Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Zondervan Longing, Bailey Flanigan Series #3- EBook

Zondervan Longing, Bailey Flanigan Series #3- EBook

Longing picks up where Learning ended. After a long and lonely silence from Cody Coleman, Bailey Flanigan becomes closer to her one-time Hollywood co-star, Brandon Paul. Nights on the town in New York City and long talks on the balcony of Brandon's Malibu Beach home make Bailey dizzy with new feelings and cause her to wonder if her days with Cody are over forever. Meanwhile, Cody's work coaching a small-town football team has brought him and his players national attention. In the midst of the celebration and success, Cody finds himself much closer to a woman who seems to better understand him and his new life. Even so, never does much time go by without Bailey and Cody experiencing deep feelings of longing for each other, longing both for the past and for answers before they can move forward. Will an unexpected loss be the turning point for Cody? Will Cody and Bailey find a way back together again for the first time in more than a year? And if they do, will their brief time together be enough to help them remember all they've been longing for?
Average Customer Rating:
4.622 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(45 Reviews) 45
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (45 reviews)
5 stars
33
4 stars
9
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
1
43 out of 4596%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Longing, Bailey Flanigan Series #3- EBook
Review 1 for Longing, Bailey Flanigan Series #3- EBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 29, 2012
Customer Avatar
Joyce Mccarley
Location:Texas
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Loved the whole series of Bailey Flannigan, she was one of my favorite characters. I read all the books leading up to Bailey's and love how Karen Kingsbury addresses life problems we can all relate to. Great life stories and life lessons that we can learn from about God's great love, grace and mercy for our lives.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Longing, Bailey Flanigan Series #3- EBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Between 3.5 and 4 stars...

Date:May 8, 2012
Customer Avatar
JesuSaves
Location:Canada
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Follow and trust God, not the ways of this world.
That’s the main message I’m getting while reading this series. And let me tell you THAT is awesome, and I could not agree more with Karen. That being said, pardon me as I honestly say what I truly felt towards this book… frustrations. So many frustrations throughout, mostly with the characters, really, starting with Bailey. Like most readers, in the beginning, I wanted her and Cody to end up together. But at one point ( when she and Cody got to talk) I realized that Bailey could be sometimes selfish- really. ( BTW, If for any of her characters Karen was inspired by someone in real life, I am ONLY talking about the characters in the book.) Bailey says that she wants to be adored and everywhere you turn, there’s practically a picture of how ‘perfect’ she is, being painted. (Not realistic). Poor Cody didn’t deserve her constant anger and blame. And Brandon? (Who I’m not cheering for really, because I believe he needs to be less impulsive and a little more mature), Bailey is practically his world… and not in a good way. I find that there is a lot of times way to much going on between them. A healthy love story should not just be based on dizzy feelings and cute scene and ‘Baby, I love you too much’. In real life, lovers fight and make up. Nobody is perfect but on Bradon and Bailey’s side, it’s just a fairytale going on really.
I’m cheering for Cody; and I find that there’s more to be learned from him. This mature young man (has made mistakes yes, but valleys and montains have shapped him and I’m reading book four mostly hoping that he’ll find a good woman that can truly demonstrate him, whole-heartedly, the love of God for him.
That said, Sweet Karen, I wish nothing but the very best for your writing really!!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Longing, Bailey Flanigan Series #3- EBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

The book did not end as I expected

Date:May 7, 2012
Customer Avatar
SueQue
Location:Jamaica
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The book was all that I had expected and then some, it wrung so many different emotions from me. Looking forward to the next in the series. The ending just have me wondering.....?
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Longing, Bailey Flanigan Series #3- EBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Answered Questions left wanting more

Date:March 23, 2012
Customer Avatar
AngelaSch1984
Location:WI
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Wow! Karen Kingsbury sure has out did herself with this one! Alot of the questions I had were answered in this book, just left me wondering what would happen to Bailey and Brandon. I use to be Team Cody, the Team Brandon and now after reading Longing I am Team Bailey. I wish that I could be the kind of Christian that Bailey is! She makes me want to strive for the Lord!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Longing, Bailey Flanigan Series #3- EBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent story

Date:March 13, 2012
Customer Avatar
none
Location:Hamlin, TX
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
The book lived up to my expectations. It was everything I have come to expect from the author. Can't wait for the next one!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Longing, Bailey Flanigan Series #3- EBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

I love all Karen Kingsbury books

Date:March 12, 2012
Customer Avatar
grandma Pat
Location:Michigan
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
I have read allot of Karen's books and they are very inspiring
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Longing, Bailey Flanigan Series #3- EBook
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Did not hold my interest, too drawn out

