Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Regal Red Letter Christians: A Citizen's Guide to Faith and Politics - eBook

Regal Red Letter Christians: A Citizen's Guide to Faith and Politics - eBook

A new kind of politically concerned evangelical is emerging, somewhere between hard-right Republicans and far-left Democrats. "Red-Letter Christians" seek to live out Jesus' words---the ones printed in red in many New Testaments. Examining the hot-button issues facing believers today, Campolo calls us to transcend partisan squabbles---and bring Christ's radical message to our civic commitments. 224 pages, hardcover from Regal.
Average Customer Rating:
3.083 out of 5
3.1
 out of 
5
(12 Reviews) 12
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (12 reviews)
5 stars
4
4 stars
2
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
4
3 out of 650%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Red Letter Christians: A Citizen's Guide to Faith and Politics - eBook
Review 1 for Red Letter Christians: A Citizen's Guide to Faith and Politics - eBook
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Red Letter Christians

Date:March 3, 2013
Customer Avatar
Grace
Location:Canada
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
In Red Letter Christians: A Citizen's Guide to Faith & Politics, Tony Campolo introduces what it is to be a "Red Letter Christian." Red Letter Christians guides Christians who want to see their faith influence their politics, while challenging the Christians as Republican stereotype. Campolo argues that Jesus does not fit into a particular political ideology and that attempting to make him do so creates division. Instead, Christians should vote about social issues based on their best judgement of what God's will is. Addressing social need requires political action, rather than only relying on the good work of volunteers. Simply put, it is sinful to pretend that there is no need for legislative responses to oppression and poverty.
Campolo begins his book by explaining who Red Letter Christians are and how to make the red letters of the Bible (the words of Jesus) a guide for political life. He concludes by providing "ground rules" for Red Letter Christians as they approach politics. In the middle, Campolo addresses specific issues, divided into the categories: The Global Issues, The Hot-Button Issues, The Economic Issues, and The Government Issues. This review, and my question "What does this book teach me about social justice," will focus on the beginning and ending portions of the book. Campolo is writing from an American perspective about an American system. While the middle parts of the book do have some universal value, part one, part five, and the final chapter of part four are most applicable to me as a Canadian trying to approach social justice in the Canadian system.
PS I got this book for free from booksneeze for an honest review
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Red Letter Christians: A Citizen's Guide to Faith and Politics - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellant Guide

Date:April 25, 2012
Customer Avatar
Rick Boyle
Location:London, OH
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is the most Excellant Guide for Christians when voting in the USA. It takes the main issues from 2008 (Which are still pertinent today), and examines them from a Chistian/Biblical perspective and helps you make informed decisions.
It is amazing when you read about current events in 2008 and how they have played out as Tony Campolo expected if we didn't make the appropriate changes. This is a guide I wish more Americans and especially Christians used, rather than VERY Biased "News".
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Red Letter Christians: A Citizen's Guide to Faith and Politics - eBook
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

definitely misleading

Date:June 8, 2011
Customer Avatar
karen
Location:New York
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Compolo misses the boat often in this one. Huge drawback is having a broad quotation on the front jacket that turned me off immediately. Would not have ordered this book if it had been better shown online. Read a few chapters and just could not read anymore. Had planned to give these books (ordered two) to fathers for their day, but will instead send them back for refund.
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Red Letter Christians: A Citizen's Guide to Faith and Politics - eBook
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Date:February 1, 2011
Customer Avatar
Rich McIntyre
Location:Trenton Illinois
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Very Disappointing. Very skewed. Little Scriptural reference. When scripture was cited it was obviously not to give both sides but to augment the authors opinion. Readers of this book should easily be able to read between the lines and see the political proclivities of Campolo.
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Red Letter Christians: A Citizen's Guide to Faith and Politics - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Outstanding

