Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for WaterBrook Press Relentless: The Power You Need to Never Give Up - eBook

WaterBrook Press Relentless: The Power You Need to Never Give Up - eBook

Average Customer Rating:
3.947 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
(19 Reviews) 19
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (19 reviews)
5 stars
9
4 stars
4
3 stars
4
2 stars
0
1 star
2
16 out of 1984%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Relentless: The Power You Need to Never Give Up - eBook
Review 1 for Relentless: The Power You Need to Never Give Up - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:January 22, 2014
Customer Avatar
Godzheart
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Relentless is a book by a preacher who I admire and I pounced on the opportunity to review his book as soon as it arrived on my Blogging for Books list.
Relentless did not let me down. It is written in a very down to earth conversational style and I liked that about the book.
The language is simple and direct. The message is powerful.
I would totally recommend it!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Relentless: The Power You Need to Never Give Up - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Very empoowering.

Date:January 18, 2014
Customer Avatar
Trish
Location:Bonney Lake, WA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have purchased several copies and given them away.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Relentless: The Power You Need to Never Give Up - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 30, 2013
Customer Avatar
MEGGG
Location:NEOSHO MO
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Was doing this in a small group and is just a great study.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Relentless: The Power You Need to Never Give Up - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Relentless is both challenging and encouraging

Date:July 31, 2012
Customer Avatar
rbwhitlow
Location:Oklahoma City, OK
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I just finished reading a book by John Bevere called "Relentless". It had been a while since I read a book by Bevere. I was given a copy of "Under Cover" a few years ago and it led me to read "Bait of Satan" some time later. Relentless has a good message for anyone who has experienced or is experiencing adversity in their life, ministry, or relationship with God. It is a strong encouraging word that promises, through the Word, that if we will not give up, God will never fail us. Some of what he said reminded me of what I already knew, some exhorted me to step further in my walk with God, and some stretched me beyond my existing point of view. In other words, it was a good book to read.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Relentless: The Power You Need to Never Give Up - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Read s-l-o-w-l-y.

Date:July 21, 2012
Customer Avatar
Smoothie71
Location:Alabama
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This is a good book. It's very deep though (at least for me) and I would suggest you read it slowly.
John Bevere does a good job with this book. It includes a lot of Scripture (which I love) and brings about a reminder to believe ALL of God's Word and not just the parts that we deem ourselves "worthy" to believe.
I haven't finished it yet because there is so much information and quite frankly my faith has been very challenged to believe some of the things that are plainly put in Scripture and that John further talks about.
If you want to go deeper in your faith then this book is a good start. I would recommend it for anyone who wants to stop half-way believing God's promises and wants to cling to all of them whole-heartedly.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Relentless: The Power You Need to Never Give Up - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Trouble Comes, Triumph Happens If We Are Relentles

Date:July 13, 2012
Customer Avatar
VicsMediaRoom
Location:Irvine, CA
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
John Bevere in his new book, “Relentless” published by Waterbrook Press tells us about The Power You Need to Never Give Up.
From the inside jacket flap: Re•lent•less (ri lent/lis): an attitude or posture that is resolute, uncompromising, persistent, unyielding, constant, unstoppable, ruthless. The opposite of slacken, waver, or concede.
If ever there was a need for followers of Jesus to be resolute in purpose, uncompromising for truth, persistent in faith, unyielding in hope, constant in love, and unstoppable in advancing the kingdom…it’s now! God is ruthless in His love and pursuit of us; it’s time for His Bride to reflect the same passion.
John Bevere explores how people of Bible times and today became relentless: John the Baptist spent years living in a barren desert. Jesus endured hardship in a desolate wilderness of temptation. Both men emerged strong in the “power of the Spirit,” relentless in not just getting through challenges but in ruling over their circumstances. Ultimately, they succeeded in their God-given life mission.
In Relentless, you’ll learn how even seemingly impossible situations were never meant to stop you but to propel you forward in your journey. Discover in these biblically grounded truths how you can thrive no matter what your season of life.
How you begin is not nearly as important as how you finish. Embrace your trials and become relentless!
Psalm 34, verse 19 tells us, “Many are the afflictions of the righteous, But the LORD delivers him out of them all. It is not that we are not going to have trouble, we are, what is going to happen is that we are going to make it through the trouble by the power of God. That simply means that when trouble comes against we must stand against it, not cave in to it or turn around and walk away. John Bevere tells us how we should have a walk in God that is relentless no matter what comes against us. He shows us in events from his own life and events from the lives of those in the Bible how they were able to stand in the face of the enemy and overcome him. “Relentless” is not a book that you will read once and then pack away. It is a book that will impact you on the first read and change you and then continue to change you with each subsequent re-read. It is that good! I recommend it highly!
If you would like to listen to interviews with other authors and professionals please go to Kingdom Highlights where they are available On Demand.
To listen to 24 hours non-stop, commercial free Christian music please visit our internet radio station Kingdom Airwaves
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book for free from Waterbrook Multnomah Publishing Group for this review. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Relentless: The Power You Need to Never Give Up - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Book!

