Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Tyndale House Growing Up Amish: A Memoir - eBook

Tyndale House Growing Up Amish: A Memoir - eBook

One fateful starless night, 17-year-old Ira Wagler got up at 2 am, left a scribbled note under his pillow, packed all of his earthly belongings into in a little black duffel bag, and walked away from his home in the Amish settlement of Bloomfield, Iowa. Now, in this heartwarming memoir, Ira paints a vivid portrait of Amish life - from his childhood days on the family farm, his Rumspringa rite of passage at age 16, to his ultimate decision to leave the Amish Church for good at age 26.

Growing Up Amish is the true story of one man's quest to discover who he is and where he belongs. Readers will laugh, cry, and be inspired by this charming yet poignant coming of age story set amidst the backdrop of one of the most enigmatic cultures in America today - the Old Order Amish.

Average Customer Rating:
4.25 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(32 Reviews) 32
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (32 reviews)
5 stars
13
4 stars
14
3 stars
5
2 stars
0
1 star
0
29 out of 3291%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Growing Up Amish: A Memoir - eBook
Review 1 for Growing Up Amish: A Memoir - eBook
This review is fromGrowing Up Amish: A Memoir.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Interesting

Date:June 25, 2013
Customer Avatar
rlighthouse
Location:PA
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book was an interesting peek into the life of Ira Wagler who grew up Amish and graciously shared his story. Some things I already knew about the Amish way of life but there was so much new information that only someone growing up Amish would know.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Growing Up Amish: A Memoir - eBook
This review is fromGrowing Up Amish: A Memoir.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Not what I expected.

Date:November 2, 2012
Customer Avatar
Abby
Location:Dexter, Maine
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Not what I expected, not a real interesting story compared to so many others I've read.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Growing Up Amish: A Memoir - eBook
This review is fromGrowing Up Amish: A Memoir.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Nice book

Date:April 20, 2012
Customer Avatar
Pete
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I enjoyed the book. Nice to learn some of the Amish lifestyle
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Growing Up Amish: A Memoir - eBook
This review is fromGrowing Up Amish: A Memoir.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

book

Date:March 12, 2012
Customer Avatar
melissa
Location:nc
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
was ok, didnt give as much details about amish life as i was expecting, but again it is about his memoir not the whole communitys.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Growing Up Amish: A Memoir - eBook
This review is fromGrowing Up Amish: A Memoir.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

insightful into amish life

Date:February 22, 2012
Customer Avatar
Sammy
Location:clinton township mi
Great true life story about a person finding a true relationship with Jesus after leaving the Amish church. Also very insightful into amish culture for us who are fascinated by it.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Growing Up Amish: A Memoir - eBook
This review is fromGrowing Up Amish: A Memoir.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Grea book---Must read to learn the REAL Amish life

Date:November 28, 2011
Customer Avatar
snoopycsf
Location:Aurora, IN
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
READ THIS IF YOU'RE FANCINATED WITH THE AMISH
I didn't grow up Amish, I grew up with my Amish relatives. My cousin told me I had to read this book. He said it was the best description of our Amish families. My cousin grew up Amish as did my Dad & most of my relatives.
I started reading and saw my Amish relatives jump from the book. Yes there are some differences but as Mr. Wagler said the Elders in each Amish community set their rules. Mr. Wagler's father has similarities to my grandpa. His father allowed him to come home multiple times. Grandpa was an Amish Bishop. Not only did he allow Dad to live at home after Dad made the decision to join the church but Grandpa helped Dad choose an "English" church to attend!
Added note: before taking a photograph PLEASE have the courtesy to ask their permission. Respect their buggies they have the right to be on the road with your car.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Growing Up Amish: A Memoir - eBook
This review is fromGrowing Up Amish: A Memoir.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Very informative

Date:November 18, 2011
Customer Avatar
Steve
Location:Ontario Canada
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I found this to be very enlightening. I understand the Amish way of life better now than I did from just reading novels.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Growing Up Amish: A Memoir - eBook
This review is fromGrowing Up Amish: A Memoir.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Perfect

Date:November 16, 2011
Customer Avatar
Constance
Location:Narvon, PA
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
To someone like me who grew up “plain”, this book is intensely personal and will either be hated or praised. This story is my story as well and the story of hundreds like me, with variations for each of course, but still the same story and still being told. To everyone else, this story will be a curiosity. A freak show at the circus. To me, the book was written perfectly. I know very well from my own experience that it is honest, but very gracious. A perfect meet in the middle of the road. Not a bitter telling and not a glamorizing, thus giving credibility to the peace the author has found.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Growing Up Amish: A Memoir - eBook
This review is fromGrowing Up Amish: A Memoir.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent!

