Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Pelican Ventures, LLC Devotion

Pelican Ventures, LLC Devotion

Christian music agent Kellen Rossiter has everything he ever wanted---A-list clients nationwide, a loving wife who honors and respects him, and a faith that's never wavered. But what will happen when their rock-solid marriage begins to crumble under the weight of an unexpected and powerful temptation? Can love survive when its foundation is shaken? 300 pages, softcover from Pelican Ventures.
Average Customer Rating:
4.63 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(27 Reviews) 27
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (27 reviews)
5 stars
19
4 stars
6
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
0
26 out of 2796%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Devotion
Review 1 for Devotion
This review is fromDevotion - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Devotion

Date:October 8, 2013
Customer Avatar
Rebaka
Location:Huntsville, TX
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Devotion by Marianne Evans is a book that offers second chances. Marianne takes you on a journey through a wonderful couple’s life. After nine years of marriage Juliet and Kellen seem to be growing apart. Will their commitment so many years ago bring them back together?
This was a hard book to read because of its content. Marianne did a great job in showing the characters true feelings. It take three to make a marriage-God, you and your spouse. But above all you must be committed.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Devotion
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Not what I expected

Date:July 19, 2013
Customer Avatar
RobbyeFaye
Location:Oxford, AL
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
The review for Devotion is going to be a little different from most of my reviews in that I am interjecting more personal observations than I normally do.
In my mind, infidelity has always equaled adultery, therefore when I read the blurb above the title:
A SINGLE ACT OF INFIDELITY
A LIFETIME OF FORGIVENESS
I thought the book would focus on the effects of adultery. For that reason, I was surprised to find out it was about a married man kissing someone other than his wife.
OK, so I looked up infidelity and most of the dictionary definitions agreed with me. However, I found the best description, I felt, based on the logic of Devotion, on Wikipedia. Their definition was:
INFIDELITY (also referred to as cheating, adultery, or having an affair) is the subjective feeling that one's partner has violated a set of rules or relationship norms and this violation results in feelings of sexual jealousy and rivalry (Leeker & Carlozzi, 2012).
The violation can be sexual in nature, for example, involving kissing, sexual fondling, or sex with another individual outside of the relationship.
What constitutes an act of infidelity is dependent upon the exclusivity expectations within the relationship (Barta & Kiene, 2005). In marital relationships, exclusivity expectations are commonly assumed although they are not always met. When they are not met, research has found that particular psychological damage including feelings of rage and betrayal, lowering of sexual and personal confidence, and damage to self-image can occur (Leeker et al., 2012).
So, for the most part, Wikipedia agrees with me, but does go on to say it could just be a kiss.
With that caveat in mind, I continued reading. But, please somebody-GIVE ME A BREAK! All the angst anger and outrage over a kiss in a public place, that albeit was interrupted, but was never followed through on nor did the husband WANT to follow through. In a moment of weakness and curiosity, he kissed her-GET OVER IT.
I feel the book is a real slap in the face to women who have been victims of adultery and not just a betrayal as this book portrays.
I felt like the wife, Julie, was a spoiled, whiny brat that made sure her husband, Kellen, knew what a cad he was and was not ever going to let him forget.
She moves out of their house and in with her sister, then changes her mind and moves back home but will not be around her husband adjusting her schedule to be away when he is home and home when he is away!
She is petty, waspish and cruel while he is constantly asking for forgiveness and trying to atone for what he has done. She even, before and after The Kiss, accepted and returned affection from a single friend at her church.
I decided to pretend it was not just a kiss and the book flowed much better for me.
I could see how the wife felt and why she was acting as the severely injured party. I could see why the husband felt so apologetic and contrite. Moreover, that little tweak in my mind made for a much, much improved feel to the story.
Devotion is very well written and thought out book. If the book were truly about adultery, you would be able to feel the anger, betrayal and sadness as befitting the crime. You would also rejoice in the forgiveness and love after a reconciliation.
The Book Club Network @ http://www.bookfun.org/ provided this book to me in exchange for an honest opinion.
Disclaimer: I realize this book is written and marketed to a Christian audience.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Devotion
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Current yet filled with Hope