Date:March 28, 2012
Customer Avatar
Lori Skelton
Location:Lanesville, IN
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Every Christian needs to be reminded of the power that Jesus Christ left us. Great Book to read if you want to push ahead in your walk with Christ.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Relentless: The Power You Need to Never Give Up - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 20, 2012
Customer Avatar
Marf
Location:Spokane, WA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We are doing the lideo series in Sunday School so I am reading this book 1 chapter a week. So far it has been excellent. John Beveres writing style is very easy to understand and yet deep. I looki fiorward to finishing this book and expect it to be great, as are all his other books!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Relentless: The Power You Need to Never Give Up - eBook
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Unrelenting Error

Date:January 17, 2012
Customer Avatar
Halo faire
Quality: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This is a difficult review to write, mainly because I had benefitted so much from John's first books, such as "Thus saith the Lord" "A heart Ablaze" and "Victory in the Wilderness ". It's painful because I was genuinely hoping that "Relentless "would move back towards those more insightful, soundly based teachings. But instead I'm afraid my impression in the extracts I've read is; it's just plain wrong. Especially when looking at the "See and Enter" chapter.
In going through the "Relentless " selections, there seemed to be a underlying drumbeat or tone of a "positive faith" message, notably in his illustrations. They tended to gravitate towards great earthly "success" stories, like sporting fame or multi-million dollar business deals. I have nothing against using such anecdotes, but isn't that largely a worldly outlook? To regard earthly praise or fortunes as a sign of "accomplishment"? In the Lord's Kingdom those with humility, contriteness and trembling at God's word seem to be the ones that He defines as be highly regarded (Isaiah 66:2).
But I was going to give the author the benefit of the doubt, until I reached the end of chapter six. When John suddenly starts praising of all people, Kenneth Hagin and Oral Roberts! These are according to Bevere,the " great" men of faith who entered into "rulership" ?! I think at best, it's very unwise of John to have used such controversial figures as his role models; especially when there are so many others that he might have used. Take for example the inspiring relentless faith of our brothers and sisters in the persecuted church, such as Watchman Nee. Or the missionaries who doggedly transformed outreach such as Hudson Taylor. But to choose as prime examples, the "health, wealth and prosperity "types !? I myself have a charismatic/Pentecostal background and history; but in these particular ministries I defiantly don't find much "faithful", true or glorifying to God.
Scripture says such men are not fit even for basic leadership, Titus 1:7 "..For the overseer must be above reproach as God's steward,... not fond of sordid gain" 1 Timothy 3:2-3. "..free from the love of money". What really disturbs me is that this is elementary, basic discernment 101. "Relentless" sounds like those naive folks who defend the Benny Hinn type ministries. They are not merely just wrong biblically , but they are actually in some kind of trap themselves by not being able to see the greed and manipulation of such shepherds. Bevere writes that Hagin/ Roberts were " attacked" because of jealously or their success, they were the faithful ones! Never mind the fact in 1987, when during a fundraising drive, Roberts announced to a television audience that unless he raised $8 million, Jesus would call him home ? In stark contrast to what Paul the Apostle said.. "those who want to get rich fall into temptation and a trap and into many foolish and harmful desires that plunge people into ruin and destruction.' (1 Tim 6:9 NIV) . Or how about when Oral claimed Jesus had appeared to him in person and commissioned him to find a cure for cancer ! (Time, July 4, 1983). There has been no cure for cancer found at the Oral Roberts University or anywhere else! Does John genuinely believe that the ministry legacy the likes of Hagin and Roberts left behind is a good one ? That this teaching/ bread is really fit for the children of God?
To say that there might be some good parts in the book is to miss the point; the bad yeast is already active within the loaf. And my review is not a condemnation of John , but to give note to a great disappointment with this product. You must judge for yourselves ; but for me I am saddened by the direction Bevere is taking in his ministry. We must pray he is brought back to a more true biblical understanding before it is too late.
(Please note, to be fair. This evaluation is from the limited chapters and extracts of the book that I had available, not the entire novel. I didn't wish to go on to purchase it, after the initial excerpts proved to be so unsound)
+1point
6of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Relentless: The Power You Need to Never Give Up - eBook
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Filled with exegetical/theological error

