Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Multnomah Books Enemies of the Heart: Breaking Free from the Four Emotions That Control You - eBook

Multnomah Books Enemies of the Heart: Breaking Free from the Four Emotions That Control You - eBook

Average Customer Rating:
4.538 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(52 Reviews) 52
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (52 reviews)
5 stars
34
4 stars
14
3 stars
2
2 stars
2
1 star
0
50 out of 5296%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Enemies of the Heart: Breaking Free from the Four Emotions That Control You - eBook
Review 1 for Enemies of the Heart: Breaking Free from the Four Emotions That Control You - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Everyone should read this book

Date:July 16, 2013
Customer Avatar
schloems
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book seriously stepped on my toes, but that was necessary to get to the "heart of the matter" Andy Stanley really exposes what is wrong in our hearts that causes us so much distress. If you wonder why the advice to "follow your heart" seems to lead in the wrong direction, you will find the answer here.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Enemies of the Heart: Breaking Free from the Four Emotions That Control You - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Very good book

Date:May 8, 2013
Customer Avatar
Elise
Age:35-44
Gender:female
This book helped me a lot when I was going through a personal crisis. I guess the book could offer more practical recommendations, but the tone of the book is very inspirational. If you’re looking for a more practical approach, then you may want to read Secret Techniques for Controlling Sadness, Anger, Fear, Anxiety, and Other Emotions by Vlad Koros. These two books complement each other well, or so I think.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Enemies of the Heart: Breaking Free from the Four Emotions That Control You - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This book is a life changer.

Date:March 20, 2013
Customer Avatar
Jammie
Location:Fremont,CA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
If you struggle with forgiveness of yourself or others, please read this book. You will learn to look at forgiveness with the perspective of the cross, as Andy Stanley put it. Learn to let go and let God bring true peace and joy to your life. Stop carrying past hurts and forgive the debt as God forgave you.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Enemies of the Heart: Breaking Free from the Four Emotions That Control You - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 19, 2013
Customer Avatar
myrt
Location:Saskatchewan, Canada
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent book for general reading but particulary for those who are experiencing challenges in their faith walk. These four heart issues address a broad range of difficulties in living a victorious life.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Enemies of the Heart: Breaking Free from the Four Emotions That Control You - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 3, 2013
Customer Avatar
Sheila
Location:Littleton, CO
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love Andy Stanley! This is a fantastic book. Right now I am only on chapter 4, but I can't wait to read more! Andy Stanley cuts to some deep truths, but he does it in a fun and easy to understand way. I definitely have a lot to think about!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Enemies of the Heart: Breaking Free from the Four Emotions That Control You - eBook
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Disappointed in the minimal advice provided

Date:December 4, 2012
Customer Avatar
Mimmy
Location:Newark, OH
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I was truly disappointed in the extremely minimal advice provided in this book. I started reading it with great expectancy, but was very disappointed, as it give very little advice. It points out "the problems" well, and that's great, sure, but again - advice is very much lacking. I am familiar with both Andy Stanley and his father, Charles Stanley. Charles gives much better advice. Because of the minimal advice, this book should be a "cheat sheet" to the advice that should have been given and left out of the book. Sorry Andy!
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Enemies of the Heart: Breaking Free from the Four Emotions That Control You - eBook
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Dealing with Four Controlling Emotions

Date:August 28, 2012
Customer Avatar
Greg
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Andy Stanley helps the reader simplify a majority of issues in life with his book Enemies of the Heart: Breaking Free from the Four Emotions That Control You. He narrows the problems that trouble individuals down to four main issues: guilt, anger, greed and jealousy.
Stanley characterizes each of "enemies of the heart" as an issue of a debt being owed:
Guilt: I Owe You
Anger: You Owe Me
Greed: I Owe Me
Jealousy: God Owes Me
With each "enemy" Stanley lists, he also compiles a section for confronting each "enemy".
Stanley is known as a great communicator, and maybe that is more apparent in his speaking than in his writing, but I found this passage to be very impactful. From page 148 in a chapter titled, "The Power of Generosity":
"In the past, when you didn't have enough, were you hesitant to question God about your lack? You probably didn't hesitate at all. You let Him know immediately that you were in need. And if you're like me, you let Him know that you expected Him to provide for you. And when He came through, what did you do? You thanked Him. You may even have shared your story with a few folks. So now that you are on the other side, with more than enough, why don't you question God about that?"
This book took me a while to get through. It was a good read but not a book that captivated my attention to the point that I read it rapidly.
I reviewed this book in conjunction with Thomas Nelson's BookSneeze program, was not compensated for this review and the views expressed are entirely mine.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Enemies of the Heart: Breaking Free from the Four Emotions That Control You - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

For things will hold you back in every way.

