Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Zondervan Every Body Matters: Strengthening Your Body to Strengthen Your Soul - eBook

Zondervan Every Body Matters: Strengthening Your Body to Strengthen Your Soul - eBook

Average Customer Rating:
4.556 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(9 Reviews) 9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (9 reviews)
5 stars
5
4 stars
4
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
9 out of 9100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Every Body Matters: Strengthening Your Body to Strengthen Your Soul - eBook
Review 1 for Every Body Matters: Strengthening Your Body to Strengthen Your Soul - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Loved, loved, loved this book

Date:February 18, 2013
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Location:martinezsylvia09@gmail.com
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I just loved, loved, loved this book.  I purchased this book after listening to Focus on the Family.  I was intrigued by a part of the book the author was reading about the sloth in the Bible and the modern day version of it.  I finished this book in four days.  It is truly an inspirational book.  I have been on my journey to getting healthy and fit but I came to a halt.  After reading this book I am getting back on track.  We should not become soft but ready for what good work God has for us.  Thank you for such a great book I am now inspired to reboot my fitness and healthy lifestyle.  If you feel it is time for a change.  That you are tired of feeling. The way you feel.  Ask God to help you and pick up this book it will help you in the right direction.  God Bless
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Every Body Matters: Strengthening Your Body to Strengthen Your Soul - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A must read!

Date:September 29, 2012
Customer Avatar
Daniel
Location:Bath, ME
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I just finished this book and I can say that this is the kind of book that can change lives. It shows how the physical and spiritual impact each other. If we ignore one aspect of our lives the other will suffer as well. It is very motivational in nature. By cultivating good physical health we make ourselves more available to be used by God.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Every Body Matters: Strengthening Your Body to Strengthen Your Soul - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great Book for Encouragement

Date:March 16, 2012
Customer Avatar
Doreen renewing strength
Location:Tampa Fl
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I received this book free from Zondervan Publishing as part of the blogger review program.
I needed this book and timing was perfect. Mr. Thomas takes scripture and points to the much needed encouragement to care for the "temple of the Holy Spirit".
Various sins in our lives are obvious and need to be addressed in our churches. But the gluttony issue never seems to make it to the forefront. BUT, "Many thru the ages have warned against the spiritual dangers of overeating, we would be wise to listen" states Mr. Thomas. Discipline takes on many forms and discipline in one area will bleed over into another area.
If you are one who struggles with a "healthy" balance physically in your life and wants to find some victory, then the personal challenge and encouragement of this book makes it a must read.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Every Body Matters: Strengthening Your Body to Strengthen Your Soul - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Balanced, truthful and grace based approach

Date:February 22, 2012
Customer Avatar
BridgetHaymond
Location:Charlotte, NC
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
“Every Body Matters” by Gary Thomas is a book full of relevant information for the Body of Christ today. This book has been very insightful in making the correlation between the physical body, including healthy eating plus exercise habits, and comparing it to spiritual health via the strength of soul with the corresponding benefits of endurance and self-control. Thomas directly ties this into the ability to fulfill the plan and purpose of God in the Believer’s life.
The author uses a very balanced approach to the subject of carrying too much weight. In referring to the Body Mass Index (BMI) Thomas summarizes it by stating it like this, “Sin can lead us to become overweight but being overweight is not, in and of itself, a sin.” He is quick to point out the drawbacks from carrying too much weight in terms of the decreased mobility, breathlessness, discomfort of moving around and accepting the gradual decline in personal health.
Gary Thomas stresses that caring for our bodies is a form of stewardship that must be taken seriously. The temptation to eat more, sleep more and lie around more rather than engaging in life are the greatest thieves of life purpose. An unfortunate effect of laziness is that it can become an ingrained behavior that spills over from the physical into the spiritual. Physical activity benefits the brain and can help prevent age-related brain fogginess that develops by age 65.
Also covered in this book is the late nineteenth-century movement from England called Muscular Christianity. I had never heard of this movement before and it is one that the modern church would benefit from greatly. Even more fascinating was that movement’s awareness of the need to have a body fit for service to the Lord for an effective, influential, energetic life that commands respect as an effective witness to the world. Their goal was to have Christians ready for the warfare of the Kingdom, by having victory in the warfare of the flesh through the disciplines of self-denial, courage and perseverance.
Thomas notes that we are all susceptible to the draw toward comfort and ease rather than sacrifice and denial. Unfortunately the American church has been so focused on loving and not wanting to hurt people’s feelings that we are guilty of loving them to an early death by not having an honest conversation with them. Even worse is that over weight pastors minister from pulpits across the country giving the impression that there is nothing wrong with all the extra weight. The question is do we love them enough to confront and bring the hidden things of darkness into the light so true freedom can come?
This is a very truthful and grace based approach to a subject that many in the church would rather avoid for fear of offending. Gary Thomas does this beautifully and with a heart that recognizes the value of each individual’s contribution to the overall plan and purpose of God. One of the great things he does is help the reader think about and identify circumstances that make you vulnerable and offer ideas for safeguards that help the reader to fortify their soul against failure. I highly recommend you add this book to your library and pass it along to others when you’re done with it.
By way of disclosure: I received a free review copy of “Every Body Matters” by Gary Thomas from Zondervan in exchange for writing a review—good, bad, or otherwise.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Every Body Matters: Strengthening Your Body to Strengthen Your Soul - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This book will improve your relationship with God