Date:December 15, 2011
Customer Avatar
Books at The Beach
Location:Florida
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
When I receive a book that makes bold proclamations on its back cover, such as this book will provide a “…fresh new mindset—a paradigm shift” about Christianity, I delve in looking for inspiration and insight. Sadly, Relentless provided neither inspiration nor insight.
Bevere’s original intent seems plausible: the Christian life is to be lived relentlessly, or with a dogged determination to live as Christ did. The initial preamble seems a little off as Bevere provides his pivotal verse from Romans 5:17 (TEV):
All who receive God’s abundant grace and are freely put right with him will rule in life through Christ.
From the phrase “rule in life,” Bevere builds a straw man argument that this implies our God vested right to govern our lives on earth. All allusions back to this premise are dovetailed with convenient scriptural allegory to our “being in charge,” or “ruling” over things.
Before delving into what really bothers me about the way this book is written, it is important to clarify a brief context of Romans 5:17. Quite simply, the distinction appears to be a contrast of death’s reign in our lives and subjugation to sin due to Adam’s original sin—and the ability of the believer to live above sin, or reign as a king, through the accomplished work of Christ. Bevere’s insistence that this verse implies a type of lordship over the quality of our lives is patently wrong and sets an amazing precedent for the eisogesis which informs his writing. [Eisogesis is reading something into a biblical text that does not exist in context as contrasted with exegesis, which means to draw meaning “out of” a biblical text.]
A little later in the book, Bevere turns to Daniel’s faithfulness as a proof text of living relentlessly. As quick reminder of the context of Daniel 6, King Darius was quite impressed with Daniel’s abilities. Daniel was the epitome of faithfulness and Darius was going to promote him to a position over his entire kingdom. Most certainly this disappointed the other officials who decided the only way they would be able to bring any charge against Daniel would be if they could do it in such a way to violate his religious devotion. As the story goes, they cajole Darius to make an irrefutable law prohibiting prayer to anyone but him. When Daniel remains faithful to his religious conviction, he becomes lunch for a pit of lions.
Bevere implies that Daniel was ten times more knowledgeable, innovative, or creative than any of the other officials and the fact of Daniel’s excellence spurned envy in their hearts. Such is the author’s speculation that this is the only reason why they would make a law not allowing prayer to anyone but the king. The context only divulges that Daniel had an extraordinary spirit and does not go into detail about his innovation or creativity. Were the officials envious? Absolutely! Perhaps they feared being left behind. Reading anything more into the text is blatant eisogesis.
While you will not find exegesis of the biblical texts used to “support” the ongoing thesis, you will find:
Hubris: Just because someone has written a number of books does not mean they should remind their readers every few chapters. Apparently, living a relentless Christian life means that you should vaunt your accomplishments to all those around you? I was offended when I read the author share a dream to “…go back to his high school English teachers and show them the 15 books he’s written (by God’s grace, of course), watch them faint, then revive them and lead them to Christ.”
Eisogesis: Reference to many different scriptures are made but their meanings seem to be twisted to suit the message. For the uninitiated, watch how frequently a writer will change the version of Scripture they use. The author quotes from multiple different versions of Scripture—the reason for this is to “demonstrate” that what is written is aligned with Scripture. If you look hard enough, you can find a version that has the precise word order, or word choice, that allegedly “proves” your point.
Authoritarianism: Bevere indicates that those who would differ with him are motivated by ill motive. Although this is precisely what the Bible commends as diligent reading in Acts 17:11: “And the people of Berea were more open-minded than those in Thessalonica, and they listened eagerly to Paul’s message. They searched the Scriptures day after day to see if Paul and Silas were teaching the truth.” (NLT)
Exclusivity: Whenever an author implies that 98% of Christians simply “do not get it,” a red cautionary flag should be raised. I do not recall the source, but one of my undergraduate professors in biblical studies said something akin to, “When someone finds something in Scripture that no one has ever seen before, nine times out of ten they’re absolutely wrong.”
Those seeking a “…fresh new mindset” or “…a paradigm shift” about Christianity should look elsewhere.
+6points
14of 22voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Relentless: The Power You Need to Never Give Up - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Expanded Views of Grace

