Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for FaithWords The Day Satan Called: One Couple's True Encounter with Demon Possession and Exorcism - eBook

FaithWords The Day Satan Called: One Couple's True Encounter with Demon Possession and Exorcism - eBook

Average Customer Rating:
4.286 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(7 Reviews) 7
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (7 reviews)
5 stars
3
4 stars
3
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
6 out of 786%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for The Day Satan Called: One Couple's True Encounter with Demon Possession and Exorcism - eBook
Review 1 for The Day Satan Called: One Couple's True Encounter with Demon Possession and Exorcism - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Very accurate.A must read for ALL Christians

Date:April 1, 2012
Customer Avatar
Deborah
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Every person who thinks that satan isn't real needs to read this book.If you have doubts about spiritual warfare this book will remove those doubts.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for The Day Satan Called: One Couple's True Encounter with Demon Possession and Exorcism - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 28, 2012
Customer Avatar
papa
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
it was very informative and gave further incite to the enemy's activity and dealings with people and it's tenaciousness
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for The Day Satan Called: One Couple's True Encounter with Demon Possession and Exorcism - eBook
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

More fiction than Fact. Reads as a novel.

Date:December 31, 2011
Customer Avatar
Phil
Location:NY
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The very fact that it took 20+yrs. to write this casts of huge shadow of doubt on it's credibility. The intricate details recounted in the story makes one question it authenticity. While certain aspects of the story do in fact lend credence to factual occurrences, I honestly feel the story has been embellished a great deal to burn up pages. The Lord would not direct someone to get involved in something that was going to cost him his marriage.
I was definitely not impressed!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for The Day Satan Called: One Couple's True Encounter with Demon Possession and Exorcism - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Satan is scary and real

Date:November 18, 2011
Customer Avatar
luv2readjen
Location:Lisle, IL
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satan is scary. In fact, in many movies, TV shows, and books right now, the big thing to deal with is an exorcism. But the Satan shown often in those instances is one without a plan, without teeth. He’s a red guy with a pitchfork who sometimes shows up in unusual places on the off chance he might scare people with an eerie “get out” or two.
Bill Scott doesn’t pull any punches about the situation he found himself in 20 years ago, when he encountered, prayed for, and ultimately was completely done in by, a demon possessed girl. She came in a targeted attack, and strategized her way through a church and a family. Bill says he doesn’t think everyone will believe his tale. I’m sure that’s true, but I also know that we don’t fight a battle against flesh and blood in every instance. Sometimes Satan comes calling, and he dresses himself in a way that makes us most vulnerable to his strikes. We have to be ready, we have to know what the enemy of our souls is willing to do, and we have to wreck ourselves in prayer to fight the battles that sometimes seem impossible to win.
Bill and his family paid a price for their encounter, but as Christians, we can be better prepared because of Bill’s experience. I am grateful to Bill for exposing what had to feel surreal and painful to share. Christians – Satan is real, and he is in a real war with us. We would do well to be ready to fight.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for The Day Satan Called: One Couple's True Encounter with Demon Possession and Exorcism - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

The day Satan Called

Date:November 12, 2011
Customer Avatar
shan256
Location:savannah, ga
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The book was good. A little different than I expected. It was almost hard for me to believe without seeing because it was so crazy. But I do believe in Demons, so it's very possible that it IS true. I definitely had an unsettling feeling after reading this.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for The Day Satan Called: One Couple's True Encounter with Demon Possession and Exorcism - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Story - Surprise Ending - Powerful Message

Date:October 10, 2011
Customer Avatar
Nightstand Reader
Location:Brentwood, TN
Age:45-54
Gender:male
We live in a culture that is skeptical of most things spiritual - but that can't seem to get enough of dark, scary movies and books - from Rosemary's Baby to The Exorcist and a host of annual releases. So what more can be said about demons and evil spirits?
I will establish up front that I am friends with the author of The Day Satan Called and worked with him a bit on the development of the project. But that doesn't mean I can't be a raving fan and recognize some special contributions Bill has made through this book, does it?
I met Bill Scott and his wife Janet about a year ago to discuss a couple publishing projects they needed to work on for an organization for youth they founded and run. In the course of the conversation Bill mentioned off-handedly that he had written a manuscript (with more than a little help from Janet) of his experience with a ... witch ... who he had invited to live in his home in order to help her ... okay. Suffice it to say I watched Bill just a little more closely to see what kind of guy he really was. What I noticed then and have seen confirmed over and over in the subsequent year is that Bill is direct and honest to a fault. I took the manuscript home and was transfixed - and terrified. That's the first thing I would say about The Day Satan Called - it is a well-written, fast-paced, entertaining, and incredibly scary story. Bill seems to take you to the edge of the cliff at the end of every chapter. About the time you think what he lived through couldn't get worse - it does.
I'm not going to give away any spoilers, but I'll note that the book has a totally unexpected ending. The story is great but it is Bill's observations that make this book special. In the process of looking back at how things started and ended, Bill asks and answers some poignant questions about demon possession: is it related to multiple personality disorder (MPD) - sometimes? All of the time? How much of what is called demon possession is someone's personal fantasy or even a con game? Or both? How prevalent is demon possession in our society and how concerned should we be? With all the temptations in the world that seem to work so well with so many, why would Satan even bother with possessing of some people? Can a Christian be demon possessed - or in the case of a person suffering from MPD, can one personality be redeemed and another personality be possessed?
I mentioned that Bill is honest and direct. He doesn't claim to know all the answers to those and other questions, but he does a great job of presenting what happened to him - even the parts that are personally embarrassing and he'd rather forget - and reaffirming the scripture: "You are of God, little children, and have overcome them, because He who is in you is greater than he who is in the world" (1 John 4:4).
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for The Day Satan Called: One Couple's True Encounter with Demon Possession and Exorcism - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A Chilling Experience!

Date:August 15, 2011
Customer Avatar
kattrox
Location:Indiana
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A young woman (an active satanic member) called Bill asking for help in freeing her from the demons who tortured her. He invited her into their home and battled the forces of evil with constant prayer. What he and his wife encountered was so frightening and terrifying. An 18 month long experience in which the evil spirits invaded their home and their lives, the reader learns about demonic forces very much alive in our world, how demons attach themselves to people and how demons can destroy a person who does not know of God's love but also how God can offer protection along with many other points.
This is a revealing book that I am not likely to forget for a very long time. It was so chilling and real but so much needed for this day in age. I was challenged in my faith and recommend this book! My only suggestion would be not to read it at night. Thank you to Faithworks and Netgalley for the ARC copy for my review.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.