Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Thomas Nelson <TitleText>The Inheritance of Beauty</TitleText> - eBook

Thomas Nelson <TitleText>The Inheritance of Beauty</TitleText> - eBook

George Jacobs and his childhood sweetheart were just kids living in small-town Levy, SC, when the train brought the evil to town. Now eighty years later, George and Maggie are married, living out their remaining days in Harmony House where time moves slowly--Maggie can no longer communicate her love and George can hardly remember their past. But when a large package arrives and an old stranger moves into Harmony House, their past won't remain at bay any longer. Like it or not, George must now remember things from long ago in order to set himself--and his sweet wife--free. But George isn't sure how many lives were affected by the stranger in Levy . . . or why life must come full-circle now when he's running out of time.
Average Customer Rating:
4.182 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(11 Reviews) 11
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (11 reviews)
5 stars
4
4 stars
5
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
0
9 out of 1182%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for <TitleText>The Inheritance of Beauty</TitleText> - eBook
Review 1 for <TitleText>The Inheritance of Beauty</TitleText> - eBook
This review is fromThe Inheritance of Beauty.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Stuff and Substance?

Date:December 1, 2012
Customer Avatar
Mixed Nutts
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I had high hopes when I started reading The Inheritance of Beauty by Nicole Seitz, published by Thomas Nelson. The story promised to be a bit of mystery, a bit of love, and a bit of bittersweet as the aged characters, George and Maggie, relived their past in memories. With the book published by Thomas Nelson, a Christian publishing powerhouse, I also expected a story that pointed to redemption through Christ.
George and Maggie reside in a nursing home. Maggie is surrendering to Alzheimer's Disease and George, her adoring husband, can only stand idly by her side, supporting her where he can. One day, a new resident moves into the nursing home, upsetting the balance with his unusual ways. Soon after, a package arrives that causes further distress for George and Maggie.
The memories begin flowing. A mystery is revealed and solved. Heartaches are exposed and healed. Old friends are found and lost.
Overall, I liked the story. Written in a very casual, conversational manner, the story flowed fairly smoothly and the characters were interesting and fully fleshed out.
Unfortunately, though, the promise of a redemption through Christ never materialized. The book is full of feel-good spirituality without the substance of a life changing encounter with and a decision for Christ by any of the characters. The reader is left with a vague, "Well, they'll all go to heaven, right?" feeling, but the stuff and substance of a relationship with Christ is never presented.
Three stars.
Full disclosure: I received The Inheritance of Beauty free from Thomas Nelson Publishers in return for a review. My thoughts are my own.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for <TitleText>The Inheritance of Beauty</TitleText> - eBook
This review is fromThe Inheritance of Beauty.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:August 2, 2011
Customer Avatar
Ann Holifield
Location:Lexington, TN
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I had trouble with reading the book being 60 years old and knowing that I am starting into that time of life where things start to happen. Cannot say this was a book that encouraged me, but yet was a book well written. Read for a book club. Probably would not have read if not in the book club.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for <TitleText>The Inheritance of Beauty</TitleText> - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A good read

Date:May 7, 2011
Customer Avatar
stace
Location:Arkansas
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I recently read The Inheritance of Beauty by Nicole Seitz. It is a story that spans the years of a husband and wife and their acquaintances. The story is set in South Carolina and centers on Maggie and George, both in their latter years spent in a retirement home, and through a traumatic shared childhood experience.
Overall, I thought this book to be very well written. The author kept me engaged through sentence structure and a unique usage of flashbacks. Being a Southern girl, I enjoy a good Southern story. Although this was a "Christian book", it didn't have an overt Christian theme. I didn't feel strengthened in my spiritual walk by the end of the book. In fact, I felt like it leaned toward "spiritualism" at the conclusion. I all fairness, I don't think this fact would keep me from recommending this book to others. It was a suspenseful and engaging story that I feel was worth my time.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze®.com <http://BookSneeze®.com> book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 <http://www.access.gpo.gov/nara/cfr/waisidx_03/16cfr255_03.html> : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for <TitleText>The Inheritance of Beauty</TitleText> - eBook
This review is fromThe Inheritance of Beauty.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Exceeded My Expectations