Date:December 5, 2011
Customer Avatar
acportwood
Location:Milledgeville, GA
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I just finished reading the book Relentless by John Bevere and came away with an enlarged perspective of God's grace for us. I have always attributed most of the power of grace to the forgiveness of sin in my life, but Bevere brings new understanding through the power of Scripture and the work of the Holy Spirit. He makes bold statements about the work of grace in our lives, but always provides Biblical texts to add authority.
The powerful charge (as given by grace) is that we are to rule in life through Christ. The grace that God gives to those that choose to follow Him daily is the force that enables us to overcome opposition to life and godliness. Bevere states that it is the evidence of that grace in our lives that truly identifies a follower of Christ and not just a one-time public proclamation of faith or regular attendance at church. It is a continual process of grace refining our lives and not a one-time experience. He writes, "Grace is not merely a God-given cover-up of our sin. It empowers us to live like Jesus, to rule in this life by manifesting heaven's authority and power to change our world of influence."
Bevere does an excellent job of expressing the meaning of grace as shown through the Bible and builds a strong foundation of understanding and faith. He is able to expand upon that base of grace and communicate how much bigger God's vision of grace is for us than our own. The testimonies offered in the book only reinforce the truth of the power of God's grace. It is an essential element in the life of a Christ-follower that is based on all that God has to offer and our willingness to accept His gift and utilize it as fully as possible in this temporary life.
I would recommend this book for fans of John Bevere and for anyone who is looking for greater depth in their understanding of God's intentions for us in this life. It has certainly made me reevaluate my own belief in God's ability to influence my life through grace and how fervently and humbly I should be seeking more of it.
"I received this book for free from WaterBrook Multnomah Publishing Group for this review"
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Relentless: The Power You Need to Never Give Up - eBook
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Not what I expected.

Date:December 5, 2011
Customer Avatar
amymo
Location:Reinholds, PA
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
How does one review a book that they don’t agree with theologically? I’ve struggled with trying to get through John Bevere's latest book, Relentless . It wasn’t the book I thought it would be. I did however read through the entire book and while I understand where Bevere was coming from I also found it very difficult to agree with some of his points and arguments.
I fundamentally disagree with Bevere's explanation about how Grace (the Grace the covers us – a free gift from God) is equal to Empowerment. (Therein I would have to admit that I am part of the 98% that he has lumped my personal beliefs in to) My personal viewpoint was that he was walking a fine line into taking God and the power of the Holy Spirit out of the picture and encouraging us to use our personal power.
I could go into theologically differences but that would defeat the purpose of this review. If you (as the reader) believe and agree with the concepts that follow the teachings of prosperity gospel then this book is for you.
I did glean a few insights although even though I disagreed with portions of his theology. In the end we all need the free gift of Grace and the hope that comes with knowing our Lord and Savior, Jesus Christ.
I gave this book a three star review because I feel rather neutral when it comes to recommending or not recommending the book.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Relentless: The Power You Need to Never Give Up - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

It's time to live relentlessly!

