Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Zondervan NAS Life Application Study Bible, Bonded leather Burgundy, Thumb-Indexed

Zondervan NAS Life Application Study Bible, Bonded leather Burgundy, Thumb-Indexed

1990 Gold Medallion Award winner!
The Life Application Study Bible is today's #1 selling study Bible because it helps people see how the Scriptures are relevant to today's issues. This edition of the Life Application Study Bible lets you enjoy the best-selling Life Application features with the highly accurate New American Standard Bible translation (1995 Update).

  • Thousands of Life Application notes help explain God's Word and challenge readers to apply the truth of Scripture to life
  • Personality profiles highlight over 100 important Bible characters
  • Book introductions provide vital statistics, overview, and timeline to help readers understand the message of each book
  • 200 thumbnail maps highlight important Bible places and events
  • 260 charts help explain difficult concepts and relationships
  • Cross-references
  • Harmony of the Gospels built right into the text of Matthew, Mark, Luke, and John
  • Dictionary/concordance
  • Daily reading plan
  • Leather and imitation leather editions include gilt page edges and ribbon marker
  • Additional features:
    • Presentation Page
    • Family records section
    • Single Column Format
    • Side-column cross references
    • Index to Notes
    • Index to Charts
    • Index to Maps
    • Index to Personality Profiles
    • Dictionary/Concordance
    • Scripture Text: 8 Point
    • Notes: 8 Point
    • 16 pages of color maps & diagrams
    • New American Standard Bible ('95 Update)
    • Gilt page edges
    • Ribbon marker
    • 6 3/4" x 9 1/2" x 2"
    • Bonded Burgundy
    • Thumb Index

Average Customer Rating:
4.701 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(67 Reviews) 67
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (67 reviews)
5 stars
53
4 stars
9
3 stars
4
2 stars
1
1 star
0
24 out of 2692%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for NAS Life Application Study Bible, Bonded leather Burgundy, Thumb-Indexed
Review 1 for NAS Life Application Study Bible, Bonded leather Burgundy, Thumb-Indexed
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Impressed with details.

Date:January 7, 2014
Customer Avatar
Gapch
Location:Fort Pierce, FL
Age:55-65
Gender:female
I bought this for my husband for Christmas and he loves it! I, myself, am reading it as well. I enjoy the such a detailed explanation of the verses, and the maps make clarifies how it looked at the time. A really great study Bible!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for NAS Life Application Study Bible, Bonded leather Burgundy, Thumb-Indexed
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Easy to use

Date:August 9, 2013
Customer Avatar
Laura
Location:Oklahoma
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Love, Love, Love it!!!! It is a great quality and the commentary at the bottom is very helpful.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for NAS Life Application Study Bible, Bonded leather Burgundy, Thumb-Indexed
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Nice NASB Updated Life Application study Bible

Date:July 15, 2013
Customer Avatar
seeker
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I ordered this study Bible for a gift, along with NKJV and NIV 1984 Life Application study Bibles. As far as I can tell, the study notes are the same in all three Bibles. These are the first study Bibles I've ordered, so I don't have any others for comparison. I really like the LA study notes and find them to offer clarification and additional info, such as notes on some of the important people, timelines, etc. So far, none of the study notes have seemed controversial or opinionated to me. The notes probably make up close to half the volume of the Bible.
What I really like about this Bible, besides the study features, is that it is the Updated NASB translation, which is generally acknowledged to be the most accurate word for word modern translation, and updated in 1995 to improve reading ease. The NASB version was requested by the recipient for those reasons, and I would now like a personal size NASB for myself.
What I wish was better about this Bible is the stiffness of the leather. I almost deducted a quality star for that, but in fairness, it is as high or higher quality than other genuine leather Bibles in the $50-$60 range. It's just not as supple as I'd prefer, especially when compared with the soft Renaissance leather of the 1984 NIVs that I purchased. (That leather is amazing for the price, and I've not been able to find it for other translations.)
Other differences are that this one does not have Christ's words in red, and this one is a thumb indexed edition.
The product information re font size is confusing for both of these Bibles. Depending on where on the product pages you look, it says either 8 pt., 9 pt., or 9-10 pt. The font is readable for my older eyes in adequate light, but I wouldn't want any smaller size type.
I ordered one of the 1984 Renaissance NIVs for myself, for the supple leather binding. But all three versions that I ordered are great study Bibles, and the NASB translation is tops for accuracy.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for NAS Life Application Study Bible, Bonded leather Burgundy, Thumb-Indexed
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 3, 2013
Customer Avatar
Kathy
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great Bible. I have this Life Application Bible in NIV, which I have lent out. I just wanted it in NASV, my favorite translation.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for NAS Life Application Study Bible, Bonded leather Burgundy, Thumb-Indexed
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

It was as expected.

