Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for B & H Publishing Group Seeing Things: A Novel - eBook

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Christianbook.com.

B & H Publishing Group Seeing Things: A Novel - eBook

Birdie Wainwright, 72, isn't concerned about seeing things that others can't. For a woman who still climbs mountains with her dog (Miss Bee Haven) and likes to tango, the impractical visions brought on by macular degeneration are just another gift from God, adding more adventure to life. But when a tumble down the stairs breaks her ankle and leads back to her son's home in Denver where she must convalesce, Birdie's imagination really takes flight. Following a conversation with her grandson about The Adventures of Huckleberry Finn, she begins to see and speak with the unkempt literary character himself on a regular basis. As the line between reality and whimsy turns brittle, faith is tested among friends and loved ones, and hope is reborn.
Average Customer Rating:
4.6 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(10 Reviews) 10
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (10 reviews)
5 stars
6
4 stars
4
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
2 out of 2100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Seeing Things: A Novel - eBook
Review 1 for Seeing Things: A Novel - eBook
This review is fromSeeing Things.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:March 8, 2013
Customer Avatar
Crystal
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
A tender story about young Grandma Birdy who faces obstacles with wit, grace, and strength! Determined to battle failing eyesight and an injured leg, she is guided by her dear dog Miss Bee, and an unlikely fella, Huckleberry Finn - YES you heard correct! Birdy, sees a vision of the legendary boy, as he retells his story as well as opening her eyes to life and the Lord! A very sweet, unique yet down to earth tale, of what we all secretly wish we could have in our lives, you'll never grow old with this book!
*I received this book free from the Publisher in exchange for a non-profit, unbiased, honest review.*
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Seeing Things: A Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