Date:August 9, 2012
Customer Avatar
Jim Ammerman
Location:Port Charlotte, FL
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have used this resource in S. School, a men's group and for my small group. It is excellent. If you've followed Christ for a while, you don't think you have Guilt, Anger, Greed or Jealousy... Stanley shows how subtle these emotions are. And he spends more than half of the book helping to grow past these debilitating "Heart" blockages.
I highly recommend it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Enemies of the Heart: Breaking Free from the Four Emotions That Control You - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

The Problem Is In the Heart

Date:July 31, 2012
Customer Avatar
Gipson
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I recently finished reading Enemies of the Heart: Breaking Free from the Four Emotions That Control You. The book is a fantastic read. It deals with four emotions (guilt, anger, greed, and jealousy) that are at the root of most problems in our lives. It offers not only an examination of these emotions, but gives strategies for combating them to keep them from causing problems in our relationships.
The author of the book is Andy Stanley the preacher at Northpoint Community Church in Alpharetta, GA. He’s also the son of well known evangelist Charles Stanley.
One of the key insights in the book is that these emotions stem from some unmet expectation. When I feel guilty, I have a sense that I owe you. When I am angry, I feel that you owe me. When I am greedy it is as though I owe me. When I am jealous, I feel like God owes me. These unmet expectations create a sense of obligation so that the emotion cannot be dealt with until the debt is either payed or forgiven. When this doesn’t happen, we allow these emotions to rule our interactions with those to whom we are closest.
Stanley says that they only way to deal with these emotions is to develop habits that run counter to them. For instance the habit of confession helps one keep a secret sin from allowing guilt to ruin his or her relationships. He says, “The purpose of confession is not to relieve your conscience; it’s to affect change and reconciliation” (pg. 113). So developing a habit of confession is the first step in righting my wrongs against others.
The book is highly insightful. It helps one understand how unmet expectations eventually make our relationships dysfunctional. It gets right to the heart of the problem, showing that all problems start in the heart.
I received this book for free from WaterBrook Multnomah Publishing Group for this review. I was not required to give a positive review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Enemies of the Heart: Breaking Free from the Four Emotions That Control You - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

How are things with your heart?

Date:May 17, 2012
Customer Avatar
Heather King
Location:Gloucester, VA
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
How are things with your heart? That's the question Andy Stanley asks in this book, but of course he's not talking about cardiac tissue, blockages, blood pressure, arteries, valves or cholesterol.
He's asking about the deep down places of our soul, the corners we like to sweep things into and the junk we pretend doesn't exist. We certainly don't usually deal with the emotions lurking there or how they control us and our relationships. In fact, we're most likely to overlook them entirely or excuse them as just "how I am," "how God made me," or some other such nonsense that trivializes God's capacity to transform us into Christ-likeness and keeps us comfortable in our sin.
In Psalm 139:23-24, David wrote: Search me, O God, and know my heart! Try me and know my thoughts! And see if there be any grievous way in me, and lead me in the way everlasting!"
Reading Stanley's book is like praying this prayer. It's "dangerous" in that what God reveals about the sins of attitude, emotion and motivation may be painful to see. We usually remain pretty pleased with ourselves when we simply keep our behavior in check. Yet, addressing the hidden junk in our emotions is what we need to do to move forward in spiritual growth.
Stanley covers four enemies of the heart and defines each in a unique, fresh, and insightful way: Guilt (I Owe You); Anger (You Owe Me); Greed: (I Owe Me); and Jealousy (God Owes Me). For each, he gives extremely practical steps rooted in Scripture that will help us overcome any of these emotions that hold us captive.
As challenging and convicting as the book really is, Stanley never comes across as "preachy" or condescending. Mostly, it's like sitting across from a good friend or older brother who is telling you what he's learned from experience with honesty, transparency and humor.
The book includes discussion questions that can be used for group study and I think for a small group that's willing to drop any super-spiritual facades and be honest about our heart conditions, it'd work really well. For an individual, it can be a groundbreaking challenge and an eye-opening first step to victory in your Christian life.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from WaterBrook Multnomah Publishing Group as part of their Blogging for Books program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing these things in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255: "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Enemies of the Heart: Breaking Free from the Four Emotions That Control You - eBook
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

"Convicting!"