Date:April 6, 2011
Customer Avatar
Christy Janes
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I feel like any words I say about this book will be so inadequate. It's just that books like this rarely cross my path, maybe because I don't go out of my way to read them. What kind of book is that? Part sadness, part pain, while also moving slowly, but deliberately. Then, when I get my hands on a book like this, it always ends up that I love it or hate it. Hardly does it fall somewhere in between.
The Inheritance of Beauty was a book that definitely fell on the "loved it" side of the equation. And even after I've put it down, I still can't put my finger on what captivated me so much about these characters. They're nothing spectacular. Nobody did anything that changed the world. They were just ordinary folk that were not far away from death's door. In my opinion, George was the main character of the story. He was like an open book; I always knew what was going through his mind. At times, he was complacent, other times a bit hateful, but at all times, he loved his sweet wife, Maggie, in a way that caused tears to come to my eyes. At one moment, he said, "I have loved Maggie since before I knew what love was. She is love to me. Without her, there is nothing for me here." Oh, to have a love that pure, that selfless from one person to another. That, indeed, is a most beautiful thing.
As I read more and more novels, I have come to a conclusion about something. Authors should always write about what they know. When I discover that a particular book is loosely based on real life events, I can't seem to put it down. Just knowing that this book was partially based on a photo of the author's grandmother, and how that photo had been a part of the history of her family, made this story so much more real. I felt like I was peaking into a diary, only to discover that their family wasn't much different than my own. We all have skeletons in our closets; it's just a matter of how much or how little we let them shape the rest of our lives.
I am so thankful that I had the opportunity to review this book as I doubt it would have ever crossed my path otherwise. This book had a little bit of a literary flair, which I'm not normally too crazy about, but it worked so well here. I can do nothing but give this book 5 stars, as well as a huge recommendation for people who love deep, and meaningful stories. I know that The Inheritance of Beauty will stay in my mind and heart for days to come, as I'm sure it will for many others.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for <TitleText>The Inheritance of Beauty</TitleText> - eBook
This review is fromThe Inheritance of Beauty.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Southern fiction at its best

Date:March 18, 2011
Customer Avatar
aearndt
Location:South Carolina
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I loved The Inheritance of Beauty, just as I loved The Spirit of Sweetgrass and Trouble the Water. Nicole has a gift for putting you right in the middle of the settings of her novel. I can easily imagine myself swimming in the pond or sitting in the nursing home beside George and Magnolia. I love books set in the South so much so they couldn’t have been written anywhere else.
Seitz’ villains are exquisitely evil and her protagonists are very complex, no cookie cutter characters in Seitz’ books. Although her writing style may take you from childhood to senility within a chapter, it’s not hard to follow because her characterizations deepen as you progress in the book. She reveals more and more layers and reasons for their actions in her chapters.
I would recommend The Inheritance of Beauty for anyone who loves Southern novels, women’s fiction or literary fiction. I think you’ll be very pleased you took the time to read it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for <TitleText>The Inheritance of Beauty</TitleText> - eBook
This review is fromThe Inheritance of Beauty.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Well written book

Date:February 23, 2011
Customer Avatar
gina
Location:Winnipeg MB
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
  I just read " The Inheritance of beauty" by Nicole Seitz, given to me by Booksneeze to review. The book is fictional story about several characters having flashbacks about their past experiences. The characters are in a nursing home and are looking back in time to find answers to some secrets that they have to deal with. There are several exciting plots to their stories. The characters are very interesting.They have interesting lives and past stories. The story was well written, but I found that it was very confusing for me to follow their past accounts and who was actually talking. Some people find these stories easier to read than I do. It could be a interesting story for those that like stories about peoples past lives. I do think that the problem that I had was because of my dislike for the stories content. I found it hard to finish the book. I would recommend this story to others who may find these type of stories about flashbacks, more to their liking. I did not find that it had any spiritual content or any spiritual guidance or strength. You may want to read this book. It is hard for me to review a book that is not usually the kind that I find interesting. I did not find any fault with the way the book was written. I give it three stars.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for <TitleText>The Inheritance of Beauty</TitleText> - eBook
This review is fromThe Inheritance of Beauty.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great intrigue and story line

