Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Zondervan Falling to Pieces: A Quilt Shop Murder - eBook

Zondervan Falling to Pieces: A Quilt Shop Murder - eBook

Average Customer Rating:
4.658 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(38 Reviews) 38
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (38 reviews)
5 stars
27
4 stars
9
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
0
38 out of 38100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Falling to Pieces: A Quilt Shop Murder - eBook
Review 1 for Falling to Pieces: A Quilt Shop Murder - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Read it. You'll be glad you did.

Date:March 28, 2014
Customer Avatar
DonnasBookshelf
Location:Tennessee
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
When I began reading this story, I wasn’t sure if I would enjoy it as much as I have enjoyed reading Vannetta’s other series. One of my very favorite books is Vanetta’s first novel about the Amish, A Simple Amish Christmas.
No, it wasn’t really anything like A Simple Amish Christmas, but the interaction between Callie Harper and the Amish women she befriends — Deborah, Esther and Melinda, is entertaining and wholesome.
If I were Callie, I would never have the nerve to do some of the things she does… yet it is very believable. Getting involved in the lives of her friends is just what she needs.
Most series are written so that you can pick up any of the books and catch up easily with what’s happened before. You can probably do this with the Shipshewana Amish Mystery series, but you will miss so much if you do. Get all three books in the series and begin at book one – Falling to Pieces. You’ll be glad you did.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Falling to Pieces: A Quilt Shop Murder - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A delightful Amish mystery!

Date:January 13, 2014
Customer Avatar
Britney Adams
Falling to Pieces is the first book in the Shipshewana Amish Mystery series. I was delighted by its unique storyline and loved the suspense!
Vannetta Chapman has written an Amish mystery that will keep you guessing until the very end. With well-developed characters, both Amish and English, and a great plot, Falling to Pieces is sure to entertain. I enjoyed this fresh, engaging story and look forward to reading the next book in the series, A Perfect Square!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Falling to Pieces: A Quilt Shop Murder - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Not your typical "Amish fiction"

Date:January 12, 2014
Customer Avatar
Magister
Location:Michigan
Age:55-65
Gender:female
This was the first book I read by Vannetta Chapman, and I have to warn you, it's a gateway drug that may lead you to hand over a good chunk of your free time and book budget! One of the things I really liked about this book is that not everyone is Amish, or trying to be. The growing relationships between characters, both Amish and "Englisch, " feel authentic, and made me look forward to the future books in this series (which I have since devoured). And best of all, the ending was unpredictable. Plenty of reviews will give you an outline of this book's plot; the purpose of my review is to convince you to open this book, and let yourself get to know the down-to-earth folks in Shipshe as they come together to solve a murder in their small town. You just may find yourself thinking of "Amish fiction" in a whole new way.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Falling to Pieces: A Quilt Shop Murder - eBook
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:January 9, 2014
Customer Avatar
June Thompson
Location:fort atkinson wi
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I am trying new amish authors since I have many by some of the main ones. so each book is different and haven't formed an opinion yet to whose best. will do tho later when done with the books. thank you june
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Falling to Pieces: A Quilt Shop Murder - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Very Enjoyable

Date:December 27, 2013
Customer Avatar
yeshuachi
Location:GA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
In my opinion I found the book very interesting and very well written. I would love to get the whole series.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Falling to Pieces: A Quilt Shop Murder - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great cozy mystery!

Date:December 23, 2013
Customer Avatar
Britt98
Location:Grand Prairie, TX
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
What a very enjoyable, cozy mystery! This book is full of interesting characters, misunderstandings, light hints at possible future romance and a mystery that doesn’t fully play out until the very end.
Falling to Pieces kept me interested right through to the end and I am very happy to say that I have the next two books in the series sitting on my bookshelf. I have grown fond of the many characters in this book and look forward to seeing how things progress with them in the next two books in the series. Fans of cozy mysteries will enjoy this foray into a small Amish town. The author has done a great job of explaining Amish wordings and customs in this book as well. I am hoping that there will be some romance developing between a couple of the characters, as Vannetta Chapman writes romantic attraction splendidly. Looking forward to reading the next in the series.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Falling to Pieces: A Quilt Shop Murder - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

It is very good and excellant reading.

Date:December 13, 2013
Customer Avatar
birdie
Location:Apple Valley MN
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
It is very good and hard to put down when you pick it up.
My friends have felt the same way - We are waiting for the next one in the series.
The author is very good!!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Falling to Pieces: A Quilt Shop Murder - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Great Amish Mystery Fiction Read!

Date:October 19, 2013
Customer Avatar
Linn
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
What a wonderful story to combine both the compelling interest of the Amish with a mystery murder! I was captivated from the first page as I read of an English woman, Callie, who must travel to the well-known Amish community in Shipshewana to take care of her late aunt’s Quilt Shop business. Only, Callie learns quickly that there are many who depend on her aunt’s Quilt Shop, and meets an Amish woman, Deborah, who quickly becomes her best friend. Just as Callie is warming up to the town of Shipshewana, there is a murder that takes place. Falling to Pieces quickly takes you through turns and twists as you try to solve the murder with Callie and Deborah.
I give Falling to Pieces a 5 star review! I loved the combination of the English, Callie, as she learned more of her friend Deborah’s culture and way of living. It’s a wonderful mystery that keeps you on the edge of your seat until the very end. Vannetta Chapman is a wonderful author and I look forward to reading more of her books!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Falling to Pieces: A Quilt Shop Murder - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Enjoyed this books so much.

