Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Thomas Nelson Same Life, New Story: Change Your Perspective to Change Your Life - eBook

Thomas Nelson Same Life, New Story: Change Your Perspective to Change Your Life - eBook

Are you stuck in a rut? Silvious helps you move from what is to what can be! Introducing you to Naomi, Leah, Deborah, Elizabeth, and others, her 10-week study will help you embrace a new perspective, be free from the past, and change "I can't" to "I can." Includes study questions and journaling exercises. Paperback.
Average Customer Rating:
4.571 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(21 Reviews) 21
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (21 reviews)
5 stars
12
4 stars
9
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
21 out of 21100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Same Life, New Story: Change Your Perspective to Change Your Life - eBook
Review 1 for Same Life, New Story: Change Your Perspective to Change Your Life - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent Bible study tool.

Date:October 21, 2011
Customer Avatar
arkiewhale
Location:Little Rock, AR
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book teaches about the blessings which come from making right, but hard, choices. I appreciate the author's contemporary examples while including full scripture.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Same Life, New Story: Change Your Perspective to Change Your Life - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This would be great for Women's Bible Study group

Date:July 2, 2011
Customer Avatar
SuzB
Location:New Zealand
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Same Life, New story is a 10 week Bible Study. Each chapter looks at the life of a woman in the Bible. See your story through the eyes of: Naomi, Leah, Rachel, Rahab, and Deborah. See, as Hannah, Abigail, and Elizabeth did, the irreplaceable role that God longs to play in your life.
I loved this book! As I read it I kept notes and answered some of the study questions. It is excellent for a women's bible study or for personal study.
At the time of reading this book I was going through a 12 steps program to make many changes in my life and break habits and this book was an added bonus. God gave me a vision and it really encouraged me to make some changes.
If you are wanting to change your life, not just by yourself but with God, then read this book!
It will change your life!
I plan to use this book in the future for women's ministry.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Same Life, New Story: Change Your Perspective to Change Your Life - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A Fresh Reminder for a New Start

Date:June 11, 2011
Customer Avatar
serenecsl
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Have you ever been tired of living the same old life? Have you ever been through difficult circumstances and feel that there is nothing you could do about it? Have you ever find yourself wishing for the might-have-beens instead of looking forward to what can be?
Jan Silvious’ Same Life, New Story tackles these very issues and challenges women to break out from the old, from the norm. Instead of allowing our lives to be overtaken by the emotions that so often arise from our circumstances, she reminds us that things could be different by the way we allow our story to be scripted; proven by the women in the Bible known for their persistence, resilience and faith.
Drawing upon stories of the women of the Bible (ranging from the more well known ones such as Elizabeth and Naomi to the lesser known Jehosheba and Naaman’s servant girl), there is a particular lesson to learn from every individual character. It’s also interesting the way she uses the stories of real people that are inspiring and a good reminder that we are never alone.
The whole book is a reminder that our circumstances should not determine our past, present and future. Whatever it is, there is always a chance for a new story to be written. What I like about most is that she occasionally writes that God is the Author and we are His subjects; bringing the focus off ourselves and on Him who is worthy of our all.
Although I would not consider this as a life-changing or an extremely thought-provoking book, I would still recommend it to anyone. We all need to be reminded of the things we 'already know' but are not doing. We may all have the ‘same life’, but a fresh start is always there for anyone who needs one and is ready to call on Him for it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Same Life, New Story: Change Your Perspective to Change Your Life - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great Help with Female Perspective

Date:June 7, 2011
Customer Avatar
Laura H
Location:Georgia
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Same Life, New Story by Jan Silvious started off slow for me for I feared it was going to repeat Bible stories that I already knew. It quickly caught my attention, though, as the author wove her personal story into the stories of Naomi, Leah, and others. Using a theatrical theme and stories from women in the Bible, the author shows us, in ten lessons, the importance of perspective. I really enjoyed it and have recommended it to others who have enjoyed it as well.
Thomas Nelson Publishers provided a complimentary copy of this book for my review. The opinions are my own and I have not been required to publish a positive review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Same Life, New Story: Change Your Perspective to Change Your Life - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Outstanding book and practical

