Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Thomas Nelson Lilly's Wedding Quilt - eBook

Thomas Nelson Lilly's Wedding Quilt - eBook

Local Amish schoolteacher Lilly Lapp is tired of weddings, afraid of horses, and immersed in caring for her depressed mother. But when Jacob Wyse, a handsome horse breeder from her small community rescues her from a dangerous accident, Lilly discovers a renewed interest in life and the possibility of love.

Yet Jacob has lost the one true love of his life to another man and doesn't care to expose himself to the vulnerabilities of loving again. God works to bring this unlikely pair into a sweet romance to produce a pattern of faith, which leads to the creation and comfort of Lilly's Wedding Quilt.

Average Customer Rating:
4.909 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(22 Reviews) 22
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (22 reviews)
5 stars
20
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
22 out of 22100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Lilly's Wedding Quilt - eBook
Review 1 for Lilly's Wedding Quilt - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

tantalizing yet tasteful romance

Date:February 5, 2013
Customer Avatar
A Simply Enchanted Life
Location:North Carolina
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Lilly’s Wedding Quilt is book two in in the Patch of Heaven series by Kelly Long. I have enjoyed this series so much that I devoured the first three books in just a few days’ time. I am really hoping that there will be more books in the series. Kelly Long has a way of drawing you in with her vivid writing. It is, in my opinion, a little more spine tingling in the romance department. However, it isn’t trashy. It is very tasteful and yet deliciously enticing. It is the right amount of romance with enough reserve so that it is still wholesome.
About the Story:
Sarah is getting married to Grant Williams and Jacob is completely shattered. When he finds himself a victim of a gunshot wound, it is the local school teacher that cares for him and shelters him from possible arrest. While covering up for Jacob, the community demands an answer to his whereabouts. Lilly takes a stand and announces to the community that he was with her. The problem is—this means people will now question both Jacob and Lilly’s reputation. Knowing this, Jacob steps in with a marriage proposal for Lilly and though she knows that he still loves Sarah—she accepts. Lilly has loved Jacob for years but he always had his eyes on Sarah. She is determined to make Jacob love her and though he has feelings for someone else; he takes his marriage vows seriously and with God’s help begins a journey of finding love with Lilly.
Lilly understands Jacob on a level he never thought possible. She understands what he responds to and starts to chip at the the icy exterior he has built over his heart. Honestly, the romance in this book was spine-tingling. Jacob has to be one of my new book crushes. Holy WOW! He is one deliciously written book character. I nearly wanted to step inside the pages and steal him away from Lilly! Sarah was a fool for giving up this gem! Although, Lilly is a much better fit for him. If you like Amish romance and wanted a little something more tantalizing and yet tasteful, this is the book to read!
I did think that some of the things in this book might be a little off for an Amish community but I still enjoyed it. I was able to overlook the few things that I thought were probably a bit inaccurate. Overall though, masterfully written and alive with emotion. This is going on my favorites shelf!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Lilly's Wedding Quilt - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 30, 2012
Customer Avatar
aunt sid
Location:ontario canada
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
loved it...cant wait for book 3!! keeps you wanting more of all the characters
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Lilly's Wedding Quilt - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Loved this one too!

Date:December 28, 2011
Customer Avatar
Lesa Brassette
Location:Grand Junction, CO
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I must tell you that I really love Kelly Long's writing style and stories. This was another great book that I kept rushing back to time and again. I hated to see it end.
I found myself wanting to cheer Lilly on, "You go girl!"
This book should not be missed! You'll become a fan of Kelly Long too!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Lilly's Wedding Quilt - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Lillly's Wedding Quilt

