral
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Runaway - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:February 3, 2009
This story is about a foster girl who never really felt loved. Even before she gets to newest foster home, she plans her runaway. But the home she ends up in is different. The foster parents are sweet and she meets an abused horse that take a liking to her almost immeadiately. In her adventures, she learns about God and what a it's like to live a in a loving home. And guess what else, you'll even get to read emails from Catman and Winnie in this book! It's easy reading and a pretty acurrate view of fostering. But, I preferred the second book "Mad Dog" better.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Runaway - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 26, 2009
Customer Avatar
pams
This book is really great! It teaches you so much about love and in such a wonderful way. Dandi Daley Mackall did it again!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Runaway - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 13, 2008
Customer Avatar
Wendi
A gentle, charming book filled with learning opportunities, hope, faith, love and family. I found this book refreshing in its simplicity and it's faith-centered attitude. No pushy preaching here - but something a child/young adult/adult/parent can read and enjoy, while getting a sense of peace, happiness . . . and family. Dakota Brown has been from foster-home to foster-home, never fitting in, never staying long. She is brought to the Coolidges farm, where she meets a wonderful family who help her see that she might be able to be part of a family after all! It was great to watch Dakota make choices that affected both her and those around her. The family's reactions always surprise her, as they put people above posessions. Throughout the book, choices are made, some good - some bad, and there are consequenses to help reinforce growth and learning.My Review:Meet Dakota Brown, a 15 year-old girl who has already been to seven different foster homes. Now she is being taken to the eighth foster-home by Ms. Bean, her social worker. From the get-go, Dakota is planning to run-away.Ms. Bean feels that Dakota might do better with a change of pace, so takes her to Nice, the small community where the Coolidges live on their farm Starlight Animal Rescue. Dr. Annie and Chester "Popeye" Coolidge are loving parents to both their natural son Hank, and two other foster-children Kat and Wes. Each memeber of the family has a significant impact on Dakota, helping to ultimately help her make the best choices for both herself, and the family. Not everything in the story is perfect, which wouldn't be realistic. One member is fighting a serious illness, and one has ties to a troubled parent. Dakota makes many mistakes in her first two weeks (crashing Popeye's truck & stealing money), but through these mistakes she learns valuable lessons and comes to learn that she has found people to care for, who love her for herself. Could this be the family she has secretly yearned for?
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Runaway - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 7, 2008
Customer Avatar
Jen Quiverfullfamilycom
Mackall has created a cast of quirky, loving characters and a family that I wouldn't mind being part of! When confronted with the love of God as expressed through this new family and a horse that desperately needs her care, Dakota's life begins to change. Her adoration for horses, previously only cerebral, becomes hands-on. Like many horse-girls before her, Dakota falls hard for all things horsey.I read the carefully described interaction and communication between the various rescue animals and their human caretakers with fascination. Mackall's experience as a horsewoman comes through in the detailed descriptions of the budding relationship between Dakota and the previously abused horse, Blackfire. A parallel relationship between the Coolidge's soon-to-be-adopted foster daughter Kat and her charge Kitten provides similarly detailed behaviour for cat-lovers.This combination of themes would seem depressing if it werent for their collision with the unconditional love of God as expressed through the Coolidge family. God is in the ultimate rescue business, and the Coolidges are eager to partner with Him in His plans for these discarded children and animals. Annie and Chester (otherwise known as Popeye) Coolidge are so warm and quirky that I can't wait to know them better through upcoming titles in this new series. I'm making a mental note of these titles for when my children reach their early teens.Runaway is a winner and should be included on the fall reading lists of any horse loving girl, but don't avoid this series if your child is male or doesn't have a penchant for horses. From taking a peek at future titles, the main character and animal in each title will rotate through the human and animal inhabitants at Starlight Animal Rescue - girls, boys, horses, cats and dogs.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.