Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Barbour Publishing The Raven Saint, Charles Towne Belles Series #3 (rpkgd)

Barbour Publishing The Raven Saint, Charles Towne Belles Series #3 (rpkgd)

Average Customer Rating:
4.667 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(39 Reviews) 39
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (39 reviews)
5 stars
30
4 stars
7
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
1
12 out of 1392%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for The Raven Saint, Charles Towne Belles Series #3 (rpkgd)
Review 1 for The Raven Saint, Charles Towne Belles Series #3 (rpkgd)
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Too cheesy

Date:April 11, 2013
Customer Avatar
Sqwiggles
Location:California
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This is the final book of the Charles Towne Belles series and I am happy to be done. To me the series was just boring. This book was one of the better ones. I didn't really like the main character Grace. There were so many times in the book that I just wanted to yell at her because her decisions were frustrating. Another thing I do not like about the book is the ending. It's so predictable and everyone all of a sudden finds God and becomes a believer. The way it's done just seems so forced and unbelievable. It's almost like the author wants to make sure that it's the most perfect, happy ending possible. To me it's just cheesy. I have read hundreds of books and this one is just mediocre.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for The Raven Saint, Charles Towne Belles Series #3 (rpkgd)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Wonderfully Adventurous Romance

Date:June 14, 2012
Customer Avatar
Stacey
Location:Las Vegas, NV
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would like to extend a heartfelt “Thank you” to M.L. Tyndall and her publisher for sending me a copy of "The Raven Saint" to review for them. I have always been grateful for this generosity, and I am trying to improve at being consistent in taking the time to thank these wonderfully giving individuals in a public forum. I really appreciate your time, effort and expense in making a reviewer copy available to me.
I am barely through chapter two of M.L. Tyndall’s third installment in the Charles Towne Belles series, and I can already tell that this will be my favorite book in the series. “The Raven Saint” is the story of Admiral Westcott’s third daughter. Grace is the beautiful young woman who loves and serves God with all of her heart. She ministers to the people of Charles Towne through gifts of food, sharing the Gospel and caring for the sick. So why isn’t God answering her prayers from her cabin on board the ship Le Champion, where she is being held captive by a mercenary sea captain to be sold to one of her father’s sworn enemies in Colombia.
Our leading man in this tale is Capitain Rafe Dubois, a Frenchman who sails for the highest paying purse. This kidnapping begins as a job, but rapidly takes a turn when the scoundrel cannot get his lovely captive (and the aura about her) out of his mind.
It is already very evident that this is going to be an intense and adventurous love story – and not just between Grace and Rafe. God always plays a huge part in these adventures, and I anticipate that He will show up in mysterious and miraculous ways. Thank you, M.L., for another wonderful novel to add to my collection and read over and over again.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for The Raven Saint, Charles Towne Belles Series #3 (rpkgd)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 9, 2012
Customer Avatar
Abigail
Location:NH
Age:18-24
Gender:female
The Raven Saint is the third and last book in the Charles Towne Belles series.
Grace is zealous in her face, but extremely judgmental. Rafe appears to be heartless, but given the chance, he is an honorable man. Rafe kidnaps Grace intending to sell her to a man who wants revenge on Grace's father. Just as Rafe and Grace start to love each other, an old love comes back into Rafe’s life and tries to separate them.
Grace and Rafe's love is shocking. I didn't expect her to fall in love with Rafe--I hadn't realized the man who kidnapped her was the hero--at first. It's a good book. I've read it three times. One of those times, I read it out loud to my mother. My mother loved it as well.
This is my personal favorite in the series. I was kind of sad when I finished the series, the characters seemed so real.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for The Raven Saint, Charles Towne Belles Series #3 (rpkgd)
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A good conclusion to the series!

Date:October 26, 2011
Customer Avatar
Lady Katy
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
MaryLu's writing has a way of grabbing your attention and not letting go till the very end. Once I picked up The Raven Saint, I found it very hard to put down for any length of time. From the very first chapter, when Grace is thrown over the shoulder of the dashing Captain Rafe like a sack of corn, I was captivated. I always love a kidnapped/ransom story, and The Raven Saint is all that, and more!
While I can't say it's my favorite of Tyndall's books (The Surrender to Destiny series is just SO good!), I did enjoy this last installment in the Charles Towne Belles. One thing I can always count on with MaryLu -- I'm sure to be in for a swashbuckling adventure filled with surprising twists in the plot!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for The Raven Saint, Charles Towne Belles Series #3 (rpkgd)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Fate She Deserved For Better or For Worse?