Date:September 17, 2013
Customer Avatar
Bobbie
Location:Ladson, SC
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book was great! Enjoyed reading it and the
next one in the series. Looking forward to book#3.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Falling to Pieces: A Quilt Shop Murder - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great series!

Date:August 16, 2013
Customer Avatar
Linda Roome
I enjoyed the book very much I especially appreciated the
friendships and characters. I would recommend the books
to anyone who enjoys a bit of mystery and romance with a
Christian message throughout!
LR
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Falling to Pieces: A Quilt Shop Murder - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Life's unexpected turns

Date:June 17, 2013
Customer Avatar
ConnieR
Location:ME
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Callie Harper has come to the town of Shipshewana to clean up the details following her aunt's death. Callie has "details" in her own life that need cleaning up, as well. Who would think that a small town, some Amish women and a murder would work together to heal Callie's heart?
Vanetta Chapman skillfully weaves all of these details together in a story that resonates to the heart of the issue of healing hurts that life deals out. Her Amish novels portray the Amish as more than the stereotypes we are all used to. I love how she always mixes details of modern living into the stories, and portrays all of her characters dealing with problems as they come, and elements of Amish beliefs, traditions and daily life become part of everyone's story.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Falling to Pieces: A Quilt Shop Murder - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

What delightful mystery!

Date:May 21, 2013
Customer Avatar
TellNJasmine
Location:Montana
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
What delightful mystery!
I wasn't sure exactly how you could mix a murder mystery and Amish fiction but Vannetta Chapman pulled it off! From the first page to the last I was hooked.
This book really is the quintessential Amish book with the sweet family and faith influence that we have come to expect from the genre but it also serves up a nice dash of mystery.
I found myself really liking Callie and Deborah. At first they aren't quite sure what to make of each other but that soon turns into a wonderful friendship. When Callie is taken in for questioning in relation to a a death she discovered, Deborah is the one to find a lawyer to help her friend.
The two women along with some unlikely help, in the form of a newspaperman and the cop that roughly questioned Callie after she discovered the body, work together to find out just who is breaking into the quilt shop and other businesses, what the connection between Callie and the break ins is, and just who really did kill Roger Stakehorn.
This book really has it all, a mystery, the Amish, quilting, a light touch of romance, and even a great dog!
I, myself, am going to be looking for the next book in this series, I gotta find out what happens to Callie and Deborah next!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Falling to Pieces: A Quilt Shop Murder - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Mystery & Friendship--a great combo

Date:April 6, 2013
Customer Avatar
Bitsymc
Location:Red Lion, PA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is Book One in a series of three but can easily be read alone; however, you will definitely want to finish the series. Falling to Pieces is full of mystery and friendship of women who are not alike in their beliefs or dress but alike in their need to help others. You will enjoy all the twists and turns in familiar Vannetta Chapman fashion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Falling to Pieces: A Quilt Shop Murder - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great reading

Date:March 22, 2013
Customer Avatar
great gifts
Location:OH
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This was my first Amish mystery book to read. Very well written, suspenseful and entertaining. Will definately be reading more!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Falling to Pieces: A Quilt Shop Murder - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Delightful Read with Mystery,Friendship, Romance!