Date:February 6, 2011
Customer Avatar
Jenn
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I personally would not place the label of Christian Fiction on this book since I didn’t feel it stated strong beliefs in God or Christian faith, but I still enjoyed it. I especially liked Nicole Seitz’s style of writing. She takes her main characters and uses them to help the reader see their present and past circumstances through their daily life and memories from the past. With the memories and inner thoughts of her characters, she weaves the story line. Usually I find myself guessing the climax of the story, but with The Inheritance of Beauty, I was surprised by the outcome. That in itself was a nice change!
If your looking for a book that speaks of love that remains strong even when the beauty of youth has long gone, with intriguing mystery thrown in, then I think this book would be one that you would enjoy.
*Thomas Nelson Publishing provided me with a complimentary copy of this book. I was not compensated in any way for this review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for <TitleText>The Inheritance of Beauty</TitleText> - eBook
This review is fromThe Inheritance of Beauty.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A treasure for all that will become a classic!!

Date:February 5, 2011
Customer Avatar
Robin Prater
Location:Missouri
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
As I picked up,The Inheritance of Beauty, I was taken back to a different time and place. Beginning in the year of 1929. This book is like being a wide eyed child once again ready to have a fairy tale read to me. The Inheritance of beauty is enchanting, sweet, and filled with hope. This is a book for all ages. One to cherish as you soak in the words of each page. I have had the blessing of reading many books. This is one I will treasure forever.
We meet Maggie and George who now live in a nursing home called Harmony House. Maggie is suffering from the loss of her memory. She is no longer able to communicate by speech, but she does so in her own way. As others might see her as gone and a shell of a woman, she is yet alive and sees through different eyes now. Eyes that have been through much joy and sadness. How one summer could change the lives of so many. George has loved his wife since they were children. He always knew they would marry. He just didn't think it would all end like this. George is diagnosed with cancer and only has weeks to live, but as he finds out his health is failing another man comes to Harmony House. Joe. Joe is like Maggie. So much is gone, but yet, so much life is there wanting to get out.
A package arrives for George and it is a beautiful portrait of his wife, Maggie. This is where the story changes pace. George is determined to find out who sent this package. He too is receiving letters from, Maggie's nephew. They are letters that Maggie's brother, Ash, wrote. In this series of letters we learn of their childhood. The memories come floating back to George. He now sees things he didn't see before. Like old, Joe, painting, leaving an open space. Something is missing from their lives. A piece of the puzzle that has been forgotten over time. Or has it just been pushed back so they could live?
We travel back through each of their lives. Each remembering, but it will take all of them together to gather all the pieces of the puzzle. As they are in living in Harmony House, Miss Annie, is caring for them. Miss Annie is part of the puzzle too. Along with an old cat that tags himself to those who are ready to pass on.
This is a book of sheer beauty. This is a tale about life, love, and friendship. It is about what has passed and what must be remembered to move on. As George thinks his fate is all set before him, God has much more in store for him and those around him.
Beauty is often taken as skin deep, but beauty lies in the hearts of those willing to give. Willing to live and those who open their lives up to others. Many things are inherited, but all is a choice.
This book was given to me as a gift from Thomas Nelson for it's review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for <TitleText>The Inheritance of Beauty</TitleText> - eBook
This review is fromThe Inheritance of Beauty.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

