Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Zondervan A Life of Joy: A Novel - eBook

Zondervan A Life of Joy: A Novel - eBook

Take a trip to Bird-in-Hand, Pennsylvania, where you'll meet the women of the Kauffman Amish Bakery in Lancaster County. As each woman's story unfolds, you will share in her heartaches, trials, joys, dreams . and secrets. You'll discover how the simplicity of the Amish lifestyle can clash with the "English" way of life-and the decisions and consequences that follow. Most importantly, you will be encouraged by the hope and faith of these women, and the importance they place on their families. In A Life of Joy, the fourth installment in the series, eighteen-year-old Lindsay Bedford has reached a crossroads. Should she stay in the small Amish community she's known and loved for four years or return to the English life in her hometown in Virginia where her older sister is a college student? An extended visit to Virginia might just tip the scales as Lindsay reconnects with friends, joins a new church, works on her GED, and is pressured by her sister to stay and "make something of herself."
Average Customer Rating:
4.824 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(17 Reviews) 17
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (17 reviews)
5 stars
14
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
17 out of 17100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for A Life of Joy: A Novel - eBook
Review 1 for A Life of Joy: A Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

The 4th in a Series

Date:July 26, 2012
Customer Avatar
Robin Wallace
Location:Florida
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
A Life of Joy
Amy Clipston
Book Summary: Take a trip to Bird-in-Hand, Pennsylvania, where you'll meet the women of the Kauffman Amish Bakery in Lancaster County. As each woman's story unfolds, you will share in her heartaches, trials, joys, dreams ... and secrets. You'll discover how the simplicity of the Amish lifestyle can clash with the "English" way of life-and the decisions and consequences that follow. Most importantly, you will be encouraged by the hope and faith of these women, and the importance they place on their families. In A Life of Joy, the fourth installment in the series, eighteen-year-old Lindsay Bedford has reached a crossroads. Should she stay in the small Amish community she's known and loved for four years or return to the English life in her hometown in Virginia where her older sister is a college student? An extended visit to Virginia might just tip the scales as Lindsay reconnects with friends, joins a new church, works on her GED, and is pressured by her sister to stay and "make something of herself." Will Lindsay leave her aunt Rebecca and become English or settle in Bird-in-Hand and join the Amish church? Legions of Clipston fans want to know. Full of well-researched Amish culture, Clipston's book is true to form, delivering the best of the Amish fiction genre wrapped around a compelling story, with characters who will touch the hearts of loyal fans and new readers alike.
Review: I loved the characters in this book. The story line was believable and engrossing with characters you would root for and care about. The book was the fourth in a series and had many reoccurring characters and a continuous storyline of faith and family. I have not read all of the other books aside from one novella for the holidays I found it was easy to ease into the characters and relationships that were explained and never overdone. The book was easy to read and enjoyable throughout the story. The only problem I had was that the end seemed abrupt and with more questions than answers. I realize that this is a book in a series, however many resolve the main theme in the current book. This ending would not deter me from reading more books by this author.
I would like to thank Net Galley and Zondervan Publishing for allowing me to read and review this book in return for a free copy and I was never asked to write a favorable review by anyone.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for A Life of Joy: A Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

The story really held my interest-

Date:June 14, 2012
Customer Avatar
Katie
Location:Riva Maryland
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I thoroughly enjoyed this novel. This author is one of my favorites and I truly enjoy her writings.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for A Life of Joy: A Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

FANTASTIC A MUST READ

Date:February 18, 2012
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Location:Fond du Lac WI
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book is absolutely fantastic, you will be hooked on the very first page, and you will not want it to end, you will be wanting more of this story. Amy is a wonderful Christian Author and I am so happy that she shares her talent will all of us readers. You will just love all the characters in the Kauffman's Amish Bakery series, you will just fell like you are right there, you can almost smell all of the great baking in the bakery.
WONDERFUL Book, I think everyone who loves a great Amish fiction will just love this book, and the recipes she adds to the book also sound great
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for A Life of Joy: A Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

I have real all Kauffman Bakery series

Date:April 2, 2012
Customer Avatar
Sally Roehr
Location:upstate New York
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Having read all Kauffman Amish Bakery series, so far. I would reccomend it if you are looking for a good read....and enjoy the Amish genre. I am looking forward to the last book in the series, which will be out in a couple months.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for A Life of Joy: A Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Life of Joy

