Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Thomas Nelson The Final Summit: A Quest to Find the One Principle That Will Save Humanity - eBook

Thomas Nelson The Final Summit: A Quest to Find the One Principle That Will Save Humanity - eBook

Average Customer Rating:
3.752 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
(129 Reviews) 129
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (129 reviews)
5 stars
33
4 stars
52
3 stars
28
2 stars
11
1 star
5
97 out of 12975%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for The Final Summit: A Quest to Find the One Principle That Will Save Humanity - eBook
Review 1 for The Final Summit: A Quest to Find the One Principle That Will Save Humanity - eBook
This review is fromThe Final Summit.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

THE FINAL SUMMIT by ANDY ANDREWS

Date:September 30, 2013
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
User submitted photo
In "The Final Summit," Andy Andrews, a gifted writer and a world-class communicator, creates a classic piece of literature for our times, in a unique and powerful blend of history, science and religion.
Drawing upon words, carefully culled from the deep recesses of his own heart, Andy Andrews deals with life's most baffling issues, to make history come alive, by utilising the help of hundreds of his fellow Travelers through the centuries, as David Ponder strives hard to discover the one solution that will save humanity.
Time is crucial and of the utmost essence, and the final summit of Travelers find themselves working as fast as possible to avert disastrous consequences.
Following in the footsteps and imbibing the spirit of its famed predecessor, "The Traveler's Gift," this sequel, "The Final Summit" explores the time-tested, historical principles that have guided the greatest leaders of all time and prompts us to adopt these principles in our own lives.
© Miriam Jacob
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for The Final Summit: A Quest to Find the One Principle That Will Save Humanity - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:September 8, 2012
Customer Avatar
Lindsey
Location:TX
Age:25-34
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I heard Andy Andrews speak at last year’s Women of Faith event in San Antonio. He was an energetic and interesting speaker, and I was curious about his writing.
The Final Summit is the sequel to The Traveler’s Gift, which I have not read. However, I suspect few readers would have trouble following the plot or characters. The Final Summit focuses on David Ponder as he travels time to save the world. There are life lessons delivered via cameos by Winston Churchill, Abraham Lincoln, Anne Frank, Joan of Arc, and more.
It was a good, quick read for me, and I quite liked the moral of the story. Which I won’t give away here.
You’d probably even enjoy this book if, like me, you’re only just slightly into a book that involves time travel. I mean it!
Disclaimer: I received a copy of this book from Thomas Nelson publishers and their Booksneeze program in exchange for an honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for The Final Summit: A Quest to Find the One Principle That Will Save Humanity - eBook
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:March 20, 2012
Customer Avatar
Lightatheart
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
The basic idea is that Gabriel the Archangel takes Mr. Ponders who is a successful business man to a meeting where he is part of a group of people who determines the survival or destruction of humanity. The group is a gathering of both well-known and not so well-known successful people from the history of mankind since Noah’s flood. The task put before them is to answer one question correctly. They have five opportunities to get it right.
Interesting book. Easy and fast to read. Even so, I have mixed thoughts about it. On the one hand I enjoyed the information Mr. Andrews shares about Eric Erickson’s story which isn’t told in any of the history books or programs I have read or watched about world war II. I found his story very interesting and I agree that more people should know about his heroic efforts. The author also showed how one or more events can change history decades further on in time. Such as the battle of Gettysburg. He brought out the thought of historians that if the South had won the battle, then the United States wouldn’t have been more than a group of individual countries later on and when world war II happened the United States wouldn’t have been around to help stop Hitler’s takeover of the world.
On the other hand I didn’t care for the idea that people who probably never gave their lives to Jesus and accepted His free gift of mercy, forgiveness, and pardon would be in Heaven.
As for the idea of time travel, we know from Revelations that God has at least on one occasion allowed a person to actually visit the future, but even then John didn’t interact with the humans of the future. He was only allowed to see what was taking place in the future. The idea of God allowing a human of any time period to go back in time and visit one-on-one with another person of the earlier era is mixing Star Trek type philosophy in with the storyline in my opinion.
I liked the fact that Mr. Andrews used some of the historical character’s own quotes as part of the storyline.
As for the conclusion, I can’t decide if I agree with it or not. Something in my spirit whispers that it sounds good to man’s human nature, but as Christians we aren’t called to be in step with the world, but rather with God and His word. Due to not being able to resolve the conflict in my spirit, I might ask others to read it to get their input on the conclusion, but I wouldn’t recommend it.
Purposes of Disclosure of Material Connection: I received a temporary digital copy of the book mentioned above for free in the hope that I would mention it on my blog. Regardless, I only recommend products or services I use personally and believe will be good for my readers. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for The Final Summit: A Quest to Find the One Principle That Will Save Humanity - eBook
This review is fromThe Final Summit.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