Date:January 28, 2012
Customer Avatar
Bartik
Location:California
Age:18-24
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Every Body Matters by Gary Thomas is a book truly needed for your time and generation. It is to no ones surprise that Americans health has been declining but it may be a surprise that Americans spirituality has been on the decline as well with over 7.9 million people leaving the church annually, this equates to 150,000 people walking away from the church each week!! But is there a correlation? Gary Thomas suggests that there is. Gary reminds us about the importance of our health and how it affects our spiritual life. I personally am not obese or overweight but nonetheless I found this book to be a great reminder to be cautious of my eating habits and my lifestyle.
I’ve known that that the body is the temple of God (1 Cor. 6:19-20) but I’ve never thought how disregarding my fitness level and occasional unhealthy eating my relationship with God. In this book Gary offers us solutions to living healthier and being more spiritual.
The book has also been endorsed by:
Ryan Hall – American long-distance runner and U.S. record holder in the half marathon
Dr. Ed Young – Senior pastor of Second Baptist Church in Huston Texas
I appreciate Gary writing this book because he can relate to the average Joe experiencing problems that the rest of us have when it comes to eating right and exercising. This is a great book with an important message for all believers.
This book has been sent to me by Zondervan for an honest review, the thoughts expressed are based on my honest opinions.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Every Body Matters: Strengthening Your Body to Strengthen Your Soul - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Wonderful way to start the new year!

Date:January 25, 2012
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Why is it that so many Christians decide that physical strength doesn't matter and doesn't affect their heart, soul, and mind? Why is it that we make so many excuses for our lack of discipline when it comes to the physical things but we think that we are so disciplined in other areas? How can we be a disciplined person when this one area is the one that we decide to overlook?
When I was first asked to review this book, I was pretty hesitant. It took several days for me to think about it because I figured it would be another book on health full of information we all know but many choose not to apply. However, after realizing that Gary Thomas wrote it and the fact that I love Sacred Marriage and Sacred Parenting by him, I decided to go for it. I'm so thankful I did! I highly recommend this book so that one can begin recognizing the connection between the sin of letting our bodies go so that we are of no further use to the Kingdom of God. Gary doesn't talk about the fact that obesity is a sin. Instead, he talks about the addiction of food and how we don't lump it in the same category as other sins of addiction, like alcohol, drugs, etc. Some say that the Bible doesn't talk about being overweight so it's okay. I would argue that gluttony is in the Bible and is considered a sin.
Gary brings out some interesting points about how the men of faith, like Paul for example, was pelted with stones, dragged outside the city, and left for dead. Gary writes "If his persecutors thought he was dead, Paul must have been pretty beat-up. Yet we're also told that after they left him, Paul 'got up and went back into the city, and the next day he and Barnabas left for Derbe.' The next day! For the record, Derbe was over sixty miles from Lystra. A physically weak man could never have recovered like that." I loved this comparison because we usually think of these men as someone who is strong spiritually and forget that they also had the physical endurance to press on for God. I think that is why faith is often likened to a race. They knew perseverance. But do we? Do we know perseverance and endurance not just spiritually but also physically?
This book is a great resource and reminder that our bodies need to be in shape. It's not so that we do the "cultural thing" or so we look more appealing. It's so our bodies are ready to carry out the work of God. If we're out of shape, how can we possibly serve to the best of our ability when it comes to the physical things that people in the Church and community need help from Christians to do?
_____________________
I received this book free from Zondervan in exchange for my honest opinion of this book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Every Body Matters: Strengthening Your Body to Strengthen Your Soul - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Working from the inside out