Date:March 30, 2012
Customer Avatar
Bonnie Mccue
Location:Toledo, Ohio
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I really enjoyed this series alot! I love reading Amish books, they are so interesting and hard to put down. You won't be disappointed with this one!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for A Life of Joy: A Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

fantastic story line of ongoing series

Date:March 29, 2012
Customer Avatar
Couspiglet
Location:brockport, ny
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I enjoyed reading this series however, each book can be read as an individual book too. The author has taken time to bring the reader uptodate with the previous book just in case this is the situation. Kudo to the author. I am patiently awaitng the fifth book in this series.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for A Life of Joy: A Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Visiting Old Friends

Date:March 7, 2012
Customer Avatar
Grandma Musher
Location:Michigan
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've always wondered what became of the Bedford sisters, Lindsey and Jessica. Lindsey had chosen to live with her Amish aunt, while Jessica went to live with English friends. In this book Lindsey makes her decision whether to become baptized Amish or to get her GED and pursue a college education. Her pain as she struggles with this momentous decision, and her relationship with the often bossy older sister are explored with sensitivity and understanding. Sometimes the story bogs down a little in the details of an ordinary day, but gratefully it lacks the melodrama often present in other Amish tales. I thoroughly enjoy this series, and have shared each book with my aging mother, who while not Amish, appreciates the Old World values and relationships.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for A Life of Joy: A Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Love the author.

Date:February 29, 2012
Customer Avatar
Mary Beth
Location:Gainesville, VA
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
She has done a wonderful job of research for the Amish series. I will continue to purchase her books. Good story line that has flowed through the series. I look forward to the next one.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for A Life of Joy: A Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent book

Date:February 21, 2012
Customer Avatar
Cathey j
Location:Garwood, TX
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A Life of Joy is an excellent read! The characters are well developed and the story is inspiring. I highly recommend this book to all those who enjoy stories of the Amish life and who want to read a book that leaves you feeling really good about having read it!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for A Life of Joy: A Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

An easy book to enjoy

Date:February 17, 2012
Customer Avatar
Irene
Location:United States
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A Life of Joy, written by Amy Clipston, is part of the Kauffman Amish Bakery Series. You do not have to read the other books in the series to enjoy this story.
Lindsay has been living with her Amish Aunt since the passing of both of her parents. Her sister Jessica has taken a different road and has chosen to live outside the Amish community. Lindsay has just found out that all of her friends are being baptized into the Amish faith. Now it is time for her to decide what she wants for herself.
When a family friend outside the community needs her help, Lindsay decides it would be a good time to step away and spend some time in the world of computers and cell phones. While she is away she misses her friends, her job at the bakery and especially the handsome Matthew. Will she choose to follow her sister and finish her public education or will she choose to go back to the Amish community? The story follows Lindsay as she tries to decide what she wants to do with the rest of her life.
The book is well written. The story flows well and the characters are believable. You can tell research was done, as the information about the Amish community is abundant. I did find some of the words hard to understand. There was a list with the English word next to the Amish word at the beginning but having to look at the list interrupts your reading. Some Amish books use these words and others just use English. Personally I like not having to look up the meaning of terms used when reading a book for relaxation. However, this does not take away from the story itself and therefore I still would recommend this book and series to anyone who enjoys Amish fiction.
I would like to thank NetGalley and the publisher for the copy of this book I enjoyed reading. I gave an honest review based on my opinion of what I read.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for A Life of Joy: A Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Just as delightful as the rest of the series

