Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for FaithWords The Wounded Heart: An Amish Quilt Novel - eBook

FaithWords The Wounded Heart: An Amish Quilt Novel - eBook

Average Customer Rating:
4.727 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(11 Reviews) 11
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (11 reviews)
5 stars
8
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
11 out of 11100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
1 Question | 2 Answers
Customer Reviews for The Wounded Heart: An Amish Quilt Novel - eBook
Review 1 for The Wounded Heart: An Amish Quilt Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This book was great

Date:March 7, 2012
Customer Avatar
admom
Location:Liberal, Missouri
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The book was great and I am always looking for new authors. Looking forward to the next one in the series.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for The Wounded Heart: An Amish Quilt Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A gripping drama

Date:February 25, 2012
Customer Avatar
Christianfictionaddiction
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Since the passing of her husband, widow Amelia Beiler has focused on caring for her 2 sons, running her late husband's pallet buisness, and making quilts with her closest two friends. However, Amelia starts experiencing strange physical ailments that she is unable to ignore, such as tingling and loss of movement in her left arm. After she seeks medical help, she receives a difficult diagnosis that presents a stunning expectation of loss for Amelia, one that forces her to face difficult decisions about the future of her business, whether to take a chance on new love, and even the possibility of being shunned by her Amish community.
Adina Senft has created a promising beginning in this first book of her "Amish Quilt" series, filled with memorable characters, a true wrestling with tough questions about suffering and God, and heart-gripping drama. Amelia's medical journey was fascinating to behold, and the unexpected twists kept the pages churning through my fingers. Senft perfectly captures the Amish setting of the novel, causing me both to long for the simplicity and beauty of the Amish way, but also to ponder with puzzlement some of the decisions made by the Ordnung. Amelia is an endearing character, and there were a few laugh-out-loud moments for me that I wasn't even expecting. The outcome of some of the gossip flying around the community especially had me chuckling! When I came to the end of the book, I was left craving more, and I am thankful that this is only the first book in the series!
Although this is the first book I have read by the author, she has been added to my "must read" list. If you are a fan of Amish fiction, then plan on reading The Wounded Heart soon!
I highly recommend this novel and give it 5 out of 5 stars.
Book provided courtesy of the publisher for the purposes of this unbiased review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for The Wounded Heart: An Amish Quilt Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Adina Senft's first Amish novel

Date:December 30, 2011
Customer Avatar
Marianne
Location:El Mirage, Arizona
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Wounded Heart , by Adina Senft
Tells the story of Amelia, a young Amish woman, widowed too young, with two young boys. She owns and runs the pallet shop her late husband had, while trying to be the woman expected of her by her neighbours, friends and relatives.
Anita Senft did an awesome job of making me as a reader feel sympathy for the young Amish woman. And made me look at myself to see if i would have been able to submit myself to others as Amelia learnt to do in her circumstances.
It did not take a lot of reading for me to like the characters, and I cried when Amelia got her multiple sclerosis diagnoses. The story flowed well, the characters were exceptional, and the word scenes brought the story to life. She uses third person view point, and it is easy to follow. Amelia and her friends will live on in my thoughts.
I thoroughly enjoyed this first book in her Amish Quilts series and am sure that anyone who enjoys Amish and romance novels will want to try this one. I will be looking for the next novel in the series.
I received this ebook free from Netgalley for the purpose of review only. I was not required to write a positive review, only an honest one. These opinions are my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for The Wounded Heart: An Amish Quilt Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Harsh community but original premise

