Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Tyndale House Expect the Sunrise - eBook

Tyndale House Expect the Sunrise - eBook

Book three in the compelling Team Hope series by Susan May Warren, the name to watch in romantic suspense. Alaskan bush pilot Andee MacLeod has spent her life searching for the one thing that can stop her running, a family. Now Andee has one last flight to make before she heads down to the Lower 48 for the winter. But she has no idea one of her passengers is a terrorist. And another passenger is FBI agent Stirling "Mac" McRae. Mac and Andee are about to discover what it means to put their hope in eternity and Godplans, even in the darkest moments.
Average Customer Rating:
4.952 out of 5
5
 out of 
5
(21 Reviews) 21
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (21 reviews)
5 stars
20
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
3 out of 3100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Expect the Sunrise - eBook
Review 1 for Expect the Sunrise - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent Story

Date:July 29, 2013
Customer Avatar
rlighthouse
Location:PA
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Andee "Emma" MacLeod is flying one more plane before going to the lower 48 for the winter. Her passengers are flying into the bush for a variety of reasons including visiting family, hunting, missionary work and a last minute passenger, Sarah, who came to help Emma celebrate her birthday with her father. After flying into some unsavory weather the group finds themselves stranded and they must work together to survive. After it is revealed that one passenger is an FBI agent he helps Emma lead the group to safety or so they think until one passenger turns out to not be what she seems. Emma learns that she can fall in love with a FBI agent and Mac learns that he can forgive the person he held responsible for his brothers death.
I enjoyed reading this book about Team Hope member Andee and love that they all look out for each other.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Expect the Sunrise - eBook
This review is fromExpect the Sunrise, Team Hope Series #3.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Pretty Good Story

Date:March 17, 2011
Customer Avatar
Beryl
Location:USA
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is the third book in a series. I will confess upfront that I have not read the first two. I read an excerpt from this book online and felt driven to finish it. It was a nice story. As a person who does not limit my reading to romances I found the dialogue and the characters' thoughts to be unrealistic in some parts. I thought the problem between Andee and Mac was solved far too easily. But, I have to say the ending was very nice. The search for the terrorist and the escape from the forest were interesting, but not heart pounding; and the identity of the terrorist was not a huge surprise to me - but maybe that was because I never really ruled out any characters except Andee and Mac. I am satisfied with my purchase, but do not feel compelled by reading this to go back and read the first two books. Overall, I liked it and would recommend it to others.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Expect the Sunrise - eBook
This review is fromExpect the Sunrise, Team Hope Series #3.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Unable to put book down!

Date:January 25, 2011
Customer Avatar
Wiebke
Location:Columbiaville, MI
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Wow, what a great book. I was unable to put the book down once I started reading/devouring it! I want more of these! Good job Susan!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Expect the Sunrise - eBook
This review is fromExpect the Sunrise, Team Hope Series #3.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 14, 2009
Customer Avatar
Ann Hatfield
You did it again. Grabbed me on the first page and made it impossible to put the book down....you are the first person to agree with my daughter, when faced with cancer, that God will not put more on you than you can handle....If He didn't how else would you put your whole trust in Him. By the way, after fully trusting God, her tumors disappeared overnight. Drs. have given her a clear bill of health...12 years ago....I hope we will have more of the Team Hope series....Ann
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Expect the Sunrise - eBook
This review is fromExpect the Sunrise, Team Hope Series #3.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 7, 2008
Customer Avatar
Gladys Nevin
I have not read this book yet. I like to read books that come in a series. I like to read romance with suspence books. It is always interesting to read about things that happen in Alaska. I recommend this to anyone who likes to read.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Expect the Sunrise - eBook
This review is fromExpect the Sunrise, Team Hope Series #3.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 17, 2008