Date:February 15, 2012
Customer Avatar
Rachel Ropper
Location:Scotland, UK
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
GENRE: AMISH
PUBLISHER: ZONDERVAN
PUBLICATION DATE: FEBRUARY 01, 2012
RATING: 9 OUT OF 10 – EXCELLENT
PROS: Lindsay’s struggles are easy to relate to; breaks out of the mould of traditional romantic Amish novels; revisits characters from earlier books in the series
CONS: Ending is very abrupt and leaves some unanswered questions
Eighteen-year-old Linsday Bedford has lived with her Amish aunt and uncle in Bird-in-Hand, Pennsylvania ever since her parents died in a car accident. While she’s settled into the Amish way of life and enjoys working in the family bakery and helping to care for her younger cousins, her older sister, Jessica, lives with a family friend back home in Virginia and is pursuing a college degree. Lindsay thinks that she’s settled in her new lifestyle, until her sister comes to visit and encourages her to experiment more in the English world that she grew up in and see all that she’s missing out on. As much as Lindsay enjoys life in Bird-in-Hand, she can’t help but wonder whether she’s letting her real parents down by not pursing a college degree and a career like her sister. So instead of taking baptismal classes with her friends, she spends the summer staying with Jessica’s legal guardians and caring their “Aunt”, who has broken her leg. But although the temptations of the English world are all around her, Lindsay feels uncomfortable wearing the typical beach clothes everyone in Virginia is wearing, attending rowdy parties with her old school friends and eating off paper plates in front of the television. As her old friends and neighbours question the way of life she’s been living with her aunt and uncle back in Pennsylvania, Lindsay also questions the route she’s meant to take in her life. Does God want her to be career-motivated like Jessica? Or is her contentment in Bird-in-Hand a sign that she’s meant to stay there?
Next to Beverly Lewis, Amy Clipston was the first Amish author I ever read. The first book in her Kauffman Amish Bakery series appealed to me because it wasn’t a standard romance, but the tale of two orphaned English teenagers who came to live with the childless Amish uncle and aunt. A Life of Joy revisits these teenagers, who are now young women, and follows Lindsay as she figures out which path in life she’s destined to take. This novel differs from a lot of other Amish novels in that at least half of it takes place in the “English” world in Virginia, where Lindsay is staying with family friends. But despite the lack of buggies and prayer kapps, Amy has crafted an incredibly compelling story. There’s a little romance in the background of the story, kept alive through letters and phone calls between Lindsay and a male friend back in Pennsylvania, but the main body of the story deals with Lindsay finding herself.
Any woman who has felt torn between the life God wants her to lead and that which the world and her peers think is best for her will be able to relate to Lindsay’s struggles. This book came at just the right time for me, so I may be a little biased in my review. I’ve known since I was a teenager that all I want to do in life is get married and have a family. I’d love nothing more than to be a stay-at-home mum; but right now I’m getting married this summer rather than pursuing an internship or searching for work experience bemuses my fellow classmates. I’m not driven like they are when it comes to career matters, but they don’t always understand this; just like Jessica doesn’t understand how her sister can enjoy baking pies and babysitting her cousins over going to college. I could completely empathise with Lindsay feeling pulled towards the English world even though she was normally content being Amish. Sometimes the pressures of friends and family make us feel like we’re not doing enough, just because we’re taking the path that most avoid. Reading about Lindsay’s search for the place she was meant to be and the role she was meant to inhabit truly encouraged me, and I hope it does the same for many other readers.
This is the fourth novel in the Kauffman Amish Bakery series, and unlike some books in the Amish genre I don’t think it can be read as a standalone. That said, long-term fans of Amy’s novels will be pleased to revisit characters like Lindsay and Jessica, as well as their aunt and uncle, in this novel. Characters from the second and third instalments in the series also appear in the background from time to time, as do popular locations such as the bakery and furniture store. But just as this book follows on from earlier instalments in the series, the ending left me wondering if Lindsay and Jessica’s stories were going to be concluded in the fifth and final book. I turned the page on my Kindle expecting another chapter or an epilogue to find discussion questions and had to go back and reread the last paragraph, surprised at how abrupt the ending was. While it was optimistic for Lindsay, I couldn’t help but feel that Jessica’s story wasn’t finished yet, and there were some unanswered questions regarding Lindsay’s aunt and one of her friends. I do hope that Amy plans to answer these questions in the final book in the series, and since she’s announced that she’ll be writing a YA spinoff of the Kauffman Amish Bakery series perhaps this will revisit some of Lindsay’s teenage friends.
The fourth novel in the Kauffman Amish Bakery series is just as delightful as those that came before it, and many readers will be able to relate to Lindsay’s struggles to discover her place in life. Long-term fans of the series will be pleased to revisit old favourite characters in A Life of Joy and will be left greatly anticipating the fifth and final instalment, A Season of Love.
Review title provided by Zondervan.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for A Life of Joy: A Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Life Of Joy

