Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Fireside Books A Diary of Private Prayer

Fireside Books A Diary of Private Prayer

In this wonderful collection, noted theologian Dr. John Baillie offers personal prayers for people who are seeking a better understanding of God and themselves. Intermingling adoring and meditative thoughts about God with a concern for the social and individual good, these daily invocations help and inspire us to search our inner selves and find the deep religious beliefs that lie within.
Average Customer Rating:
5 out of 5
5
 out of 
5
(10 Reviews) 10
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (10 reviews)
5 stars
10
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
2 out of 2100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for A Diary of Private Prayer
Review 1 for A Diary of Private Prayer
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A great devotional resource!

Date:March 28, 2011
Customer Avatar
Beanie
Location:Edmonton, AB, Canada
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Dr. John Bailey was a theologian and professor. His private morning and evening devotions use King James language, but are very rich and my wife and I use them daily, usually along with other devotional materials. We first came across them on-line, revised by his son and further revised by someone else, but these in book form we treasure!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for A Diary of Private Prayer
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 12, 2011
Customer Avatar
rhonda
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have had a copy of this book for some time and have found the prayers bring me closer to God and often speak the words of my heart. Bought several copies to share with friends.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for A Diary of Private Prayer
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 18, 2010
Customer Avatar
Lee Dziuk
I read a prayer every morning and evening. Each one reminds me of something special. They are reminders of God's love for all of us.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for A Diary of Private Prayer
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 1, 2010
Customer Avatar
Mary Woodworth
I start my day with "A Diary of Private Prayer."The author seems to see inside of me knowing my needs and desires. He helps me see the love of God.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for A Diary of Private Prayer
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 13, 2010
Customer Avatar
Martha Roper
This is the best devotional I've read in years. His prayers are so varied and hit right to my soul. They are the prayers I would pray if I could think of them. This book has blessed me greatly! I read them over and over again!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for A Diary of Private Prayer
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 2, 2010
Customer Avatar
Alan Westcott
I cannot recommend this highly enough. There are prayers in here that will go straight to your heart and enliven your soul. Dr. Baillie, bless you for your witness.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for A Diary of Private Prayer
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 21, 2009
Customer Avatar
Karen London
This book is a true delight. It has morning and evening prayers. The prayers themseleves are so unique and so beautiful. I would recommend this book to everyone wanting to come closer to the Lord.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for A Diary of Private Prayer
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 6, 2008
Customer Avatar
Rebecca B.
This is a book of beautifully written and from-the-heart prayers. I use it as a devotional and it has inspired my prayer life. This is one to read and use over and over again.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for A Diary of Private Prayer
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 22, 2008
Customer Avatar
Tracy
Great book...stretches your prayer life and helps you get past, "please help grandma's knee get better." Very God-focused.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for A Diary of Private Prayer
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 3, 2008
Customer Avatar
Jacky Duncan
If taken to heart this book can enhance your prayer life. John presents a broad range of things to pray about that probably never cross the minds of most people. The book is not intended to be memorized, repented or otherwise take the place of genuine personal prayer. Instead it is to be used to inspire your own prayers. "Lord, teach us to pray."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.