THE FINAL SUMMIT

Date:April 26, 2012
Customer Avatar
THE SELF TAUGHT COOK
Location:DAVENPORT, FL
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
The Final Summit
A Quest to Find the One Principle That Will Save Humanity
By Andy Andrews
Published by Thomas Nelson
The Final Summit by Andy Andrews is a sequel to his previous novel, The Traveler's Gift. While it would help the reader to have the background from the earlier novel, it is not necessary to understand this work. David Ponder, a character from the first novel, is paid yet another visit by the archangel Gabriel. David, along with the other Travelers throughout history, have been summoned to a final summit to determine the fate of humanity. The question they must answer is, "What does humanity need to do, individually and collectively, to restore itself to the pathway toward successful civilization?” They are told it is a two word answer, and they have a limited time to answer. The storyline follows the group as they try to determine the one thing humanity needs to do.
While this was a good novel with many fine points, it was difficult for me to develop a solid interest until the end of the novel. Minor liberties were taken with historical characters and quotations, and at times the reading is a bit dry. However, the overall point of the novel is a good one and worth reading.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze®.com <http://BookSneeze®.com> book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 <http://www.access.gpo.gov/nara/cfr/waisidx_03/16cfr255_03.html> : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for The Final Summit: A Quest to Find the One Principle That Will Save Humanity - eBook
This review is fromThe Final Summit.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Very entertaining

Date:February 2, 2012
Customer Avatar
Lisareadstoomuch
Location:Michigan
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have read several of Andy Andrews’ books and The Final Summit is my favorite by far. I found the story line to be very interesting and I liked meeting all of the historical figures and learning new things about them. I found the premise that all of these people from different eras in time meet and discuss the problem to be very intriguing.
Overall, I found The Final Summit to be very entertaining and I would recommend it to others.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze®.com <http://BookSneeze®.com> book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for The Final Summit: A Quest to Find the One Principle That Will Save Humanity - eBook
This review is fromThe Final Summit.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

enjoyed the plot/storyline & learning some history

Date:January 6, 2012
Customer Avatar
mamabear1975
Location:Las Vegas, NV
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I received this free book from Booksneeze, in exchange for my review. I am not being influenced by this site or any other party, this is my opinion. I enjoyed andy’s previous book, the Traveler’s Gift, and found that this book makes more sense if you’ve read the one before it, however, for those who have not, it would not be difficult to stay with the storyline, as I was able to, even though it had been about a year since reading the latter. I read this book within a couple of nights; it is easy to read and follow. I kept turning the pages and not wanting to put it down. The plot brings together historical figures to a ‘summit’, with the purpose of pulling their knowledge and backgrounds together to solve one question posed them by the angel Gabriel. They have only a limited time to come up with the answer. I’m not a history person, and can’t recall much of my American history, but Andy has such a way of weaving in history and the historical significance of the various characters in the story, that I didn’t feel that I had to be a history buff to stay up with the book. He has researched one character, who the history books have scarce information on, and who was a key player, and responsible for the ending of a major war. I did enjoy the book and look forward to my next Andy Andrews book. If you ever have opportunity to see him in person, he is awesome, high energy, funny, and a great storyteller! He has such a talent for bringing history to life, and illustrating how a person’s life counts for their generation and future generations, (ie the Butterfly Effect/ the Boy Who Changed the World).
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for The Final Summit: A Quest to Find the One Principle That Will Save Humanity - eBook
This review is fromThe Final Summit.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A Good Read