Date:February 6, 2012
For the past four years, Lindsay Bedford has lived with her Amish aunt, Rebecca Kauffman, and her family. She and her sister, Jessica, moved to Bird-In-Hand, Pennsylvania after their parents died in a car accident. Lindsay is eighteen years old, an age where she can take classes so she can be baptized into the Amish faith. While her Amish friends are sure that they are ready to make the lifetime commitment, she's not. It doesn't help that Jessica, who no longer lives with the Kauffmans, seems to always be pushing her to do something more with her life. Lindsay has also started to notice how cute Matthew Glick is, but they can't date until she is baptized.
Lindsay really struggles with the decision of whether she should stay English or became Amish. She loves her life in Bird-In-Hand. She works at the Kaufman family bakery. She also helps Rebecca take care of her two younger children. Lindsay prays for God's guidance and gets an answer.
Her parent's best friends Frank and Trisha McCabe live in Virginia. When Trisha breaks her leg, they ask Lindsay to stay with them for several weeks to help out. Lindsay experiences living like the English again. She goes out with old friends and uses all the modern conveniences, like laptop computers. Lindsay soon realizes where she belongs. Is it in Bird-In-Hand, where she has spent the last four years of her life? Or is it back in the English world where she was born? Read A Life Of Joy to find out.
This story focuses mainly on Lindsay's decision but there are smaller stories going on. Rebecca is having health issues, Jessica is living the life she always wanted, and Matthew and Lindsay develop a friendship. I really enjoyed this book. Lindsay wanted to do what God wants for her life, she's just not sure what that is. Her friends and family are very supportive of her not getting baptized with the rest of her friends. The McCabes aren't pushing her to stay English, the Kaufman's aren't pushing her to become Amish. She has to figure out on her own what to do. This book shows us to trust God for His guidance in our lives.
This is book 4 in the Kauffman Amish Bakery Series. I didn't read the first three books and think this could be a stand alone book. I wasn't lost or confused about the characters as I read through the book.
I received this free e-book from NetGalley for honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for A Life of Joy: A Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A joy to read!

Date:February 1, 2012
Customer Avatar
homesteading
Location:rural NC
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Before I started reading Amish fiction I always thought the Amish automatically joined the church and became members without any deliberation at all. Obviously, that is not the case. An Englisher joining the church must have an even harder time trying to make such a momentous decision. A Life of Joy brought me right into the decision making process!
In this 4th installment of the Kauffman Amish Bakery Series, we see 18 year old Lindsay Bedford on the threshold of adulthood. Does she join the church through baptism and continue her life in the Amish community? Should she go to college and resume life in the English world like her sister Jessica?
When I first finished the book I thought it was a good book for teen girls because most of the story revolves around an 18 year old, but as I chewed on the story and thought more about it, I realized that it’s a good book for adults too. Lindsay is encouraged by her elders to pray, asking God to lead her to make the right decisions for her life. They aren’t trying to force her one way or the other. They truly want her to have joy in life.
There are tidbits happening in the lives of several characters from the other books but not so much that this one couldn’t be read as a stand-alone novel. The author has a lovely way of weaving the lives of these characters together. The most enjoyable part of the book for me was watching Rebecca and Daniel. They have an endearing relationship and this book finds them expecting more than they expected.
Zondervan provided a galley through Netgalley for review purposes. No compensation was received. I was not required to write a positive review, only my opinion of the book, which I have done.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for A Life of Joy: A Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A Good Amish Read

Date:January 31, 2012
Customer Avatar
Iola
Location:New Zealand
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Since her parents died four years ago, Lindsay Bedford has lived with her Amish Aunt and Uncle in Lancaster County, Pennsylvania. She is now eighteen, and her friends are planning on taking the ‘Instruction for Baptism’ classes, after which they will be baptised and become full members of the Amish faith, responsible for fulfilling all the rules of the Ordnung. While her friends expect her to join them in the class and get baptised, her sister, Jessica, who is attending college, is encouraging Lindsay to complete her high school education and consider further education. As Lindsay is pondering her choice, she is asked to spend the summer back in her old hometown in Virginia, helping a close family friend recover from a broken leg. This brings her into contact with some of her old friends, and helps her decide which life she will choose.
A Life of Joy is the fourth in the Kauffman Amish Bakery series, following A Gift of Grace, A Place of Peace and A Promise of Hope. However, it can easily be read as a stand-alone, as the relevant events from the previous books are covered in enough depth that the new reader understands the background, without providing so much detail as to bore the regular reader. I suspect these titles are more focused at the Young Adult than then Adult market. While there was nothing wrong with the book, I am old enough that I don’t really want to read about teenagers any more – but I can fully see that these would be worthwhile books for my daughter to read in a few years. A Life of Joy emphasised the importance of making your own decisions based on your own faith in God, and not allowing external pressures or ‘worldly’ people to influence that decision, and this is certainly something I expect that many Christian parents seek to teach their children.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for A Life of Joy: A Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Making Difficult Decisions