Date:October 16, 2011
Customer Avatar
Debbie
Location:Yukon, OK
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Thomas Nelson has provided me with a complimentary copy of this book-Lilly’s Wedding Quilt.
Book Description
Local Amish schoolteacher Lilly Lapp is tired of weddings, afraid of horses, and immersed in caring for her depressed mother. But when Jacob Wyse, a handsome horse breeder from her small community rescues her from a dangerous accident, Lilly discovers a renewed interest in life and the possibility of love.
Yet Jacob has lost the one true love of his life to another man and doesn't care to expose himself to the vulnerabilities of loving again. God works to bring this unlikely pair into a sweet romance to produce a pattern of faith, which leads to the creation and comfort of Lilly's Wedding Quilt.
My Review
This book is the 2nd book in A Patch of Heaven Series by Kelly Long. This book was very good, in fact it was so good that I couldn’t put it down. Kelly Long is a GREAT Amish Author, one that I will definitely look for again.
When it starts, Lilly has to take care of her mother and is also a schoolteacher. I don’t know how anyone could do this, but the Lord gives her strength I guess. But, when Lilly comes across Jacob Wyse again, she remembers how she feels about Jacob. She has loves him from when they were children. Jacob has issues though, he still loves another woman who got married to another man. This is definitely a book you would love especially if you love the Amish as much as I do.
Both Lilly and Jacob have to realize how they feel about each other and it is GREAT how the Lord brings them together in this book.
I loved this book so much that I would most definitely suggest it to my family and friends.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Lilly's Wedding Quilt - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Reading this book was very relaxing

Date:August 3, 2011
Customer Avatar
Pastor Dan
Location:Wichita, KS
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am really enjoying Kelly Long's "Patch of Heaven" series. This is the second novel in the series and again Kelly hits a home run with this one.
Lilly has adored Jacob for most of her life. She is fairly sure that she loves him, but the problem is that Jacob has loved Sarah his whole life and the entire community knows that. He has not been able to hide his infatuation with Sarah from others. But in the last novel we found that Sarah had fallen in love with Grant Williams, the new Englisch Veterinarian who has moved into their community. So, what is to happen with Jacob now that his beloved Sarah is to marry Grant?
The novel opens with a horse thief trying to get away with his catch, only to be shot by the owner of the horse. But he is only wounded and gets away with his prize. Next we find Lilly headed out to Sarah's wedding only to find herself in trouble with her horse in a terrible cold rain storm. Lilly stops and trudges to a barn with her horse in tow to try and get the horse dry and warm. There she finds Jacob tending to a young horse that appears to have been beaten.
What we discover is that Jacob is the thief and has been shot. Lilly helps him with his wound and then together they head off to the wedding. When they arrive Jacob's mother wants to know where he has been all night. He tells his mom that he will explain later.
At about the same time the Englisch police show up and want to talk with Jacob. Lilly states that Jacob has been with her all night, thus giving him an alibi. Everyone gasps at the statement. But then it is further complicated with Jacob and Lilly announce that they are engaged and getting married. Well that is news to everyone, including them. But it does get them off the hook with the police.
What follows is a delightful story about how two people find love in each others presence. Jacob and Lilly get married and have to work through all of the difficulties of Jacob loving another woman.
The story is well written, enjoyable to read and there are several story lines that run through the book. One, what will happen with Jacob's infatuation with Sarah? Two, will Jacob and Lilly find love in each other's arms? Three, will Lilly's mom (who lost her husband two years before) get over her depression and be healed? Four, will Seth, Jacob's brother find love? Five, will Tommy learn to love life and trust people (you have got to read to find out). Oh, and last, what will happen with Kate Zook? Kate is the troublesome young woman who is flirting with Jacob and trying to intervene herself in the middle of everything.
There are loads of story lines and all are well developed. I loved the book and can't wait for the next installment. I'm sure you will enjoy this book as well.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Lilly's Wedding Quilt - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A hard to put down book.

Date:August 25, 2011
Customer Avatar
LoveMy2Dogs
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
With Lilly Lapp being in love with Jacob, who has had his eyes and heart sat on Sarah King for as long as he can remember is hard for Lilly. But it is even harder for Jacob when it is time for Sarah to marry. This is when Jacob gets himself into some trouble and this is also the time when he and Lilly start their friendship.
Their quick words and not so smart thinking gets them into a bit of a bind as they unexpectedly announce their engagement to cover up Jacob's overnight disappearance. In order to keep every thing on the up and up they go through with the wedding even though Lilly knows in her heart that Jacob is still in love with Sarah.
I love how their friendship blossoms and how their love kindles in this book. I have never read a book by Kelly Long before and I am hoping that their is another book in this series.
I definitely give this book 5 stars!!
You can see my complete review at: http://lovemy2dogs.blogspot.com/2011/08/book-review-lillys-wedding-quilt-by.html
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Lilly's Wedding Quilt - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Pleasant read

