Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Tyndale House The Living Bible - eBook

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Christianbook.com.

Tyndale House The Living Bible - eBook

The Living Bible is a "thought-for-thought" version as opposed to a word-for-word translation. "Paraphrase" is a restatement of an author's thoughts using different words than he did. This book is a paraphrase of both the Old Testament and New Testament. Its purpose, according to the editors, is to say as exactly as possible what the writers of the Scriptures meant, and to say it simply, expanding where necessary for a clear understanding by the modern reader.
  • Double column format
  • 9 point type
  • Footnotes
  • Bible Reading Plan
  • 2 Maps black & white
  • Topical Concordance
  • Hardcover forest green
  • Words of Christ in Red
Average Customer Rating:
4.833 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(12 Reviews) 12
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (12 reviews)
5 stars
10
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
12 out of 12100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for The Living Bible - eBook
Review 1 for The Living Bible - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 5, 2013
Customer Avatar
susan
Location:Long Island, New York
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This product was more than I expected. I bought 3 bibles to give as gifts, and I as well as the recipients, were in awe of the beauty and appearance of this amazing bible. I will be purchasing more. Thank you so much.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for The Living Bible - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

bought EBK version- very pleased

Date:August 31, 2012
Customer Avatar
Eddie
Location:Deptford, Ny
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Living bible is one I go to when I just want to read the word in plain comfortable english. The ecopy gives this in a version I can get to quicky. As an ebook it adds no extra weight when I travel as it available with my many other ebooks on my nook.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for The Living Bible - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

The Living Bible

Date:August 15, 2012
Customer Avatar
jack
Location:Bath, Maine
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
First off remember it's a paraphrased bible. Read with discernment. When reading any paraphrased bible always have a bible with you that is not and is of a major translation for testing.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for The Living Bible - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Wonderful translation, a must have in your library

Date:August 3, 2012
Customer Avatar
Mike
Location:Brodhead, KY
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I just purchased this bible to use just for reading. I noticed the statement on the box it came in that says "Once you start reading it, you won't want to put it down". This is a true statement. I don't normally write reviews but I want to share what I have found with all Christians. The paraphrasing of this bible seems to make the words just roll as though your were reading a novel. I wasn't able to visualize the stories and lessons as well as I'd liked until I started reading this wonderful translation. I highly suggest that you consider this bible as the next book you read. I would also like to add that the Leatherlike cover feels very comfortable and warm. The print is somewhat smaller than I like but the paper is thicker which makes the pages easier to turn. Thank you for taking the time to read this review. I don't believe you will be disappointed at all with the beautiful book of God's Word. God bless you!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for The Living Bible - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

excellent value

Date:July 30, 2012
Customer Avatar
rascalsmom
Location:pine bush,ny
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have many translations of the Bible that I use for study. I use the Living Bible as my devotional. I find it to be an excellent paraphrase that reads almost like a novel. Although inexpensive, the quality of the leathertone is excellent. It is holding up very well, and believe me it gets a lot of use from me.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for The Living Bible - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Amazing wonderful Bible! Love it!!!

Date:July 18, 2012
Customer Avatar
John
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Amazing wonderful Bible! Love it!!!
This is such a beautiful but manly Bible!
It is the perfect size and the cover is
so attractive...it arrived very fast and am
more than happy with this!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for The Living Bible - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Good except for small print.

Date:June 18, 2012
Customer Avatar
Reader2012
Location:Virginia
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The book is very attractive and a good gift except for an older person since the print is a little smaller than I would have liked.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for The Living Bible - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

I love this Bible

Date:May 13, 2012
Customer Avatar
Ken Woodruff
Location:Portland, OR
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have re-discovered the Living Bible after I "outgrew it" 37 years ago. What a mistake to leave this translation work, which opens the meaning of the word of God. I had gone to the NAS, which is great for accuracy, but sometimes fails to "unpack" the meaning of the text. The New Living Translation supposedly replaced the original Living Bible, but sadly lost much of this "unpacking" ability as it tried to become more literal. The Amplified Bible is good for its "unpacking" ability, but not as good at drawing ones' soul into the text.
As to quality of printing and binding, I think this TuTone Imitation Leather edition is wonderful. If feels like real leather, although a bit stiffer (but OK). The pages are just a trace thicker than I would prefer, but highlighting does not bleed through the pages when I use Z-Brite highlighters. The text is a very nice size - not too small or too large. The paper has just a bit of slickness to it, making it feel like a nice Bible. The paper is slightly brown instead of pure white, which is OK. I would prefer a slightly whiter paper for perfection. This edition is much preferred over the original hard back binding. This Bible is neither extremely compact, nor overly large and "clunky"... a good size for a primary Bible.
I highly recommend this edition to anyone wanting a Bible that will pull you into the text and make you regret that you have to end your Bible reading time for the day. I remember the evenings I read it as a new believer (1973), when Bible Time was like eating candy. I just couldn't get enough, and it led me to read through the entire word of God in seven months, giving me a tremendous foundation for the spiritual life God had for me. May it do the same for you and to those to whom you give it as a gift.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for The Living Bible - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent understanding of God's word!

Date:February 27, 2012
Customer Avatar
suebug
Location:Clarksville TN
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have purchased this product twice, both times as a gift. Both recipients love it! Excellent reading and understanding of God's word.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for The Living Bible - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Favorite bible

Date:January 11, 2012
Customer Avatar
Becky
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
So easy for my grandchildren to learn to understand the bible.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for The Living Bible - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great purchase. Well worth the money!

Date:January 3, 2012
Customer Avatar
Contender007
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I'm very happy with my recent purchase of the two-tone Living Bible. It looks like real leather and feels great. The size is not too big and not too small and is very easy to handle. The quality of this bible is better than I had expected and the value for the price well exceeded my expectations!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for The Living Bible - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Outanding Quality

Date:August 26, 2011
Customer Avatar
John Pete
Location:New York
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very impressive! I purchased one Living Bible for my mother and one for myself and had them personalized with our names for just a few dollars more. And we received them in just about a week!
In 2006 I founded a grief site at MyGriefSpace.net and I plan to recommend this site to our 3,000+ members who are seeking Christian support for their losses.
And I will definitely be back for personal and gift shopping.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.