Date:April 20, 2011
Customer Avatar
Debbie
Location:Akron, Ohio
Age:35-44
Gender:female
This book is excellent for anyone going through life transition or changes and for those who may face them {which is everyone}. I love the way she very practically applies psychological intertwined with Biblical principals. Great stuff!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Same Life, New Story: Change Your Perspective to Change Your Life - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Women of the Bible, women of today

Date:March 22, 2011
Customer Avatar
Reese
Location:Prattville, Alabama
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
In her new book Same Life, New Story author Jan Silvious takes the lives of ten women of the Bible and shares how their life stories changed their lives. These ten women allowed God to use negative circumstances to change their lives for good. Take for instance the judge Deborah of the Old Testament. In Jewish culture women were to follow and not lead. Deborah was a leader who respected and followed God, allowing Him to use her to advise and also save her people from oppression. My personal favorite was the story of Hannah, whose battle with infertility and humiliation from her husbands' other wife caused her to fall on her face before God and beg Him for a son, promising to return the son to God's service. From her we have Samuel, one of Israel's greatest judges and priests.
What can happen when Christian women turn over their troubles and life circumstances to God? Anything! This book is set up as a ten-week group Bible study for women. However, it can be used for your own personal devotions. Each chapter begins with a woman from the Bible, leads into modern day characters and situations, and finishes with the good that came from the life of the Bible character. Following each chapter is a Personal Reflection section with a Journal Entry, along with a page of Group Discussion Questions.
This is a thought provoking study for any Christian woman.
In order to comply with new Federal Trade Commission regulations, please note that this book was provided compliments of Booksneeze.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Same Life, New Story: Change Your Perspective to Change Your Life - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Finding encouragement through women of the Bible

Date:March 21, 2011
Customer Avatar
chinchok
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
When God created women, He placed a special need in us. We draw strength in numbers, knowing that we are not alone in whatever we face. In this 10-week Bible study for women, Silvious introduces us to ten amazing women whose stories lie in the pages of the Bible. Naomi, Leah, Rahab, Deborah, Hannah, Anna, Jehosheba, Abigail, Naaman’s servant girl, and Elizabeth all serve as models for the modern Christian woman as they gave their lives over to God and saw a positive change as the result. Each woman faced a dilemma – to wallow in self-pity and continue writing a story that would go nowhere or to look for the hand of God in their lives, step out on faith, and move forward into a new story full of His blessings.
Interwoven with these Biblical examples are stories of women that Silvious has met in her years of ministry. Some of them followed the pattern laid out in God’s Word, and others failed to see the truth in their lives. However, in all the stories, we can see that perspective really is everything and that being God-focused, rather than self-focused, can and does make all the difference.
I chose to read this as part of my own personal Bible study, but it is well-constructed to be used for a small group study. Each chapter ends with a topic for journaling and questions for both personal reflection and for group discussion. Some of the questions simply review the content in the chapter, and others are very open-ended, allowing readers to be sensitive to the Spirit’s prompting. My one negative about the book would be that I would have liked there to be more Scripture included throughout as much of the biblical references were just relating the facts of the women’s lives. As a long-time student of the Bible, I could supplement that myself as God recalled many of His promises while I was reading, and those who might use this book as they lead a Bible study could do the same.
No matter where you are in writing your story – whether the story is the one God seeks for you or you need to be writing a different story – this book is full of good insight that will encourage you on your path.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze®.com book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Same Life, New Story: Change Your Perspective to Change Your Life - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Fantastic study of women of the Bible