A terrorist is going to blow up the Alaska pipeline. Mac and his partner are there to stop the violence. But Mac's partner is critically wounded in the fire-fight. Mac frantically tries to save him, waving maniacally to a helicopter flying overhead. He attributes his partner's death to the fact that the pilot didn't stop. Mac is living with a chip on his shoulder after the death of his partner, still blaming the helicopter pilot for his loss. Andee, a member of Jim Micah's SAR team, is spending her summer flying in Alaska. She meets Mac on one of her flights. They share a Scottish heritage, but as they grow closer they learn that they share so much more. Can they overcome the past? Or will they miss out on what promises to be a beautiful future? Susan May Warren is a master of romantic suspense storytelling! Her characters are authentic role models of Christian behavior in extreme circumstances. The way she records their thought processes makes me sit back and examine my own reactions to less stressful experiences. Not only have her novels afforded me many hours of wonderful entertainment, but they have also helped me to deepen my relationship with God and others.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Expect the Sunrise - eBook
This review is fromExpect the Sunrise, Team Hope Series #3.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 8, 2007
I loved this book!!! I live in the Midwest and I was freezing the whole time I was reading it. It gets cold here but in Alaska, that's cold. I put myself there with them while they were trying to get to safety. All the obstacles they had to overcome to get to safety. I loved Andee and Mac. They make a lovely couple and they both overcame. I hope there will be more books in this series. I think there are more stories to tell.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Expect the Sunrise - eBook
This review is fromExpect the Sunrise, Team Hope Series #3.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 8, 2006
Customer Avatar
Narelle Mollet
Susan May Warren has once again included all the ingredients of a great story - genuine characters, riveting suspense, beautiful scenery and an entertaining romantic attraction! Now all we need is for Tyndale to agree to publish the remaining stories of Team Hope. This is a series for your collection that you will read again and share with your friends.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Expect the Sunrise - eBook
This review is fromExpect the Sunrise, Team Hope Series #3.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 28, 2006
Customer Avatar
Bekah
I know not to pick up a book by Susan May Warren unless I have 5 hours to spend with the book. Her books have kept me up reading until 3 in the morning more days than I'd like to admit. Expect the Sunrise was no exception-great suspense, fun romance, and excellent writing characterize the book. The story lived because you believed these characters were real. What I liked most about the story is how she portrayed the reality of the consequences of our actions. My heart ached with the characters when I realized they had made poor choices. I was so excited when they got it right-with each other and in their hearts. This book is worth clearing your schedule for-you won't be disapointed!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Expect the Sunrise - eBook
This review is fromExpect the Sunrise, Team Hope Series #3.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 16, 2006
Customer Avatar
Jenny Burkholder
Susan May Warren is an excellent up and coming writer with great books. I've enjoyed reading two of her other series and the first two of the TEAM HOPE, so I was really looking forward to the 3rd. It was not a disappointment. Susan's books have solid, easy to follow storylines, action, and of course romance. As a Christian, Susan also shows throughout her books how God's love, forgiveness, and grace are central to Christians lives and how others can know God better.Expect the Sunrise focused on two main characters, Andee and Mac. Andee is an Alaskan bush pilot during the summer and has one last flight before winter comes and she heads south. Unfortunately, she and her 6 other passengers crash before they reach their destination. The seven of them have to hike out several miles to the nearest town, while the trouble mounts: Two passengers are injured, there is no operable communication, snow is coming, and FBI agent, Mac, discovers that a terrorist is in their group. Somehow they have to reach town, before someone dies and many are injured. Throughout their journey, both Mac & Andee have to realize that the pain from the past can be and has to be forgiven in order to move on to the future. Through out their ordeal, they learn how God is watching out for them and never leaves.This is a great read, one you will truly enjoy. Now we anxiously wait for the next in the series!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Expect the Sunrise - eBook
This review is fromExpect the Sunrise, Team Hope Series #3.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 12, 2006