Date:August 11, 2011
Customer Avatar
happy reader
Location:St.Louis,MO
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Book two in the A Patch of Heaven series.While i didn't think it was as good as book one(Sarah's Garden) i still enjoyed reading this book. It lacked the Humor,the many different story lines and the can't stand to put it down excitement that i felt in the first book. Its mainly about Lily and Jacob and while it had a happy ending it just seemed to lag the spark.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Lilly's Wedding Quilt - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Page Turner

Date:August 1, 2011
Customer Avatar
Sylvia
Location:CT
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Lilly Lapp, in love with a man who loves someone else. Jacob Wyse, a jilted suitor turned horse thief. Lilly's mother, who suffers from depression. Jacob and Lilly's impulsive engagement and subsequent marriage. In Lilly's Wedding quilt, Kelly Long brings characters and circumstances together to create a personable and interesting story.
Lilly encounters Jacob and attempts to provide first aid for a gunshot wound he has suffered. When they arrive late to a wedding together, the people of their Amish community raise their eyebrows. When police interrupt the reception to question Jacob about a stolen horse, Lilly says that he had been with her the previous night. To protect her reputation, Jacob says that they had been discussing their engagement. Lilly quickly agrees, though she knows that Jacob still loves someone else. To further complicate matters, Lilly's mother disapproves of their engagement. Lilly likens the unusual circumstances of her and Jacob's marriage to the pieces of a quilt, which when they are stitched together, make something beautiful. Lilly and Jacob learn to trust God to put the pieces of their lives together to create a loving marriage. They also learn how to let God work in the life of Lilly's mother. Kelly Long's portrayal of their journey is tender and her characters are tender and varied. The reader eagerly turns pages to find out how each situation is resolved.
Lilly's Wedding Quilt is written by Kelly Long and published by Thomas Nelson, Nashville: 2011. This book was provided free for review by Thomas Nelson, Inc., and I have received no other compensation for writing this review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Lilly's Wedding Quilt - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

greeat book

Date:June 17, 2011
Customer Avatar
purplemama47
Location:New Columbia PA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book is a don't put down book. Can't stop reading.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Lilly's Wedding Quilt - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great

Date:June 17, 2011
Customer Avatar
Peggy Eatmon
Location:Bailey, NC
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to anyone who likes to read. It is completely captivating.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Lilly's Wedding Quilt - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Lilly's Wedding Quilt - A Great Read!!

Date:June 10, 2011
Customer Avatar
Judy K Burgi
Location:Kendallville, IN
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The two main characters in this book are Jacob Wyse and Lilly Lapp. The story begins with Jacob stealing a horse from an Englischer. Lilly is on her way to Sarah King and Grant Williams wedding when she decides to stop at Deacon Zook's barn to get her horse out of the pouring rain. There she finds Jacob with a bullet wound in is arm. Sarah tends to Jacob's wound and convinces him that he needs to attend his former girlfriends wedding. (Jacob still has feelings for Sarah). They show up late and everyone is curious to why they came in together. A knock comes at the door and in walks a police officer looking for the horse thief. When he focus's on Jacob, Lilly comes forth and says that Jacob was with her. Jacob is surprised that Lilly a school teacher would come to his defense. Jacob blurts out that he and Lilly had been together to discuss their wedding plans.
This is where I will stop with this review. I do not want to give anything away in this review that would be a spoiler. I promise you that you will not be disappointed if you buy this book. Kelly is one of my favorite Amish fiction writers and she hasn't disappointed me yet!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Lilly's Wedding Quilt - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Absolutely Riveting!

Date:May 22, 2011
Customer Avatar
Melanie Schlatter
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I don't usually write reviews but I just HAD to with this book. I read Kelly's first book and eagerly waited for book 2...I was NOT disappointed. I read the Google Preview here and ordered the book ASAP. When it arrived, I sat and read the entire book in one setting. And now, I've started to read it a second time through. Bottom line, the writing is real, thought out, emotionally pulling, action packed but sensitive too. This book is SUPERB!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Lilly's Wedding Quilt - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