Date:January 12, 2011
Customer Avatar
valerie
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
excellent non partisan book to help Christians understand how to make decisions not based on left or right, but by filtering everything through the teachings of Jesus. Book does not tell you how to vote, which views are "correct" or choose "sides" of issues. Tremendously broadend my understanding of many world issues. Thank You ChristianBook!!
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Red Letter Christians: A Citizen's Guide to Faith and Politics - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Bottom line good interpretation

Date:December 29, 2010
Customer Avatar
Poppy
Location:Birmingham, Alabama
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Campolo approaches each subject as if the label attached to his faith is the only truth and all otheres not so labeled has it all wrong. His conclusions are good, but not exclusive to evangelicals or 'red letter' Christians. He seems comfortable with segmenting Christianity when those who distort the message are clearly NOT Christians, but living a life of their own making while using Christianity as justification.
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Red Letter Christians: A Citizen's Guide to Faith and Politics - eBook
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Date:August 27, 2010
Customer Avatar
Carolyn Johnson
I was shocked and disappointed by this book, and surprised by my reaction because up to this time, I have highly respected Tony Campolo. After reading about a third of the issues covered, I could hardly believe that there was really almost no Biblical support for his treatment of two of them. For these two issues--and they're not the two you might think I mean--it was as though Campolo had thoroughly ignored Scripture. I had been looking to this book to help me think through so many matters before this next election, but I was completely disappointed. Take the Word of God and pray through the issues, and you will do much better than expect to be helped by this book. It is a thorough waste of money.
+2points
5of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Red Letter Christians: A Citizen's Guide to Faith and Politics - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 12, 2010
Customer Avatar
Sandra R.
Tony Campolo who was recently featured on the insightful and moving documentary, Lord, Save Us from Your Followers provides a thoughtful framework for considering political candidates. Red Letter Christians as they call themselves, emphasize the words of Jesus that are highlighted in red in many Bibles, while still acknowledging and following the Old Testament and other parts of the Scriptures. They believe that if Jesus were to live on earth today, he would be neither a Republican nor a Democrat; His vote would vary depending on the particular issue. Campolo does not tell the reader how to vote, rather he gives historical background, cites facts and Scripture to show different perspectives on each issue. On many issues, he proposes his own innovative ideas on how we might come together with both Christians and non-Christians that we disagree with to find an acceptable solution. I would recommend this book to all of my brothers and sisters in Christ, as well as non-Christians.
+1point
3of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Red Letter Christians: A Citizen's Guide to Faith and Politics - eBook
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Date:October 16, 2008
Customer Avatar
Clark Dunlap
Campolo, in aligning himself with Brian McLaren may well have jumped over the fence on issues instead of just straddling. And yes, we are a wealthy nation that should help the world. But thats not the job of the government, to take our taxes and feed everybody. Is half a percent of our tax money going to help the world not enough for you? There are plenty of ways you can give more and not at the point of the US governments gun. I do! And there are many world hunger organizations to choose from.
0points
5of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Red Letter Christians: A Citizen's Guide to Faith and Politics - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 15, 2008
Customer Avatar
Lance
You know the beauty here is that Campolo used Christ's words. Before you call him a fence straddler, you might want to compare his beliefs to the character and wrods of Christ himself. In fact I know a great book you can read that does that for you. God Bless.
-2points
1of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Red Letter Christians: A Citizen's Guide to Faith and Politics - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:August 15, 2008
Customer Avatar
Jeff Faucette
This is a truly interesting book because Campolo dares to look to the words of Christ for a clue to dealing with this modern world. I do not agree with many of his assertions but through his journey I have had to deal with my own thoughts about our societal woes. It made me think which is one of the most important things that any writer can do. Hopefully this book will make you think for yourself too. Blessings
+4points
5of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Red Letter Christians: A Citizen's Guide to Faith and Politics - eBook
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Date:April 10, 2008
Customer Avatar
Rev. Doyle Peyton
Here is Tony doing what he seems to be doing best,more and more of over the years, straddling the fence on political/moral issues. You sense an underlying growing anger against conservative evangelicals.
+1point
5of 9voted this as helpful.