Date:November 16, 2011
Customer Avatar
Rachel Ropper
Location:Scotland, UK
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
GENRE: AMISH
PUBLISHER: FAITHWORDS
PUBLICATION DATE: SEPTEMBER 27, 2011
RATING: 7 OUT OF 10
Nearing the end of her first year of widowhood, Amelia Beiler is still unsure as to whether she should sell her husband’s business. Despite receiving offers from English and Amish men, she appreciates the independence that running the pallet-making shop brings her, as well as the financial security. But when she’s diagnosed with multiple sclerosis and offered the chance of alternative treatment in Mexico, selling the shop may be the only way to raise funds to cure her from this life-threatening disease. As soon as word gets out that Amelia’s business may be for sale, Amish men from the community are lining up to make bids. Soon the whole church is in upheaval as men are clamouring to convince Amelia that it’s not God’s will for her to sell to the Englisher who is willing to pay more than any of her Amish neighbours, and the Church elders are sceptical over whether they should pay for such unusual medical treatment. Matters are complicated further when one of the bidders begins to take a more personal interest in Amelia, who does not feel that she’s in any position to be entertaining a beau at this point in time. Can she decide what route is the best one to take for her family, as well as her church and business?
The Wounded Heart is Adina’s debut into the Amish genre, although she appears to have written various other novels for the Christian market previously. While I wouldn’t place the first novel in the Amish Quilt series among my favourites in the genre, it was for the most part an interesting and easy novel to read, and I imagine that Adina’s writing will strengthen in time as she gets to grips with the style of this genre. What appealed to me about this novel was that the main conflict wasn’t centred on the romance between Amelia and Eli, but on Amelia’s medical condition and the dilemmas this created. In particular, the fact that community pays for medical treatment as the Amish do not take out health insurance plays a large part in Amelia’s story.
Amelia’s issues ended up being more complicated than I’d expected, mainly because the elders of her church refused to pay for her to travel to Mexico to receive alternative treatment for her MS. Early on in the book, they inform her that they are willing to pay for her to take medication for the rest of her life but that this new treatment in Mexico doesn’t seem like something they should be getting involved in. As the daughter of a nurse, their ignorance and distrust of new methods that could potentially prolong Amelia’s life or even cure her of her disease really riled me, especially as they seemed to make the decision without doing any research and then informed Amelia that their decision was God’s will for her. I’m afraid that the actions of the leaders of the church stopped me from enjoying this book as much as I’d hoped to. While there are many aspects of the Amish faith that I admire and try to apply to my own beliefs, the way that the elders had the final say on Amelia’s medical treatment really annoyed me, more so because they tried to pass off their opinions as God’s will for her. It was presented in such a way that suggested that Amelia had no way of speaking to God herself, and had to go through the ministers or deacons of her church. In fact, Amelia very rarely prayed or conversed with God throughout the book.
In all honesty, I wasn’t a fan of the Amish community in The Wounded Heart. Everyone was continually sticking their noses into each other’s business, advising them on how to live their lives so as to avoid being under the Bann, and gossiping about those whose behaviour does not conform to their expectations. This novel did not give a particularly positive representation of the Amish. While I don’t agree with some of the romanticised views presented in other books, this one actually made me wish Amelia would move to a more open-minded community who would put her medical needs ahead of their preconceived and unfounded views of modern medicine.
Without spoiling the ending, I will say that close to the end of the novel Amelia’s situation changes significantly and she avoids having to make a decision that could potentially place her under a shunning. While I was pleased for her, I couldn’t help but wonder how her life would have turned out if she had made a decision that had caused her to be shunned. Or would she have sacrificed her needs for the sake of the church and avoiding being ostracised? This book made me think a lot about the different branches of the Amish church and how some of them don’t always display Christian characteristics.
The romantic aspect of this novel is very minor, which made a nice change from the typical plots which are so prevalent in the Amish genre. In fact, there was a lot more focus on the relationship between Amelia and the two women she makes quilts with, Carrie and Emma, than there was on Amelia and Eli’s relationship. The lives of her quilting friends were very intriguing and I’m looking forward to hearing about Emma’s creative writing pursuits in the second novel in the series, The Hidden Life. There’s a teaser at the back of Amelia’s story that has already sucked me in, so I will definitely be reading the rest of this series, despite my distaste for the strict community in which the books are set.
I hesitate to class this novel as Christian fiction due to the way in which Christianity is portrayed through the Amish faith. As interesting and compelling as I found this story, my emotions were in turmoil over the way Amelia’s life was being influenced by the opinions and decisions of her church elders. Sometimes having a book twist my emotions so much can be a rewarding experience, but in the end I found myself a bit disgruntled when reading The Wounded Heart. This novel is worth reading for the touching relationship between Amelia, Emma and Carrie, the quilting details and in showing the heart-wrenching decisions someone has to make when they’re diagnosed with MS. But I wouldn’t recommend this as an introduction to the Amish genre, or as a good representation of the appealing characteristics and values of the Amish way of life.
Review title provided courtesy of FaithWords.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for The Wounded Heart: An Amish Quilt Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Amish Read