Date:May 17, 2012
Customer Avatar
JimL
Location:Bentonville, AR
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Andy Stanley has the ability of a heart surgeon to carefuly move his scriptural scapel into the hidden layers of the heart. Uncovering the heart blockage of dangerous emotions, anger, jealousy, greed and guilt. You may be tempted to respond, "Who me?" But after his careful diagnosis you humbly answer, "Yes, me." But this book not only uncovers the sin but quickly guides the reader to the scriptural perscription of confession and repentance.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Enemies of the Heart: Breaking Free from the Four Emotions That Control You - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A great resource for individuals and small groups.

Date:January 16, 2012
Customer Avatar
rawhitfield
Location:Beaufort, SC
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Enemies of the Heart, Andy Stanley. Colorado Springs, Colorado: Multnomah Books, 2010, 2011. 218 pages. Reviewed by Rev. Russell A. Whitfield.
Andy Stanley has communicated four critical forces that are common to every person, and has given biblical advice to deal with these damaging powers. The book, Enemies of the Heart, is a collection of chapters that introduces and discusses four emotional forces in a biblically relevant, readable, practical, honest way. The twenty chapters of Stanley’s book are divided into four parts to help his readers deal with these four enemies: guilt, anger, greed, and jealousy that come from within a person’s heart. The first part addresses the roots of these enemies, the second part deals with each of the four enemies individually for deeper clarification, the third part offers advice that will effect change, and finally Stanley takes two chapters to express the effect the heart change will make on future generations as well as other areas of one’s life.
As senior pastor and founder of North Point Ministries Inc, Stanley has written several practical resources that help communicate Biblical Truths to other ministries and lay people as well. He has taken real life examples both from his personal life and the lives of others to illustrate the effects these Enemies of the Heart have on an individual. Stanley recognizes that in his own life he had to confront certain enemies that were set to damage his life and relationships.
Enemies of the Heart explores four destructive forces that infiltrate an individual’s life with the aim to destroy their home, career, and relationships. The first section of the book is titled where did that come from? and is introduced with a verse from Jeremiah 17:9 to explain the deceitfulness and sickness of the heart. In the first two chapters of this section, he describes two incidences that provide a clear picture of why this book was written. He shares about a personal occurrence one evening while lying in bed. He had felt an unusual feeling in his chest, and later found out that he had an irregular heartbeat. Another occurrence he describes was when the famous basketball player Pistol Pete Maravich suddenly collapsed while playing basketball right before an interview he had later with James Dobson. Maravich had a heart condition, but did not know about it because he was in fit condition. These two occurrences are used to help the reader understand the importance of monitoring the condition of their heart spiritually.
The next section of his book is titled Deeper Debts. Stanley introduces the four enemies and how each is fueled by a dynamic that must be confronted on an individual basis. He takes a separate chapter to describe each of the four enemies and the destruction each will cause to the heart. He begins this section taking time to identifying these four enemies as debts that are considered the debt to debtor dynamic that always causes imbalance in any relationship. The next four chapters deal with the debts individually. The first chapter is titled Guilt: I Owe You, secondly he deals with Anger: You Owe Me, Next he focuses attention on Greed: I Owe Me, and lastly he considers Jealousy: God Owes Me.
The third section offers some effective ways to effect spiritual growth and transformation in an individual’s life. In chapter ten, Stanley’s aim is for individual Christians to begin the process of monitoring their heart and not just their behavior. In order for spiritual growth and transformation to take place, there needs to be a “spiritual” heart surgery to happen. As he begins this section, Stanley takes some time to explain how making changes to one’s habits can affect the kind of spiritual transformation needed to deal with the dangerous enemies of the heart. He uses a character named Brian who has a bad heart to illustrate the lifestyle changes needed to have a healthy heart spiritually. It took a visit to the doctor for Brian to realize that he needed to make some lifestyle changes that would strengthen his heart. Brian was not willing to make the lifestyle changes needed to strengthen his physical heart, much like the average individual’s lack of understanding needed to make spiritual changes in order to lead a healthy spiritual life.
The nine chapters in the third section confront each enemy of the heart with the truths of scripture, and practical advice as to how each one needs to be confronted. Stanley begins by addressing the power of guilt by being overcome through the habit of confession (1 John 1:9); next he offers the most freeing advice of forgiveness as a way to “Get rid of all anger…” (Ephesians 4:31); then Stanley approaches the enemy of greed by offering an attitude of generosity; finally the last enemy he confronts is jealousy that should be overcome through the celebration of other’s successes and decisions.
The final section of his book, entitled Moving Forward, ends with two chapters that enlighten his readers about the effects these four enemies could have on later generations, as well as other spiritual struggles individuals might be confronted with, especially his male readers. The habits of our hearts become the best models for those in the home. Stanley readdresses the importance of monitoring one’s heart from the warning found in Proverbs 4:23 to guard your heart above all else, for it is the source of life.
The last chapter, About Lust, gives his readers the main reason why it is important to maintain a healthy heart. He concludes the chapter saying, the healthier our hearts, the easier it will be for us to keep this God-given appetite properly focused and under control.
Stanley has done an excellent job communicating the dangers and power guilt, anger, greed, and jealousy have on an individual’s life. He has written a strong resource that confronts these enemies that come from within our hearts with the power of God’s Holy Scripture. I was convicted that continued monitoring of our hearts spiritually proves to be a major need as we seek to truly live this abundant life God desires for us as believers. As you read this book, you will catch yourself taking time to analyze the habits of your own heart and its condition. I highly recommend this book to every Christian, young or old, as well as an individual small group seeking a powerful resource.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Waterbrook Multnomah Publishers of their Blogger Review Program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Enemies of the Heart: Breaking Free from the Four Emotions That Control You - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Enemies of Your Heart....