great read

Date:June 11, 2012
Customer Avatar
quilter
Location:Toledo, Ohio
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I enjoyed reading this book and thought it gave insight to what someone with macular degeneration sees and feels when dealing with this condition.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Seeing Things: A Novel - eBook
This review is fromSeeing Things.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:March 14, 2010
Customer Avatar
Inspired by Fiction
This was a fun read with strong characters and an even stronger message. Birdie Wainwright has macular degeneration with a large grey blur in the middle of her vision. If that were not enough she starts seeing things. It starts with flowers, but when the field of flowers is in place of her stairs, she takes a tumble and breaks an ankle. Her son brings her to his house to recover. Living in her sons house allows her a view of the troubles there. She makes new friends and develops a new way to pray for family. AND Huckleberry Finn makes frequent visits. Between her dog, her vision, and her hallucinations, she causes some trouble. But the Lord uses her to make some needed changes in her family's lives. Seeing Things was the first of Patti Hill's work that I have read, but from the prologue I knew I would enjoy it. Hill's writing is unique and fresh like the first buds in spring, promising growth and entertainment. Each character down to the smallest of parts was believable and real. She has created some of the most three dimensional characters I have read in quite some time. Birdie's voice was solid and real. She reminded me a bit of my grandmother. The storyline flowed smoothly with a strong Christian worldview. The power of prayer and sacrificial love were strong themes in this novel, and I am sure to remember the example of how Birdie "lowered her family through the roof" to Jesus in prayer. I loved this book and I'm passing it on to my mom this week!Inspired by Fiction
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Seeing Things: A Novel - eBook
This review is fromSeeing Things.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 20, 2009
Seeing Things by Patti Hill is a tasty treat for any afternoon. You'll "need" to set some time apart...you'll find you also "never" want this to end. Wow- I wish there was a sequel! Birdie Wainwrights prides herself on her independence and zest for life, even at the age of 72 and suffering from macular degeneration. When she starts seeing hallucinations of flowers in the middle of her living room, she starts to doubt her sanity, and when she ends up breaking her ankle because of them, her perfect life is turned upside-down. Birdie is forced to recover while living with her son Andy and wife Suzanne whose busy lives keep them on the run and away from son Fletcher, who has memorized baseball stats as a form of prayer in his lonely life. Things get even crazier when Huckleberry Finn shows up and starts talking to Birdie, and the faith of the whole family is tested. I absolutely adored the character of Birdie, and I hate that the book had to end! Hill precisely renders the conflict between aging parent and busy child when it comes to assisted living centers and independent living. Birdie wants only to heal and please her family, but she is forced over and over again to turn their care over to God. Her interpretation of putting them through the roof on a mat is one I will remember and use myself. The characters feel real, full of passion and life, like people you know personally, and the story has just the perfect amount of humor, faith, and love...."I can only hope to read more great books like this one!" -Thank you Patti Hill-
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Seeing Things: A Novel - eBook
This review is fromSeeing Things.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:November 25, 2009
Customer Avatar
Michelle Sutton
Seeing Things is an entertaining story. The author's voice is strong and I loved how it sounded very "senior citizen." I adored the main character, Birdie, and enjoyed getting to know her through her inner dialog. This entire story was incredibly creative and unique. I learned a few things about people with AMD as well. What I enjoyed most about this novel were the relationship dynamics and how realistic the author made the tension in Fletcher's family. Also, the whole issue about trying to help Birdie be safe was interesting because it's so common and most families will struggle with this issue regarding aging parents. The only thing that threw me off a bit was how things transitioned at the end. It seemed like more of a leap than a gentle progression toward resolution. It was too sudden. But I enjoyed the romantic tension between the old folks, so that more than made up for it. That theme was very well done. Overall, this was a good story and I'm glad I took the time to read it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Seeing Things: A Novel - eBook
This review is fromSeeing Things.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 15, 2009
This book fits with my passion "Why We Need Girlfriends." A Bible study book I'll be talking about another day.The family relationships in the book are great. Healing between family members. Grandmother and grandson bonding. But the group of women with failing eyesight that band together do more than the doctors or family for Birdie. Girlfriends are friends who stick closer than relatives.Seeing Things made me laugh out loud, which is common in husband's family, but not in mine.I can't recommend this story high enough.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Seeing Things: A Novel - eBook
This review is fromSeeing Things.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 25, 2009
Customer Avatar
Kathie M Bader
Just finished this in our book club--highly recommend reading it. We all found a common thread woven through the story for a fun and touching discussion time we were all able to relate to. Storyline is very fitting for today's challenging family life, including blended family relationships. You will immediately relate to every character and identify with the struggles of everyday life faced at any age. The author brought special meaning to each character that left you full of love, compassion, and a deep sense of appreciation for them individually. Please don't hesitate to read this book.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Seeing Things: A Novel - eBook
This review is fromSeeing Things.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:September 24, 2009
Who hasn't had an imaginary friend that used to talk to when they were little? Even now, sometimes the characters you create in your head are better company to keep than the real people you have to interact with on a daily basis. That's what life is like for Birdie as she finds that it's easier to communicate with Huckleberry Finn than with her son and his wife. That is a literary character that would be great to have a conversation with. I love how their conversations mostly consist of Birdie being able to confide and share her thoughts with Huck just sitting there listening. It's the best situation ever!I found the relationship between Birdie and her son and his family to very interesting to the story. I felt that this relationship is the epitome of elderly parents and their children who aren't sure how to take care of them. Their reactions and attitudes towards each other were very realistic and it touches at the heart for those who have been in this situation. What I liked best was how the author portrayed Birdie. She's not shown as a cranky elderly person who thinks that her way is the best way. She loves her grandson very much and wants to make everything right for him. Her relationship with her son is rocky and is even more so with his wife. However she tries to do her best to keep the peace even though it's very difficult for her.My only complaint is that it's very slow for about halfway through the book. It takes a while to really get into the story. It's not boring, there's just a lot of that you have to see through Birdie's eyes first before delving deeper. This book is not a fast read, but it's one to savor. I feel that it will touch many readers and pull some heartstrings. Perfect for a lazy fall's day.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Seeing Things: A Novel - eBook
This review is fromSeeing Things.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 15, 2009
Customer Avatar
Karen Mathews
"Seeing Things" is a wonderful, easy to read novel. I am truly amazed at how God works. We are doing a Bible Study at my church and the speaker lost her sight at the age of 15 to macular degeneration. The character of Birdie is so believable. I see myself and others in her especially when she talks about dropping someone through the roof! God is so good, he works on those around us and gives us numerous opportunities to share His love and that is what is neat about the BATS. One thing I remember is when Birdie says "Lord, I can barely hang on this the rope". We've all struggled with holding on. Again, I loved this book and recommend it to all.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Seeing Things: A Novel - eBook
This review is fromSeeing Things.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 9, 2009
Customer Avatar
Christy Lockstein
Seeing Things by Patti Hill is a tasty treat for a summer's afternoon. Birdie Wainwrights prides herself on her independence and zest for life, even at the age of 72 and suffering from macular degeneration. When she starts seeing hallucinations of flowers in the middle of her living room, she starts to doubt her sanity, and when she ends up breaking her ankle because of them, her perfect life is turned upside-down. Birdie is forced to recover while living with her son Andy and wife Suzanne whose busy lives keep them on the run and away from son Fletcher, who has memorized baseball stats as a form of prayer in his lonely life. Things get even crazier when Huckleberry Finn shows up and starts talking to Birdie, and the faith of the whole family is tested. I absolutely adored the character of Birdie, and I hate that the book had to end! Hill precisely renders the conflict between aging parent and busy child when it comes to assisted living centers and independent living. Birdie wants only to heal and please her family, but she is forced over and over again to turn their care over to God. Her interpretation of putting them through the roof on a mat is one I will remember and use myself. The characters feel real, full of passion and life, like people you know personally, and the story has just the perfect amount of humor, faith, and love.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.