Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Tyndale House Troublesome Creek - eBook

Tyndale House Troublesome Creek - eBook

Average Customer Rating:
5 out of 5
5
 out of 
5
(11 Reviews) 11
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (11 reviews)
5 stars
11
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
1 out of 1100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Troublesome Creek - eBook
Review 1 for Troublesome Creek - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

really enjoyed this book

Date:June 16, 2011
Customer Avatar
proverbs226mom
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I really enjoyed reading this book. It took me a while to get into the book but once I did, I was hooked.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Troublesome Creek - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 9, 2010
Customer Avatar
Thirza Peevey
I'm glad I stuck this book out. In the first couple of chapters, there was a character who really annoyed me. She sounded like Granny Clampet, and every time I came to her dialog, that was who I heard in my head. I was ready to put the book down, but I kept going. Fortunately, that character didn't last long, and once she was out of the story, the book took off. After a time, I started to really fall for the other characters. This author has an impressive command of scripture. I suspect that is what carried her through her work as an OB nurse. I delivered at the hospital where she worked. A friend of mine who also worked in on that floor came to visit with me while I was there. Something she said to me that day has stuck with me ever since. My friend talked about what a joy it is to send a family home when you can see how much the parents love the baby and that it is going to have a very good childhood, and how hard it is sometimes to put a baby in its mother's arms and send it out the door, when you have invested yourself in that baby for several days, and you can see that the parents don't love it and don't care. Jan Watson has written so much of that struggle into this series. I suspect she coped with that struggle by much daily prayer and Bible reading, and that comes through in these books.You can also see that this author has had long practice at forgiving and seeing both sides of a situation and a person, and that makes her characters believable and fallible, while still being lovable. There are no one dimensional characters in this series. Some you love immediately, and some you grow to love as the author reveals more and more of the heart and the pain of what seemed to be a completely unlovable person.This book is definitely worth reading.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Troublesome Creek - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 8, 2009
As you read you are transported to the hills of Kentucky and to the heart of Copper Brown. It's a delight to read both the struggles and the joys in her life. The characters are not predictable, as you will discover in the unexpected ending!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Troublesome Creek - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 25, 2009
Customer Avatar
diane curtis
i love this book icould not put it down.i read it within two daysi felt as if i was there through all of copper's good times and bad.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Troublesome Creek - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 14, 2008
Customer Avatar
Christina
This story takes place in a mountainous region of rural Kentucky around 1881. For our main character we are introduced to Copper, a red-haired sixteen-year-old girl struggling through her teenage years. After causing the readers to become familiar with the current setting and family structure, Ms. Watson transports the readers back in time using a wonderful technique called flashback. Through this process, we become over-filled with emotion as we meet Will (Copper's father), Julie (Copper's mother), and Grace (Copper's step-mother). We are then returned to the current time and place with a strong emotional attachment to all characters in this book and then the story continues...From the moment I opened this book and read the first paragraph I was captivated and knew that this book was to be refreshing. Full of love, heartache, laughter, and tears. Boy, was I right! Troublesome Creek is the best fictional novel that I have had the pleasure of reading in a very long time and I could not and would not put it down until I reached the end.This novel was full of plot-twist, family devotion, faith, humor, tragedy, forgiveness, and romance! I found myself crying & spontaneously laughing out loud. Not only do I recommend Troublesome Creek, but I can not wait to read the following two books in this series. Willow Springs and Torrent Falls.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Troublesome Creek - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 24, 2006
Customer Avatar
B Harris
Excellent! A wonderful, exciting, carefree read. I didn't want the story to end. I look forward to more tales of Cooper and her family.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Troublesome Creek - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 16, 2006
Customer Avatar
MEKA
Fabulous, wonderful, fantastic! Evocative of Francine Rivers! I CANNOT wait for her next novel to be released - I trust there will be one soon!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Troublesome Creek - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 3, 2006
Customer Avatar
Christian Book Previews
This first-time novelist captures the readers heart as pages quickly turn to reveal plot twists and a story of real-life family love. This is how Jan Watson, author of Troublesome Creek, debuts her work as a novelist. Main character Copper, a sixteen-year-old girl from the hills of Kentucky, struggles through her teenage years with her loving, but somewhat sewn askew parents. After an introduction to the existing Brown family, Watson takes the reader into the familys turbulent past, bringing more complexity to the story. Troublesome Creek, the nearby waterfront that Will Brown has loved for so many years proves to be loving and unforgiving all at once. A mountain cat herself, young Coppers outdoor-loving instincts come to battle against her mothers desire for her to become a proper lady. Threats of boarding school and city life lead Copper to make hasty, unwise decisions that guide her into paths she would never have chosen otherwise. A story of true, tested love and the blossoming of youth into adulthood makes this a gentle but poignant story. Watson gracefully leads the reader into the plot by the powerful use of flashback. Troublesome Creek is revealed to the reader one piece at a time, but leaves no questions about what is to come. Relationships between characters are unforgettable and feel hauntingly realistic. Although Watsons plot twists are unusual in everyday life, a reader cannot help but empathize when the characters find themselves in painful or awkward situations. Copper is a young and fiery redhead who loves the mountains, her family, and her hound dog Paw-Paw. As the story progresses, Copper finds herself in love with John, a friend from her childhood. Stepmother Grace and father Will serve her with guidance and stability as she makes decisions as an inexperienced adolescent. Rifts between mother and daughter emerge, as can only be expected in a story of a growing family. But, ultimately, love pulls the family through the rough waters.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Troublesome Creek - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 11, 2006
Customer Avatar
Sheryl Root
Jan Watson's first published novel does a wonderful job at making the characters come alive, using flashbacks as a tool to give history & depth. Her descriptions of the way of life during the 1800's and the Kentucky landscape make you feel as if you are there. And the characters struggles with faith & trust in God are very realistic and spoke to my heart. I definitely look forward to reading more stories of Copper & her family.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Troublesome Creek - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 17, 2005
Customer Avatar
mary boros
i just finished this book and can not wait for another please let me know when the next is out i loved the story thanks mary
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Troublesome Creek - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 24, 2005
Customer Avatar
Harriet Klausner
Troublesome CreekJan WatsonTyndale, Nov 2005, $12.99, 372 pp.ISBN: 1414304471In 1881 in Troublesome Creek, Kentucky, Grace and Will Brown argue over educating their daughter Laura, known by most as Copper. Grace wants to send her niece whom she adopted when her sister died to a fine school back east. Will, the biological father, wants Copper to stay at home.Copper wonders if her stepmother does not love her and how life would have been if her mom Julie has lived. At the same time, Grace knows she loves Will, but keeps a shameful secret from him; she threatened to give up the baby for adoption that her unmarried sister was carrying years ago. Instead Will married his beloved Julie and when she died came to Lexington to ask Grace to help raise her blood. These secrets threaten to cause more than trouble for a family that now include twin sons, but whose past has caught up to them and has hidden the love that everyone shares but fears stating let alone showing.TROUBLESOME CREEK is an entertaining character driven Americana tale that provides the audience a taste of life in Kentucky in which the impact of the Civil War lingers on over fifteen years since the hostilities ended. Interestingly Will, Grace, and even Laura struggle to admit they love one another because each fears that in some way will lessen their feeling towards the late Julie. In the case of Grace it is the secret; to Will it is his love for both sisters; finally to Laura it is what could have been. Though the action is limited even when Julie vanishes in the storm Jan Watson provides a strong late nineteenth century historical tale. This is one book readers will put on their keeper shelf because it is so fascinatingHarriet Klausner
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.