Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Barbour Books Rugged and Relentless - eBook

Barbour Books Rugged and Relentless - eBook

When three landowning women put an ad in the paper expressing their desire for healthy, hard-working husbands-for-hire to help them set up and run a sawmill, they never dreamed their tiny town would be overflowing with proposals from bachelors who responded promptly...and in person! Out of this logjam of potential suitors, which one will Evelyn Thompson choose? Jacob Grainger trails his brother's murderer to Hopesfall where, to keep his true intentions secret, Jacob pretends to court Miss Evelyn Thompson. Will this lumberjack-turned-bounty-hunter find himself falling for the enterprising female?
Average Customer Rating:
3.833 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
(18 Reviews) 18
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (18 reviews)
5 stars
8
4 stars
4
3 stars
3
2 stars
1
1 star
2
13 out of 1872%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Rugged and Relentless - eBook
Review 1 for Rugged and Relentless - eBook
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Very disappointing!

Date:January 3, 2014
Customer Avatar
Timothy Doll
Location:Newaygo,MI
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I have read other books by this author and liked them. This book, however, was a disappointment. It was hard to get into, boring, and completely unrealistic. I kept telling my husband, '"this is the dumbest book I have ever read". He told me to just put it down and start another one, but I persevered and finished it. It may be just me since there are so many good reviews. I don't get it though. This book didn't stand up, in my opinion. Please don't waste your money on it. Sorry.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Rugged and Relentless - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Loved the entire series!

Date:July 24, 2013
Customer Avatar
Donna W
Location:Hamilton, OH
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The characters were intriguing, the setting and time period realistic and interesting, the storyline in turns heartbreaking and amusing. Very well done!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Rugged and Relentless - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 1, 2013
Customer Avatar
Jacqueline Lane
Location:Houston, TX
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Loved the story; read book 2 first; had lots of questions; but fell in love with the story once I read, Book 1 and book 3!! Rather clever concept for the story line!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Rugged and Relentless - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

reveals hardships and how to handle them

Date:November 13, 2012
Customer Avatar
Merridy Friederich
Location:Metamora, Il.
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I like to read a series when I have all the books in the series on hand. I can go right from book 1 to book2 and so forth. I enjoy re3ading how people of old handles the hardships they faces when going into new parts of the country that was being settled.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Rugged and Relentless - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great characters and setting, well written

Date:June 29, 2012
Customer Avatar
RaeH
Location:Ga
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Story of three women seeking to hire husbands to helP them run the lumber mill in the once mining town they own. The fourth woman is hurrying to her fiancé's side after he was injured in the mind collapse that shut down the town. Unbeknown to her, he is now crippled. The women seeking husbands place an add in the newspaper, but rather than reply in writing, they all reply in person and thus the adventur begins. Well written and a good plot. The only part I did not like was that the author had the women as the leaders and fircing the men to be subservient. That was fine for the employees,four applying that to the men who were trying to protect and care for the women felt a little too feminist for me. Otherwise an enjoyable book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Rugged and Relentless - eBook
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Story of romance and family strength

Date:March 12, 2012
Customer Avatar
GrandmaCee
Location:Missouri
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This book was not one of my favorite by this author. It was very lengthy getting to the main part of the story. The ending was dull after such a lengthy build up.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Rugged and Relentless - eBook
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Date:February 3, 2012
Customer Avatar
Kayce
Location:Alabama
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I was dissapointed in books one and two in this series.. it tool to long to get "into " the story. I've read ms hake books before but did not care for these two. hope the next one is better.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Rugged and Relentless - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Rugged and Relentless

Date:January 13, 2012
Customer Avatar
Kimberly
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Rugged and Relentless is the first book in Kelly's new series Husbands for Hire. I found all four of Hope Falls' founding women to be strong, yet fun and enjoyable. I liked Jake, too, even if I found myself confounded by the way he thinks. I nearly gave my husband the book and asked him to tell me if men really do think like Jake?!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Rugged and Relentless - eBook
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Good Plot Idea, Lacks Depth