Date:December 26, 2011
Customer Avatar
Josh Phelps
Location:Berea, Ky
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The Final Summit: A Quest to Find the One Principle That Will Save Humanity by Andy Andrews is a sequel to The Traveler’s Gift and should be read in order if you ask me. While it isn’t one hundred percent necessary, it will give the reader more background as they read the second book.
I enjoyed reading this book as it adds other historical figures with our main character David Ponder. They are at a summit, where Ponder is presiding over the other figures as they try and figure out “What is the one solution that will save humanity.”
This book captured my attention as I read it. The book is fiction but contains many facts about the people in the summit that were very fascinating and things that I did not know. They go into the summit believing they can solve the problem quickly and easily, but find out that it isn’t quite as easy as they thought in the first place and it will take team work to come to a solution. I was surprised to find that I had not figured out the ending as I can usually do. It wasn’t as predictable as many books are these days.
I recommend this book to those who like fiction books or those who like history and unpredictable endings. The book was really well written and an easy read. I do however, as stated earlier, that one should read The Traveler’s Gift first if possible.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze®.com http://BookSneeze®.com book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 http://www.access.gpo.gov/nara/cfr/waisidx_03/16cfr255_03.html : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for The Final Summit: A Quest to Find the One Principle That Will Save Humanity - eBook
This review is fromThe Final Summit.
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

couldn't connect.

Date:November 28, 2011
Customer Avatar
pkjsbooks
Location:West Virginia
Gender:female
Quality: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
skip to main | skip to sidebar
Monday, November 28, 2011
The final summit. by Andy Abdrews
Having never read any thing by Andy Andrews i didn't know what to expect,and with this book i liked his writing but i just couldn't connect with the story. I think it had to do with it being part of a series.Trying to connect with the main character was difficult because i felt i was missing part of his background.
Over all i think if you had read the Travelers Gift you should enjoy this book. and while i didn't connect won't keep me from trying another book by this Author.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for The Final Summit: A Quest to Find the One Principle That Will Save Humanity - eBook
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

dangerous theology

Date:September 15, 2011
Customer Avatar
Anna Wood
Location:Mobile, AL
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
There is nothing good to be found in The Final Summit. The theology behind this book is wrong and since it is touted as a Christian book, nothing else really matters.
Where does this book fail? A more appropriate question would be, where doesn’t it fail?
Let’s see…
Sinful men throughout the ages, many of whom weren’t true believers, are called together to help find a solution to mankind’s problems? News alert: God really is God and as such is great and powerful and all-sufficient and doesn’t need our “help” in any way, shape, form or fashion. He certainly wouldn’t call on non-believers. This idea is wrong on so many levels that I can’t count then all.
Gabriel, the Archangel, engages in sinful behavior? Wrong. Wouldn’t, couldn’t, happen.
King David, the man after God’s own heart, touting self-discipline as the solution to mankind’s problems? So, so sad that anyone who calls himself a Christian would write such anti-biblical garbage.
Worldly success makes you great in God’s eyes? “And whosoever will be chief among you, let him be your servant:” Matthew 20: 27
Worst of all? Jesus is ignored completely except as being referred to as “The Boss’ Son”.
Mankind is elevated. Human potential touted. God needs us. Jesus is ignored. Bad. Just plain bad.
Where is the exaltation of God Almighty? Where is repentance? Where is death to self? Where is our need for God? Where is mankind’s sinfulness truly dealt with? Nowhere.
Theological problems with The Summit are numerous and blatant. Sadly, someone of weak or new faith could be seriously hurt by it. Anybody serious about God and His Word will be sickened by it.
The Summit is nothing but humanistic thinking tied up in an ugly bow and presented as a Christian book.
Save your money, your time and your stomach and stay away from this one.
I was provided with a free copy of this book by BookSneeze for purposes of review. I was not required to give a favorable review, simply an honest one.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for The Final Summit: A Quest to Find the One Principle That Will Save Humanity - eBook
This review is fromThe Final Summit.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