Date:November 29, 2011
Customer Avatar
Organic Shoes
Location:Oklahoma City, OK
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
“You already have what it takes to finish well!” declares John Bever in his latest book, Relentless. So many times as Christians we let the day go by us, living to just get by, to get through each day, through Relentless Bevere reminds us that we are not meant to 'just get by.' That are goal is not just to finish, but to finish well! We have been equipped with the tools to take control of our situation through the grace of God and to live relentlessly for Him.
Bevere challenges us to take a stand and to declare the promises of God over every situation. Relentless is jam packed with information which at times became overwhelming with all the information squeezed into a single chapter. Bevere uses biblical truth in support of what he is asking us to do, to live relentlessly for God. The level of conversation within the book digs deep into the ancient greek roots of words and bible translations, Bevere has done his research on the topic as he shares stories and examples of what a life living relentlessly could look like.
There are some points within this book that I do not agree with, but for the most part I enjoyed the information and had a lot to think about. At times the chapters are daunting and are so packed full of information it is hard to process everything. This is not a book to read over a weekend, it is a book that needs time and consideration and be prepared to take notes! By the end of this book you will be ready to stand tall and strong and by becoming Relentless in our faith “we will become something to be reckoned with, a genuine threat to the kingdom of darkness.”
I received this book complimentary from Waterbrook Press through the blogging for books program in exchange for an honest review. All opinions and thoughts are my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Relentless: The Power You Need to Never Give Up - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

book review | relentless

Date:November 14, 2011
Customer Avatar
Mary hess
Location:Summerville, SC
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
From the book:
You already have it what it takes to finish well! You were never meant to “just get by” as a Christian. You are meant to rule in adverse situations and display greatness! Best-selling author John Bevere explores what it takes to finish well. More than a strategy for survival, Relentless offers you a fresh new mindset – a paradigm shift. Its biblically grounded truths will equip you to flourish in every season of life.
My review:
Well, anything from John Bevere is going to be awesome. He is a phenomenal writer and really takes the time to break down biblical truths for every believer to grasp and absorb. This book is nothing short of that. John walks you through different steps to help you as well as obstacles that would hinder you from being the relentless Christian you should be! I love that he gives personal application to drive home the points he makes in each chapter. By the time you finish this book you are standing tall, shoulders strong and you are screaming, “I AM RELENTLESS!”
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Relentless: The Power You Need to Never Give Up - eBook
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Empowering Read?

Date:November 14, 2011
Customer Avatar
DeannaMary
Location:Palmdale, CA
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
WaterBrook Multnomah Press gave me a complimentary copy of John Bevere's soon-to-be released Relentless in exchange for an honest review. Bevere wants to convey to believers that they have been given more than they realize through God's grace. Christians have been empowered through grace to rule over this life, rather than being ruled by circumstances and occurrences. This empowerment is the key to have a relentless faith that leads to the finish line.
Everyone has those days in this life where they find themselves ready to throw in the towel and walk away. But, God has called believers to continue with a tenacity that only could be Christ-powered. Bevere reminds Christians what armor is at our disposal to resist the devil and his ploys. Through wielding the armor, obedience and prayer Satan won't even win a battle. In closing, the author points out for what end and why believers are called to live relentlessly.
This book is not to casually glance over. Relentless is a book that challenged my beliefs and uplifted my spirit in the process. My biggest challenge was figuring out how to apply what John Bevere was teaching me. How do I feel empowered, yet stay humble, without losing my dependence upon the Father? Many of the questions that arose were addressed in the subsequent pages. I would caution readers not to lose sight of Christ. Satan would love to use the teachings in Relentless for his advantage. He did to Eve, he could do it to us.
I finished this book a couple of days ago. I waited to write my review to sort my feelings out. Ambiguity still is plaguing me. I'm not sure if I could ever feel comfortable yelling out loud to command Satan to flee as suggested. Maybe it's just the idea that I am not comfortable with. There were definitely portions of the book that I found harder to swallow. Could it be that the western world's Christianity has been so watered down that we are luke-warm and don't realize it? Is this God's call to live life more abundantly?
Grace is a gift given to us. Many Christians take it, yet don't use it. It's as if someone was given the most wonderful Christmas present ever. The one treasure that they waited years for to receive. Once it is in their hands they set it down on the shelf, only to collect dust. God wants us to live this life with Him. His grace is in abundance and freely given. Relentless is a great tool to use to understand what grace can mean to every Christian in the world. Through Bevere's easily-grasped anecdotes to his personal life and musings to biblical teaching, this book can propel you further in the race, guiding you closer to the finish line. I only hope your faith will be Relentless!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Relentless: The Power You Need to Never Give Up - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Inspires People in Christ's Body Not to Give Up