Date:January 9, 2012
Customer Avatar
homeinthemountains
Location:Asheville, NC
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Thought the book was very scattered in who it was following in the plot. The main character was to be Evelyn, but the others held equal place and I feel overtook her story line completely. By the end of the book, Evelyn and Jacob are to be married, but I don't feel that their relationship was all that developed with what exposure they had in the text. Overall, an okay read. I enjoyed the story line, but hope that the second book will bring more to each character individually.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Rugged and Relentless - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Book

Date:May 11, 2011
Customer Avatar
Boopster
Location:Brownsville, OR
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I really enjoyed this book. I had a hard time putting it down. Can't wait for the next one to come.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Rugged and Relentless - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Historical adventure

Date:June 20, 2011
Customer Avatar
ausjenny
Location:South Australia
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is an interesting book. I love the idea of this series with the 4 friends moving to Colorado and advertising for husbands. This book tell the background story how the Ladies end up moving to Colorado and then advertising for husbands. While all 4 ladies are featured the story is more focused on Evelyn. Jacob ends up in the same town as the ladies trailing his brothers murderer. I love getting to know the ladies and the town. The different characters who turn up in the town are interesting. I love Evelyn's character she is strong and in charge watching her and Jacob spa is really entertaining. Its interesting how men back in this era and even today to a degree don't think women can be business women and think they need looking after. I am looking forward to the next book in the series. The series is different from other historical I have read because the women take the initiative in this series to build and save a town.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Rugged and Relentless - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great read.

Date:June 6, 2011
Customer Avatar
Denise Bush
Location:Clarksville, TN
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This was a great read. I enjoyed the characters and could relate to each of them. Can't wait for the second book in the series.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Rugged and Relentless - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

this was a ebook and I thoroughly enjoyed it

Date:April 8, 2011
Customer Avatar
goober
Location:Pikeville NC
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
enjoyed the ebook after I learned how to download it to my reader. Very strong characters.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Rugged and Relentless - eBook
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

This book was slow getting into.

Date:April 29, 2011
Customer Avatar
Patricia Lacko
Location:washington, NJ
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
This book was slow getting into it and different from her other fast paced books.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Rugged and Relentless - eBook
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

This book is boring and silly...a bad "read"!!!!

Date:March 1, 2011
Customer Avatar
Ruth Gentry
Location:Winston-Salem, NC
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Rugged and Relentless Husbands for Hire is a huge disappointment!! The story is silly and boring!! There is not sufficient plot to fill 300 pages! I will never purchase another book by Kelly Hake. Her master's degree in Enlish certainly hasn't help her as an author. I am wondering where are her editors????? Ruth Gentry
0points
6of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Rugged and Relentless - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent..hard to put down

Date:February 19, 2011
Customer Avatar
MaureenT
Location:Syracuse NY
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book was delightful. I loved the banter that went on between the woman and the men. Also the dialogue between the four woman kept me giggling. This is a twist on the mail order brides, with the woman advertising for men. When the men see the advertisement they are expecting ugly woman, but these girls are far from that. Can you imagine going where there 5 men for each woman? The book has murder, romance, and the Wild West thrown in. Can't wait for the next books in this series and finish the romance of the other 3 woman!
I received a copy of this book from the publisher and was not compensated or expected to give a positive review. The opinions are my own.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Rugged and Relentless - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Love it!

Date:January 18, 2011
Customer Avatar
Kiki
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I received an advanced reader’s copy of Rugged and Relentless, Kelly Eileen Hake’s new book from Barbour Publishing. I was not required to write a review, positive or otherwise; however, I would highly recommend this book if you’re looking for a fun read with engaging characters set in the wild, wild west.
Four young women, determined to handle the curveballs life has thrown them, set forth to revive Hope Falls, Colorado, a ghost town demolished by a mining accident that destroyed their investments. To save the town, they decide to establish a sawmill and for their protection and success in their venture, they conclude that they need husbands. However, their advertisement blitz for God-fearing men that have knowledge of logging brings them much more than they expected.
Hake excels in creating vivid characters. I loved them and found myself laughing out loud at the antics and exchanges between the four women. The story centers most on Evie, the enterprising cook who left a successful cafe in Charleston to accompany her sister out west. She quickly establishes a new venture in the mining town, and I found my mouth watering more than once at the description of her culinary creations.
Jake Granger, fighting for his family’s honor in tracking down his brother’s killer, is the other central figure. Believing the shiftless gambler Twyler has seen the advertisement and set his cap for a rich wife, Jake takes on an assumed name and finds himself enmeshed in the drama unfolding in Hope Falls. Attraction and exasperation battle his sense of honor as he strives to protect the four women while pursuing his elusive enemy.
Fresh writing and funny exchanges kept me entertained. This book was a light-hearted escape from reality and definitely worth the read!
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Rugged and Relentless - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

