Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Provident Music Distribution Love's Unfolding Dream, DVD

Provident Music Distribution Love's Unfolding Dream, DVD

Missie's (Erin Cottrell) adopted daughter Belinda (Scout Taylor-Compton) is determined to become a doctor - but despite her dedication and ability, Doc Jackson (Robert Pine) believes women should stay at home - and so does Belinda's new suitor, Drew Simpson (Patrick Levis)! But with faith and hard work, Belinda begins winning the hearts and minds of everyone around her, including a wealthy dowager (Nancy Linehan Charles), who just might help make Belinda's dreams come true in this satisfying family drama that also stars Samantha Smith and Dale Midkiff. Not rated. Approx. 88 minutes.

DVD Features:
  • Widescreen
  • Closed-captioned
  • Subtitles: English and Spanish
Average Customer Rating:
4.351 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(57 Reviews) 57
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (57 reviews)
5 stars
41
4 stars
6
3 stars
4
2 stars
1
1 star
5
Customer Reviews for Love's Unfolding Dream, DVD
Review 1 for Love's Unfolding Dream, DVD
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Date:August 26, 2010
Customer Avatar
Nona1
Disappointing at best! These 'made for TV movies were unrealistic in detail(s), acting, delivery of speech as well as the make-up and wardrobe consultants should be educated on the era. Sadly, the characters were portrayed as too picture perfect in comparison to the 'Little House' series where simple, pure and hardworking families did not such elaborate resources at their disposal. Difficult to follow the plot with conviction. These movies left a viewer focused more on the materialistic out of era home-styles and softened characters donning; overwhelming colorfully designed textiles of upper-middle-class attires, far too elaborate 'everyday' hairstyles and pronounced vogue make-up (for pioneers) rather than the story-line. Marinated with a strong sense of hollywood appearances, lacking emotion and believable deliverance of humbling respectful speech. Nothing short of yet another attempt at depicting the early American way of life. An unbelievable delivery and I could not be convinced these were hard-working, down to earth early American farmers, towns people and families. Left little portrayed during the time in which it was intended to be written in. I am sure the books are more attractive due to it is easier to leave things to the imagination. Sadly, it was hard to believe any one character actually endured real life situations of that era. Doubly doubtful was the chemisty of the relationships between the performers. View the simplicities and raw evidence of realism that the 'Little House' series have to offer, you'll be immersed in the plot rather than the 'self indulged vogue' and attitudes.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Love's Unfolding Dream, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 21, 2010
My Favorite One in the Series!!! Love this one!!! I love Belinda's faith in God and trusting His plan, pursueing her dream. Through the love that her and Drew share, her pride is broken down. Her family relationships are natural. This is a beautiful piece to the puzzle.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Love's Unfolding Dream, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 7, 2010
Customer Avatar
Teresa Zellers
Love this series. Another great movie where good, wholesome values are portrayed. A must see.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Love's Unfolding Dream, DVD
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Date:March 19, 2010
Customer Avatar
Melissa
Feminism is evident throughout the movie. If Belinda knew her Bible better, she would know that women are to be treated as the weaker vessel--with honor. This movie makes men out to be rude and blind if they believe women should stay home and work, when the opposite is really true. I sort of enjoyed some of the story, though (it was basically clean and interesting), so I'm not giving it as low a rating as I could, or perhaps should.
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Love's Unfolding Dream, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 21, 2010
Customer Avatar
Stan Benson
I love all of the "Love Comes Softly" movies. They are my favorites! I just hated to see some of the characters change, though.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Love's Unfolding Dream, DVD
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Date:January 20, 2010
Customer Avatar
jackie ellis
the 1/2 star good thing about this movie is there is no profanity. this movie was horrible in the sense that the presence of bleached hair and collagen filled lips of the actresses constantly reminded me of why i am modest in my looks and dress. the femenistic "i am woman, hear me roar" garbage was a total turn off for me as well. it goes completely against the Lords ways. i will watch the newest movie in hopes that it is better
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Love's Unfolding Dream, DVD
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Date:November 27, 2009
Customer Avatar
Christianna
