Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for WaterBrook Press The Scroll: A Novel - eBook

WaterBrook Press The Scroll: A Novel - eBook

Average Customer Rating:
4.222 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(27 Reviews) 27
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (27 reviews)
5 stars
12
4 stars
11
3 stars
3
2 stars
0
1 star
1
25 out of 2793%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for The Scroll: A Novel - eBook
Review 1 for The Scroll: A Novel - eBook
This review is fromThe Scroll.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Exciting story, well written -- another page-turne

Date:August 21, 2012
Customer Avatar
Betty Maurer
Location:Montgomery, A:
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Biblically accurate as well as a great story line, good character development; a wonderful read
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for The Scroll: A Novel - eBook
This review is fromThe Scroll.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

The Scroll: A book review

Date:May 3, 2012
Customer Avatar
MoriahN
Location:Maine
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
David Chambers is trying to forget the faith he once had when his old mentor convinces him to help in a dig under ancient Jerusalem. The goal? To recover a list of artifacts listed on the Copper Scroll- artifacts from a Jewish temple that had been hidden centuries before. The drama continues to unfold when someone tries to stop the archaeological team from carrying out their project. A bomb, a student found killed, and the safety of another member of the team jeopardized, are only a few of the things that come between the job and its completion. Through the story and as a result of the dig, David finds his faith again, and the nation is forever changed.
I must say I really enjoyed this book. The plot was really intriguing and the story was well-written. I wouldn’t hesitate to read more books like this.
I received this book free from WaterBrook Multnomah in exchange for an honest review. 
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for The Scroll: A Novel - eBook
This review is fromThe Scroll.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

'The Scroll' - Destiny awaits

Date:April 19, 2012
Customer Avatar
MaryBethWrites
Location:Placerville, CA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
What determines the worth of an archaeological artifact? Does the value come from the component materials, the previous owners’ identity, the historical significance or something else? In “The Scroll,” Grant R. Jeffrey and Alton L. Gansky offer their opinions on the topic and that opinion is enormous, as are its implications.
The title scroll, a document scribed on copper, provides clues to the location of hidden treasures spirited away from the Temple in Jerusalem prior to its destruction. A team of biblical archaeologists assemble to follow the clues in the document in an effort to locate the precious artifacts. Here’s the catch: the treasures won’t go in to a museum. Instead they will be used to rebuild the Temple and outfit its priesthood.
The trio leading the project must struggle with their own history before they can succeed. Dr. David Chambers was on the verge of quitting biblical archaeology following the death of his mother and falling out with his father. His former fiancé, Dr. Amber Rodgers, grieves Chambers’ spiritual condition even as she moves ahead with her career. Each was brought into the project without knowing of the other’s involvement. Nuri Aumann, the third member, harbors romantic intentions toward Rodgers and heaps scorn on Chambers at every opportunity.
The searchers’ plan has its opposition. Certain Muslim factions want to prevent the reconstruction at all costs, fearing it will desecrate their holy site, the Dome of the Rock. Mideast tensions flare as the teams advance on their targets and begin to accumulate important relics.
Modern imaging technology plays an important part in the story, making it a techno-lovers delight. The detailed weaponry of the security forces assigned to the project will intrigue the military enthusiast. Adventure lovers will find plenty of action to satisfy them. Think Indiana Jones meets Star Trek. The romantic story will appeal to romance lovers. The story elements fit together nicely to create an entertaining story.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for The Scroll: A Novel - eBook
This review is fromThe Scroll.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

S.l.o.w.