For fans of unconventional historical romances

Date:January 14, 2011
Customer Avatar
Rachel Ropper
Location:Scotland, UK
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
When four young women head off to the ghost-town of Hopesfall, Colorado to turn it into a bustling, prosperous saw-mill, they end up with far more than they bargained for. While Cora plans to wed her fiancee, she knows it's not safe for her friends to be alone in a town full of men. Thus Evie, Lacey and Naomi come to the conclusion that they need to find husbands - fast. But these unconventional women don't want to wait for the right man to come along and make a proposal; they plan to make sure that they get just what they want by hiring husbands! But when their unusual advertisement brings dozens of men to Hopesfall, rather than the letters they had expected, the women realise that they have a lot more on their hands than they'd anticipated. Especially with the mysterious Jake Creed who seems far too protective over the women, especially Evie. Little do they know that Jake ended up in Hopesfall purely by chance, and is actually searching for his brother's murderer. He certainly didn't expect to find himself protecting three headstrong yet vulnerable women who insist that they want to pick spouses out of the rabble of men that they've put to work rebuilding their town. Suddenly he finds himself in a race to find his brother's killer before the man in question marries one of the women that he's sworn to protect. And he definitely doesn't want Evie to get into this man's clutches...although Jake can't quite figure out why he feels so strongly about the stubborn woman he always ends up arguing with!
The protagonists of this novel alone make it wonderful. While I adored the setting and the descriptions of the food, Evie and Jake were what made me thoroughly enjoy this novel. Like most women, Evie is insecure, but she also knows how to hold her own and assess situations. Unlike her best friend, Lacey, she doesn't rush into anything - except an opportunity to argue with Jake. She was a really endearing character and I appreciated the fact that she was self-conscious about her curves. As someone who cannot buy trousers anywhere at the moment because years of genetics have given me a more curvaceous derrière than most current fashion-designers admire, I understood Evie's dilemma! So naturally, I became Jake's number one fan when he told Evie to eat more as she was losing weight. Curvy heroines and the men that love them immediately get my vote in any novel. Jake is also a winner because of his caring attitude. While he initially sets out to find his brother's killer and discover what truly happened to his sibling, his plans change when he realises that the women of Hopesfall need protection. He sets aside his own desires in order to help them set up the town, and underneath his stubborn demeanor he's truly a caring gentleman.
The other women intrigued me as well. Despite her frilly clothes and privileged upbringing, Lacey clearly wants to look after her friends and her heart is always in the right place, even if she finds herself useless in the kitchen. Cora appears to be emotional and vulnerable to begin with, but her fight to convince her fiancee that she still wants him despite his injuries really brings out her true character. And Naomi is still a little mysterious to me. She was very quiet throughout the entire novel, yet seemed to be the more reasonable and sensible one of the group. I look forward to reading more about each of them in the upcoming books in the series. There were several interesting characters in the men who arrived in Hopesfall, yet I can't guess which ones Lacey and Naomi will choose as husbands!
One of my only complaints would have to be that the sections from the point of view of the murderer than Jake was hunting didn't really flow with the rest of the story. They felt a bit awkward and it seemed as if the author was trying too hard to be mysterious. The initial scenes with Braden, Cora's fiancee, also had a few odd moments, but this disappeared after a while. Other than that, there weren't any major letdowns but I would have liked a bit more time with Evie and Jake at the end! It was all over far too soon for me. I guess I'll have to wait for the next book to see how their story pans out.
If you're looking for an unconventional historical romance with moments of suspense and comedy, then this spin on the mail-order bride plot is definitely for you. If the protagonists don't win you over, the descriptions of Evie's delicious food definitely will! Look out for the first in the Husbands for Hire series in March 2011.
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.