Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Barbour Publishing The Bride Blunder, Prairie Promises Series #3

Barbour Publishing The Bride Blunder, Prairie Promises Series #3

Average Customer Rating:
4.4 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(10 Reviews) 10
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (10 reviews)
5 stars
6
4 stars
2
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
0
4 out of 4100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for The Bride Blunder, Prairie Promises Series #3
Review 1 for The Bride Blunder, Prairie Promises Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Wonderful story, I loved this series!

Date:January 5, 2014
Customer Avatar
wfnren
Location:St Cloud, FL
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Gavin Miller is now ready to ask Miss Marguerite Chandler to come to Buttonwood, Nebraska and marry him so he sends his proposal to her. Gavin Miller forgot that there are two Marguerite Chandlers though, they are cousins and both childhood friends of Gavin's, so when the proposal is received and "Daisy" has sent him an invitation to her wedding of course she knows the proposal is for "Marge". See, they are both named after their grandmother and Marge was raised by Daisy's parents because her parents have passed on.
When Marge arrives Gavin is very surprised but does not tell her about the mix-up, she does find out as soon as she gets to his house though because his grandmother spills the beans almost immediately. Marge now refuses to marry him but Gavin insists she marry him because she accepted his proposal by coming to Buttonwood.
When Midge Collins observes the meeting of Marge and Gavin she knows something is amiss and doesn't take long to find out what it is. She soon gets the story out of Marge and proceeds to help her. You see Midge is an observer of people, she watches, listens, and notices, in other words she spots things people don't want others to guess at. She reads expressions, registered changes in stances or gestures and wonders about things that are none of her business.
Midge has met her match though in Amos Geer, he is also an observer and after coming to Buttonwood he sees Midge and remembers from an event four years ago, he attacked her when she tried to enter a room at Fort Bridger and now he is constantly watching and following her.
Wonderful job Kelly, I loved this book also. I enjoyed reading about both Marguerite (Marge), and Midge. As I was reading about Midge and her belief in prayer I kept wanting to tell her that she doesn't know what Nancy was praying and that her prayer was answered. People think when they send a request to God that they should get what they want, not wanting to remember that God knows best and he answers our prayer requests that way, and we are much better off with his response.
This series has really been enjoyable and I'm really glad I read all of the books. I would encourage you to read all three books in order to get the full enjoyment of this last book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for The Bride Blunder, Prairie Promises Series #3
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:October 23, 2013
Customer Avatar
kjd loves books
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have read all the books in this series. This one was my least favorite, I think. I would have liked it better if the Midge had been a complete separate story. There was definitely enough material for each couple to have their book. Still, overall it was a really good book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for The Bride Blunder, Prairie Promises Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 2, 2011
Customer Avatar
GrandmaCee
Location:Missouri
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book has mystery, romance, God's deisgn for lives, and a way of keeping the reader interested throughout the entire book. There are some humorous times and stressful times but shows how perserverance and trust in God wins out. It shows the reader believable choices and their consequences. Gods hand in the lives of the characters are evident.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for The Bride Blunder, Prairie Promises Series #3
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Cranky Ermintrude Saves the Day!

Date:November 4, 2010
Customer Avatar
Christy Janes
Age:25-34
The Bride Blunder was a good conclusion to the Prairie Promises series by Kelly Eileen Hake. While I must confess that book two, The Bride Backfire, was my overall favorite, The Bride Blunder served to wrap up a few loose ends with one of my favorite characters, Midge. I really wanted to see her find the perfect mate, and believe me, she does.
What really disappointed me was that this was basically three stories in one, and at times, I simply lost interest. I wish that Marge and Gavin's story had been more in the forefront, but unfortunately when it was, it seemed to be the same thing churned over and over again. On the other hand, Daisy's portion of the story was really good, and I loved the determination she found in herself toward the end.
But I've saved the best character for last....cranky Ermintrude. Well, who wouldn't be cranky all the time with a name like that?!?! Don't think for a second that she's not gonna give you a piece of her mind, even if you don't ask for it. She had so much spunk and personality that, at times, she had me roaring with laughter! Every western needs someone like her. :o)
While this wasn't my favorite book of Kelly's, I am definitely a fan of her work. The first two books in this series were very well-written, and I'm eager to get my hands on some of her other books. The Bride Blunder gets a rating of 3 Stars.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for The Bride Blunder, Prairie Promises Series #3
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:June 19, 2010
Customer Avatar
Linda
Any book from Kelly or her mother is worth the time to read. So much humor, well written, and wonderful story lines. I would give the first book 5 stars, the second 4, but in the 3rd book, one character whined just a little bit to much for my enjoyment. All in all, I would still by the book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for The Bride Blunder, Prairie Promises Series #3
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:May 27, 2010
Customer Avatar
Jeanette Skalla
I've enjoyed this series by Kelly, but still enjoy her mother's writing better. I think Kelly will continue to improve. She includes humor in her stories as her mother does, which is something I enjoy in a story.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for The Bride Blunder, Prairie Promises Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 19, 2010
Customer Avatar
Sue Priest
I was not familar with this author but throughly enjoyed all three books and have loaned them to a friend and praised them to others.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for The Bride Blunder, Prairie Promises Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 28, 2010
Customer Avatar
Amy Schmid
Kelly is an excellent writer. I have enjoyed every book in this series.This book is full of pain, fun and love. I would recommend this book and indeed have done so.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for The Bride Blunder, Prairie Promises Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 27, 2010
Customer Avatar
Penny Hardaway
I couldn't put this one down. Started it on Saturday. When I picked it up again on Sunday night, I just had to finish it. Stayed up until past midnight. I know authors frequently write trilogies, but I hope this is not the end of this series.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for The Bride Blunder, Prairie Promises Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 16, 2010
I've read all three books in this series and this was my favorite. The story was interesting and they way Kelly constructed her sentences made me read a littler slower (I'm a VERY fast reader). This added to the interest of the story and my enjoyment.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.