Date:June 8, 2013
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Location:GA
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I received this book for review and my honest opinion from bookfun.org. Buy the book from CBD.
Kellen married the woman of his dreams. Juliet was a beautiful
woman and also beautiful on the inside. This marriage was solid and built on Christian values. Kellen said he did not need anyone but his wife, so how did things change?
Kellen was a Christian music agent. He dealt with both male and female singers. He was always on the lookout for new talent. When approached to hear a certain female, he went. He had worked with dozens of beautiful women in the music field. When he signed them on as agents he propelled them toward a professional and monetary success.
Juliet was busy serving and helping the underprivileged. She loved Kellen with all her heart. She knew that Kellen worked with beautiful female singers all the time. This had never been a concern for her. Why did this one seem to occupy more of his time? What is happening with this Chloe?
They were a childless couple although they wanted children. Trying to have a child had not been successful.
Will they finally have a child?
What happens when this wonderful couple suddenly encounters a threat to their marriage?
Devotion is a story of this marriage that will either crash and survive. What happens and the solution, if any, is what the book is about.
I thought the book was excellent and thoroughly enjoyed it.
Barbara, GA
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Devotion
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

True Redemption

Date:May 20, 2013
Customer Avatar
Jean
Location:West Palm Beach, FL
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I received this book free from bookfun.org in exchange for my review, and was pleasantly surprised. The book's title and photo gave no clue as to its contents, so it did not entice me. This book went to the "raw" part of your feelings. Without revealing the story, I can say that it gave such detail as to both the husband and wife's feelings throughout the angst that they battled, prior to the "act of betrayal", during the commitment of the act, and afterward. I was able to feel the exact feelings (in my head) and understand what they both were experiencing. It surprised me to see an author's detailed portrayal of going to "places" within oneself where nobody wants to go, and how a person is able to "heal", only possible through an abiding faith. I gave this book 4 stars due to the distraction I experienced by faulty grammar, which sometimes took me "off course", mentally. I recommend this book to every married couple, or previously married couple, as it is so "relatable".
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Devotion
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A Lifetime of Devotion

Date:May 9, 2013
Customer Avatar
jdove1
Location:Buford, GA
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Devotion by Marianne Evans is a hard book for those who are struggling through a rough season in their marriage. Forgiveness is not as easy as we want it to be and one wrong action can make forgiveness so much harder to surrender too. This Book not only gives tools to really look into the situation and season that your marriage is in. It also give you the tools and hope to fins a place of Devotion to yourself , your spouse and above all your God. This book is worth the additional time and effort needed to read with or at the same time as your spouse. Take the leap, bo not let evil and temptation take away for the Love that God wants for you in your marriage. Make a choice of a lifetime of Devotion to each other through your heavenly Father. I was told once what doesn't bend breaks - Marianne Evans shows us how God made us stronger than we image, that we can bend more that we ever thought without breaking, for Sin will not be victorious over Love.
I was given this book by www.bookfun.org and Pelican book group in exchange for my review and honest opinion. Thank you!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Devotion
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Devotion

Date:April 20, 2013
Customer Avatar
muffin
Location:Honea Path, SC
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Wow! What a great book! Marianne Evans hits a very important issue that could arrive in any marriage. She really made this story seemed true-to-life. This book is a about a couple, Kellen and Juliet. They have a "snag" in their marriage and it tells about what they do to resolve this issue. Although this is a fiction book, it holds so much true-to-life issues. It shows the power of forgiveness and how hard forgiveness really is. This book had me in tears near the end. I would recommend this book to anyone especially couples as these issues could happen in your marriage.
I received this book from bookfun.org to read for my honest opinion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Devotion
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Great story about overcoming problems in marriage

Date:April 19, 2013
Customer Avatar
Shai
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The story was a little slow moving at first but once I started getting into the characters, it was very good. I loved the way Marianne Evans used people in the main characters lives to speak God's truth to them and not try to tear them apart. It spoke of using anger as a defense and how it continued to keep the couple from real forgiveness. Marianne tells a good clean story while capturing the realities of marriage. Overall, I would recommend the book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Devotion
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:April 19, 2013
Customer Avatar
Margie2
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Devotion By: Marianne Evans
Devotion is a book about a married couple , Kellen and Juliet that are deeply in love and have a strong faith in God. But when Kellen starts drifting away from church and is tempted by a beautiful country singer he makes a terrible mistake. Will there love survive ? Will Kellen turn back to God and the church ? Juliet realizes she isn't without fault and it is through her faith that helps her heart to mend. I would encourage anyone married or thinking about marriage to read this book .
I received the book from bookfun.org in exchange for an honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Devotion
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