Customer Avatar
Heather Diane Tipton
Expect the Sunrise had me hooked from the get-go. Susan May Warrens third book in the Team Hope series was an excellent read! A yummy Scottish FBI hero, a mountain rescuer heroine, a terrorist, seven survivors of a plane crash trapped in the Alaska wilds, and past regrets all add up to learning to rely on God and even better a great read for us! Susan May Warrens books are on my auto-buy list she should be on yours as well.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Expect the Sunrise - eBook
This review is fromExpect the Sunrise, Team Hope Series #3.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 14, 2006
Customer Avatar
Carrie Turansky
Susie Warren has given us another wonderful Team Hope story with characters that you fall in love with - mountain rescuer and pilot Andee MacLeod and FBI agent Stirling "Mac" McRae. When Andee's plan crashes in the rugged Alaskan forest, she must lead the survivors out. But soon Mac suspects one of the suvivors has plans to blow up the Alaska Pipe line, and he must discover who it is before it is too late. Susie weaves in meaningful spiritual truths that make the story touch your heart. It is a page-turner all the way to the end!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Expect the Sunrise - eBook
This review is fromExpect the Sunrise, Team Hope Series #3.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 11, 2006
Customer Avatar
Khieta Davis
Susan May Warren's "Expect the Sunrise" is a tasty morsel for us gals who have an affinity for big, braw Scotsmen. Think: Gerard Butler meets and is transformed by Jesus (wouldn't that be lovely!). Ms. Warren's writing is deft and sure, poignant yet edgy with action and intrigue. Our heroine, Emma, is a determined yet tender match for our rugged sweetheart of a hero, Mac. The lead characters' soul-searching compels the reader to reflect on her or his own life's choices and relationship with God. Through the characters' interactions, Ms. Warren very convincingly portrays both the complexity and simplicity of forgiveness. If you crave an engaging read equally suspenseful and poetic, just "Expect the Sunrise"!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Expect the Sunrise - eBook
This review is fromExpect the Sunrise, Team Hope Series #3.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 9, 2006
Customer Avatar
Jackie Layton
I thoroughly enjoyed this book. It is a terrific combination of suspense, drama and love. Andee MacLeod and Stirling McRae are on a flight in Alaska which crashes. Andee is the pilot and feels responsible. Stirling is an FBI agent and fears that a terrorist is aboard the flight. They work together to save the passengers and stop the terrorist. On top of this, Stirling blames Andee for his brother's death, but doesn't realize that Andee is the person he has been blaming. This is a great book, and I'm glad I was able to read it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Expect the Sunrise - eBook
This review is fromExpect the Sunrise, Team Hope Series #3.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 8, 2006
Customer Avatar
Karen Reece
Susan has done it again! Another excellent read. The Alaskan wilderness will never be the same! Mac is an FBI agent who feels guilty about his brother's death from a terrorist chase gone wrong and Andee is a bush pilot who had a life flight when Mac tried to get her to land to help save his brother but she made the choice of helping the life flight she already had on board. Mac decides if he ever meets the pilot of that flight he will him a piece of his mind! Life pulls them together and love begins to blossom. What a wonderful read! If you love suspense, romance, hope for the future, forgiveness in its rarest form, you will enjoy this read.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Expect the Sunrise - eBook
This review is fromExpect the Sunrise, Team Hope Series #3.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 6, 2006
Customer Avatar
Cheryl Shaw
Susan May Warren is the first author to make crashing into the Alaskan wilderness sound so appealing! Andee and Mac are so vivid and flawed, aren't we all, that you can't help but feel their struggles and challenges. From sliding down mountainsides while carrying out an inured friend to dodging bullets with a dip into an icy river, the scenes come alive in a way that makes it obvious that Susan has done her homework. The reader wants to be there, tromping alone with Andee and Mac, sharing in their survival and struggles and seeing God change them.Expect the Sunrise is yet another reason why Susan May Warren is the name to watch in Inspirational Romantic Suspense. If you like Dee Henderson, Teri Blackstock,etc, you will love Susan!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Expect the Sunrise - eBook
This review is fromExpect the Sunrise, Team Hope Series #3.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 5, 2006
Customer Avatar
Ruth