Date:November 10, 2011
Customer Avatar
DawnieK
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A book well worth reading for a clear understanding of how the Amish do and think.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Growing Up Amish: A Memoir - eBook
This review is fromGrowing Up Amish: A Memoir.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Insight in the life of the Amish

Date:October 21, 2011
Customer Avatar
Robin Wallace
Location:Florida
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I enjoyed this book for a multitude of reasons. One big reason is the insight provided by Mr. Wagler of what the Amish life is like. There was a complete honesty and simplicity in his thinking about home. The question always before him was can he ever really leave home. The bigger and greater reason for staying with his story was the triumphant end - coming to a Christ who is home and salvation. It is a true prodigal coming home as many are going home to the Christ who saves. The saddest thing was the gentleman who shared the savior to Mr. Wagler, and Mr. Wagler grace in dealing with loosing this friend. It is a great show of the Lord salvation because when Mr. Wagler would not do as his friend wanted Mr. Wagler faith continued to grow and change his life. Throughout the slower parts of his story he successful wove in the knowledge that something was coming. The big life altering something of Jesus the Christ. Thank you Mr. Wagler for the glimpse into the Amish mystique and again our great God and Savior.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Growing Up Amish: A Memoir - eBook
This review is fromGrowing Up Amish: A Memoir.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

If you are interested in Amish read it.

Date:October 19, 2011
Customer Avatar
Jay D
Location:BC, Canada
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have always been interested in the Amish and this book was very interesting since it was written by someone from an Amish background. Very interesting book and an easy read.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Growing Up Amish: A Memoir - eBook
This review is fromGrowing Up Amish: A Memoir.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

a true story of an amish man's struggles..

Date:August 23, 2011
Customer Avatar
Bonnie Mccue
Location:Toledo, Ohio
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I really enjoyed reading this book. I could feel Ira's struggles to wanting to stay with the Amish and he continued to try to go back but kept feeling a pull towards the "English" life.
I would recommend this book as it tells the story of a real amish mans struggles. I hope he writes about his next twenty yrs. I look forward to reading it.
We have visited Holmes Co. for over twenty yrs. and I often think how hard it must be to live in the amish life but on the other hand realize how hard working and religious the amish are.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Growing Up Amish: A Memoir - eBook
This review is fromGrowing Up Amish: A Memoir.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

the long and winding road...

Date:August 19, 2011
Customer Avatar
berg
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
evocative of aspects of my own family history, i took great interest in Ira's faith and life journey. a memoir of many insights into Amish life, leadership, family, activities, worship. controversial, i'm sure, to those of the Amish communities, but the insider's view that exposes unknowns and answers many of the questions outsiders want to ask. it left me wanting to know more...
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Growing Up Amish: A Memoir - eBook
This review is fromGrowing Up Amish: A Memoir.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

An interesting view into the life of the Amish...

Date:July 18, 2011
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Born on a hot August day, Ira Wagler was raised in the Old Order Amish community of Aylmer, Ontario. Growing up in the Amish way suited Ira only until he became a young man. After watching most of his older siblings leave the Amish way of life, Ira followed suit at age seventeen. Over the course of the next nine years, Ira would repeatedly return to the Amish and then leave again. At twenty-six, he left Amish permanently. In this memoir Ira candidly shares the myriad of experiences that his life journey consisted of.
Growing Up Amish by Ira Wagler peals away common stereotypes and misconceptions about the Amish people and reveals one man's journey in and out of the Amish world. In the Christian fiction realm, the Amish way of life is often idealized. Reading Growing Up Amish was like seeing a side of Amish culture that I had not been exposed to before. I thought the book started off a little slow. However, by the time the author began talking about his teenage years and Rumspringa, I was hooked. I live in one of the non-Amish areas that the author talks about visiting, so it was interesting to see his observations and experiences in my own area. Christians who are fans of biographies will probably enjoy this book.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Tyndale House Publishers as part of their Blogger Review Program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Growing Up Amish: A Memoir - eBook
This review is fromGrowing Up Amish: A Memoir.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

I highly recommend this book!

Date:July 6, 2011
Customer Avatar
Tammy
Location:Boxford, MA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Tender and true, Ira Wagler’s “Growing Up Amish” is a touching coming of age story that includes his personal testimony of how he found salvation through prayer. He transparently describes Amish culture and heritage with anecdotes from his own childhood. He tells of the agony of leaving his family multiple times, but then returning and the heartache of losing his fiance, family, and friends when he ultimately leaves for good. This story gives the reader an honest glimpse into growing up in an Amish family with all of the trials and blessings that go along with that culture, and I would recommend it to anyone who enjoys reading a very well written memoir.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Growing Up Amish: A Memoir - eBook
This review is fromGrowing Up Amish: A Memoir.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent read!