Date:March 26, 2012
Customer Avatar
Jenny Rose
Location:Dallas, TX
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The Scroll by Dr Grant Jeffrey seems to be more about Biblical prophecy and archaeology than science-fiction or fantasy (which is why I originally chose it). Dr. David Chambers has turned his back on his faith and is trying to start a new chapter in his life when an old friend, Abram Ben-Judah, calls in a favor for a project. While Chambers tries to focus on historical fact, doing a dig in Jerusalem forces him to face the Bible—the very thing he is trying to avoid.
The story is very slow moving, focusing on Jewish customs, traditions, and the technical side of archaeology. When the author attempts to include exciting and suspenseful details, he really gives too much contextually unnecessary info. In fact, I had trouble finding any kind of plot until chapter 16. In an effort to help the main character “return to the faith,” with the help of secondary characters the author is annoyingly preachy and uses cheesey clichés typical of Christian literature. Then in the last couple chapters, the author seems to wrap up the story too quickly, as though he suddenly realized he had to finish but only had so many pages to do it in. Maybe if the book had been broken into two or three books to create a series it would have been better.
Maybe it’s because I usually read thrillers, mysteries and science fiction, but this story dragged on and I debated whether or not to even finish it. If you’re looking for a brainy story on Biblical prophecy or archaeology, this is the book for you. If you want something exciting, then don’t bother.
I received this book free to give an honest review.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for The Scroll: A Novel - eBook
This review is fromThe Scroll.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Biblical Archeology? Yep.

Date:March 24, 2012
Customer Avatar
luv2readjen
Location:Lisle, IL
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
David Chambers is, by trade, a biblical archeologist. He started in the field because of a desire to continue demonstrating the truth of the biblical record by finding artifacts and documents from eras gone by. Now, through several events, the faith that had seemed so sturdy has become anathema to a man who built his entire life’s work on its tenets. Quitting field work, David teaches, and works diligently to forget the faith he thought he had.
When David unexpectedly receives an invitation to work in the field again, he tries desperately to get out of it, but finds that his old mentors request is too intriguing to ignore. From this point, the project gets interesting, but in order to know more – you will have to read the book! Excitement and mystery are interwoven with interesting archeological finds. Jeffrey and Gansky do a masterful job of keeping the reader engaged and informed as the technical details unfold. There is much to love in this story, including the amazing ending. As the momentous intertwines with the miraculous, the majesty and wonder and awesomeness of our God is consistently revealed and beautifully imagined.
Although the tale is fictional, it does propose some interesting ideas about how God’s hand is on the people of Israel. The apocalyptic genre has had some fascinating takes on Biblical prophecy, however this story leaves you uncertain of its eschatological bent until the very end. I am not always a fan of that kind of speculation (I wonder what kind of popular books would have been written about the messianic prophecies, were that the topic du jour in the inter-testament era?) In any case, this was not heavy handed, nor was it emphatic, it just told of events as they could occur in a real world scenario, and in the end it was an enjoyable take on a sober topic.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for The Scroll: A Novel - eBook
This review is fromThe Scroll.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Good Premise, Okay Story

Date:February 24, 2012
Customer Avatar
Floyd Johnson
Location:Upstate NY
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I looked forward to reading The Scroll when I first picked it up. The story's concept focused on a Copper Scroll discovered among the Dead Sea Scrolls in 1952. The Copper Scroll is thought to be an inventory of valuable objects - most likely from the second temple - hidden from the Romans as they began to invade the Holy Land. The premise is good.
As I said , I looked forward to reading The Scroll when I first picked it up to read. That was not how it worked out. The first 25% of the book went so slow, I decided to use the text-to-speech features of my e-reader to read the next 50% of the book - allowing me to read/hear the story at its pace, rather than mine. The final 25% of the book went faster - in fact as I came to the end of the story, I could not put the book down until I had finished it. The premise is good - the telling of the story less so.
After reading the book, I discovered that the author, Grant R. Jeffrey, is an competent author of prophetic literature, both fictional and theological. Similar Alton L. Gansky is a prolific author of mostly Christian fiction. This collaboration did manage to introduce me to current archaeological discoveries and political issues which are defining much of the middle east. Sadly, the lack of references made it impossible to tell the real from the fictional without considerable additional research.
If I had known Grant Jeffrey’s history, I probably would not have been caught by surprise by the ending of the book. Without giving details here, the final elements of the book seemed out of character with the rest of the book.
The book had value - though it was not my favorite read this year. If the reader is a fan of either of the two authors, then I expect it would be an enjoyable read - I did not know either author and walked away a bit disappointed.
____________________________
This review was based on a free copy of the book provided by the publisher in order to prepare this review.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for The Scroll: A Novel - eBook
This review is fromThe Scroll.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