Expect the Sunrise is the third book in Susan May Warren's romantic suspense Team Hope series, released by Tyndale. With this novel, SMW has crafted a superb suspense story that grabs your attention from the first page and refuses to let go. Mac is an FBI agent, consumed with guilt over his brother's death in a terrorist chase gone wrong and anger at the pilot that refused to land to help them. Unbeknownst to Mac, Andee (aka "Emma") is the pilot that was forced to make that difficult call. She is drowning in the guilt of past choices that have negatively defined her life and self-image. Mac and Andee meet at a crossroads in their lives. They each face a choice: to continue to let the turmoil cause by past decisions to dictate their futures, or to relinquish control of their lives and their pasts and strive to face each new day in the light of God's grace. In addition to spinning a powerful story of characters finding peace and coming to terms with their pasts, Warren's tale is also very timely. Mac's brother is killed by a terrorist attempting to blow up the Trans-Alaska Pipeline System and disrupt the US supply of oil. It seems like a day doesn't go by that some question of oil prices and supply issues aren't being discussed in the news. Warren brings readers face-to-face with the threat of a TAPS disruption and its ramifications on the US oil supply, and drives home the sacrifices made by real individuals who put their lives on the line every day since they answered the call to protect their country. I have to say that SMW gets better and better with every novel. She has more than given Dee Henderson a run for the title of "Queen of Romantic Suspense" in the Christian fiction genre -- in many ways I believe SMW streaks past Dee in simply the quality of her writing. Susan writes absolutely beautiful romances, enthralling suspense stories, and weaves them together with just the right touch of faith and grace. She is an author to watch!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Expect the Sunrise - eBook
This review is fromExpect the Sunrise, Team Hope Series #3.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 5, 2006
Customer Avatar
Marilyn McKinley
Once again Susan has written a book that I did not want to put down. Andee and Mac were awesome characters who struggle with life issuses and spiritual issues just like me. The characters in this book are excellent and kept me guessing till the end. There were a few twists and turns that kept me on my toes and I loved the setting of this book. Homeland Security, Alaska's rugged bush country and a life endangering situation. I All here books are phenomenal and in my personal library. Susan's writing is similar to Dee Henderson, Terri Blackstock, Mindi Starns Clark so if you like these ladies, here's another winning author you cannot go wrong with.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Expect the Sunrise - eBook
This review is fromExpect the Sunrise, Team Hope Series #3.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 2, 2006
Customer Avatar
Rachel Smith
This book once again sets forth the reason why Susan May Warren is the name to watch in romantic suspense! Carrying forth the tradition started by Dee Henderson with the O'Malley series, Susan truly shines at romantic suspense.Expect The Sunrise lives up to that moniker. A thrilling read from beginning to end, this book kept me riveted, turning page after page. This often happens to me with Susie's books, but this one connected with me in ways that others in the Team Hope series didn't. I'm of Scottish heritage myself, and seeing Andee and Mac through the lens of their Scottish heritage was a real treat for this reader.Red herrings abound, and for quite a while I wasn't sure if Mac's suspicisions were worthy of attention or not. I was quite surprised in the end at how the whole scenario played out. That's not something that happens very often to this veteran mystery/suspense reader.Anyone who is a fan of Dee Henderson will absolutely LOVE Susan May Warren!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Expect the Sunrise - eBook
This review is fromExpect the Sunrise, Team Hope Series #3.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 1, 2006
Customer Avatar
Tracy Smith
Susan May Warren has done it again! She's written a book that holds your attention and weaves in faith lessons.This is the third book in the Team Hope series and features Andee MacLeod and FBI agent "Mac" McRae.While fighting for their lives in the Alaskan wilderness after a plane crash Andee and Mac deal with such issues as Choices made, forgiveness, and trust.While trying to figure out who the terrorist among them is, Mac learns to forgive someone he never thought he'd forgive. He also learns to trust that God will take care of him and those he loves. That he doesn't have to do it all; he just needs to do what he can and leave the rest to God.Andee learns to trust a man to not let her down and how to live with choices made in the past.I had a hard time putting this book down. I recommend it to anyone that loves adventure and romance.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>