Date:October 23, 2011
Customer Avatar
Lil Coop
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Finally after reading "The Raven Saint" by MaryLu Tyndall, the last novel in the "Charles Towne Belles" series, I have fully enjoyed the this wonderful book along with the first two books! With each chapter I read, I have an extremely hard time finding out what is going to happen next throughout the book. Grace Westcott a young lady who devotes her life in serving God and helping others in need. French Captain Rafe Dubois a man who is driven to being in authority and doing what he wants to do.
While Grace is on a mission to a needy family, is kidnapped by Rafe who sets sail to Columbia to sell her to a Spanish Don. Grace doesn't understand why and pleads to God for help. She then feels God has her their to share about God and her faith, she is finds that no one is interested in listening to her preach. All she really receives back when the crew on Rafe's ship listen is mockery. Rafe hates all types of religion because of his own father's abuse. During the journey to Columbia Rafe notices how Grace is not like other ladies. He doesn't understand why he starts to get attracted to Grace, so he determined to get rid of her as soon as he can or can he? This story has adventures from being spotted by pirate hunters, dealing with a voodoo curse, all the way to a duel to the death. Reading this swashbuckling romance makes me eager to see if Rafe will find the one true God or see if Grace's life will end in slavery to the Spanish Don!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for The Raven Saint, Charles Towne Belles Series #3 (rpkgd)
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:October 17, 2011
Customer Avatar
SHantelle
The Raven Saint was a captivating novel of a godly young woman who falls in love with the Frenchman who kidnapped her and plans to sell her. This book really caught my interest, as did the previous book in this series. Full of betrayal, confusion, and love, and forgiveness, it is a very good read.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for The Raven Saint, Charles Towne Belles Series #3 (rpkgd)
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A good conclusion

Date:October 16, 2011
Customer Avatar
Broadwayphan902
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This was a nice conclusion to the Charles Town Belles series. I didn't especially care for Grace's character. Rafe was okay, but he didn't seem quite real enough. On the other hand, I did find some of the secondary characters quite fascinating. The plot was fantastic, and though I didn't quite connect with the characters, I was excited to see what would happen in the end. The ending was actually quite funny and I thought it was great. It was definitely my favorite scene in the whole book. I think that it is awesome that MaryLu adds God into her stories without putting in too little or too much. It is just right. I would recommend this as a nice conclusion to the series.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for The Raven Saint, Charles Towne Belles Series #3 (rpkgd)
This review is fromThe Raven Saint - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Amazing

Date:October 15, 2011
Customer Avatar
princesslizzie
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Just like every single other book by MaryLu Tyndall, this was a page turner. I literally couldn't put the book down. I kept reading and reading, not even able to put it down to eat supper. I would carry it to the table and eat! I love the characters and how they continue on and how they interacted with each other. This book was so good because it reminded me of myself. I felt so much like the characters that it was almost scary. It inspired me to be better than I am. Excellent job Captain Tyndall
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for The Raven Saint, Charles Towne Belles Series #3 (rpkgd)
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Good

Date:October 14, 2011
Customer Avatar
Cort
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
The Raven Saint is the third book in the Charles Towne Belles Trilogy, so I would recommend reading the other two books, but this one can stand alone. Although I would have liked for Grace and Rafe too be a little more believable, the morals of this story make it well worth the read. I especially loved the ending and enjoyed reading the conclusion to the Wescott sisters' stories.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for The Raven Saint, Charles Towne Belles Series #3 (rpkgd)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

High Sea Adventure from Carolina to Columbia

Date:August 17, 2011
Customer Avatar
JudyMom2
Location:Arizona
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Raven Saint by M.L. Tyndall is the third and last book in the Charles Towne Belles series. The first book is The Red Siren and the second is The Blue Enchantress. The books are about three sisters: Faith, Hope & Grace Wescott. They have an older sister who is married and still in England, her name is Charity. Their father is an Admiral in the Royal Navy and spends more time at sea then with his family. Their mother passed away during childbirth.
This is Grace's story. She has been devoted to God from the beginning. Her mother wanted her to make sure her sisters came to Christ as well and Grace carries that burden along with carrying for the people in her area and her family. She brings food, medicine and the gospel even when her life is in danger of Indian attacks. She just did not consider the real danger of being kidnapped until one day in October, 1718 when it became a reality.
Captain Rafe Dubois, French by birth, has a hatred toward the British Navy. His mother was killed during a war and a raid on their Island. So when a don from Spain offered a large sum of money for the daughter of Admiral Wescott Rafe agreed to it. He thought she would be much different than the woman he kidnapped. Instead she had courage and was kind although she was judgmental and pious. He would have second thoughts about selling her but he had hate and revenge to turn to in those times. So many people betrayed him in the past that he did not trust easily.
Grace kept trying to find why God put her in this situation, surely it was to spread his word. She had a way of trying to beat people over the head with the Word rather then ease it up to them. And she was a bit self-righteous. When she escapes the ship at Port de Paix, the Island Rafe grew up on, she does not fair well. She don't speak french, she is robbed and fortunately the robbers did not recognize a woman in boys clothes and after four or five days in the rainy weather without shelter or food she gets help from an unlikely source.
Grace and Rafe are as different as night and day. She is prudish and pious and is a rake who seems to not have many morals. She has never been kissed and he has women throwing themselves at him.
It is quite an adventure that ties up the last of this series. Spyglass the cat is unique and smart, Thorn the first mate who is not all he seems to be, Claire- who has outward beauty but is quite devious, Rafe's father who is just evil although he claims to be a Christian, Annette the slave who is caught between two worlds, Father Aler who left being a Jesuit priest to sail with Rafe, Nicole a soiled dove who reaches out to help Grace when no one else does and helps Grace understand that sometimes people do what they must to survive.
I recommend reading all three books in the order written to get the full scope of the stories.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for The Raven Saint, Charles Towne Belles Series #3 (rpkgd)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

It was more than I expected.