The Final Summit – by Andy Andrews

Date:October 8, 2011
Customer Avatar
Genna
Location:Toronto, ON
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The Final Summit (Subtitle: A Quest to Find the One Principle That Will Save Humanity) is the second book in a series beginning with “The Traveller’s Gift”. You do NOT need to read the first book in order to enjoy the second though, as I found out unwittingly.
The story is essentially a fantasy wherein main character is David Ponder, a man chosen by God to head up a summit (conference) -- of people comprised of hundreds of notable characters from world history – to attempt to use their collective knowledge, insight, wisdom, and faith to answer a question put to them by God. The task is crucial because only if they find the correct answer will humanity be saved. The question asked is: What must humanity to, both individually and collectively, to restore itself to the path of successful civilization?
After reading this book I felt compelled to look up some of Andrews’ other titles from the library and read them as well and I can tell you, his writing has improved by leaps and bounds between The Traveller’s Gift and this book, The Final Summit. But he’s still got a long way to go. In addition to some awkward points, I found that a lot of his content from other books was repeated word for word in this one. But I would suggest you give this book a chance because I would say the best presentation of his insights are found in this book and they ARE really great insights. They’ve been helpful to me and to the others I recommended the book to immediately after reading.
Two things about the book bothered me though. First, although this book has a Christian lean, the message of the gospel is conspicuously absent. And that surprised me since it plays right into the “ultimate question” that is posed.
Second, the end is a little…anti-climactic? I can’t really say anything more than that without spoiling. But beware – you will be absolutely blessed through reading through the book until you get to the end…then you may be a little disappointed…but you’ll still be able to go back to what you learned in reading it in the first place and it will still have been worth it.
I suppose one thing to keep in mind is that this book is unique in that it seeks to be a self-help book first and good fiction second. And I think that’s an awesome way to get a message across. You’re intrigued by the characters, but what they’re teaching you about yourself is what Andrews wants you to focus on, so sometimes he sacrifices on plot in order to focus on that.
All in all an excellent read. And you’ll learn a lot about some pretty amazing figures throughout history along the way.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for The Final Summit: A Quest to Find the One Principle That Will Save Humanity - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Surprisely good!

Date:August 12, 2011
Customer Avatar
Rammy
Location:Tampa, FL
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
When I first started reading this book I realy felt that it was a bit too sci-fi for me personally but as I continued to read I realized that it is more like seeing things from God view of time. Gabriel assembled the travelers from times previous and presented to ask them a question that would solve the problems that we as humanity are experiencing. They were timed by an hour glass and had a limited number of tries. The group came up with serveral answers and were confident that each one was correct. Gabriel kept saying for each answer that is was part of the truth. Time is quickly running out and they still do not know the correct answer. Read the book to learn if they finally find an answer that Gabriel will accept. The thought process to find the answer is very thought provoking and very well suited to my needs at this time.
Loved it,
Rammy
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for The Final Summit: A Quest to Find the One Principle That Will Save Humanity - eBook
This review is fromThe Final Summit.
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Not what I expected

Date:September 19, 2011
Customer Avatar
daisykay3
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This book is an easy and quick read. It keeps your interest by introducing familiar characters in a new way and give you a glimpse into how they would respond to the question being asked. David Ponder is a time traveler who encounters other time travelers such as Abraham Lincoln and others that give advice to help others go through life. David goes with the Archangel Michael to heaven to answer a question that will determine the fate of humanity but he only has 5 tries to answer it. He isn't alone in his quest as he is joined by all time travelers throughout history. Certain time travelers have been chosen to help him in his quest to uncover the answer to the question using their own life experiences to bring them closer to the answer.
I found that I was upset by what the answer to the question was. It wasn't what you would think it would be as a request from God to find such an answer to save humanity. Although there were many important people throughout history that we can learn from, I highly doubt that their example is one that we should follow. I would have expected the answer to line up with scripture but it didn't. If you just want to read a good, quick read, then this book is one for you. If you're expecting to learn something profound and life-changing, keep looking.
I received this book free from Booksneeze and this review is my own and does not express the opinion of Booksneeze.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for The Final Summit: A Quest to Find the One Principle That Will Save Humanity - eBook
This review is fromThe Final Summit.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

A decent, entertaining read

Date:September 16, 2011
Customer Avatar
Triple Shot
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
The Final Summit by Andy Andrews is a decent read overall if you are looking to be entertained, but not looking for sound spiritual enlightenment. It is a quick, catchy read and will hold your attention decently. However, I am not sure that it lives up to the hype that he is the next C.S. Lewis. I found his worldview to be questionable, at least in this book.
The "solution" to save the world ironically includes no mention of the true savior Jesus Christ... strange coming from a Christian publishing company. Perhaps it would be better used as an encouragement to persist, work hard, and be an honest person - all things I can agree with, but don't look here for spiritual enlightenment. It was interesting to see the gathering of historical characters (some of them non-believers) that Andrews uses to collaborate on how to 'save the world.'
Entertaing, yes. Spiritually fulfilling, maybe not. Just my .02.
I received this book free of charge from Book Sneeze in return for my honest opinion written in the form of a review. I received no other compensation.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for The Final Summit: A Quest to Find the One Principle That Will Save Humanity - eBook
This review is fromThe Final Summit.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Learn Character From The Leaders The Past