Date:January 24, 2012
Customer Avatar
Organic Shoes
Location:Oklahoma City, OK
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Every Body Matters By: Gary Thomas
We’ve all said it at some point. And since it’s the new year I am betting most of us have said it in the last 2 months more than once, ‘I need to lose weight.’ As one of the most common New Years resolutions every year, the need to lose weight, or get fit it high on everybody’s list, and if you’ve been in the gym recently you can see people starting towards that goal, but over the next few weeks and months those goals will get lost in the crowd until next year when we put it at the top of our list once again in an attempt to conquer our bodies.
Every Body Matters: Strengthening Your Body to Strengthen Your Soul is going to tackle this problem head on, Gary Thomas has pointed out and reminded us that to lose weight for superficial reasons is not where our goal should be, and although for our health is a good reason it should not be the reason. Our bodies should be used to glorify God, and when our bodies are out of shape and are unable to manage to do the work God has called us to do, than there is a problem. Our bodies are instruments for God to use for His purpose, we must prepare to do any good work. Thomas points out he is not saying don’t exercise or don’t try to lose weight, but don’t do it for the wrong reasons, our mindset needs to be focused on Our Creator and to complete His works.
This book is not about weight loss, not about getting healthy physically, it is about how to strengthen your soul, how to strengthen your mind and in turn strengthen your body so that you are prepared for when God calls you, you can complete the tasks He has for you to your fullest ability.
This book was provided to me complimentary from Zondervan in exchange for an honest review. All opinions are my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Every Body Matters: Strengthening Your Body to Strengthen Your Soul - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Different view on physical fitness

Date:January 24, 2012
Customer Avatar
Jill Jones
Location:Opelika, AL
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Lots of people struggle with their weight and never understand why. Could it possibly be because pastors are uncomfortable preaching about gluttony and overeating? Maybe it’s because every church activity is either followed or preceded by feasting. Lots of books, both secular and Christian, discuss fitness and exercise offering diet advice and recipes but often fail to address the root cause. In “Every Body Matters”, Gary Thomas blames our self-centered society on fooling us into believing that we aren’t hurting anyone with our poor eating and exercise habits.
Thomas forces us to confront our bad habits and convicts us into seeing our overeating as selfish and sinful. When we change our habits to include exercise and better food choices we are better able to serve where God has called us. If our bodies are suffering due to poor eating and exercise habits, then our souls will also suffer.
Thomas challenges us to face or overeating and lazy exercise habits and make drastic changes so we can be better servants for God. By confronting the real reason why we are overweight we can make positive changes in our life which will help us lose pounds and maintain a healthy weight.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Zondervan as part of the “Every Body Matters” Blog Tour. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Every Body Matters: Strengthening Your Body to Strengthen Your Soul - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:January 1, 2012
Customer Avatar
shannon
Location:midwest
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I'll be honest when I first agreed to read this book I really didn't think I'd get a lot out of it. I eat a healthy, well balanced vegan diet. I get exercise daily and make wholesome food for my family. But this book was more then eat healthy, get your exercise, make wise choices for your body. This was a mind, body and soul book. This book is not just about fitness so don't let that scare you off from reading it, give Every Body Matters a try.
thank you zondervan for sending me this review copy
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.