Date:February 29, 2012
Customer Avatar
Loretta
Location:Houghton Lake Mi.
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I am a big fan of Karen Kingsbury but this series has been very disappointing! The story line is just too drawn out!After reading each book in the series I think maybe the next one will be better, but it's not. Hope this last one has more to offer.....
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Longing, Bailey Flanigan Series #3- EBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Series getting better

Date:January 5, 2012
Customer Avatar
Kathy
Location:Kirbyville, TX
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
When this series started out, I thought it was not up to par to other books by Karen Kingsbury, but this book was much better. Anxious to see who Bailey chooses. Will probably be a little disappointed no matter which one she chooses.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Longing, Bailey Flanigan Series #3- EBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 31, 2012
Customer Avatar
Betty
Location:Portland, Oregon
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Enjoyed immensely. Could hardly wait to finish the first two to read this one.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Longing, Bailey Flanigan Series #3- EBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

love love love Karen Kingsbury!

Date:January 24, 2012
Customer Avatar
Heide Smith
Location:PG, California
Age:55-65
Gender:female
So what happens with Bailey and Cody?!!! What about Brandon, he is sold out on Bailey....
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Longing, Bailey Flanigan Series #3- EBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Wonderful Story

Date:January 24, 2012
Customer Avatar
Smalltown Girl
Location:PA
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I absolutely love this series and can't wait to see what happens next. Karen Kingsbury is an excellent author who incorporates real life situations into each and every book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Longing, Bailey Flanigan Series #3- EBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great reading. I cannot put it down!!

Date:January 20, 2012
Customer Avatar
Judy
Location:Bethlehem,PA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This series about Bailey is excellent. She goes through many issues that many other young girls I know go through and shows us that life is not easy just because you are a christian. I am kind of disappointed that she is with Brandon and not Cody tho, I just thought those two were meant to be. All in all however, the story lines always teach us that God has the better plan.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Longing, Bailey Flanigan Series #3- EBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Longing

Date:January 15, 2012
Bailey Flanigan had finally fulfilled her dream of being on Broadway. She was living in New York and in the Broadway production of Hairspray. She was dating Brandon Paul. She met him on the set on Unlocked, a movie they both starred in. He had become a Christian because of her witnessing to him while they were working together. When she was on the set of Unlocked, she had been dating Cody Coleman. She loved Cody since she was a teenager. When Cody broke things off, she started to date Brandon. Cody began dating Cheyenne. The whole premise of Longing is whether Bailey will go back to Cody or stay with Brandon. With each chapter, Karen Kingsbury has you guessing which guy she chooses.
Longing is the third book in the Bailey Flanigan Series. I didn't read the first two books, I'm not sure I'll read the fourth book in the series. I have never read anything by Karen Kingsbury. I do think she is a good writer, making the reader wanting to keep reading until they find out what's going on. After I finished Longing, all I could think was that Bailey was a little too perfect. What I found hard to read was the way Brandon kept calling Bailey "baby." It got to be annoying, it made me question his true motives with her. I was also quite confused with chapter 10 about the Baxters. It was about characters that were not mentioned before this point.
The plotline of Cheyenne truly touched my heart. I was crying as I read more and more of her journey in this book. I like how Karen Kingsbury uses "Forever In Fiction", the real-life story of a reader to be God-inspiring in her stories. An explanation can be found at the beginning of the book. Bailey and her family try their best to follow what the Bible says how a Christian should live. This book would be inspiring for teens/young adults because of Bailey's age and circumstances.
I received a free copy of this book from NetGalley for my honest opinion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Longing, Bailey Flanigan Series #3- EBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Love Karen's books. I have read all of them.

Date:January 14, 2012
Customer Avatar
valentine
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Karen is a gifted Christian story teller with a wonderful gift of weaving Biblical principles into her stories in a non threatening way. I have gotten my 13 year old granddaughter hooked on her as well. I just told our middle school and high school librarians about the fact that she gives free books to them if they request them.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Longing, Bailey Flanigan Series #3- EBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

CAN'T WAIT FOR THE 4TH BOOK!

Date:January 13, 2012
Customer Avatar
GRANDMA6
Location:WI
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
GODD FOR OLDER TEEN GIRLS TO READ. GOOD LIFE LESSONS.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Longing, Bailey Flanigan Series #3- EBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Can't wait for the next book!