Date:September 13, 2011
Customer Avatar
Pastor
Location:Wisconsin
Age:45-54
Gender:male
THE FINAL SUMMIT BOOK REVIEW
"The Final Summit" was written by Andy Andrews as the second book in a series with the first book in the series being named, "The Traveler's Gift". You don't have to read the first book first. Each stand alone. I am not a big fan of Science Fiction, but I did enjoy the book after I got into it for a couple of chapters. I enjoyed meeting characters from history such as: Abraham Lincoln, Winston Churchill, Anne Frank, etc.
The main character of the book is a finctional character named David Ponder. David is grieving the death of his wife. The angel, Gabriel comes to him and takes him to this final summit where he meets these and other characters from history. Their job is to come up with a two word answer to the question, "What does humanity need to do, individually and collectively, to restore itself to the pathyway to successful civilization?" I kept trying to think of the answer myself as I read the book.
I enjoyed the many character lessons throughout the book. I learned much from them.
I would recommend this book.
I received this book free as an ebook from the publisher through BookSneeze.com as part of the review bloogers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions expressed are my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for The Final Summit: A Quest to Find the One Principle That Will Save Humanity - eBook
This review is fromThe Final Summit.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

An easy-to-read book with interesting points

Date:September 9, 2011
Customer Avatar
mindxing
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This book presents an interesting situation. Prominent people through all of human history have been gathered together to come up with the "final solution" to man. In fact, if the panel of people doesn't come up with "the solution" then humanity will be wiped out.
The book is offered in a Christian religious context but it is far from theologically sound -- and I don't believe it is trying to be. Readers looking for a deep spiritual story should look elsewhere. However, it is interesting from a humanistic perspective. We get to see characters from history and interact with them as they try to solve this all important problem.
In the end I felt the book was a little anticlimactic. The journey was more interesting than the destination. I would recommend this book as mild entertainment and light reading.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze®.com <http://BookSneeze®.com> book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 <http://www.access.gpo.gov/nara/cfr/waisidx_03/16cfr255_03.html> : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for The Final Summit: A Quest to Find the One Principle That Will Save Humanity - eBook
This review is fromThe Final Summit.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A must read

Date:August 22, 2011
Customer Avatar
FSLP
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Andy Andrews captured my attention in his writing from the onset of The Final Summit: A Quest to Find the Principle that Will Save Humanity. Knowing it was a sequel to The Time Traveler’s Gift, I was concerned I would be lost reading The Final Summit. However, this book is very much a standalone book, one that does not need explanation or introduction. Andy Andrews has a way of approaching societal issues with an eloquence and profound ability to leave the reader searching for his or her own abilities to make a difference in their world. Andrews challenges the reader to look beyond their own thoughts and beliefs and to dig deeper than the fundamentals to search out a more meaningful substantial answer to the issues of today. The question Andrews sets before David Ponder, and the collection of time travelers, is a relevant question we (society as a whole) should be considering as our civilization tumbles towards the future. The Final Summit gives hope to the thought that we as a person, a community, a society can individually and collectively make a difference in the world around us.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for The Final Summit: A Quest to Find the One Principle That Will Save Humanity - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Highly Recommended Not Just for Christians

Date:June 25, 2011
Customer Avatar
The Phantom Paragrapher
Location:Tauranga, New Zealand
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Review: The Final Summit - Andy Andrews - April 2011
Have you read "The Traveller" by Andy Andrews ? Are you a fan of Richard Paul Evan's books ? , For me I found reading The Final Summit similar to as I was reading a Richard Paul Evan's novel as they both have one thing in common - well two if you count that they are both Christianity based. They are somewhat inspirational to the reader , and they each leave something different depending on the person reading it. When I first read The Traveller , I was at the stage where non-fiction didn't really do it for me , but I had read a review and I thought "that actually sounds like a good book" and as I was reading it , because of the way it was written - you actually forgot you were reading something factual in a sense as it reads like a chapter book. The same goes for Andy Andrews latest release "The Final Summit" , this novel follows the same protagnist "David" on a quest to find the one principle that will save the whole world's humanity. We read as David is reunited with the sarcastic and snarky angel Gabriel and we read in fascination as David goes back in time to various people of importance in history, to find out their view on Humanity and their principles . We see David Interview Winston Churchill , Joan of Arc and of course Honest Abe - Abraham Lincoln. After reading the book, I was inspired to check out Andy's website and discovered that with the various people David met with - Andy has set up each week - A bit of a Meet and Greet listing the Inspirational Person's details , quotes from them and the excerpts in his book e.g Anne Frank as Anne tells David about her family calling her a Pollyanna and then Anne presenting David with her diary that we have all read plenty of times.
If History, People, Philosophy, Religion and even Biographies are your thing- then I highly recommend you all to read "The Final Summit" and his first book "The Traveller".
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for The Final Summit: A Quest to Find the One Principle That Will Save Humanity - eBook
This review is fromThe Final Summit.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

I loved the concept of this book.