For Fans of Biblical Archaeology

Date:February 23, 2012
Customer Avatar
Iola
Location:New Zealand
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
David Chambers is a biblical archaeologist who once explored the biblical sites because of his faith, but now that faith is as dead as King Herod he is contemplating a change in career direction. In this slightly futuristic thriller, a chance telephone call from a colleague in Israel brings the opportunity to lead a project that will potentially change the world forever (The Scroll is set in 2012-2015).
The Copper Scroll is a list of the temple treasures and, more importantly, where they were hidden before the destruction of the second temple in 70 CE. As the search for the artefacts described in the Copper Scroll progresses, the threats increase and the danger intensifies. The likelihood of danger is brought home to the team when a local student is found dead under suspicious circumstances. Another complication is the presence of Dr Amber Rodgers, David's ex fiancée, the relationship that she broke off when David lost his faith as a result of the slow and painful death of his mother.
I have always enjoyed archaeology mysteries, and The Scroll was no exception. It was well researched, with flashes of humour, and conspiracy theories almost two millennia old. The explanations of the underlying research and technology were clear, and the evident research made it hard to determine where fact ended and fiction began, which is always a good start. There are certain aspects to The Scroll that suggest it is targeted more towards the male audience (like always telling us the make and model of the aircraft Chambers is flying in), but that is not to say that women won’t enjoy it. I certainly did.
Thanks to Waterbrook Press and Bookbloggers for providing a free ebook for review.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for The Scroll: A Novel - eBook
This review is fromThe Scroll.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Read :)

Date:February 17, 2012
Customer Avatar
thecoverbybritt
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I absolutely LOVED this book. It was right up my alley, Biblical History and Archaeology rock my world :) I was hooked from page one and literally spent several nights up reading far longer than anticipated! It was a hard book to put down. David's journey throughout the book was inspiring and left me wanting more from the author. I would recommend this book to anyone with interest in Egyptology, Anthropology, Biblical History, or anyone that just wants a good, gripping read :)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for The Scroll: A Novel - eBook
This review is fromThe Scroll.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A Thrilling Ride Through the Past

Date:February 11, 2012
Customer Avatar
Gina Hott Books
Location:PA
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Let me preface this by saying that I loved this book. Yet, I know it’s a book that not all will enjoy. Due to the very nature of the topic quite a lot of the first third of the book was devoted to setting. It was done in a fun and interesting way, but if you’re not interested you’re not going to love it. I loved it but could only process about a dozen pages at a time of that first third.
Throughout the book there were times that I couldn’t put the book down and others where I wanted to put it down but all in all, the hardest part for me? Reminding myself that it’s fiction…
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for The Scroll: A Novel - eBook
This review is fromThe Scroll.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Maybe not Gansky's best work

Date:January 19, 2012
Customer Avatar
HollyMag
Location:Covina, CA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I’ve read several books by Alton Gansky and have thoroughly enjoyed them from beginning to end. Unfortunately, this was not a book that grabbed me like his others. I don’t know if that came from team writing this book when his others were solo works. However, at times the story seemed to drag and I felt there were some loose ends when it was over. Lest you think the story was all bad it wasn’t. The cast of characters presented in this story offered a great deal. David Chambers was a true example of an ego mantic celebrity, at least in his own mind. He was more concerned about having things “his way” regardless of the effect his words and actions had on others. His former fiancé, Amber, was a shining example of a steadfast belief in the truth. I think my favorite character was the head of security, Landau. A secular Jew that was tough as nails, actually tougher than nails with a no nonsense attitude.
Although a book I wasn’t crazy about, if you enjoy the idea of following Biblical archeology and learning about the historical artifacts then this might be a good pick for you. The basis for their search, the Copper Scroll, does indeed exist and it was interesting to learn about it. If you like end times stories and the idea of ways Biblical prophecy might be fulfilled then you may enjoy this story.
I received this book for free from WaterBrook Multnomah Publishing Group for this review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for The Scroll: A Novel - eBook
This review is fromThe Scroll.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