Date:November 12, 2011
Customer Avatar
ibjoy1953
Location:Virginia
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Amelia Beiler, a young widow with two small boys still runs her husband’s pallet business in town. When she falls ill and finds out that she has s devastating disease she considers selling the business to have money for the treatment she needs for her disease. And Englisch man gives her a good offer, but several of the Amish men around that would also like the shop gives her a difficult time because she is considering selling to the Englischer for more money.
Eli Fischer comes to the community for a family wedding and is interested in the pallet business as well, but he soon finds that he is more interested in the owner than the shop. But as much as Eli tries to help Amelia, she denies his help because she doesn’t want to be involved with anyone because of her illness.
I found this Amish fiction interesting and captivating, and I didn’t want to put it down after I started reading it. As the drama of Amelia’s life unfolds it was heartbreaking to read the difficult issues she was forced to face. It was enough to be raising two small children alone, and to have a frightening illness to deal with makes her life horrific. She was faced with a lot of unwanted difficult decisions to make. Decisions that her family and the church didn’t agree with.
I enjoy meeting new authors through their books, and Adrina Senft is new for me. She has a wonderful ability to tell stories that captivate your interest enough that you just want to see what happens next! I look forward to her next book in the series.
If you like Amish fiction, then you will like this book, so I encourage you to grab a copy, read and enjoy it. You will be pleased that you read it!
A copy of this book was provided by Faith Words for me to read and review. The opinions in this review are mine only. I was not required or expected to write a positive review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for The Wounded Heart: An Amish Quilt Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

The Wounded Heart

Date:October 15, 2011
Customer Avatar
Kaye
Location:Rochester, NY
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Wounded Heart was a great book to read. I had a hard time putting it down. I will give it to a dear friend for a Christmas gift. We always share good Armish books. This book is excellent. I can't wait till Adina Scnft writes the next one in this series.
I felt like I was right there with Elizabeth and her family.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for The Wounded Heart: An Amish Quilt Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

great reading

Date:October 12, 2011
Customer Avatar
purplemama47
Location:New Columbia PA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I liked the book very much made you think you were right there in the story
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for The Wounded Heart: An Amish Quilt Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Wounded Heart

Date:October 9, 2011
Customer Avatar
Helen Hevener
Location:Staunton, VA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Wounded Heart by Shelley Adina Sneft- a very gripping story kept me riveted to the pages!!! Amelia a widower with two small sons- is running her late husbands business!!! Amelia has health problems - does she go to Mexico for treatment??? Will she lose the young man who has now become a big part of her life??? Will she sell her business or will God show her a way to have everything she ever dreamed for??? " When God closes a window- sometimes God opens a door"!!!!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for The Wounded Heart: An Amish Quilt Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Fantastic new series

Date:September 25, 2011
Customer Avatar
Brenda
Location:WV
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Amelia Beiler and her husband Enoch had been married for ten years when he was killed in a buggy accident, leaving her to care for her two sons Matthew and Elam. In addition to caring for the children she runs her husband's pallet making business which is four miles away. She longs just to stay home and be a mam to her children but the shop is there only means of support. She has been in mourning for eleven months, but still can't imagine ever finding love again. When an Englisher poses the question to her about selling her shop, rumors start that she might sell her business which brings Eli Fischer an Amisher to her shop inquiring about buying the business. About this time, Amelia starts experiencing numbness in her arm, and soon is diagnosed with a debilitating disease of MS. She has plenty of decisions to make, not just about the business but about her future, and Eli as well because he wants to start courting her. Because of her disease she feels as if she can't allow it, but he is determined to help her and her boys. How will things work out? Will Amelia get the medical treatment she needs, and could there be a second chance at love for her? Read this fantastic book and find out!
I read a lot of Amish fiction and I must say this book pulled me right in.The plot started out a bit slowly for me, but I think it was because I needed to get a feel for the characters I was being introduced to. Once the characters and their backgrounds were established the book moved along at a very brisk pace.
While the main story revolves around Amelia and her struggles, we are also introduced to her friends Emma and Carrie. All three women are facing different issues in their lives but their friendships and love of quilting bind them together.I thought the character of Amelia was multi-layered. She is struggling with losing her husband, being a mother, a shop owner, and if that isn't enough she is faced with a debilitating disease. Her emotions seem very real, and I wasn't a bit surprised to see her question her faith,because that seemed like the most realistic thing any of us might do. A story that reminded me that faith, prayer, good friends, and a loving community can help us overcome any adversity that life throws our way!
"Wounded Hearts," is a wonderful beginning for the authors new Amish Quilt Trilogy.A book that I would recommend not only to Amish fans but anyone looking for a nice read, with characters that have real life struggles. Adina Senft has a new fan here, I can't wait to see where she takes us next!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for The Wounded Heart: An Amish Quilt Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Another Heart Warming Amish Novel!