High Praise for Marianne Evans’ Devotion

Date:April 17, 2013
Customer Avatar
toliverc
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Told with lyrical prose, Devotion goes beyond the stereotypes of infidelity to address how couples can stray even while being deeply in love. Ms. Evans avoids the typical victim, bad guy approach. We are all prone to failure and Ms. Evans paints a sympathetic picture of the main characters involved. It is the presence of God that enables each of us to resist temptation. When we stray from his presence, it becomes much easier to fall prey to our human frailties and ultimately disappoint ourselves and the ones we love. I thoroughly enjoyed the book. This novel was beyond entertaining. It made me think.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Devotion
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Marraige at it's best and worst

Date:April 16, 2013
Customer Avatar
inspiremichelle
Location:Loureauville, LA
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Devotion by Marianne Evans
This is the first book of Marianne Evans I have read but it will not be the last. Devotion is a Christian fiction, so well written that my emotions were on a rollercoaster. I cried and grieved, then rejoiced with the characters. Kellen and Juliet have the perfect marriage. They share the same faith and are deeply in love. Then temptations steps in and rears his ugly head. Will Kellen be tempted by his beautiful talented client Chloe or will Juliet give in to temptation with Tim her prayer partner and fellow volunteer. How will their marriage survive when trust is broken, when hearts are shatter? Will their faith and love bring them back together? Read this book to get a glimpse at what happens to a marriage given 2nd chances and forgiveness. I promise you will love this book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Devotion
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A must read for every couple!

Date:April 15, 2013
Customer Avatar
Lala
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Devotion" was such a powerful book! It truly tells the real life story of a couple going through infidelity: the pain, the hurt, and the healing.
I was blown away at how accurately and descriptively Marianne wrote this novel. I have not been through infidelity, but I did read the real life story of Mona and Gary Shriver in their novel "Unfaithful: Hope and Healing After Infidelity" (I strongly recommend that book).
This book spoke volumes to me in how easy it is to find yourself potentially walk down the path of infidelity even though we tell ourselves "I would never do that" or "That would never happen to me because I'm bigger than that." However as we can see with Kellen, when we don't guard our heats and let our marriage fall into a routine of complacency then we can very easily walk down that same path he did.
One of the things that really stood out to me throughout the novel as the Rossiters are going through their journey is not to take your spouse for granted and the things they do for you. I realized that my husband does so many things for me and makes little comments that I don't truly show appreciation for. I couldn't imagine having those things taken away from me and I want to show gratitude now because no way do I want our marriage to go through what the Rossiters did! I also realized how important accountability is between spouses. Juliet realized changes in her husband that were unlike him, but didn't say anything or keep him accountable. I do not want to be like that.
Overall, Devotion was such a hard book to read only because the journey was so painful, but once you complete the novel you can see the joy of healing (well really after halfway through the book)! I would recommend for every couple just simply to remind us that we need to guard our hearts and not let complacency define our marriage! God created marriage for so such more!
I received this book for free in exchange for an honest review!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Devotion
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A New Favorite

Date:April 10, 2013
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
When I first received this book, I was a bit hesitant to read it. I knew it very well could be a heartbreaker with me shedding lots of tears. It was a heartbreaking and fantastic story at the same time. You start out with two characters who still love and are attracted to each other, who just simply had a busy life get in the way. I really liked how the author showed how when we sin, in thought, word, or deed, it does not just hurt you but everyone around you especially the ones you love the most. The hurt and the pain sticks around a lot longer (sometimes a lifetime), much longer than the brief enjoyment you may have received committing the sin.
Forgiveness was a big factor in this story as well. The author did a great job showing not just the affects of sin, but also showing what may happen when we hold on to the bitterness and refuse to forgive those who are so desperate to be forgiven.
This story was told from both the husband and wife's point of view which made the story so much richer. This was my first book by Maryanne Evans and it certainly won't be my last. I received this book from bookfun.org for my honest opinion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Devotion
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