Date:June 30, 2011
Customer Avatar
JoyAnne
Location:Jackson, TN
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Wagler's story of his growing up in an Amish family is fascinating and sad. He left the community 4 times, the first at age 17 searching for a way of life that would give him peace. He knew in his heart the ways of the Amish were not for him. The rules were too restrictive, church was boring and lifeless, and he longed for a close relationship with his father. Wherever he went he felt he never fit in and that there had to be more to life.
He talks of the despair he felt throughout his teen and young adult years until one day the idea occured to him to talk to God. After thinking that God wasn't going to answer and that he was doomed for eternal punishment he meets someone that shows him the way. The rest of the story is a pleasant one.
I read this book in one aftermoon and highly recommend it. I do wish Wagler had told the readers what he has done since leaving the Amish community.
I received a copy of this book free from the publisher in exchange for an honest review.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Growing Up Amish: A Memoir - eBook
This review is fromGrowing Up Amish: A Memoir.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A look into the hardships of growing up Amish

Date:June 26, 2011
Customer Avatar
Life Blessons Blog
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I always wondered what it would be like to be Amish, hoping that my profession of journalism might grant me an opportunity to live life--even just temporarily--among the Amish.
While that has never happened, I have been able to get a closer look into the life of the plain people by Ira Wagler's memoir, Growing Up Amish. Indeed, Wagler did grow up Amish, but after two decades of wrestling with his peoples' ways, finally left the fold.
I received a complimentary copy of this book for review from Tyndale House Publishers and read it within days of starting. It was captivating as it drew me into his lifestyle and all the heartaches it wreaked for Wagler as he shares how he struggled with his desire to remain with the community he loved and his desire for freedom outside the faith's strict rules.
Wagler's first-person account peels away the facade of piety that we usually imagine when we think of the Amish. They are not perfect, and he showcases many instances that remind us that we are all human, even the Amish. Filled with raw emotion and honesty, Growing Up Amish is a riveting and heart-wrenching tale of life inside this close-knit group of believers.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Growing Up Amish: A Memoir - eBook
This review is fromGrowing Up Amish: A Memoir.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

An eye-opening look into the Amish Community.

Date:June 22, 2011
Customer Avatar
Jade =)
Location:Grand Prairie, TX
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ira Wagler was born into an Old Order Amish family, but he was not meant to walk the same path as his forefathers had for so many generations. In his memoir, Growing Up Amish, Wagler recounts his life, his struggles, questions, adventures and his ultimate decision to leave the Amish lifestyle behind. It was not an easy decision, as it would mean leaving his family and everything he knew, as well as losing his salvation (or so he thought). Wagler spent about a decade testing boundaries, having one foot in and one foot out of the Amish community. Each time he returned from the "heathen world," he was intent on making it work... and yet, he just wasn't able to conform to the laid-back, "ignorant" lifestyle his peers were so comfortable with. Wagler learned a lot through his adventures (and misadventures), but the best thing he learned was to have a personal relationship with God.
I have always enjoyed reading Amish fiction, but it was truly intriguing to read this true-life story of someone who grew up in the community. I had no idea that the preachers were chosen by vote, and had to serve whether they wanted to or not, also disregarding whether they were good at it or not! The Amish lifestyle, from a far, looks peaceful, quaint and easy going. But the rules are strict, and vary from community to community. There is very little room for creativity or deep thinking, at least according to Wagler. This book was pretty eye-opening!
I received a free copy of this book from Tyndale Blog Network, but the review is my own, honest opinion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Growing Up Amish: A Memoir - eBook
This review is fromGrowing Up Amish: A Memoir.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

True Amish Story

Date:June 20, 2011
Customer Avatar
MaureenT
Location:Syracuse NY
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I really enjoyed reading this very well written autobiography. At times I felt that I was reading a fictional story, but it was true.
You will love going along with Ira in his everyday life. There are 5 boys and 5 girls in his family, Ira being 3rd to the last. Experience his time of schooling, and his pain in bullying another. You'll meet his friends including some people you already know. Experience his move from Aylmer, Ontario to Bloomfield, Iowa and leaving the only home he has ever known in his sixteen years.
Now we experience his Rumspringa time and meet his new friends, and their antics. We spend time with him each time he leaves, you wonder what he is looking for? In some ways leaving and going out into the "real" world had to be scary for someone who had lived a rather sheltered life. I think what surprises me is his going back, and then leaving again. What is he looking for? In the end you will understand, and it has been hard for Ira to see it!
I loved how the Lord opened the right doors for him, once he learned how to pray! I recommend this book…it is a great read! Enjoy!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Growing Up Amish: A Memoir - eBook
This review is fromGrowing Up Amish: A Memoir.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Good read

Date:June 19, 2011
Customer Avatar
Coranne
Location:PA
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I have been reading a lot of Christian fiction that deals with Amish communities. I was very curious about this book- mainly because I have become a little obsessed with the Amish population, especially in PA. It was a good book- I am not really sure how you could call and autobiography anything but good. The author is a talented writer- and I found myself surprised at how much I learned about the Amish people. I do wish, though, that he would have included more about what happened to him after he left the Amish community for good- I didn't get much closure. Absolutely pick up this book- it was a great change of pace!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>