Date:September 25, 2011
Customer Avatar
Heart2Heart
Location:Victorville, CA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Once again another Amish novel has captivated my heart and left me sighing. A great sign of an excellent book in my personal opinion. For most people they understand the simple story lines of your typical Amish novel, but not in the case of The Wounded Heart by Adina Senft.
We have a story that is slow as it unfolds as we find ourselves immersed in the tragic story of Amelia Beiler, who has recently been left a widow after an unfortunate buggy accident that claimed not only the life of her husband, Enoch but the driver of the car that hit them as well. Now left to deal with managing a farm alone with just two small boys, she struggles to maintain her husband's pallet business as well. Offer after offer appears on her doorstep, first from an English man looking to retire and then subsequently from others within her Amish community as well.
The only thing is, that Amelia isn't sure she wants to sell. How else will she be able to provide for her family without having to move back home with her mom and dad? However when Amelia begins to experience tingling in her left hand, that leaves her numb and at times unable to use her left hand, she begins to wonder if perhaps God isn't sending her a sign after all. The only thing is will she be ready to accept all that God has for her, even if it means going against everything she believes she needs in her life.
I received this beautiful, heart-warming story as an Ebook compliments of Faith Words Publishers, a division of Hachette Book Groups for my honest review. I applaud the character of Amelia for attempting to hold down the front in spite of some difficult odds that seem to stack up against her. She tries to maintain a level of strength in trying to get on with her life, while still grieving for a husband that she still misses and has a difficult time trying to move forward. She relies a lot on her friends, Emma, who fears that God has abandoned her efforts to find a husband, declaring herself a Senior, even though she isn't that old, and her other friend, Carrie, who is struggling to have children after being married for 10 years and unable to conceive. Meanwhile, Carrie's husband Melvin is struggling to find work since he lacks the farming skills to keep them afloat. She manages to also be the only child struggling to take care of her parents who are desperate need of medical care.
It seems like quilting is the only thing that keeps these three wonderful characters from falling apart. Each a times is able to put their own personal struggle on the back burner so they can assume the care taker in the others life. This is what it means to be true friends in my personal opinion and what makes for a great book. For those that love Amish stories, this one will not disappoint and takes a different road than the one most of us are used to, making it a 5 out of 5 stars in my opinion. When faced with any adversity in life, it's easier to weather those storms with the love and warmth of close friends. Just like the patches of material that make up a beautiful quilt, it takes friends and family to weave our lives together and make it beautiful and full of love and life.
This is the first novel in the Amish Quilt Trilogy and she has me as a fan for life! Can't wait for the next book in this series!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for The Wounded Heart: An Amish Quilt Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Strength of Character

Date:September 4, 2011
Customer Avatar
MaureenT
Location:Syracuse NY
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I cannot even imagine being in Amelia Beiler's shoes. First she looses her beloved husband in a buggy accident, and then she is diagnosed with the dreaded Multiple Sclerosis. She had been considering an offer by an Englisher for her business, and her Community is really against her selling to someone who is not Amish.
She meets Eli Fischer when he is visiting her area. He becomes interested in Amelia and also wants to buy her business. Things come to a highlight when an interesting cure maybe available, but she needs the permission on her Bishop and her Church.
You will be surprised when you learn how she deals with this terrible illness and her worry about her young Sons. Also how she ends up coping with Eli, and preventing him having to deal with a wheelchair bound spouse!
This is another page turner, and you need to keep reading to get to the end to learn the outcome!
I was provided with a copy of this book by the Publisher, and was not required to give a positive review.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.