Date:November 7, 2011
Customer Avatar
Wordmachine
Location:GA
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Relentless" is a book to help people in the Body of Christ to not let circumstances that they face cause them to give up on the race that God has set before them. There are many topics covered in this book such as grace, perseverance, rejection, being intoxicated with things God gives us to enjoy, staying sober, healing, prayer, etc. This book stresses that there is barely any conviction in today’s teachings given to the Body of Christ to confess sins, change behaviors from sinning, and to become holy. It shows people that status in life is not important and that God can give them the grace that they need no matter what they do, and how to tap better into the grace that God has available.
I started this book with what I think was a damaged view of grace. Now I understand that it’s the power God gives people to do what He wants them to do that they can’t accomplish with their own power; it also cleanses them from impurities that make their lives unholy. I had a hard time taking in the teaching in this book about sickness not coming from God because everybody has to die some time, and some people die by becoming sick, but this has motivated me to look into this topic further. This book also gave me a better understanding of why God answers prayers more urgently than others, and why there are some prayers that He doesn’t seem to pay attention to.
I like that John Bevere describes that his books are authored by God and that he (John) just happens to be the first person to read them. I must say that it did seem like God used this book to speak directly to me about specific issues that I was facing while I was reading it, which makes me honestly believe that God did in fact author this book.
I believe that all people in the Body of Christ can benefit from reading this book. It concentrates on focusing on what the Scriptures teach and encourages believers to follow truth and not error.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this advanced reader’s copy of “Relentless” by John Bevere free from Waterbrook Press through the their blogger’s book review program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Relentless: The Power You Need to Never Give Up - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Timely Reminder