different kind of love story

Date:April 8, 2013
Customer Avatar
msharry
Location:Georgia
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book brings to mind Jimmy Carter’s famous confession of “lusting in his heart” being the same as adultery. Kellen and Juliet have the type of marriage we would hope that we or our loved ones would find: loving, passionate, mutually respectful and honoring, and grounded in their faith in God. They are best friends as well as lovers. They are financially secure, have satisfying work, and a comfortable lifestyle. So what goes wrong? How did temptation poison their relationship? How could a praying, Bible-reading, church-attending Christian ignore even the voice of God Himself telling him to flee the source of the temptation. He knew better; he loved his wife dearly; he really had no reason to look elsewhere for satisfaction—so what happened? How do a married couple find their way back from betrayal?
The characters were ones I cared about. I so wanted them to keep their marriage and relationship unsullied by the temptations of the world. I wanted Chloe to find happiness and fulfillment with someone else. The unfolding storyline kept me anxious to see what would happen next although I dearly wanted to reach into the book and shake sense into all of the people portrayed at various points. I kept rooting for forgiveness, healing, and redemption.
The lesson of the story is that Christians aren’t immune from being tempted by the call of evil. “He had turned away from heaven and stumbled headlong into a battle against the devil in his soul.” Yet God is faithful to forgive and lead us back to Him and the riches of a life dedicated to Him and His will.
I received the book from bookfun.org in exchange for an honest review. The opinions expressed are solely my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Devotion
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Very good book

Date:April 5, 2013
Customer Avatar
DMcVay
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It took me a few chapters to get a feel for the author's style of writing - it was not bad at all, just different from what I'm used to and it didn't make the book any less enjoyable. I really enjoyed the whole book and the message it shared.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Devotion
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Devotion

Date:March 17, 2013
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is the first book I have read by Marianne Evans and it was AWESOME! I love that she took us on the journey to healing and restoration the way God of would have us to do it. I could feel all the emotions of both of the main characters and that it made me feel so connected to them; therefore I was rooting for them to make. Infidelity is a devastating sin, but I believe couples can heal from it and have a stronger, better and happier God centered marriage.
I received a courtesy copy of this book from TBCN for my honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Devotion
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Bumps in the Road to Marriage Heaven

Date:March 15, 2013
Customer Avatar
Janice Garey
Location:Decatur, GA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
The married couple portrayed in this story have been too busy to sustain the intensity of love and passion they once felt. An affair, in the making, threatens to completely demolish hopes for a continuing good marriage.
The author's authentic internal dialogue between the main characters' thinking selfishly on the one side of the brain while on the other side remembering the wisdom of God's instruction from the Bible is an awesome revealing of what a difference it makes to be a Christian. As dilemmas present true-to-life drama, God's word comes into their minds to remind them of the right thing to do. They do not always respond favorably to His prompts. Of course, those wrong choices add more conflict and a bit of mystery as to where will this mistake take the character. The struggle to not follow the human emotions of the moment---anger, unforgiveness, lust, self-condemnation, self-pity, etc. and pay attention to the truth of God's word is brilliantly on display.
Kellen and Juliet are characters you want to spend time with. Not only do you enjoy time with them, but you also feel yourself spending time with God in the reading of Devotion. The book shows how God's word circles around a believer who is in trouble and needs God's immediate intervention to rescue and deliver. The power of His living word is highlighted in an engaging way.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Devotion
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Devotion

Date:March 13, 2013
Customer Avatar
joeym11
Location:Indiana
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is the first book I have read by Marianne Evans. I really like the book well written. Devotion to me is giving my all to someone I love. Once trust is broken in a marriage it is very hard to rebuild it. The main characters in the story found this out by looking upon someone and one out of line kissed cost there marriage. Both the wife Juliet and Husband are Christians. Which no one is safe from this, but if your eyes are where they are suppose to be this should not happen. We need to keep our focus on God and our vessels pure. The story was sad to me though.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Devotion
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This is a great book!!!