This movie starts the deteriation of the Love Comes Softly movies. Totally different from the book. Belinda is way to feministic and outspoken. Sadly, they have become more feministic than Christian. I would recommend the first four, even five movies in this series, but no more!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Love's Unfolding Dream, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 11, 2009
If you have yet to see this movie/series you are in for a treat 100% clean wholesome family enjoyment. LOVE THIS SERIES. SPECIALLY THIS ONE..#6. Look forward to watching the next one. Don,t feel I need to add much more because the multiple reviews echo the same possitive note.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Love's Unfolding Dream, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 15, 2009
Customer Avatar
Stephanie Johnson
LOVE IT! Love the entire series! And you can get a bible study to go with it at foxfaith.com How cool is that?!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Love's Unfolding Dream, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 2, 2009
Customer Avatar
Danielle Hurley
This movie is a heartwarming story for any family. I have all of the movies in the series and we watch them often. This is one of my favorite movies.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Love's Unfolding Dream, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 26, 2009
Customer Avatar
Sally Palmer
I love this series! I've read the books and am now enjoying the movies. They are just like the book. Awesome!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Love's Unfolding Dream, DVD
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:March 25, 2009
Customer Avatar
Melanie Byerly
This film is definitely for a young audience--pre-teens and teens would probably enjoy it best. A straight-forward family film where right and goodness prevail, and dreams come true that are rooted in faith and determination. Good, wholesome romantic yarn for young and family audiences.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Love's Unfolding Dream, DVD
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:March 24, 2009
Customer Avatar
Sarah Luthi
I really enjoy the entire series of movies, and thought this one was good also. I was a little set back by the feminist overview of the movie.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Love's Unfolding Dream, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 18, 2009
Customer Avatar
Beverly Holland
Excellent movie. Highly recommend. Any book written by Janette Oke is worth reading. I've read all of her books and have in my collection all the DVDs of Love Comes Softly.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Love's Unfolding Dream, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 19, 2008
Customer Avatar
Mary Scott
I watched it on the Hallmark channel and both my husband and I give it 5 stars. I enjoyed watching the way the story unfolded for Belinda. I could relate to her in some ways. I am always blessed when the people involved in the story are believers and how God works in their lives for their good and God's glory.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Love's Unfolding Dream, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 17, 2008
Customer Avatar
Jared Miller
Excellent Film. An illustration of the meaning of true love! Focus on the quality of family and relationship values.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Love's Unfolding Dream, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 13, 2008
Customer Avatar
Jennifer
This was a wonderful family movie. Good Christian values. I love the whole series and so does my 75 year old mother. It reminds me af the Little House on the Prarie series. Micheal Landon must have rubbed off on his son. We can't wait for the next film in the series.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Love's Unfolding Dream, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 27, 2008
Customer Avatar
Marjan VandenBrink
I ordered this movie for my parents. All three of us really love this movie. We are looking forward to when the other movies are coming out.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Love's Unfolding Dream, DVD
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Date:September 22, 2008
Customer Avatar
largefamilyinAK
This movie reeks of feminism and the divorce and remarriage fallacy. It strays far from the book and condones anti-biblical standards. If you want your girls to grow up to be feminists, disobey their husbands and teach their girls to do likewise, buy this DVD and watch it over and over. If you want your boys to grow to be cowards, submitting to their wives, and teaching their sons to do the same, buy this movie. That is the agenda it pushes. This is disgusting and horrible, because the movie makes it seem OK to do what God has commanded not to do, and it is done in a "religious" setting. They pray and make that seems to make everything OK, regardless of what God has to say about it.
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Love's Unfolding Dream, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 11, 2008
Customer Avatar
Marja-leena And Marko Erkkila
I love it, it is so touching. I can't wait to see the next dvd from this lovely series
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.