Date:March 16, 2011
Customer Avatar
Lisa
Location:Franklin, TN.
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Bible is full of stories revolving around male characters~ Adam, Moses, Noah, Samson, Paul, Timothy, David and many more. Yet, how often do you hear about the impact and influence of women of the Bible? Though perhaps fewer in number, women were held in great esteem by God in Biblical times and are major players in God’s story today. Jan Silvious, a seasoned Bible study leader, shares the stories of Naomi, Leah, Rahab, Deborah, Hannah, Anna, Jehosheba, Abigail, Naaman’s servant girl, and Elizabeth, showing how everyday ordinary women, like us, can have major impact on the world in which we live.
With much wisdom entwined with some humor, Jan compares and contrasts issues women of the Bible faced and those women of today deal with. Because God gifted women with the unique ability to make choices, each can change her perspective on life and actually change the course life takes. By relating to these heroines of the Word, we can identify with and learn to change our approach to issues like bitterness, humiliation, depression, infertility, cultural stigmas, fear, and women trying to make it in a man’s world.
God changed the lives of each of the women whose stories are told in this book. Whether by force or choice, each of the women went from ordinary to extraordinary in testimony. In a very practical way, Jan shows the reader how simplistic it can be to alter the course of one’s life by being open to revelation from the Lord. This 10-week Bible study is designed with chapter personal reflection topics and group discussion questions. Jan Silvious weaves tapestries of life stories from Biblical characters, from her own experience, and from modern women. If you are desirous of writing a new story in your life, or if you perhaps just need a little editing to your current story, you will want to read this book!
Jan quotes Louisa Fletcher: “I wish there were some wonderful place Called the Land of Beginning Again, Where all our mistakes and All our heartaches And all our selfish grief Could be dropped like a shabby old coat at the door, And never be put on again”.
As the storyteller of your own life, you can begin again; you can drop the old and put on the new. Let Jan Silvious hold your hand through this book as you begin to write your new life! You will be glad you did, I promise you!
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from
Thomas Nelson Publishers as part of their BookSneeze.com book review
bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review.
The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in
accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 :
“Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Same Life, New Story: Change Your Perspective to Change Your Life - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Very enjoyable

Date:March 1, 2011
Customer Avatar
Lisareadstoomuch
Location:Michigan
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is a ten week Bible study that sees our lives as stories we are continually writing with God. If we don’t like our life as it is, we can choose to write a new story. Jan Silvious uses ten women from the Bible to illustrate the difficulties that can be encountered and overcome. These include letting go of issues from the past, changing an “I can’t” to “I can”, getting rid of drama, working through fear, and choosing resilience in the face of adversity. Jan skillfully interweaves stories of Naomi, Leah, Rahab, Hannah, and others with stories from modern day women. Each chapter ends with questions for personal reflection as well as group discussion questions, so the book can be used for personal study alone or with a group.
I have read a lot of self-help books. Sometimes I only get halfway through, and stop reading because the information is the same old, same old and I lose interest. With Same Life, New Story, I did not have that problem. I found it to be an inspiring and challenging way to look at life. I found the stories within to be interesting and I would highly recommend this book to others.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze®.com <http://BookSneeze®.com> book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Same Life, New Story: Change Your Perspective to Change Your Life - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Same Life, New Story

Date:March 1, 2011
Customer Avatar
Cherokee56
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I just finished reading SAME LIFE, NEW STORY CHANGE YOUR PERSPECTIVE TO CHANGE YOUR LIFE by Jan Silvious. This is an absolute must read for women.
The book is set up as a ten-week Bible Study with personal reflections, journaling, and group discussion questions included. This would be an excellent Bible Study for Women's groups. I read it alone though and loved every minute of it.
In this book you look at ten women of the Bible and how their stories are our stories. There is Naomi, Leah, Rahab, Deborah, Hannah, Anna, Jehosheba, Abigail, Naaman's servant girl, and Elizabeth.
Jan Silvious uses humor and insight to help us, in very practical ways, see ourselves in these women of the Bible and how changing our perspective on our circumstances and change our lives into a new story.
I especially enjoyed her chapter on Deborah. Having a New Birth of Attitude to say "I Can" as opposed to "I Can't". To get past learned helplessness to the "I Can" attitude that God has for us through Him.
Read this book: It will change your Life.
I received this book for free from Thomas Nelson Publishers as a part of their BookSneeze.com book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, part 255: "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Same Life, New Story: Change Your Perspective to Change Your Life - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Will impact your life!

