Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Warner Press The Squire and the Scroll: A Tale of the Rewards of a Pure Heart

Warner Press The Squire and the Scroll: A Tale of the Rewards of a Pure Heart

Little girls worldwide have embraced Jennie Bishop's best-selling morality tale The Princess and the Kiss--and ever since its publication, parents have been clamoring for a companion book for boys. Here's the answer! This captivating adventure follows a young squire who travels a long, dangerous road beside his brave knight on a quest for their king. The action builds until the final face-off with the monstrous, evil dragon. Only then does the Squire learn of the secret beyond the cave that ends in a joyous celebration for the entire kingdom.

Children will gain valuable insight as they learn, along with the young squire, what it means to face the dangers of temptation, and what it takes to guard one's heart from all that is impure. Recommended for ages 6 and up.

Average Customer Rating:
4.85 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(20 Reviews) 20
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (20 reviews)
5 stars
17
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
3 out of 3100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for The Squire and the Scroll: A Tale of the Rewards of a Pure Heart
Review 1 for The Squire and the Scroll: A Tale of the Rewards of a Pure Heart
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Wonderful way to start talking with young men.

Date:October 28, 2011
Customer Avatar
jstanton
Location:Lincoln, NE
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased two copies of this book. A friend with three sons was looking for tools for talking with her boys about purity. I suggested this book and then proceeded to order both of us a copy.
I have read it with my three sons a couple times and they really enjoy the adventure. I like the message, for them about purity and for me to remember to have them in the Word on a regular basis because hiding Christ's word in a child's heart is going to serve that child his/her whole life.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for The Squire and the Scroll: A Tale of the Rewards of a Pure Heart
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

This is a great book for kids.-great lesson.

Date:September 22, 2011
Customer Avatar
spud8
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is a well written book aimed a boys. My daughter enjoyed it also. It is an interesting story that holds their attention with spiritual application.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for The Squire and the Scroll: A Tale of the Rewards of a Pure Heart
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A great gift to keep family strong