Date:January 8, 2013
Customer Avatar
Wman4JC
Location:miami, fl
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Wow, what a DELIGHTFUL book! I have had the pleasure of getting to know Vannetta Chapman on facebook and have been eager to read her book for a while now. I highly recommend chatting and connecting with authors on facebook. It’s a chance to know what they like, how to pray for them, and it’s both a treat and a blessing to do so. Falling to Pieces was sooooooo worth the wait for me! It is one of my fave reads for 2012 and one of the best Amish books I’ve read! Chapman brilliantly brings the Amish and the English together in this cozy mystery from the first page and keeps the reader both intrigued and delighted throughout.
Daisy Powell is enjoying her day with her garden and her dog Max when there’s a disturbance nearby and the next thing you know someone finds her dead. However, she is mentioned throughout the story and Chapman keeps her memory alive in such a way that her character is felt in a loving and honorable way. Enter Callie Harper, Daisy’s niece, who arrives from Texas to sell the quilt shop she knows nothing about. She is determined to get closure about the aunt she barely knew and get back to Texas to restart her life. Little does she know that God has another plan for her right there in Shipshewana.
Deborah Yoder is the one to find Daisy’s body. Now she has to find a way to continue selling her quilts with best friends Melinda and Esther when she hears about Daisy’s niece moving in. Will Callie agree to help with this business arrangement or will she really sell the shop?
I love how Deborah and Callie meet and it was lovely watching their friendship develop throughout the story. Callie is broken in so many ways, but as she gets to know this quaint town and its charming community, healing comes in ways she didn’t expect. Watching Callie fall in love with Shipshewana, its culture, and the people there was a delightful journey for me to experience. I enjoyed this book in such a way that it literally was a cozy atmosphere for me to read. I felt at home with Callie, Deborah, Esther, and Melinda as if I was there with them trying to place together clues as they do quilts. I laughed with them, I felt their pain and losses, and I understood their reactions to everything.
Chapman has created a story with genuine characters that you immediately fall in love with and don’t be surprised if you find yourself cheering for Callie and Deborah along the way! Callie’s personality reminded me of Chapman also; they are both loving, humorous and spunky women that will pull you in and keep you wanting more.
There are references to eBay, the internet, and Paul Revere.
This book is not just for those who enjoy Amish fiction. No way…this book is for anyone who loves a good mystery, unexpected situations, an amazing dog, romance, starting over, friendship, and a community that helps its own and embraces newcomers. I’m sooooo looking forward to A Perfect Square, the sequel, and more of these characters that both entertained me and touched me. I was hurting about something and every time I picked up this book, it was just the story I needed that both encouraged and helped me forget my own little world. Vannetta Chapman blessed me tremendously with this book and I highly recommend it for anyone experiencing changes, adjustments, loneliness, or just a different kind of adventure. You will be pleasantly surprised and when you finish reading, the characters in this story will stay with you as if they’d been your friends all along. Please visit Vannetta Chapman at her website to learn more about her books, her quilting, or just to get to know her better.
I want to thank Zondervan for sending me a paperback review copy. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions expressed are my own.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Falling to Pieces: A Quilt Shop Murder - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Loved This!!!

Date:October 11, 2012
Customer Avatar
Lake View Church
Location:Camden, MI
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I love books and received this as a gift. I enjoyed reading it and didn't have the plot figured out until the very end. Couldn't wait to start the next book ... which I did immediately. Vannetta is a very gifted writer with a fresh look at the Amish community.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Falling to Pieces: A Quilt Shop Murder - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

This is a good Amish based mystery.

Date:July 26, 2012
Customer Avatar
MotherMary
Location:Green Bay, WI
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
There was a good mix of Amish and Englisher parts to it, showing that the two communities can get along well. The mystery kept you guessing right up to the end.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Falling to Pieces: A Quilt Shop Murder - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:September 8, 2012
Customer Avatar
Army Mom
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
In a word..ADORABLE! This is one of the best books about the Amish world that I have read in a while. I always prefer when the Amish and English worlds blend and this author did a great job of making this happen. This was a well rounded piece of work that made all the characters likable and believable, while balancing the plot and not focusing on one area more than any other. By doing that the reader gets the best picture of what's going on in the whole story. I have the second book already and I can't wait to get started with it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Falling to Pieces: A Quilt Shop Murder - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Enjoyed this Sweet Mystery

Date:August 27, 2012
Customer Avatar
Cara Putman
Location:Indiana
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I received this book as a gift ... and though I enjoy Amish books, it's not usually the first genre I choose. However, this book was so fun and rich, that I promptly bought book two, inhaled it in a day and now eagerly await book three. There's something about the combination of Englisch and Amish in Shipshewana that made the story fresh. It also had an engaging mystery, quirky supporting characters, and emotional subplots that tugged me to Callie, the Englisch main character. This book is a great addition to a reading pile for those who enjoy Amish stories that have a mystery or those willing to give the genre a try.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Falling to Pieces: A Quilt Shop Murder - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A unique addition to the Amish fiction genre!

Date:July 30, 2012
Customer Avatar
Christianfictionaddiction
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
When the elderly owner of Daisy's Quilt Shop passes away, her niece, Callie Harper, comes to town with the intention of quickly seeing to her aunt's things, selling the shop, and returning to her life in Texas. However, Amish neighbour Deborah Yoder has other ideas, and her determination to see the shop re-opened to enable her and her friends to sell their quilts for much needed income soon convinces Callie to try her hand at running the quilt shop. But when Callie and Deborah decide to try selling the quilts on ebay, they find themselves under the criticism of the editor of the local paper, and Callie ends up in a very public confrontation with the man. When he is later found dead, Callie suddenly finds herself the main suspect in a murder investigation. Deborah and Callie "must work together to attempt to solve the mystery and catch a killer".
Vanetta Chapman has written a unique addition to the Amish fiction genre, with quirky characters and a mystery full of twists of turns. I have no doubt that readers will soon find themselves enamored with Callie and Deborah and will be rooting both for their attempts to make the quilt shop successful and also to uncover the truth and solve the mystery. I found the book to be well-paced and to hold my attention throughout, and the plot is interesting enough to make it stand out from the crowded field of Amish books that are available today. I did have to suspend my belief a bit at the conclusion of the book, especially that Deborah's Amish husband would not put up any fuss to his wife playing bait to try and catch someone suspected of murder. However, that one plot element aside, I felt the story was well-written and had a satisfying conclusion. I look forward to seeing what these characters will be up to in the next installment of the Shipshewana Amish Mystery series! 4 out of 5 stars.
Book has been provided courtesy of the publisher, Zondervan, for the purposes of this unbiased review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>