Date:February 28, 2011
Customer Avatar
NicInNash
Location:Nashville, TN
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Have you ever used the "what if" scenario? Ever wondered how God can make good come from a situation? Feel you need more power to bounce back from a painful experience? Do you want to make a positive difference with your life? If you said yes to one or all of these questions, this book will be a blessing to you.
"Same Life, New Story", by author Jan Silvious, has taught me much about ten special women in the Bible and how their life experiences can relate to my own life today. I love how Jan has equipped me with tools to see the choices I make in a new and refreshing light. Be reminded that God is always in control and YOU CAN have a fresh start.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze®.com book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Same Life, New Story: Change Your Perspective to Change Your Life - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Very encouraging

Date:February 28, 2011
Customer Avatar
JanM
Location:San Diego, CA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Same Life, New Story introduces us to ten women of the Bible, Naomi, Leah, Rehab, and others. Silvious' personal anecdotes relate their stories to our lives, showing us how our perspectives can change, even if we’ve had difficult pasts, or are currently in tough circumstances. This book helped me see how God can turn our struggles and fears into blessings. Change your perspective... change your life story.
I found this book to be engaging and encouraging. Personal reflection questions, journal prompts and topics for group discussion at the end of each chapter would fit nicely into a 10-week Bible study; however, I thoroughly enjoyed reading the book straight through on my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Same Life, New Story: Change Your Perspective to Change Your Life - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent Women's Bible Study!

Date:February 24, 2011
Customer Avatar
greetinggirl66
Location:Poplar Grove, IL
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Same Life, New Story by Jan Silvious
Same Life, New Story is a 10 week Bible study for women written by a Christian author, speaker and professional life coach. Using the lives of 10 women from Scripture, the author helps us understand how a small change can have life long effects.
Each chapter of the book is based on the life of a woman from Scripture. The author uses the lives of Naomi, Leah, Rahab, Hannah, Abigail, Elizabeth, Jehosheba, Anna, Deborah and Naaman’s servant girl to guide women in their search for a new direction in life. We may have the same life but with God’s help, we can write a new story for all to read.
Because I am an older woman, I especially identified with her use of Elizabeth as a woman who in her old age wrote a new story. God used her as the mother of John the Baptizer and thereby changed her story and her life. The author pointed out that until we die there is always more of our story to write. In living our lives, we leave a legacy for those who will follow after us and how we live determines that legacy. Elizabeth lived a life of hope and passed that hope down to those who followed her.
I really enjoyed each of these Bible studies and would highly recommend this book to everyone who wants to expand their understanding of Scripture and how it is applied to our everyday lives. There is much to be learned from Same Life, New Story.
This book was provided to me free of charge by Thomas Nelson Publishers for review purposes.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Same Life, New Story: Change Your Perspective to Change Your Life - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This book shows that change can be helpful

Date:February 23, 2011
Customer Avatar
hippymama
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I selected this book because I thought it might be a book that I could share with the ladies in my church, but soon got engrossed in the stories for myself. The way Jan made her Bible characters come alive was wonderful, and I related with each one. Then the "in our day" illustrations she used spoke to my heart. I enjoyed each chapter, and gained a lot of personal spiritual growth for myself! The one thing I would have appreciated is the ability to be able to copy the discussion questions at the ends of each chapter for discussion time in a group setting. A great book that is sure to help individuals, as well as study groups. One sentence that I will carry with me is "If God says He'll take care of you, then why not live as though that were true?"
I highly recommend this book!
I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze.com book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Same Life, New Story: Change Your Perspective to Change Your Life - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