Date:March 18, 2011
Customer Avatar
Sandy
Location:Oregon
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I couldn't put it down. I was hoping for more books to come with the same story line. And the anticipation!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for The Raven Saint, Charles Towne Belles Series #3 (rpkgd)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Her Best!

Date:March 10, 2011
Customer Avatar
Hannah
Location:Norco, CA
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book was an absolute joy to read, from beginning to end! I love love love love LOVE it! God REALLY spoke to me through it concerning my own struggles in life right now. It is my favorite of Marylu's books at the moment I love it XD
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for The Raven Saint, Charles Towne Belles Series #3 (rpkgd)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 10, 2010
Customer Avatar
Sapphire
Location:Wyoming
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book is not a light, feel-good read, and I appreciate that! It's a story that challenges the reader to really share the love of Christ with people - even oure enemies - but at the same time, it reaffirms that God loves us even when we fail to live like Him. All of the books in MaryLu's Charles Towne Bells series prompt the reader to action, and I feel this carries the most widely applicable and crucial message. Plus, it's a highly romantic story. :-)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for The Raven Saint, Charles Towne Belles Series #3 (rpkgd)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 23, 2010
Customer Avatar
potosrose
Join bestselling author M. L. Tyndall for another seafaring historical adventure full of romance, intrigue and action. Grace Westcott has piously served God her whole life. Captain Rafe Dubois cannot pass up the opportunity to earn more gold by kidnapping Admiral Westcotts youngest daughter. But when the missionary and the mercenary meet, its full-sail-ahead into tumultuous waters! Find out what happens when a bitter mercenary whos sworn off God falls in love with the Christian woman determined to change him. This is my favorite book to date of Ms. Tyndall's, and I hope she writes more in this series-you will love them!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for The Raven Saint, Charles Towne Belles Series #3 (rpkgd)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 31, 2010
Customer Avatar
Northerner
I love romantic novels that take place on the high seas.This book was a real page turner that kept me up at night. I love how the author had Grace Westcott look into her own soul when severe trials overtook her, and how Grace was transformed into a new person in the end.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for The Raven Saint, Charles Towne Belles Series #3 (rpkgd)
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:July 20, 2010
This book is a must read. I think most of us know someone like Grace. Alot of people think being a Christian means having the right to judge others. We need to always remember where and what God has delivered us all from and show other the mercy He has showed us. These sisters have so many different ideas of what God is really like and what He is all about. I enjoyed this series.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for The Raven Saint, Charles Towne Belles Series #3 (rpkgd)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 26, 2010
Customer Avatar
Bethany Church
This series is amazing. Once I started reading each of these books, I couldn't put it down. For on-the-edge-of-your-seat adventure, I highly recommend it!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for The Raven Saint, Charles Towne Belles Series #3 (rpkgd)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 7, 2010
Customer Avatar
Darlene Dye
Yhis was a very good book.Ireally enjoyed it .It was writened very well.A very good ending
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for The Raven Saint, Charles Towne Belles Series #3 (rpkgd)
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:March 21, 2010
Grace Westcott was en-route to minister to an ailing Timothy Roberts on a dark, rainy night with her maid, Alice, although warned by her father and brother-in-law not to go these dangerous expeditions. But Grace was doing Gods work: feeding the poor, tending to the sick and spreading the Gospel! When she the Roberts had not called for her.Grace was accosted and taken captive by men with swords and guns and taken to the ship of Captain Rafe Dubois, a mercenary who helped the poor. His mission with Grace was to sell her to Don Miguel de Salazar in Columbia, in retribution for the death of Dons son by Graces father.Betrayal, bitterness, revenge, piracy, and anger make for bitter decisions made by the Captain. Grace prays for Gods rescue, but she receives no answer. Surely God sent her on this mission to save the Captain and his men! But no one listened to her.The Captain took a detour to his childhood island, where he distributed food and clothing to the poor.Mr. Thorn, the Captains first-hand mate, helps Grace to escape, only to be robbed and left homeless for days. She meets Nicole, a woman of the night. Nicole arranges for her to go to a Christian mans home, the Captain father, Henri DuBois, in order to secure her way back home.Rafe finds Grace there, and helps her escape. His anger and revenge almost overtakes Rafe against his father. Upon rescuing Grace, Rafe finds his ex-fiance, Claire Dubois, his fathers wife, and her slave, Annette, aboard his ship. Chaos reigns.Grace finds herself helpless in reaching these men for the Lord. Shes again held captive aboard ship, and she finds herself weak to do anything. Does Grace find Gods will for this horrifying adventure? Will she be used to redeem these men and women? Does she find her way back home?This book will keep you turning the pages, as scenes change from moment to moment. Enjoy!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for The Raven Saint, Charles Towne Belles Series #3 (rpkgd)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 8, 2010
Customer Avatar
Jennifer
My New favorite Author! I love all of Tyndall's books! Raven Saint is another must read!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>