Date:November 27, 2011
Customer Avatar
water
Location:New york NY
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Enemies of the heart is a book written concerning the issues of the heart. It is written in four segment ,where did it come from to moving forward.Four enemies that kills our heart everyday of our life:Where does the issues and crises we come across comes from?
The author gave a few heart killers and the anti-dote
-Guilt
-Jealousy
-Anger
-Greed
At some point in time somebody owes someboby something,at least we thing so and if debt is not paid, it causes bitterness therefore , enemies of the heart. So then how do we deal with such issues and enemies so it does not eat our heart away?
I appreciate the idea of this book, it's therapeutic and would recommend it to anyone who at some point in time have some unanswered questions and needs alittle push in setting themselves free.
Anger has been a defence which many of us hide behinde, "we believe it makes us strong or more effective but the people we interact with see it as a weakness"......I love that statement,it is so true.
Mastering these four element makes us happy and free.....No one wants anger,guilt,jealousy and greed get the best of them,and to do that we have to live and master these through forgiveness.
I wish i can have this copy for keep because i will definately read this again.
I receive a copy of this book from waterbrook multnomah publishing group for my honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Enemies of the Heart: Breaking Free from the Four Emotions That Control You - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 11, 2012
Customer Avatar
VWalk
Location:Austin, TX
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We are using this book as a bible study and it is great. It really gives you alot to think about and process. I wish he had a DVD that went along with it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Enemies of the Heart: Breaking Free from the Four Emotions That Control You - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Better than I expected!!

Date:January 5, 2012
Customer Avatar
smasters
Location:Georgia
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I had previously only read one other book by Andy Stanley and, I must say, I was somewhat dissappointed. So, although this title really intrigued me, I wasn't so sure about reading it. Boy, was I surprised! I really enjoyed this book and it really gives you a lot to think about. It's amazing how the four emotions that Stanley talks about....guilt, anger, greed and jealousy... really are the root of all relationship problems. I really enjoyed his relaxed style of writing and how he included personal stories to illustrate his points. I definitely think that I will have to check out other Andy Stanley books!
This book was provided to me free of charge from Blogging for Books in return for my honest review.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Enemies of the Heart: Breaking Free from the Four Emotions That Control You - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Do you have heart disease?

Date:January 5, 2012
Customer Avatar
Annies Inklings
Location:Wenatchee, WA
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I didn't realize that I had heart disease until I read this book. I also discovered that the type of heart disease I have can't be treated with a prescription drug. If you decide to read this book, you might be as surprised as I was to discover that you are afflicted with a spiritual heart disease. Perhaps it's time for a check up.
Being an excellent communicator, Andy Stanley keeps you riveted to Enemies of the Heart as he discusses four destructive emotional forces that compel you to act in undesirable ways and have the power to destroy your home, your career, and your friendships. Guilt, anger, greed, and jealousy are described by Andy to be a spiritual heart disease that has the potential to “destroy you and squeeze the life out of your most valuable relationships.”
Andy quotes Proverbs 4:23 NASB, “Watch over your heart with all diligence, for from it flows the springs of life.” Whether it be good or bad, whatever is in our hearts is eventually translated into words and deeds. Reading this book will likely cause you to realize that you too, like many of us, have a spiritual heart disease that we aren’t aware of. Thankfully, in his easy to understand and practical advice, Andy helps you get to the root of your bad heart condition and provides biblical direction for healing.
Once again, I’ve been enlightened and inspired by the writing of Andy Stanley. I’ve already recommend it to several friends and will certainly promote it through my church library.
I received this book free from WaterBrook Multnomah Publishers as part of their Blogging for Books book program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Enemies of the Heart: Breaking Free from the Four Emotions That Control You - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Enemies of the Heart - Confronting what's within