For Those Looking to Create a New Life Story

Date:February 15, 2011
Customer Avatar
Lauren Caldwell
Location:Northeast
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
When I first got the book Same Life, New Story: Change Your Perspective to Change Your Life, I flipped through the pages and thought darkly, "Another boring devotional." (Just keeping it real here, folks). I put it aside and went on to other books.
But after a couple sleepless nights, I opened up Jan Silvious's book and found out that this book was more than a quaint devotional or Bible Study Guide. She was talking straight to me, in my language, addressing my deepest concerns. "Have you ever been stuck because you had to prove a point?" she writes. Uh, now that you mention it, Jan, yes. And I've been thinking about this very thing, lately. (You'll have to read chapter 1 to see what she means by this).
Every chapter begins with a pithy saying--straight to the point. And then it only goes deeper as she delves into subjects dealing with self-sabotage, and victim mentality and all those other topics that we really, really should be done with in our life, don't you think??
She's an excellent writer, a professional life coach, and if you take your time with this book, she'll become like a friend--the very best kind, the kind who wants the best for you even when you forget what that is. She wants us to learn that "changing your perspective can truly change your life."
And that's what this book is: one of those life changing books that you feel glad you opened--even if it was after a second look.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Same Life, New Story: Change Your Perspective to Change Your Life - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

This book suprised me.

Date:February 10, 2011
Customer Avatar
britluver20021
Location:Arnold, CA
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I got finished reading the book Same life, Same Story by Jan Silvious and raelly enjoyed it. It was a book that explained stories from the bible of women who were strong and courageous and how they lived their lives to please GOD even though they were in dangerous situations and had to really be strong for their family/husbands,etc.
I enjoyed learning about stories from the bible and I enjoyed reading the stories directly from the bible verses and then having Jan explain them in a way that was eays to understand and make sense of why the story was mentioned in the book so we can learn from it as well.
I also enjoyed the personal experiences Jan used from other people she had talked to for those people also went through tough trials and made it out ok, maybe they had lost a loved one in death or whatever but they always made it through because they believed in GOD, prayed to GOD and he helped them.
I also enjoyed that sometimes we may ask GOD for help in something but he also knows whats best for us such as studying the bible more, getting to know him better, etc and sometimes if we try to better ourselves and get out of our comfort zone how much happier he is with us when we try out best for him. Sometimes it means really seeing in our life we are truly doing what GOD asks of us and if we are not then maybe changing something in our live to better it such as maybe preaching about GOD more to our neighbors or doing more of a personal study with our bible to get to know GOD more
I got this book from booksneeze and was not required to write a nice review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Same Life, New Story: Change Your Perspective to Change Your Life - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great for a women's group, not as a Bible study.

Date:February 9, 2011
Customer Avatar
Gaelic
Location:North Carolina
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This book was not easy to get into, though the subject matter was interesting and relevant. As a self-help book, it has a lot of good ideas; however, even though it had questions and journaling ideas, lots of references to the Bible, and even points for group discussion focused on religious matters, it did not come across as a Bible study book. The focus of the book was more about becoming part of God’s story, and less about studying God’s Word, so it’s qualification as a Bible study is in question, at least by me.
The writing style was easy to read, except that the introduction of the book read like an infomercial, full of clichés and tired phrases. Once I got past that, I was able to focus more on the stories and anecdotes presented by the author—some from the Bible, and some from her life and the lives of other women. While the stories and anecdotes were well written, insightful, and moving, the overall structure of the book left me confused at times. The chapters were broken up into subsections, with little headings. Sometimes the transition from one subsection to the next was easy to follow, and sometimes it was confusing. Sometimes I would go back and re-read the previous couple of paragraphs to see if I had missed something. Sometimes I wouldn’t bother. Many times the topic seemed to change quickly and I found myself thinking, “Wait? What? How does this fit with the previous paragraph? Weren’t we just talking about _______?” Because of this, the book felt disorganized.
The book is interesting and has a lot to offer, if a person can get through the somewhat disorganized format. The personal reflection questions were occasionally vague, or very general in nature and, at times, seemed to promote a walk down “self-pity lane”, but not without a purpose. The author works to draw out of her readers the thoughts and situations that are keeping them from achieving the life they want, and then she asks questions that are meant to cause readers to think about the alternatives and find solutions.
This book is for anyone who has been through difficult times, and who feels they need to make changes, but are unsure how. This isn’t the best book out there for this purpose, but it is a book of hope that shows how others have changed their lives for the better, and for this reason I highly recommend it.
I received this book from the publisher, through booksneeze.com book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive view and the opinions expressed are my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Same Life, New Story: Change Your Perspective to Change Your Life - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Same Life, New Story by Jan Silvious