The Scroll by Grant R. Jeffrey and Alton L. Gansky

Date:November 23, 2011
Customer Avatar
Tammi
Location:maine
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Blurb:
One last dig. One final descent into the twisted tunnels of ancient Jerusalem. Will the truth be found among the treasures that lie beneath the holy city?
Dr. David Chambers, leading archaeologist, has spent his professional career uncovering the facts in the artifacts. His work sets the standard for biblical research in the Holy Land. But surrounded by the evidence, David has sunk into an abyss of doubt. A painful experience with a seemingly unresponsive God has left him without hope. The Old Testament scriptures that used to fill his mind with wonder now drive him to frustration. His unanswered questions have ripped him from both his academic pursuits and the love of his life, his fiancée, Amber.
An old friend and mentor reaches out to David, enticing him with the riches described in the enigmatic Copper Scroll. Losing ground with his peers, his love, and his faith, David Chambers has a choice to make. Will he undertake one final dig to unlock a secret that could alter the course of history? Do the mysteries of the Old Testament hold the key to the political turmoil of the Middle East?
In a world where faith has been eclipsed by the allure of doubt, The Scroll offers a different journey: a gripping adventure to find truth worth dying for.
My Review:
The Scroll by Grant R. Jeffrey and Alton L. Gansky is an interesting book full of history, suspense, and a little romance. Dr. David Chambers is an expert archaeologist, who has made the study of Bible history his main area of expertise. He felt that studying the land of the Bible and finding the artifacts strengthened his relationship with God, but that was before his mother died of cancer. After she passed away he turned away from God, insisting that He doesn’t exist.
When his friend Abram Ben-Judah, invites him to head a new archeological dig, he reluctantly decides to go to Israel. The digs are supposed to be top secret, and done quickly, which goes against his grain. He is also at odds with some of the other archaeologists who are on the team.
I liked the story which is packed with history, and archaeological finds that reveal that the Bible is true, and not a fanciful story. The characters were realistic, and for the most part likable. The authors also added a good amount of suspense, that keeps the reader involved. The only thing I would have liked is a stronger ending, because it was kind of flat.
** The Scroll by Grant R. Jeffrey and Alton L. Gansky was provided for me free by WaterBrook Multnomah Publishing Group in exchange for my honest review.
Blessings,
Tammi
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for The Scroll: A Novel - eBook
This review is fromThe Scroll.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Full of Adventure

Date:November 16, 2011
Customer Avatar
Lizzie
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Scroll opens with renowned Biblical archaeologist Dr. David Chambers. At one time, the Bible used to excite Chambers both personally and professionally. But after the death of his mother, Chambers left both his profession and religion for good. Or so he thinks.
When Chambers gets a call from his old mentor begging him to come to Israel for one last dig, Chambers hesitates. He'd left Biblical archaeology for good. But something in his old friend's tone convinces him that what they will find will change the course of history forever. Against his better judgment, Chambers agrees to go.
However, a few very important details have been left out: not only is Chambers' arch nemesis Nuri on the team, but also his ex-fiance Amber as well. Chambers threatens to leave, but as soon as he discovers that they'll be searching for the treasures described in the famous Copper Scroll, he can't help but stay.
As tensions rise, and the mystery and suspense around the Copper Scroll increase, Chambers is left to wonder: why the secrecy? Who is after them? And will they find the treasures in time?
I've always been fascinated by Biblical archaeology and archaeology in general, so The Scroll immediately got my interest. As I read, the details surrounding the Copper Scroll lead me to wonder: how much is fiction, and how much is true? So I did a little research.
Turns out, the Copper Scroll is real! The more I studied, the more I realized how historically accurate The Scroll is. The authors did a fabulous job with research, and knowing that the Copper Scroll actually exists just made it that much more tantalizing a read for me.
It does go a bit heavy on archaeology and Biblical history, so if those things don't interest you it may be a more difficult read.
However, it was a true adventure novel full of action, buried treasure, a bit of romance, and suspense! I enjoyed the read and found it fascinating. The back-and-forth between Chambers and Nuri was hilarious, so there are some humorous elements to the read as well.
I shaved off a star because while the plot line was fantastic, Chambers as a character was a little more difficult to like and the ending fell a little flat for me. I give the authors props for not creating a squeaky clean Christian character but rather a real person with flaws, however, because of his temper, Chambers often came across as a bit childish.
Still, if you like adventures, I'd certainly recommend The Scroll. It's definitely worth the read!
I received this book for free from WaterBrook Multnomah Publishing Group for this review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for The Scroll: A Novel - eBook
This review is fromThe Scroll.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great fast paced story