Date:December 24, 2011
Customer Avatar
Matt
Location:Illinois
Age:18-24
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Andy Stanley writes about how our actions come from within and how our inner condition is determined by the condition of our heart. It is because of our damaged or wounded hearts that we react in certain ways. He describes four enemies of the heart, which greatly impacts the condition of the heart: guilt, anger, greed, and jealousy. He attributes habits (one habit per enemy of the heart) that can be practiced to help confront and turn away from our guilt, anger, greed, and jealousy.
I appreciated what Stanley had to say concerning the heart condition and how to approach each enemy. I found myself naturally thinking about what he was saying and analyzing what condition my heart is in. He does a great job at making the material understandable and relevant to the life of the reader (at least for me he did). I was challenged to not simply read and be educated, but to actual confront the enemies of my heart with the help of God. I believe this book is a good resource to revisit our heart and reflect on what we need to go to God with and allow Him to transform. I see this book being a good introduction to growing in self-awareness.
I received this book for free from WaterBrook Multnomah Publishing Group for this review
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Enemies of the Heart: Breaking Free from the Four Emotions That Control You - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent book

Date:October 26, 2011
Customer Avatar
PastorTJ
Age:45-54
Gender:male
The book is an easy read. The concepts are quite in touch and very applicable.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Enemies of the Heart: Breaking Free from the Four Emotions That Control You - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A powerful book with an important message

Date:December 6, 2011
Customer Avatar
Nate
Location:Poland, ME
Age:25-34
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
In Enemies of the Heart: Breaking Free from the Four Emotions That Control You, pastor Andy Stanley calls readers to break free from the destructive power of guilt, anger, greed, and jealousy. These four forces, says Stanley, have the power to destroy your home, career, and friendships if left unchallenged. They take over your life, destroy your relationships, and leave you and those around you hurting. In this book, Stanley provides practical advice, straight from the Bible, to help you take back control and restore your relationships.
Enemies of the Heart is exactly what I needed. It is both convicting and refreshing. The author uses a thoroughly enjoyable writing style with fun anecdotes to unwrap, dissect, and bring light to the sources of our problems. The book is nothing if not direct – no skirting around the issues here – and yet unlike with many similar books I never felt as if the author were being self-righteous or accusatory. After describing the problems and helping us to see the problems in our own lives, Stanley provides powerful insight into how to free ourselves from the bondage found in these four emotions.
Please do yourself and those around you a favor and buy this book, but don’t stop there. Devour it. Live it. Use it to change your life.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from WaterBrook Multnomah Publishing Group as part of their Blogging for Books program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing these things in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255: "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Enemies of the Heart: Breaking Free from the Four Emotions That Control You - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 16, 2011
Customer Avatar
Ben Umnus
Location:Wisconsin
Age:18-24
Gender:male
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It's interesting that I got this book during the summer and I didn't get to finish it until this fall. Part of this was poor time management on my part, but when I actually started reading Enemies of the Heart by Andy Stanley, who is the son of one of my favorite preachers: Dr. Charles Stanley, I realized me reading this when I did was more of God's timing than mine.
Enemies of the Heart is a book which addresses the spiritual heart. We like to look at the physical condition of our hearts in order to avoid problems like heart disease, but Andy Stanley writes, with a strong emphasis, we ought to monitor our spiritual condition too. Do we have any Greedy, Angry, Jealous, and or guilty habits/tendencies? How do they appear in our lives? And how do we deal with each of these traits?
I cannot get into specific details, but I believe God wanted me to read this book at the time I did because he wanted me to realize and treat certain spiritual heart conditions I've been guilty of containing within. I believe this book helped me a great deal in becoming more spiritually aware, but like many diet/weight loss books this book is only something beneficial when actually applied. Andy Stanley addressed several important topics which I didn't expect him to get into like analyzing more specifically why do some men have a problem with Lust. He also provides various passages of scripture as support for our need to examine our hearts carefully; one really good verse is Proverbs 4:23. He even provides solutions, though not easy ones, in regard to our unclean hearts which though tough are not unrealistically optimistic.
Disclaimer: Ben Umnus was given a free copy of this book by Waterbrook Multnomah Press, but he was neither paid for his review nor was he commanded by Waterbrook Multnomah Press to write a positive review. This review is the personal, written opinion of Ben Umnus. This disclaimer is in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255http://www.access.gpo.gov/nara/cfr/waisidx_03/16cfr255_03.html> : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.