Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Lukas Media LLC Pendragon: Sword of His Father, DVD

Lukas Media LLC Pendragon: Sword of His Father, DVD

An epic adventure set in the tumultuous Dark Ages! As barbarian fleets descend on the coast, the British people are left to defend themselves---and young Artos must decide whether to trust in his father's God. Will courage---and faith---prevail? Featuring riveting action, stunning visuals, and a powerful score, this ambitious independent film will stir your soul. Widescreen. Approx. 110 minutes.
Average Customer Rating:
3.829 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
(41 Reviews) 41
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (41 reviews)
5 stars
23
4 stars
3
3 stars
5
2 stars
5
1 star
5
4 out of 944%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Pendragon: Sword of His Father, DVD
Review 1 for Pendragon: Sword of His Father, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This movie is the best new Christian action movie

Date:May 13, 2014
Customer Avatar
DrZ3
Location:Penfield, NY
Age:Under 18
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This movie is probably the best resent Christian action movie. Although there are some problems with the acting in some scenes (like the other reviews state), this movie has excellent animation, realistic battle scenes, and an overall good message which I personally think cover up the bad acting (also, pertaining to the acting, it does get better later in the movie). I would recommend this movie to fans of The Lord of the Rings, King Arthur legends, and other related things.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Pendragon: Sword of His Father, DVD
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Painfully Bad Acting

Date:August 10, 2013
Customer Avatar
toomanybooks
Location:Texas
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I had such high hopes for this movie. Sadly, the acting was so bad, I could not even stand to finish it. Like some of the other reviewers said, it was painful to watch. I kept hoping it would get better, but I think it actually got worse. The idea is admirable, but not enough to compensate for the abysmal acting. I regret having to give it such poor marks.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Pendragon: Sword of His Father, DVD
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Sorry

Date:December 31, 2012
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Location:Ottawa, Ontario
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I appreciate the effort made by the Burns, but although we tried, we could not finish watching this movie.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Pendragon: Sword of His Father, DVD
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Acting is horrendous

Date:February 11, 2012
Customer Avatar
Homesteaders
Quality: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Considering this is an independent film, the cinematography, special effects, and fighting scenes were good. Again, not up to Hollywood standards, but good for an independent film.
The problem with this movie is the acting. It is absolutely horrible. It is perhaps even beyond horrible, if that is possible. Finding good local actors who will work for next to nothing is not hard. Instead, it looks like the key roles went to family members who, although they have good production skills, cannot act their way out of a paper bag. I think I have actually seen better acting in low budget kung fu films that have been overdubbed in English. If I were them, I would have focused my time and attention on the acting. A film with subpar effects and such can be carried a long way with solid, believable acting. Yet, if things are reversed, a film with the best quality effects will fall flat on its face if it actually hurts the viewer to watch it. The acting was that bad. It actually was physically painful to endure it. It ruined the film for us. Just being honest.
+1point
3of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Pendragon: Sword of His Father, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 28, 2011
Customer Avatar
ccsmith
Location:MI
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
great movie for the family, maybe ages 10years and up. our family really enjoyed it.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Pendragon: Sword of His Father, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Very exciting mideval story, especially for boys.

Date:May 30, 2011
Customer Avatar
Maxy
Location:Mpls, MN
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Our family loved this show. It was exciting with many fighting scenes without all the blood & guts. It had clean language, NO sex scenes, sexual inuendos (sp), and not even any leering at women. It is a great Christian movie, with many Christian Values that talks about trusting God to accomplish what He intends us to do in our lives. It is NOT a movie for kids who do not like fighting. If your kids like good, Christian morals, in a fighting, mideval time period, it's a GREAT pick!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Pendragon: Sword of His Father, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

fantastic

Date:April 9, 2011
Customer Avatar
Bethany
Location:Australia
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
OUr family thought this was fantastic, especially since it was produced by a homeschooling family. The story was gripping, and the acting great. i would recommend this for any one. Absolutely excellent, keeping in mind it was produced on a very limited budget with volunteer actors. They all did a fantastic job.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Pendragon: Sword of His Father, DVD
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Okay for what it was