Date:November 9, 2011
Customer Avatar
Bern
Location:California
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We meet, Dr. David Chambers, in the opening of the The Scroll and are instantly pulled into the story of a man who's faith is so deeply intertwined with his life's ambition that the lines have always blurred - almost becoming one. But when his faith is shaken and lost, it costs him not only his life's work but his former fiance, as well. As he contemplates moving into another field of study, he is lured back into Biblical Archaeology by his mentor and friend as they search for the "treasure" found via the Copper Scroll. What he does not know is the great danger that accompanies this final dig and the secret plan his mentor has that goes beyond archaeology but ties in with faith and the history of the Middle East.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for The Scroll: A Novel - eBook
This review is fromThe Scroll.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 29, 2011
Customer Avatar
kelisni
Age:25-34
Gender:female
The Scroll by Grant Jeffrey and Alton Ganksy was a great read! David Chambers is a biblical archaeologist, yet wouldn't necessarily make the biblical part any more a part of his life. His last dig was finding Herod the Great's secret tunnel. Several months later, his old friend and professor calls him from Israel and wants him to come back to help on just one more dig. He states that this is a matter of great significance. How can Chambers let Ben-Judah down when it seems like this is the most important hunt for Ben-Judah?
Little does Chambers know who else will be on this expedition, such as a fellow archaeologist he can't stand and his former fiance. They are thrown into a very secretive world of high ranking officials calling the shots as well as having Israeli Security Agency constantly protecting them. Along the way though, it seems as if someone wants them to stop. Things get even more crazy when a terrorist does a TV interview and sends out little messages to his followers of what to do. Several people die, but to what extent? When is enough enough for David Chambers? Will he find the truth he once had?
These two authors did an excellent job of tying in the Bible. Jeffrey is great at biblical prophecy and its interpretations. We don't know all that's going to specifically happen, however, the Bible makes many references to what will happen in general. How would it feel if someone did unearth treasures buried back from the Old Testament times? Although, proving the Bible is true won't necessarily bring people to Christ as is seen when Christ actually lived on this earth.
I received this book for free from WaterBrook Multnomah Publishing Group for this review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for The Scroll: A Novel - eBook
This review is fromThe Scroll.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

The Scroll

Date:October 28, 2011
Customer Avatar
Marguerette Shamburger
Location:Hendersonville, NC
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I didn't read The Copper Scroll before reading this book but it would probably have helped me get into this one if I had. Since the Copper Scroll was by another author, it didn't dawn on me to read it first. I would recommend that before starting this one but it isn't a must. After all the characters were introduced, this one read very quickly and was a great read. I learned a lot about Jerusalem and bible history that I had never paid much attention to. I loved the book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for The Scroll: A Novel - eBook
This review is fromThe Scroll.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Archaeological fun... and danger...

Date:October 23, 2011
Customer Avatar
Jessica
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Dr. David Chambers is a noted biblical archaeologist, but the death of his mother has left him angry at his father and at God. His anger causes him to abandon both his field and his faith, and to lose the love of his life, Amber. Though he is prepared to move on to a new field of archaeology he is tempted when an old friend asks him for help on a dig involving the Copper Scroll. What they are looking for is priceless and someone is willing to kill over it.
The Scroll is definitely a page-turner; very suspenseful with a captivating story. The characters are well written and completely believable. As someone who has been fascinated with biblical archaeology for quite some time, I found the story to be fascinating as well. I could only imagine feeling what these characters felt as they held the precious items they found, though I certainly would not want to face the danger they faced. I’ve never read any works by Jeffrey. I’ve read one book by Gansky, but it was not fiction. So, these were both new authors for me and I’ll be checking out more of their work in the future.
I received a complimentary copy of this book for review purposes from Waterbrook Multnomah.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for The Scroll: A Novel - eBook
This review is fromThe Scroll.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