Date:July 27, 2011
Customer Avatar
squidmom
Location:San Angelo, Tx
Age:25-34
Gender:female
This book's main character is David Ponder, who first appeared in the book The Time Traveler. I did not read The Time Traveler but I still enjoyed this book. David and a team of historical figures are chosen and must answer the question"What does humanity need to do, individually and collectively, to restore itself to the pathway toward successful civilization?" The correct answer can save the world from empending destruction.
Thinking on the answer to this question myself made the book an intriguing read. I also liked how Andrews protrayed the historical figures in this book. It made them seem more human.
I have recommended to book to several others and found it to be very interesting and thought provoking.
I recieved the book through the BookSneeze blogger's program, I did not recieve compensation and all opinions are my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for The Final Summit: A Quest to Find the One Principle That Will Save Humanity - eBook
This review is fromThe Final Summit.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:July 22, 2011
Customer Avatar
boylescs02
Location:Martinsburg, WV
Age:25-34
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
The Final Summit by Andy Andrews
This is the latest install of a series of books around the character David Ponder. I have not read the book preceding this book, but I am going to go back through and read them. The series revolves around time travel and meeting those of significance before us such as Abraham Lincoln and Winston Churchill, but as also meet one of the archangels Gabriel.
At first I found it difficult to read because I don’t have the back story. So once I got through the first few chapters, I found that I didn’t want to put it down. The book is a series of conversations between David Ponder and other past greats in history (you need to read to find out who, since it is a mystery until they appear). The conversations are to answer one question; What does humanity need to do, individually and collectively, to restore itself to the pathway toward successful civilization?
Know this book may not be for everyone, but those that enjoy history and wonder how those from the past might address those of our time; this book is up your alley. I found myself being drawn in to the conversation, almost as if I were there watching. I would recommend this book, but would recommend that you start with the other Andy Andrew books first, to get the back story.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze®.com <http://BookSneeze®.com> book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 <http://www.access.gpo.gov/nara/cfr/waisidx_03/16cfr255_03.html> : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for The Final Summit: A Quest to Find the One Principle That Will Save Humanity - eBook
This review is fromThe Final Summit.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Where was God?

Date:July 15, 2011
Customer Avatar
kelisni
Age:25-34
Gender:female
The Final Summit was a very intriguing book. I will say that I do not agree with decisions that were made in the book, but that’s jumping ahead of myself.
David Ponder was visited by the archangel Gabriel when he was younger. Not only was he visited by Gabriel, but several other figures in history. In order for his wife to know that he was telling the truth, he took her to the Anne Frank museum and told his wife things that only Anne had told him. These figures in history are brought in to the one thing that David was born to do, help save humanity.
Gabriel visits David at one of his deepest times in life, soon after his wife dies. Gabriel explains that David has been chosen to lead a summit that will determine the outcome of humanity, whether “the Man upstairs” will save it or destroy it. People such as Winston Churchill, Benjamin Franklin, Albert Einstein, King David, and Anne Frank are at this summit meeting. David and Churchill are given 5 opportunities to come up with the answer that will save humanity. They are given the opportunity to call upon 5 different “Travelers” to help them with the answer. They do not know who they are, but find out once David asks for another Traveler to help them.
Several answers are given and none of them correct. Just when the sands in the hourglass are speeding along, someone shouts the correct answer. I was very disappointed in the answers that the author came up with. None of them were about God. King David at one point came into the discussion and never said anything about God being the answer to save humanity. It was all about what man can do. Man can do nothing apart from God.
Another issue I had about the book was that God was never mentioned by name. It was implied by words such as “Boss” being capitalized. I do not know if the author claims to be a Christian, but I was disappointed in a Christian publishing company endorsing a book that really had nothing to do with God. Matthew 19:26 states “With man this is impossible, but with God all things are possible."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12345 ...7Next >>>