The Inheritance of Beauty by Nicole Seitz

Date:February 3, 2011
Customer Avatar
Debbie
Location:Yukon, OK
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Booksneeze has provided me with a complimentary copy of The Inheritance of Beauty by Nicole Seitz.
George Jacobs and his childhood sweetheart were just kids living in small-town Levy, SC, when the train brought the evil to town. Now eighty years later, George and Maggie are married, living out their remaining days in Harmony House where time moves slowly--Maggie can no longer communicate her love and George can hardly remember their past. But when a large package arrives and an old stranger moves into Harmony House, their past won't remain at bay any longer. Like it or not, George must now remember things from long ago in order to set himself--and his sweet wife--free. But George isn't sure how many lives were affected by the stranger in Levy . . . or why life must come full-circle now when he's running out of time.
This book was a very good book. I thought that Nicole Seitz did a very good job on this book. I would recommend it to everyone.
The story starts in a retirement home where George and Magnolia live now since they are both in their 80’s. But something in their childhood happens that has been forgotten until a package arrives and another person arrives from their past. Then it opens up new remembrances that George must face, good and bad.
I think that everyone young, old, in between ages would thoroughly love this book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for <TitleText>The Inheritance of Beauty</TitleText> - eBook
This review is fromThe Inheritance of Beauty.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

This book has great depth!

Date:January 31, 2011
Customer Avatar
Stacie
Location:White Oak, TX
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The Inheritance of Beauty by Nicole Seitz
The book The Inheritance of Beauty by Nicole Seitz is an awesome book about the1920's and how things in eighty years change but all seem to be connected. The book starts out with the characters, Annie - the caregiver, George, Maggie, and friends all being in a nursing home called Harmony House. The writing style is a little difficult to follow at first until you become accustom to the style. It adds depth to the story and makes the characters come alive.
George and Maggie are childhood sweethearts who marry and now live in Harmony House. George is still very well minded but his sweet, beautiful wife, Maggie is locked inside herself not being able to speak. George does not know whether his wife is still in there or if she has lost her mind. Maggie's beloved brother, Ash grew up with them, enjoying their childhood together until a stranger arrives by train one summer bringing evil into their small town.
The story begins with a beautiful beyond life size portrait of Maggie delivered to the nursing home. At the very same time a new patient arrives by the name of Joe. George is struggling with the realization that he knows Joe and trying to figure out who the portrait is from. Just as he is about to go worry himself to death, another delivery arrives, a box of letters from his dear friend and Maggie's beloved brother, Ash. As George starts to read these letters the past starts to unfold and the memories start flooding back. Joe is the boy from his childhood and this makes George have to face a past that he thought were long buried. All along during this time, sweet Maggie is remembering everything as well. She knows who Joe is but can not communicate to anyone. And she wants her husband to read the letters to her but not being able to communicate she has to wait til he is ready. Joe has changed as well. Not having the sound mind that once kept him employed by a secret decoding agency for the government, he is a key character in the story as it unfolds. Annie, the caregiver, is their daily saint. I wish we all had an Annie in our lives. She is connected in more ways than just the caregiver and friend who helps them all face their past. As the story unfolds George is faced with struggles of wanting to once and for all tell Maggie what happened and confess something that he has hidden for eighty years.
Truly this is a very challenging, keep you on your toes book that lingers with you for days after putting it down. I enjoyed every minute of it! The mystery of figuring out what happened and when was inspiring.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for <TitleText>The Inheritance of Beauty</TitleText> - eBook
This review is fromThe Inheritance of Beauty.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

I enjoyed this book!

Date:January 29, 2011
Customer Avatar
Betsy
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I just completed this book. The title of this book is The Inheritance of Beauty and it is written by Nicole Seitz. The setting of this book is primarily a nursing home in the southern United States. The story pulsates back and forth between the present and the main character's past. George and Maggie Jacobs are an elderly couple, blessed to still be together, but caught in the throughs of failing health and lost independence. And yet, their lives are are kept aglow by not only memories of a childhood shared, but also an abiding love for each other. Maggie, though bound by her lack of speech and her limited ability to express herself, sees and feels all that is around her. George is free to speak and express himself. Yet, they both bear the burden of trusting each other both through the physical changes they are experiencing and towardnthe resolution of unanswered questions from their past.
Not only did Seitz draw from her own memories in the development of this story, but also, as an artist, created to cover art. I love these things about any book and the author did not disappoint! Her characters are thoughfully created and yet transparent. The story line is tight and well composed. You are quickly drawn into the story and find it hard to stop reading until all is resolved in the end.
I received a complementary copy of this book for reveiw.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.