Date:January 12, 2012
Customer Avatar
Organic Shoes
Location:Oklahoma City, OK
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Karen Kingsbury has captured our hearts again. The Flannigan’s have invited us into their lives once again as Bailey continues to perform on Broadway and begins making decisions about her future and figuring out where God is leading her, and who He is leading her too. Continuing to run a small Bible Study with members of the cast Bailey continues to face challenges in sharing her faith with the cast.
Cody is leading the Lyle football game to a winning season and the nation has begun to hear about the miracles that have happened with his team, he has a lot to face as well as taking a trip to New York City for an interview, where there is a chance of him running into Bailey. Are the two ready to see each other again? What will Brandon think if they do?
Kingsbury has done it again, pulling us into a story of a family we have come to love. We will stay connected with these characters through the whole story. Kingsbury has weaved her faith and talent to create a story remarkably that everyone will love. I really enjoyed the third book in the Bailey Flannigan series; however, Bailey comes across as a little too perfect at times, as well as getting things come to her very easily. Sometimes a little to easily, her struggles seem to only be around her decisions about Brandon and Cody.
This book is definitely one to add to your collection.
I received this book complimentary from Zondervan through NetGalley in exchange for an honest review. All opinions are my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Longing, Bailey Flanigan Series #3- EBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Karen Kingsbury keeps you guessing

Date:January 12, 2012
Customer Avatar
Sherrie
Location:Bridgeton, NJ
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I enjoyed Karen Kingsbury's newest book Longing from the Bailey Series. It did not end the way I thought it would but the story was excellent. I can't wait for the last book to come out. Karen is an excellent writer and continues to reel you into her characters lives. When you get done reading her books you feel like you're missing a good friend because you don't want this to end.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Longing, Bailey Flanigan Series #3- EBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Longing . . . for answers

Date:January 4, 2012
Customer Avatar
Pam Burke
Location:Potosi, MO
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
While I have enjoyed all three of the books in the Bailey Flanigan series by Karen Kingsbury, Longing still leaves me longing for answers!
This story will make you smile, and -- as with all KK books -- will find you reaching for the tissues as it makes you cry. Old chapters are closed and new ones opened in the lives of the main characters. Bailey, through a variety of circumstances, sets out on new adventures. Brandon finds himself challenged in his relatively new faith. And Cody experiences great highs in his career, as well as deep hurt and loss in his personal life. Their lives converge and diverge in various ways that make choices anything but simple.
In Loving, due to release in just a few months, we will finally have an answer to the question that has "plagued" readers throughout the series -- Cody or Brandon? While I am very anxious to have the resolution, it will also be bittersweet to come to the end of this journey. I have certainly enjoyed the ride!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Longing, Bailey Flanigan Series #3- EBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

"Longing" for more Karen Kingsbury books!

Date:January 1, 2012
Customer Avatar
sweetmel0310
Location:Hampton, GA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is how your review will appear:
Longing (Bailey Flanigan Series) (Paperback)
Longing, the third book in the Bailey Flanigan Series by Karen Kingsbury, made me LONG for more of Karen's writing! Once Karen's books hit the stores, I am there to buy it. I love the feel of a REAL book in my hand--not an electronic device! As I turn the pages and read Karen's Christian fiction, I feel so close to God! Karen continually quotes scripture throughout her books that apply to the situation and we can also apply those to our lives every day! I have met Karen and her family at several Women's conferences over the years and they are such an inspiration to me! As she writes her books, I love seeing the resemblance of her family with the story line. In the book "Longing", knowing that Bailey Flanigan is Kelsey was so exciting! And to make it more exciting for me, I purchased the book right before making my first trip to New York City. As I read Longing on the airplane, I was right there with Bailey. I got off the plane in New York and could relate to how Bailey felt there! I went to Starbucks and thought of Bailey's Bible studies and how she changed so many lives in New York. As I watched a Broadway play, I imagined Bailey on stage dancing her heart out for God to every beat. I better understood how Bailey had taken the criticism of many of the cast members and the Director of the show because of her beliefs. By being in New York, God showed Bailey why he had brought her there and what her purpose in this season of her life really was! As I watched the craziness of New York on my trip, I thought of Bailey alot, but I also thought of each of us as we face these type of challenges every day. We need to learn from Bailey Flanigan. Shine for God and talk about Jesus to others like Bailey Flanigan did in this book! I did not worry myself about whether Bailey will choose Cody or Brandon Paul! I am going to let God and Karen's inspiration handle that one in the last book! I can't wait to turn the pages of "Loving" in the Spring of 2012! Warning!! Karen Kingsbury books are addictive!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Longing, Bailey Flanigan Series #3- EBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Karen Kingsbury does a great job.

Date:December 30, 2011
Customer Avatar
Gran
Location:Birmingham, AL
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Karen Kingsbury does her usual great job in showing the possible emotions and thoughts in everyday and in unusual situations. She shows her own character by the way she chooses to portray the people she creates with some flaws and always with human feelings.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.