Date:February 13, 2013
Customer Avatar
RPowers
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The order was easy to place and shipping was on-time. I have found this Bible to be quite helpful although, as with any commentary, one must bear in mind that the commentary is essentially one person's perspective and application of that perspective. Again, I do find the Life Application Study Bible to be a very good resource and while I find the literary quality of the NIV to make reading a bit smoother, I very much appreciate the quality of the NAS translation.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for NAS Life Application Study Bible, Bonded leather Burgundy, Thumb-Indexed
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great study Bible

Date:December 19, 2012
Customer Avatar
TPotter
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great commentaries and study notes! Bought for teenager daughter for Christmas gift. I know she will love it!!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for NAS Life Application Study Bible, Bonded leather Burgundy, Thumb-Indexed
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great features; easy to use

Date:September 5, 2012
Customer Avatar
Gram
Location:Batesville, MS
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Life Application Study Bible I purchased from Christianbook.com has many useful features. I especially enjoy the Bible character profiles, and the book introductions that give an overview of each book, and a paragraph that is a reminder of how the content relates to our faith lives. The maps are great quality color, and easy to see the areas being presented. The paper used for printing is just a bit thicker than my previous Bible, and the texture makes page turning easier.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for NAS Life Application Study Bible, Bonded leather Burgundy, Thumb-Indexed
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great!

Date:August 31, 2012
Customer Avatar
Eric
Location:Newark, ohio
Age:25-34
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a great bible. I highly recommend it to anyone.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for NAS Life Application Study Bible, Bonded leather Burgundy, Thumb-Indexed
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

GREAT NASB!

Date:July 18, 2012
Customer Avatar
J Love
Location:Jackson, TN
Age:18-24
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
If you are looking to deepen your Christian faith by living it, then the Life Application Study Bible is for you. This is not the type of study Bible that merely presents history, background, and facts. This study Bible takes scripture and teaches you how to apply it to life and actually live the Christian faith.
The top-grain cowhide leather is superb! The grain is nice and glossy, but rather stiff to the touch. If you are looking for a limp leather Bible, this is not it (although it will loosen and soften up with time and use).
I can't speak for all editions, but mine was printed and bound in the USA. The text is in single column style rather than the two column traditional setting. This makes it read more like a book and increases smoothness and flow of the text when reading. This edition is not a red letter edition. The font is a very readable 9 point type.
The Bible itself is on the larger side, but about the average size for a study Bible. It measures in at 9.25x6.25 inches. If you are purchasing a cover, you will need a size X-Large.
It has a presentation page, and a concordance. It has side column references rather than down the middle. Each book has a very concise but interesting introduction, with a timeline, key verse, main idea, and all the other essential information when studying the Bible. One of the interesting features is the character profiles of many popular Bible characters that gives you everything there is to know about their life.
As far as translation issues go, this edition comes in the most accurate and literal translation of the Bible on the market today, the New American Standard Bible! It is a must have for any serious student of the Bible.
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for NAS Life Application Study Bible, Bonded leather Burgundy, Thumb-Indexed
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 9, 2012
Customer Avatar
princess
Location:Vintondale, PA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I like the way the footnotes challenge me to examine my faithfulness to Christ and how to "walk" my faith in Christ out in relationship to others.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for NAS Life Application Study Bible, Bonded leather Burgundy, Thumb-Indexed
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Bible

Date:February 29, 2012
Customer Avatar
shnow
Location:Brownsville, TX
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great learning Bible. Good quality, nice monogramming. Only issue I have is with Zondervan. My gf has a soft cover version of this for another version of the Bible. I'd prefer that to the leather, but still a wonderful Bible to read for the year.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for NAS Life Application Study Bible, Bonded leather Burgundy, Thumb-Indexed
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent Bible study resource