Date:February 4, 2011
Customer Avatar
marsta
Location:Long Beach, NY
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
…is a ten-week Bible study for women about, as the title indicates, changing the way you think in order to change the emotional quality of your life. It uses the stories of the women of the Bible, as well as stories of current day women, to relate to and identify with. It discusses how it’s up to us to choose how we respond, which affects our state of mind. This book prompts both individual reflection and group discussion.
This book came to me at a time when I am struggling with a change in my circumstances that I can’t control. It challenged me to relax on God and look to the big picture with hope. It reminded me to keep in mind that there is a God who is bigger, and who has a plan for us if we have the right attitude. It made me think about being stuck in the past, and inspired me to not be controlled by it even though I won’t forget certain things that have happened. These concepts and others are exemplified in a way that is easy to identify with. It was just what I needed. I would recommend this book to others in similar circumstances, especially if you feel overwhelmed or alone.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze®.com <http://BookSneeze®.com> book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 <http://www.access.gpo.gov/nara/cfr/waisidx_03/16cfr255_03.html> : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Same Life, New Story: Change Your Perspective to Change Your Life - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A Matter of Perspective

Date:February 2, 2011
Customer Avatar
Miriam
Location:Ohio
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
When I first started reading this book, I wasn’t quite sure I was in agreement with what the author was saying. When she uses the words “writing your life story” it seems that she is saying that we are the ones in control of what happens in our lives, which in my mind dismisses the sovereignty of God. As I continued to read, my ideas about the book began to change. The author states in the book:
“We can only do so much to write a new story, but we at least need to take the steps we know to take. Once that is done, we wait and leave the rest to God.” As the book progresses the author continues to remind us that God is indeed in control of our life circumstances and the only thing we can control is our perspective of those circumstances, our feelings and attitude. We can accept what we have or what has happened to us and move on or we can get stuck in the moment.
This is a ten week study of encouragement for women on positive thinking and really asking yourself about your reaction to your personal situation. Each week is written as a chapter with personal stories from the author intermixed with a woman from the Bible who has a lesson to teach us about making choices. The chapters end with questions for personal study, a prompt for journaling and thinking more about the ideas in that chapter and questions for group study. This Bible study could be done easily in a group or as an individual. Personally, I feel that group studies gives you the advantage of another person to discuss the material with and that adds to your understanding and growth.
I received this book free from Booksneeze.com as part of their Blogger Review Program. I was not obligated to provided a positive review and I have given you my honest opinion of the book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Same Life, New Story: Change Your Perspective to Change Your Life - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Wonderful study of women in Midlife.

Date:February 1, 2011
Customer Avatar
GiGi Reads
Location:New York, NY
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I got this book because I liked Jan's 'Big Girls Don't Cry'. Right now in my life, I need a new song. I am in my middle forties wondering, where my life has gone? I've taken care of everybody except me. Jan's new book speaks to that time is a woman's life. I'm thinking about going back to a dream I once had when I was younger about being a chef. The Naomi story and Anna story where very insightful. Her langauge is always kind and loving. It's like having a godly
counselor talk and share a cup of coffee with you. I also recommend to women in midlife to do the Fisherman Bible Study, 'Women at Midlife'. There's comes a time in every woman's life when she needs to let go. She neeeds to remember who she is and that's she's loved. Please get this book for yourself or a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>