The Scroll by Grant R. Jeffrey & Alton L. Gansky -

Date:October 18, 2011
Customer Avatar
Girl Thursday
Location:Oregon
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Biblical archeology, murder, intrigue and a man who has lost his faith in God are the main themes in "The Scroll". Dr. David Chambers, due to a painful experience, has lost his hope in the scriptures that used to drive his passion. Known as the leading archeologist in the Holy Land, his work set the standard in biblical research. But, that was then. Now, drowning in doubt and depression and on the verge of leaving his passion for the Holy Land in the proverbial dust, David has the chance to redeem his faith and his career.
David's old friend and mentor Abram Ben-Judah calls him with the offer of one last dig. With the enticement of riches and a discovery unlike any other Dr. Chambers heads back to Israel. He quickly finds himself confronted with those very things he wanted to leave behind. Drawn into a fight for his life will his faith in God return or be forever lost?
I found that "The Scroll" was a little slow to start but an enjoyable read. Think Indiana Jones meets the bible meets end times prophecy. I would definitely recommend this book to anyone interested in biblical historical fiction with a little bit of action adventure thrown in.
I received this book for free from WaterBrook Multnomah Publishing Group for this review. WaterBrook Multnomah Publishing Group does not require a positive review. All opinions expressed in this review are my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for The Scroll: A Novel - eBook
This review is fromThe Scroll.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A Entertaining Read

Date:October 17, 2011
Customer Avatar
Amanda
Location:Michigan
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The Scroll by Grant R. Jeffrey and Alton L. Gansky is a entertaining read. The time they take in the beginning to lay the foundation of the story helps to build on the plot and characters and gives you a fuller and better experience as you continue the read. Once you have fully jumped in to the book you will not want to put it down.
The Scroll centers around a team of archaeologists who are on the hunt for the artifacts of the second temple of Israel. The main character of the book is a biblical archaeologist David Chambers who has been won over by doubt and abandoned his faith. He has been enticed by his mentor of promises of riches to come back to Israel for one last dig. A dig that could change the very course of history and bring him back to what he knows in his heart to be truth.
It is a tale filled with adventure, danger, mystery, and intrigue. It is a story you will truly enjoy.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for The Scroll: A Novel - eBook
This review is fromThe Scroll.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A History Mystery

Date:October 15, 2011
Customer Avatar
pkerry319
Location:Waukee, IA
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Filled with mystery, faith struggles, and historical insights The Scroll is an engaging and captivating novel. I found the characters to be well developed and their interpersonal relationships to be quite entertaining. The dialogue between characters is filled with wit and sarcasm that brings real life to their interactions.
Perhaps the most interesting part of the book is the wealth of historical and archeological information that is woven into the narrative. The history of Israel and the biblical history that is interlaced with the faith or lack of faith of the characters portray the genuine tension that exists between faith and the historical accuracy of Scripture.
Overall, I found this to be a very entertaining story with gripping drama mixed with humorous banter. Although, I did find the villain of the story to be a bit obvious, the plot was still interesting, fun and often mysterious. I would have no reservations at all recommending this book to anyone who enjoys a good action-adventure story.
I received this book for free from WaterBrook Multnomah Publishing Group for this review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for The Scroll: A Novel - eBook
This review is fromThe Scroll.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

great book-gotta read it

Date:October 14, 2011
Customer Avatar
cathy
Location:Kansas
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Scroll is about a group of archaeologists gathered together in Jeruselem by trusted Professor Ben-Judah and a well known billionaire without regard for anything but trustworthiness and their individual abilities. Their abilities on archeology that is. They have reasons to both hate and love each other but they all agree that for talent there is none better than Dr. David Chambers, Dr Amber Rogers and Dr Nuri Aumann. Especially if one combines their talent with that of Dr. Ben-Judah and the ability to work with money never being a concern and all the newest scientific inventions at their disposal. The goal of this group is to find the Copper Scroll's list of temple artifacts which has an Indian Jones sound but follows a scientific-Biblical archaeology storyline rather than the blood and snakes of the movie. This story has a love interest but the business of the story is the archaelogy digging and proving the Bible history in acuracy. It lets the reader in on the politics of the day and some of the reasons for the customs.
I loved the book and couldn't put it down. It realistically takes the reader into Isreal and the mysteries of the land and the Bible. I was on the edge of my chair many times not being able to turn the pages quickly enough. The twists and turns of the storyline holds the readers interest in a way that just a mystery cannot. It lets the reader know the importance of having a strong Christian faith in times of the difficulties of life. It lets the reader know that God loves us when we are trying our best and when we are not. You just have to read this book.
This book was provided for this review by WaterbrookMultnomah Publishing Group.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>