Date:February 22, 2012
Customer Avatar
Ann R
Location:N C
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The NAS Bible with the Life Application is an excellent resource with great helps for teaching classes as well as studying for my Bachelor Degree in Bible Studies. This particular Bible was given as a gift to a new convert because I believe it will increase her growth to maturity.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for NAS Life Application Study Bible, Bonded leather Burgundy, Thumb-Indexed
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Bible

Date:October 23, 2011
Customer Avatar
Elliott
Location:MD
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I really wanted this bible. I compared prices many places. This was the best price out there. Over all a good bible.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for NAS Life Application Study Bible, Bonded leather Burgundy, Thumb-Indexed
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great translation and great notes

Date:September 16, 2011
Customer Avatar
Gabraham
Location:Columbus, OH
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
For those that don't want heavy academic footnotes. The Life Application Bible is a great study bible because it gives you practical ways to how to apply God's Word to our lives, and in this version, the NASB is one of the most accurate translations of the bible.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for NAS Life Application Study Bible, Bonded leather Burgundy, Thumb-Indexed
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Bible

Date:September 12, 2011
Customer Avatar
swimdu
Location:Philadelphia, PA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This Bible is beautiful! I own many Bibles, and the Life Application is the one that is most understandable and applicable to me. It really helps me connect my Bible reading with my daily life. The Bible came very quickly, in just a few days. The leather cover is beautiful and the indexing makes is so easy to find passages. I do wish the words of Jesus were in red as in other Bibles, but I am willing to give that up for the other features and great, understandable explanations this Bible provides. The pricing from Christianbook.com was the best value anywhere. I highly recommend this Bible and Christianbook.com.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for NAS Life Application Study Bible, Bonded leather Burgundy, Thumb-Indexed
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This Bible is beautiful.

Date:May 19, 2011
Customer Avatar
Clementine Cuppen
Location:New Zealand.
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My first Bible was an NASB hardcover Bible given to me by an American soldier who was stationed in Germany and visited the Christian community in Amsterdam where I lived in 1974. I immediately fell in love with the NASB and have that Bible still, but it is very old and tattered after many years of use and travel. I bought this new version which has even greater features apart from the clarity and beautiful rhythm of language: study notes, great introduction to each book, extra information relevant to each book, maps etc. as well as the leather cover and gold edging. A true treasure!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for NAS Life Application Study Bible, Bonded leather Burgundy, Thumb-Indexed
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great for applying to daily living.

Date:May 16, 2011
Customer Avatar
Grandma Phyllis
Location:Florence, CO
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have been using this Bible for a few years. While attending a Bible study I shared some of the commentaries for verses we had read. The information was such a blessing, and so practical as well as understandable, that 3 of these people now have this Bible. It is so much fun to see how this Bible has created an amazing desire in these people to read & study God's word, that was not there before. They are now understanding how to put His word into practice in daily living. Seeing the power in knowing & doing what God instructs us is making a wonderful difference in these lives. The Spiritual growth I see in this group is very exciting, because God is truly getting all the glory.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for NAS Life Application Study Bible, Bonded leather Burgundy, Thumb-Indexed
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

great Bible!!

Date:May 10, 2011
Customer Avatar
Cheryl-Lee Raine
Location:Glasgow, Scotland
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This NASB edition of the Life Application Study Bible has been a tremendous product to me! I also own the NLT edition of said Bible but I fell in love with the literal translation of the NASB. I had to buy a NASB edition almost immediately and I'm glad that I bought this particular one. The leather is very good and size wise, it isn't as bulky as I initially anticipated. What has made it even more special is the embossing of my name on the front of the Bible.
The Life Application Study Bible is a fantastic Bible for both young and even mature Christians alike, a fantastic addition to my Christian library at home. I strongly recommend this product to EVERY Christian!! I even enjoyed reading Jesus' words in BLACK letter too.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for NAS Life Application Study Bible, Bonded leather Burgundy, Thumb-Indexed
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

great bible

Date:May 9, 2011
Customer Avatar
BoBo
Location:international falls
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I had to replace my first one, and the one I recieved is starting to ome apart too. I don't know why I even put it in the Bible cover that was recomanded for it. Maybe I need to try another maker,or something. That was a lot of money to spend on something that just doesn't work.I will wait for a reply from the company.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for NAS Life Application Study Bible, Bonded leather Burgundy, Thumb-Indexed
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 26, 2010
Customer Avatar
mamo
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was so excited to get my new Bible. It was everything I hoped for and more.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.