excellent book

Date:March 31, 2011
Customer Avatar
joyfulnana
Location:Coal Township, Pa.
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I really enjoyed this book. It is the type of book that when you start to read it you just cann't put it down, This book it about Lilly an Old Order Amish school Teacher. Lilly is late for the wedding of Sarah King who Jacob Wyse was determined to marry but she was marring another man. Sarah's horse is acting strange and it is raining and Sarah is getting wet finally the horse stops and Sarah knows she has to get him to shelter she is near a barn and as she opens the door a man stares down at her it is Jacob. When he took off his coat to give to her as she was soaked from the rain she noticed blood on his shirt and she knew he was the horse theive the Englisch police officer was looking for. Sarah changed into clothing of Jacobs mother which were to short for her and she and Jacob went to the wedding. The police officer arrived at the wedding looking for the horse theif when Jacob was questioned where he was last evening Sarah spoke up and said he was with me. Jacob did not want her to throw away her reputation so Jacob said ya it is true we were talking aboutour future. Congratulate us on our engagement. Sarah told Jacob that before she spoke up in his defense she had the idea of quilt. They are made from scraps of material but never from a whole piece of cloth.She likes quilting and if God gives us the ability to put pices of scraps together to make beautiful quilts how much more of a gift does He give us to put scraps of lives together for His glory.
An Amish girl works on a quilt before she is married and the women and girls help her Lilly has not had time to make a quilt because teaching and taking care of her sick mother has keep her busy. This is a book you must read to see how God works things out in their lives. DISCLOSURE OF MATERIAL CONNECTION: I received this book free from Thomas Nelson Publishing. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Lilly's Wedding Quilt - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 18, 2011
Customer Avatar
bluebonnet
Location:Tx
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This was an exceptional bppk. It brings out all your emotions. Kelly keeps you on the edge of your seat and you are so caught up in the book that you cant put it down. You learn about the concept of the wedding quilt and the books stitches it all toget her and this is one book you will reread over and over. I read book 1 and then 2 and thought Kelly did an amazing job and cant wait to see book 3.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Lilly's Wedding Quilt - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

The best surprise is one you would never expect.

Date:April 9, 2011
Customer Avatar
schoolmarm
Location:Heber Springs, AR
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The wedding quilt is something every Amish bride looks
forward to having. Lilly, however, due to circumstances
and a quick wedding was sure she would never have one.
Little did she know the tenacity and kindness of her new
husband.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Lilly's Wedding Quilt - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great Amish fiction book

Date:March 23, 2011
Customer Avatar
Janet P
Location:El Cajon, CA
I recently read Lilly's Wedding Quilt, A Patch of Heaven Novel Series 2, by Kelly Long. I'm a fan of Amish fiction, so I was looking forward to reading this book as I have read some of the author's other books and have enjoyed them.
The story is about a young Amish woman named Lilly Lapp who is in love with Jacob. Jacob has only had eyes for another Amish woman, Sarah King, who ends up marrying someone else. Jacob impulsively asks Lilly to marry him on the morning of Sarah King's wedding, and Lilly and Jacob announce their engagement at Sarah's wedding reception.
Lilly hopes that one day Jacob will forget about Sarah and eventually love her and decides to leave it up to God. In the meantime, Jacob has also been praying about his feelings. The story has a happy (and predictable) conclusion. A great read and if you're not familiar with Amish fiction, there is a glossary at the beginning of the book with Dutch words and phrases to familiarize yourself. I would recommend this book to others.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Lilly's Wedding Quilt - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Great Example of "Amish Fiction"