Date:January 14, 2012
Customer Avatar
MaureenT
Location:Syracuse NY
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Amy has done it again...another great book in the Kauffman Amish Bakery Series.
Four years ago Jessica and Lindsey Bedford came to live with their Aunt and Uncle Rebecca and Daniel Kauffman, when their parents were tragically killed. Jessica is now in college and taking an internship in NY City and wants Lindsey to join her.
Lindsey has embraced the Amish way of life in all ways, except by joining the Church. She loves working in the bakery, helping Auentie Rebecca, caring and playing with her little cousins. She also is starting to have feelings for Matthew Luntz. She is searching her heart and in constant prayer for answers.
When a call comes that her Aunt Trisha has broken her leg, and Uncle Frank needs help. She decides to return to her former home in Virgina Beach. She leaves with some reluctance as her Aentie has not been feeling well, and just found out she is pregnant. Rebecca advises Lindsey to go!
You have to wonder will Lindsey now want to go back to her life as an English woman, or yearn for a quieter more peaceful life of the Amish?
This book does end in what I felt was a cliff hanger, need the next book in this series....soon!!
I was provided with a copy of this book by Netgalley and the Publisher Zondervan, and was not required to give a positive review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for A Life of Joy: A Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Book about the Amish

Date:January 2, 2012
Customer Avatar
Debbie
Location:Yukon, OK
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This Book was supplied to me by Zondervan Publishers through NetGalley for a review in return.
Book Description
Take a trip to Bird-in-Hand, Pennsylvania, where you'll meet the women of the Kauffman Amish Bakery in Lancaster County. As each woman's story unfolds, you will share in her heartaches, trials, joys, dreams . and secrets. You'll discover how the simplicity of the Amish lifestyle can clash with the "English" way of life-and the decisions and consequences that follow. Most importantly, you will be encouraged by the hope and faith of these women, and the importance they place on their families. In A Life of Joy, the fourth installment in the series, eighteen-year-old Lindsay Bedford has reached a crossroads. Should she stay in the small Amish community she's known and loved for four years or return to the English life in her hometown in Virginia where her older sister is a college student? An extended visit to Virginia might just tip the scales as Lindsay reconnects with friends, joins a new church, works on her GED, and is pressured by her sister to stay and "make something of herself."
My Review
This book is the 4th book in the Kauffman Amish Bakery Series by Amy Clipston. Amy is one of the GREATEST authors who write about the Amish.
This book is about Lindsay Bedford, who is living with her Aunt Rebecca and Uncle Daniel and her cousins. She came to live there when her parents were killed in an auto accident about 4 years ago. She doesn’t know if she wants to join the Amish Church, so she chooses to wait and not go through baptism with Katie and Lizzie Anne, 2 of her best friends. She is struggling about where she belongs, whether it is with the Amish or the English. In the meantime, her Aunt Rebecca is not feeling very good and finds out she is pregnant and not doing well, so Lindsay helps her out.
Then Lindsay gets a phone call from her Uncle Frank and Aunt Trisha. Aunt Trisha broke her leg, so she needs to go to Virginia to stay with her Aunt Trisha until she is better.
I won’t say anything else, I don’t want to spoil the book for you. I love Amy’s books, she is GREAT. I would definitely suggest this book to my friends and family. Thank you Amy for giving us all such great books to read.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for A Life of Joy: A Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Amish Fiction and Bakeries make for a great book

Date:January 2, 2012
Customer Avatar
shannon
Location:midwest
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I'm always up for a good Amish fiction book, something about them I just love. This was a great book and if you love Amish fiction, or books that are set in bakeries then this one is right up your alley. While I haven't read all leading up to this book, I was not lost and wondering what in the world was going on. I really think you could pick up any and be able to read and enjoy this series, the author does a wonderful job at writing such a great story. I will be looking for the other 2 books since I loved this one so much.
thank you zondervan for sending me this review copy
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.