Date:October 14, 2011
Customer Avatar
IntelMin
Location:Belleville, IL
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
John Bevere, bestselling author, speaker and head of Messenger International provides readers with yet another timely book, this time on the need to persevere through hardship while maintaining a firm foundation in God’s Word. At first, Relentless had all the makings of yet another book about how God will make everything work out for the believer provided they simply have faith and a positive attitude in the midst of trials and tribulations, much akin to something from the pen of Joel Olsteen or Robert Schuller. Thankfully, John Bevere’s approach is far more biblically centric fully recognizing the situations believers will face and the necessity to not just poke along in our Christian walk but to conversely press forward through faith and trust in that through the power of God we can indeed be more than conquerors.
Relentless begins with Bevere depicting three types of individuals we all face: (1) the unbeliever who merely goes with the flow of everyday life, (2) the believer who recognizes the need to press forward in the fight against the enemy, and (3) the deceived who have the appearance of truth yet are in the end either compromisers of God’s Word or outright charlatans. The need to be relentless, according to Bevere, is based on the desire to “finish according to the desired end.” He rightly notes “There’s no escaping the adversity waiting for each of us if we follow the path of Jesus. The stakes are high and the eternal rewards priceless.”
Bevere also provides some valuable insight into the now and not yet aspect of the Kingdom of God taught by respected theologians and experts in this area such as George Eldon Ladd and others. Unfortunately, many believers seem to have the concept that the present life is something we just have to endure until we can “get to heaven.” In reality, this is not what Scripture describes. The Kingdom of God is to be experienced to some degree in the present. Some aspects of Bevere’s statements in this area may lead some to believe that in this present life we have the authority to ensure we will not endure any trials as we have been given authority to rule in this age as we will in the age to come. That is not, in the opinion of this reviewer, the conclusion Bevere is leading to. Conversely, what he is alluding to is the fact that through Christ we are more than conquerors. We have been given the ability to engage the enemy by donning the full armor of God on a daily basis in order to wage war against the enemy. As the body of Christ, this is one of our mandates.
Another valuable insight provided by Bevere is the very nature of the conflict we as believers face. He reminds us of the source of our struggle, namely the desire of Satan to steal, kill, and destroy. In an age where there are increasing amounts of tribulation in the world such as famine, clashes between nations and religious worldviews, greed, poverty, and sickness just to name a few, many seek to understand how a loving God could allow such tragedy to take place. While Bevere certainly does not undertake a scholarly overview of the problem of evil which would largely be outside the bounds of this particular book in the first place, he does remind the reader who the source of evil truly is, namely Satan. Bevere perhaps does toe the line somewhat on the prosperity issue; however, it is by no means over the top prosperity gospel teaching. Instead he reminds his reader that to have financial prosperity is not sinful, what is sinful is allowing the pursuit of money or prosperity to become lord in your life.
One of the final areas of importance covered by Bevere is the need to be vigilant. One of the major ways to maintain an attitude of vigilance is through prayer, an area of the Christian walk arguably largely neglected by most believers. Bevere reminds us of Jesus in the Garden of Gethsemane when he urged the disciples to “watch with me” through prayer. Throughout the gospels it must be noticed that Jesus spent a great deal of time in prayer. In Luke 18:1, Jesus exhorts that “Men ought always to pray, and not to faint.” In an age when the spiritual conflict we face is increasingly heated, the method by which we must press on must be oriented in maintaining spiritual vigilance through an active prayer life.
Overall, Relentless by John Bevere is a well-written, biblically centric, call to arms. There are those without and even unfortunately within the evangelical community who seek to lure believers into compromise in an effort to make the gospel more amenable to the masses. We must resist such efforts to water down God’s word as this is simply yet another attempt by Satan to steal, kill, and destroy. The enemy is fierce; however, greater is He that is in us than he that is in the world. Let us daily remind each other to heed the words of Hebrews 12:1: “Let us run with patient endurance and steady and active persistence the appointed course of the race that is set before us.” (AMP)
I received this book for free from WaterBrook Multnomah Publishing Group for this review. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Relentless: The Power You Need to Never Give Up - eBook
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Relentless

Date:October 13, 2011
Customer Avatar
debs
Location:Maine
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This book explains the way to get through life and all of life struggles by using your faith to guide you and by using GOD's word you will survive and be happy.
Each chapter starts out with a subject and scripture verse. The chapter continues with an example story and with a detailed description of the christian way to handle all situations for your life. It teaches you that you can handle anything that life deals to you.
I would recommend this book to those that are looking for a self help book, but be warn that it is a heavy read and you will need to concentrate on the contents of this book to get the most out of it.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the Waterbrook Multnomah book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Relentless: The Power You Need to Never Give Up - eBook
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

An inspiring text

Date:September 27, 2011
Customer Avatar
Book Nerdy
Location:Southern US
Age:25-34
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
The theme of this text is “finishing well”. The scriptures put it this way…
“Better is the end of a thing than its beginning,
and the patient in spirit is better than the proud in spirit.” (Hebrews 7:8) ESV.
The author, John Bevere uses thematic scriptures to guide each chapter through the process of finishing well in every season of life. Let’s face it, just as the weather & holiday seasons change, so do the seasons of life. With each season that begins, the author desires to inspire the reader to finish well. Therefore, learning about one self & much more so about God and His character & faithfulness.
If you are a reader who is a stickler for certain translations of the bible, then that will be a drawback for you w/ this text. The author uses multiple translations when he addresses finishing well w/ verses of God’s Word.
I received this book for free from WaterBrook Multnomah Publishing Group for this review.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.