Date:March 21, 2011
Customer Avatar
Vanessa of HHCreations
Location:Pennsylvania
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Lilly’s Wedding Quilt" is an Amish fiction novel written by Kelly Long. I didn’t realize when selecting this book to review that it was the 2nd book in the "Patch of Heaven" series, but I assure you I will be going back to read Book 1: "Sarah’s Garden" as soon as I am able, as well as the next book in the series when it comes out. In the meantime, let me share more about "Lilly’s Wedding Quilt".
The following is a brief description that was given about the book:
“She isn’t looking for love. He’s mending a broken heart. It will take divine intervention for these two to get together. Local Amish schoolteacher Lilly Lapp is tired of weddings, afraid of horses, and immersed in caring for her depressed mother. But when Jacob Wyse, a handsome horse breeder from her small community rescues her from a dangerous accident, Lilly discovers a renewed interest in life and the possibility of love. Yet Jacob has lost the one true love of his life to another man and doesn’t care to expose himself to the vulnerabilities of loving again.
God works to bring this unlikely pair into a sweet romance to produce a pattern of faith, which leads to the creation and comfort of Lilly’s Wedding Quilt.“
What I think about it:
I enjoy reading a book that I can get into right away, and Kelly Long’s writing style and storyline helped me to do just that. I was eager to find out more about each character’s personality and traits as the story unfolded. Plus it was an added bonus to learn about the little tidbits of Amish living and customs, as well as bits of Pennsylvania Dutch words and phrases that Long slipped into the characters’ thoughts and conversations, making the story all the more “real” and true to its inspiration. As you read the story, you can easily find yourself sharing in Lilly’s and Jacob’s feelings of frustration when faced with another personal and marital barrier, as well as excitement and accomplishment when they make another step forward in growing together as husband and wife. I also find it heartwarming and encouraging how they turn to God as new events, both good and unpleasant, pop up along their journey. It brings to mind that God gives purpose and meaning to things even when we, or in this case Lilly and Jacob, don’t understand why right away.
Would I recommend this book to friends and fellow readers? Absolutely! As I mention before, I plan on reading "Sarah’s Garden" as soon as I am able and look forward to adding similar Amish fiction books to my to-read list. Thanks to this book, Kelly Long will be added to my list of favorite Christian authors for sure!! If you happen to pick up a copy of "Lilly’s Wedding Quilt", I hope that you enjoy it as much as I did!
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze®.com book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Lilly's Wedding Quilt - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

CANT WAIT FOR THE NEXT ONE!!!!!!

Date:March 17, 2011
Customer Avatar
making magick
Location:Iowa
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have been unpatiently waiting for this 2nd book in this series. I have to say, out of all the new Amish Fiction writers out there, SHE IS AWESOME! I cant wait for the next one and hope it isnt as long a wait as this one was. HINT!!!!! This story had so many different elements in it , that you were interested throughout the whole book, each page had something new and interesting to hold your attention. I read this in one day, and I read LOTS OF BOOKS, but this one was exceptional in all ways. Please keep writing these winners, but please get them out a little sooner as I will be waiting for the next one just as UNpatient as I did this one!!!!!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Lilly's Wedding Quilt - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Wonderful

Date:March 14, 2011
Customer Avatar
Childoftheking84
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I recently had the chance to review and read this book. I love Amish Fiction! I didn't know that this was book two in a series, so while waiting I checked out the first one in the series and read it. What a nice read. It is about Lilly who is the school teacher in the Amish community and lives at home with her mother who suffers from depression. Jacob is a Amish Man whose first love that never loved him back has feel in love and gets married. One night he took a horse from a house who was abusing the horse and was shot. Lilly helps him hide the wound until he can get help when he happens to pass by Lilly as she has slipped on some ice and they go back to his house and she gets fresh clothes and they make their way to the wedding of his first love sarah. At the wedding the police bust in and claim he is the horse thief and out from behind him,Lilly says he was with her last night. With her reputation on the line. He makes up a story that they were together talking about their engagment. So after everybody believes them they wind up married. He's in love still with his first love and Lilly knows it will never be a real marriage. It all started out to just hide the lie. In the end though things start happening and it turns out great. Can't give away the ending, but I enjoyed the book and it really drew me in to the characters. Great book!
I got this free from booksneeze.com for my honest review
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Lilly's Wedding Quilt - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great book!

Date:March 14, 2011
Customer Avatar
cyndidd
Location:Troy, MO
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I enjoyed my copy of Lilly's Wedding Quilt. Until now, I had not read any books by Kelly Long. And I am impressed. She is a very good author. In fact, I would rank her up there with Wanda Brunstetter and Beth Wiseman.
In this book, Lilly is a schoolteacher. Her daed passed away some time before, and her mamm does not like to get out often. So, Lilly's life consists of teaching, taking care of her mamm, and attending church. Until she leaves for her friend's wedding one day. Then her life changes. Within a matter of hours she is engaged to marry a horse thief who is already in love with someone else.
Lilly's Wedding Quilt is book #2 in the Patch of Heaven series. But, it is a great stand alone book. I would recommend this book to anyone, and I look forward to reading more of Kelly Long's books.
-------------------------------------------------------------------------
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze.com <http://BookSneeze.com> book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 <http://www.access.gpo.gov/nara/cfr/waisidx_03/16cfr255_03.html> : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>