Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Thomas Nelson The Five People You Meet in Heaven, DVD

Thomas Nelson The Five People You Meet in Heaven, DVD

Jon Voight and Ellen Burstyn star in this Hallmark Hall of Fame presentation of Mitch Albom's phenomenal bestseller! Meet "Eddie Maintenance," an aging amusement park worker who sees himself as a failure and his time as wasted. When he dies and wakes in heaven, five people from his past review his life. The Five People You Meet in Heaven explores the unexpected mysteries of the afterlife by reminding us what really matters here on Earth. Not Rated (Some violence). Approx. 2 hours, 13 minutes.

Special Features:

  • Full Screen
  • 2.0 Dolby Stereo
  • English Closed Captioning
  • Scene Selections
  • Commentary by Director Lloyd Kramer, Novelist Mitch Albom and Actor Jon Voight
  • Interviews
  • "Makeup Magic": Jon Voight Makeup Session

Average Customer Rating:
2.762 out of 5
2.8
 out of 
5
(21 Reviews) 21
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (21 reviews)
5 stars
6
4 stars
3
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
10
3 out of 560%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for The Five People You Meet in Heaven, DVD
Review 1 for The Five People You Meet in Heaven, DVD
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

New Age, non Christian, fantasy

Date:March 31, 2014
Customer Avatar
truebeliever
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This movie was purchased at a Christian bookstore by a friend and loaned to me to see what I thought. Although the acting was very good and the animations were good, the theme of the movie was dangerous, especially for a marginal believer who might be mesmerized into believing that when you die, you will go to heaven without God or through Jesus Christ...I listened carefully and did not hear either mentioned even once. The whole concept of heaven was wrong, you don't go there in the flesh and just enjoy an eternity with roller coasters, a theme park, beautiful women, and all of your friends. I envision a much different Heaven, a spiritual one with love and righteousness and with our creator, not a secular one with toys and sinful people in the flesh. It would be like returning to the "World" after dying. This is in no way a Christian movie and it will lead many people down the path to destruction. It was deceivingly packed with highly emotional scenes and is subtly hypnotic, enticing one to want to believe in it and to want this make believe "heaven" for themselves. Parents, be careful!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for The Five People You Meet in Heaven, DVD
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Author of book wrote the screen play.

Date:January 21, 2013
Customer Avatar
CatsMeow
Location:Pittsfield, IL
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Didn't read the book but my husband had and he appreciates the fact the author himself wrote the screen play so the book isn't altered. If one is not Biblically knowledgeable, some of the content is misleading. It is just a story and well portrayed. Does have some good comments such as "a stranger is just family you do not know yet." Didn't comment on the "meets expectations" as really had none.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for The Five People You Meet in Heaven, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 1, 2011
Customer Avatar
Nanny P
Location:St. Catharines, ON, Canada
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Another excellent movie, well acted and follows the book to a T. I would suggest only older children watch this, younger ones might be frightend by a few scenes. Although, as always, watch the movie first and then decide.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for The Five People You Meet in Heaven, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 26, 2011
Customer Avatar
Jackie
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This film is a "must-see" for moviegoers. It helps you realize that all things happen for a reason and that your life DOES make a difference in the lives of others.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for The Five People You Meet in Heaven, DVD
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Don't Buy

Date:March 9, 2011
Customer Avatar
JK Turnage
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This movie is NOT scripturally-based. I was not comfortable allowing my children to watch it as the portrayal of heaven was more in line with the author's imagination than what the Bible states.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for The Five People You Meet in Heaven, DVD
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Date:December 18, 2009
Customer Avatar
Susan Todd
I was disappointed with the storyline of the movie. The Bible teaches, "To be absent from the body is to be present with the LORD." I felt it was more like a satire of being in hell rather than heaven. Heaven is a place of Joy in the presense of our Holy Almighty Creator Savior God, not a replay of a sinful world.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for The Five People You Meet in Heaven, DVD
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:December 9, 2009
Customer Avatar
Marilyn Turpin
This movie was entertaining and well done, however I was disappointed that the view of heaven portrayed was Hollywood's version of heaven rather than a Biblical view.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for The Five People You Meet in Heaven, DVD
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Date:September 23, 2009
Customer Avatar
AG
I've parts of the book and neither stir curiosity in me. Perhaps a reasonable conversation starter but certainly not a media that encourages meaningful ponderings grounded in truth.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for The Five People You Meet in Heaven, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 1, 2009
Customer Avatar
Wanda Allen
Excellent movie! Life is a journey interacting with people and this was illustrated in the movie. How man values his life is completely different from God. My pray is that man will find Jesus during his journey and that relationship will help him value whatever he encounters in life. Let all we do be for the Lord. Blessings
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for The Five People You Meet in Heaven, DVD
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Date:December 12, 2008
Customer Avatar
Jeriame
This movie is not a Christian movie, it is what people think heaven is like through the secular viewpoint. I do not recommend this movie to anyone.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for The Five People You Meet in Heaven, DVD
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:October 30, 2008
Customer Avatar
Suzanne Murchison
Interesting, was a good family movie, It reminded me that I must never forget the people that work back scene. They need to feel loved and important also. And often without the work they do the "beautiful" results would not be there. And all of us have purpose in life.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for The Five People You Meet in Heaven, DVD
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Date:August 12, 2008
Customer Avatar
Jaz
This movie is not a christian film and explores heaven from a worldy point of view so beware of what you read and watch, the bible is the perfect filter of what is His and what is not.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for The Five People You Meet in Heaven, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 2, 2008
Customer Avatar
Francis Andrek
Good movie i would recomend it to everyone makes you think interesting must own and watch
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for The Five People You Meet in Heaven, DVD
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:January 27, 2008
Customer Avatar
maita
Come on now....Not every christian movie is going to talk about "Christ" just like every christian fiction book isn't going to talk about Christ. This movie was better then what the media accepts. 2 swear words (what you call a child that is born out of wed lock)..Movie is NOT for kids...very graphic only in war scenes...All in All Loved the movie!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for The Five People You Meet in Heaven, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 3, 2007
Customer Avatar
Rachel Becerra
I was not sure what to expect, especially with Jon Voight( a nonprofessed Christian) as the main actor. Other than 2 disturbing scenes of war, (which were not just for hollywood shock style) I found this movie to be profound on many levels. This is a movie that can be shown to none christians and can stir soul searching questions and conversation. Excellent!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for The Five People You Meet in Heaven, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 11, 2007
Customer Avatar
Judy Broadus
I didn't know what to expect when I purchased this movie. After viewing it, I believe it is certainly one of the very best movies I have watched! It has a core message: What YOU do, DOES matter! It will stir you and maybe even "speak" to YOU personally: and yes, it spoke to me!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for The Five People You Meet in Heaven, DVD
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Date:July 7, 2007
Customer Avatar
Amber
Terrible movie. NOT a Christian film! Don't waste time!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for The Five People You Meet in Heaven, DVD
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:July 2, 2007
Customer Avatar
Ling Hua Hiong
Great movie for family viewing. Recommended.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for The Five People You Meet in Heaven, DVD
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Date:May 11, 2007
Customer Avatar
Marisa
This movie is unbiblical. The makers of it are obviously not Christians, because it depicts EVERYONE going to heaven (if only!), and everything turns out just peachy in the end. No sin, no demons, no mention of Christ. Wouldn't recommend it to anyone.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for The Five People You Meet in Heaven, DVD
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Date:November 2, 2006
Customer Avatar
John Chastain
This is not a movie that honors the Gospel. The story line was poor.I cannot recommend it at all.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>