Date:March 18, 2011
Customer Avatar
Brad Cowie
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Kudos to the Burns family and friends who attempted this ambitious project. I admire your hard work on a huge task. My family couldn't pull this off. I tip my hat to you all.
However, as a movie, it's just not that good. Sorry.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Pendragon: Sword of His Father, DVD
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

a dud

Date:December 29, 2010
Customer Avatar
Shana H
Location:WI
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I was sad for my daughter whom I bought this for....because this was a real dud. I should have read the other reviews and NOT spent the money. Acting was poor, actors even played more than one role! Quite a dissappointment. We could not even finish the movie as it was so painful to watch...
-3points
0of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Pendragon: Sword of His Father, DVD
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:July 17, 2010
Customer Avatar
Alaina (13)
I thought the story line was really good and very entertaining. But the acting and quality needed some help. Also the parts about God were somewhat hard to understand. They did insinuate some romance but it wasn't really clear.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Pendragon: Sword of His Father, DVD
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Date:April 13, 2010
Customer Avatar
Suzanne Kimball
I purchased this for my grandson who is 16, however I won't be sending it to him. It will not keep his attention at all. While I am sure there was a great effort in making this movie, it was boring, the acting was very poor, and it was a very slow and dragging plot. I do not expect Christian movies made on a low budget to be great blockbusters, I except that, however this movie just did not cut it for me, nor my husband. Sorry:o(
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Pendragon: Sword of His Father, DVD
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:March 8, 2010
I only gave it three, because like many Christian made films, the acting is not the greatest. I thought the story and message were good. You can't go into this expecting to see a Hollywood epic, it is a small-budget independent film. It is good for what it is. Yes, it is not big on action. I believe one reviewer said it was no Patriot or Braveheart. I should hope not as both of those films were blood and guts gore-fests. No Christian should make a movie containing that sort of action.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Pendragon: Sword of His Father, DVD
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Date:February 1, 2010
Customer Avatar
Tamara
I wad disappointed in this movie. The poor quality acting, directing, and often slow-moving plot overshadowed any spiritual theme that might have been portrayed. Those looking for a Christian equivalent to Braveheart or the Patriot will not find it here - not even remotely.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Pendragon: Sword of His Father, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 1, 2010
Customer Avatar
Maeve Quinlan
I love the Pendragon!!!! My family and I had fun watching the movie. And kids at our church keep saying 'what was that movie we watched it was SO COOL!!' I love all the sword fight scenes and all the lovely music and am so glad that it all worked out for every one involved in this movie. I think every one in my family liked the bad guy he is an awsome actor.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Pendragon: Sword of His Father, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 14, 2010
Customer Avatar
Laurel Suttles
Job well done by the families that made this movie. A positive emphasis on God being in control even when it doesn't seem like it andArtos steadfastness to this truth despite hardships and trials. Very entertaining though not a Lord of the Rings production quality. It gave food for thought on how much we truely in this day and age trust and rely on the fact that God is in control in all thing even when it doesn't seem like it.Hope they do another film.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Pendragon: Sword of His Father, DVD
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:January 7, 2010
Our son received this DVD for a Christmas gift. We had opportunity of viewing it on New Year's Day. He absolutely loves this movie! The story-line of a crusader. We loved the plot of the story, its a wonderful message that it sends out. It has beautiful countryside/scenes in the movie. Wish the overall acting would have been a little higher quality. Still an enjoyable movie.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Pendragon: Sword of His Father, DVD
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Date:December 9, 2009
Customer Avatar
Jocelyn James
The story line was good, some of the scenery spectacular but the acting was stilted and unrealistic in places. This was unfortunate as it detracted from what otherwise would have been a great Christian film.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Pendragon: Sword of His Father, DVD
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:December 4, 2009
Customer Avatar
Lisa
This movie has the feel of a made-for-tv movie. It is not on a par with Braveheart or the Patriot, but it is easily up there with many made-for-tv historical movies I have seen. The music was great, the sets and the costumes were great. The acting, the special effects, and the stunts were not as good. The plot was excellant also.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Pendragon: Sword of His Father, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 2, 2009
Customer Avatar
MoMo
This is an excellent Christian movie pointing to Christ as a clear hero. The message is powerful. The special effect is stunning! I can't believe it is an independent firm produced by 2 Christian families.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Pendragon: Sword of His Father, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 2, 2009
Customer Avatar
Kan Lau
The best Christian action movie I have ever seen. The story is great. The Christian message is clear. The content is clean. It is an amazing family production!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.