Date:April 12, 2011
Customer Avatar
forthekingdom
Location:Tinton Falls NJ
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I gave this as a gift to my grandson. His mom requested it as she is a homeschool mom and her daughter (older) enjoyed the Princess and the Kiss...which we also gave to her. Wonderfully encaptivating story line and awesome illustrations keep their attention and the lessons are like seeds sown in fertile soil. Read it again and again...and then buy the devotional book to accompany it.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for The Squire and the Scroll: A Tale of the Rewards of a Pure Heart
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 22, 2010
Customer Avatar
Nicole Williams
This is a wonderful book! My son wants me to read it again and again. We are planning on using it with Life Lessons from The Squire and the Scroll this fall as part of our homeschool curriculum.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for The Squire and the Scroll: A Tale of the Rewards of a Pure Heart
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 2, 2010
Customer Avatar
Andrea Crane
I bought The Princess & The Kiss and The Squire & The Scroll for a friend who wants to emphasize the importance of purity with her children. I love these books because they change the focus from "God says don't have sex til your married" to "Above all else, guard your heart, for it is the wellspring of life." Its hard to address the subject of sex with kids & still guard their innocence. But we can say, "Look, God doesn't say be perfect, he says be pure. Here's some ways we can guard our hearts & our minds from things that may threaten that purity." If you can guard your heart & mind, you'll be a lot farther away from being tempted physically. I love these books, and I love the author's heart for writing them.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for The Squire and the Scroll: A Tale of the Rewards of a Pure Heart
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 25, 2010
Customer Avatar
Julie Kayhart
We also love this book. Although, maybe a little scary for younger children with the dragon. The theme around this book is great and the pictures are also beautiful.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for The Squire and the Scroll: A Tale of the Rewards of a Pure Heart
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 30, 2009
Customer Avatar
Amy P
great book - I got it on recommendation from a trusted friend, and it held my 7 y/o son's attention (who would typically choose a book about Star Wars given the choice.) Good lessons discuss.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for The Squire and the Scroll: A Tale of the Rewards of a Pure Heart
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 2, 2009
Customer Avatar
Linda Schaeffer
As a grandmother of six boys I read this book with great interest. I only wish it had been available when my sons were boys. The truths taught are invaluable and in a very appealing story for boys ages six through twelve. Every Mom and Dad needs to read this and share it with their young sons.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for The Squire and the Scroll: A Tale of the Rewards of a Pure Heart
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 2, 2009
Customer Avatar
Margety
What a refreshing book! We purchased this book for our 8 year old grandson. I love the story as much as he !!! It is just wonderful!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for The Squire and the Scroll: A Tale of the Rewards of a Pure Heart
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 5, 2009
Customer Avatar
Raina
This was a beautiful story; exciting enough to keep my son wanting to hear it again and again, but with a definite message on keeping the Word of God hidden in our hearts. I bought it for him when he was six, and he still enjoys hearing the story. It's been fun to watch his insight grow; as he gets older, the discussions on this book are much less one-sided.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for The Squire and the Scroll: A Tale of the Rewards of a Pure Heart
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 18, 2008
Customer Avatar
Christine M. Irvin
Jennie Bishop tells a delightful tale about a young boy who has recently become a squire in The Squire and the Scroll. The king has sent the squire, along with a knight, on a quest to retrieve the Lantern of Purest Light, which has been stolen. Many other knights have been sent to rescue the lantern, but none have returned. Before his journey begins, the squires mother and father give him a copy of a scroll. It has five rules on it by which the squire and his family have patterned their lives. The knight and squire encounter many dangers and temptations on their quest for the lantern. Each time, the squire remembers a rule from the scroll and uses it to guide his path.Although the word God is used only once in the story, this tale is appropriate for a Christian audience as the rules of the scroll are Biblical in nature. One example is: Let your eyes look straight ahead, fix your gaze directly before you. This verse comes from Psalms 4:25 [NIV]. Another rule, Listen only to words that are pure, is similar to a verse from Psalm 119:9 [NIV] that reads, How can a young man keep his way pure? By living according to your word. The author cites this verse at the end of the book.The illustrations by Preston McDaniels are vivid, life-like paintings, full of color and charm; they lend much to the tale. Age Appeal: The publisher suggests 4-8 as the targeted age group, but I think that although this age group would enjoy the story, the language is more appropriate for an older audience, more like 9-12. Adults will enjoy it, too!- Christian Children's Book Review
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for The Squire and the Scroll: A Tale of the Rewards of a Pure Heart
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 2, 2008
Customer Avatar
Debbie Hickin
Excellent book to read to your sons! My sons loved it! It is a wonderful way to teach our sons about purity.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for The Squire and the Scroll: A Tale of the Rewards of a Pure Heart
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:February 29, 2008
Customer Avatar
Monica Turcotte
This book is worth getting, but not what I expected.Not quite as perfect as "The Princess and the Kiss", but a great starting point for discussion with lots of room to expand as the boy gets older. It is definitely worth revisiting on a yearly basis, as the boy gains experience in the real world. I bought it for my 6 year old. He had no context for the temptations presented. I needed to do a lot of explaining. [He understood the "The Princess" book at face value because already he has experienced little girls having crushes on him.] The other reason I gave this book only 4 stars was that I think that sexual purity is just as important for boys and this book barely gave it a nod. The temptations were more greed, pride and selfishness.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for The Squire and the Scroll: A Tale of the Rewards of a Pure Heart
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 29, 2007
Customer Avatar
Richenda Schenk
Our son truly enjoyed this captivating book of adventure with an outstanding message of pureness of heart. We will be reading this one for years to come!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for The Squire and the Scroll: A Tale of the Rewards of a Pure Heart
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 6, 2007
Customer Avatar
Pj Newkirk
I hadn't read this one until it arrived for my nephew (his Christmas gift) but I knew if it was even close to "The Princess and the Kiss" we had to get it for him. I admit we opened it and read it as soon as it arrived! What a wonderful story for boys and girls alike.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for The Squire and the Scroll: A Tale of the Rewards of a Pure Heart
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 12, 2007
Customer Avatar
Stephanie Ennis
Wonderful fiction story for boys that can be broken down into biblical symbolism and truth. I highly recommend getting the lesson book to accompany the story. It's a great tool for anyone looking to teach their young 'squire' to stand by his Christian principles and be 'in the world but not of the world.'
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for The Squire and the Scroll: A Tale of the Rewards of a Pure Heart
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 6, 2007
Customer Avatar
Jeffry Buschman
This is a great story that both my 8 and 10 yr old boys wanted read to them every night. Sparked lots of discussion. Good message, presented well. I recommend this highly.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for The Squire and the Scroll: A Tale of the Rewards of a Pure Heart
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 18, 2006
Customer Avatar
Gina Miller
Awesome! Awesome! This book truly honors how God makes boys!My son absolutely loves the adventure and the conquering of evil through Godly wisdom. He is 7 and can now read it himself, but I first read it to him when he was 5 or 6. We also use the companion Bible study book and the coloring book. My daughter loves the Princess and the Kiss, too! We let them color in the coloring books during family devotionals.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for The Squire and the Scroll: A Tale of the Rewards of a Pure Heart
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 27, 2005
Customer Avatar
Renee
I loved reading this book to my 7 year old. My 11 year old son even enjoyed listening to the story. It is a terrific tool to use for teaching my son how to use not only God's Word as our light and sword but also how to keep their eyes, ears, mouth, and hearts pure. Thank you for writing this book, it was a God sent. It definately helps start the process of teaching my son purity at a young age. I had all my friends read this book and the "Princess and the Kiss" for their girls. They all loved the books and of course are ordeirng them for their children. We are looking forward to the Life Lessons Workbook for "The Squire and the Scroll". Thank you again.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for The Squire and the Scroll: A Tale of the Rewards of a Pure Heart
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 2, 2004
Customer Avatar
Daneille Beck
This book is great about hiding God's Word in your heart and about what really matters.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.