Date:February 15, 2013
Customer Avatar
Leah
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Marianne Evan’s book, Devotion, is about a couple married almost nine years, very much in love, trying to get pregnant, and spending far too much time apart. This book shows how we need to stay focused on our marriage, no matter how much in love we are.
Devotion is a book that draws you in from the start. Anyone reading this book will be pulled into Kellen and Juliet Rossiter’s lives…to see how if a couple doesn’t stay on track with their marriage, outside forces can blindside them, and things may happen that they really have no intention of doing. Things can happen so quickly that could harm a marriage permanently. The less time you spend with God, the easier it is to ignore the little voice inside that keeps giving you warning to flee temptation. Devotion shows, though, that no matter what may happen, God can overcome situations that the devil would love to have ruin a marriage. Trust can be won back. Romance can be brought back. It will take time, but it can happen.
Kellen is an agent in the music business. He has both Christian and non-Christian artists he has helped become famous. Working in this business keeps him busy. He gets more and more busy, to the point that he stops going to church, stops reading his Bible, and quite simply just doesn’t give God any time.
Juliet is very involved at church and in ministry. “ ‘The Rushton Free Clinic was Juliet’s brainchild, and not only did she pour a substantial amount of funding into the project, but she also backed up monetary assistance with effort—solid sweat and muscle...God has worked through you and your team to turn Rushton from a dream into a reality.’ ” Doing this work, although rewarding, and very giving, takes a lot of time—away from her husband and their life together.
Devotion shows how much we need to seek God in every aspect of our lives, to not give in to little things, because they can add up to big things. We marry for better or for worse, till death do us part. Not just for the better, not just if things are going well. Every couple needs to remember the vows they made on their wedding day. All too often, something happens, and it is “easier” to just give up, give up on the marriage, on each other, on everything. Till death do us part has become almost meaningless in weddings nowadays. Divorce has been made so simple; couples don’t have to fight for their marriage anymore. This is entirely too sad an outcome in our society. Devotion will give any couple struggling with their marriage several reasons why they should fight for their marriage, to not give up so easily.
This is an amazing book that shows the importance of these things in a marriage, including, but not limited to: keeping God at the center of your relationship, time spent in the Word, fellowship with other believers, time spent together, communication with each other.
Devotion helped show me that no matter how strong you think your marriage may be, we can all take measures to safeguard our marriages against circumstances that would undermine it. Please read this book--you won't regret it!!!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Devotion
This review is fromDevotion - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Exceptional Read!

Date:March 29, 2013
Customer Avatar
Cathy
Location:Gardner, MA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is the first book I have read by Marianne Evans and it was an Exceptional Read!
This story centers around a Christian couple that takes us on a journey to healing and restoration the way God wants us to. The author has an exceptional way of drawing you into the lives of the main characters and feeling all the emotions they are dealing with. As I read this story all I could hope and pray is that they would forgive and heal and make it as a married couple. Infidelity is a devastating sin, but I believe couples can heal from it and have a stronger, better and happier God centered marriage.
I received a courtesy copy of this book from TBCN for my honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Devotion
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Emotionally charged!

Date:January 21, 2013
Customer Avatar
Nancee
Location:Grand Rapids, Michigan
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Music agent Kellen Lassiter has been dedicated to his career, and has achieved success and the advantages that accompany it. His wife Juliet is vigorously involved in Christian volunteer work through their church. They represent a perfect couple, full of love and devotion to one another, and committed to Christ-centered lives. Only their dream of a home filled with children hasn't come to fruition. Both Kellen and Juliet have become more involved in their outside commitments which has imposed some constraints in their personal lives. Kellen is intensely involved in the music agency, but less involved in church activities. Juliet fills her days with a concentrated drive to accomplish her goals of reaching out to the needy through her church efforts. In an unsuspecting moment Kellen succombs to temptation by a beautiful and flirtatious new client. Juliet's entire world is rocked by the discovery that Kellen has disgraced their relationship through an incident that drives a painful wedge in their otherwise flawless marriage. Juliet's knowledge of the incident is so painful that she can see no way to overcome and forgive Kellen's deceit. The road to forgiveness and healing becomes encumbered by countless incidents that invade Juliet's broken heart. This story of a beautiful marriage that meets with a painful stumbling block could be an event that any married couple could encounter. It's a lesson in heeding God's warnings and keeping the sanctity of marriage holy.
Marianne Evans creates a distinct realism in her fictional characterizations, so descriptively and agonizingly painful that the reader aches from the events that evolve from a moment of inappropriate passion. Devotion is written with limitless Christian passion and poignancy. Ms. Evans pulls out all the stops when it comes to revealing the pain and heartache that are the result of bad judgment in her characters. The road to forgiveness, acceptance and unrestrained love is written in painfully descriptive moments in time between Kellen and Juliet. Marianne Evans is a very gifted author whose writing flows like streams of water, over the boulders of life, and along fragrant pastures filled with life and growth. I highly recommend this work of art to all who enjoy Christian fiction, and for those who seek improved relationships in their marriage. This is a rare revelation into the workings of acceptance, forgiveness and total devotion.
Disclaimer: A PDF copy of "Devotion" was given to me as a gift from the author in return for my honest and unbiased review. All opinions expressed are my own.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>