Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Thomas Nelson The Blessing: Giving the Gift of Unconditional Love and Acceptance - eBook

Thomas Nelson The Blessing: Giving the Gift of Unconditional Love and Acceptance - eBook

Revised and updated, The Blessing by Drs. John Trent and Gary Smalley explains how the biblical gift of "the blessing" is the key to one's self-worth and emotional well-being. A foudational parenting tool, "the Blessing" consists of five essential elements: meaningful touch, a spoken message, attaching value, picturing a special future, and an active commitment. If you've missed out on the approval of your parents, the final chapters are for you. They include help for those who grew up without their own parent's blessing and ideas for blessing events. Paperback.
Average Customer Rating:
4.824 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(17 Reviews) 17
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (17 reviews)
5 stars
14
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
9 out of 9100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for The Blessing: Giving the Gift of Unconditional Love and Acceptance - eBook
Review 1 for The Blessing: Giving the Gift of Unconditional Love and Acceptance - eBook
This review is fromThe Blessing, Original Edition.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

LIFE CHANGING BOOK

Date:October 9, 2012
Customer Avatar
GREG
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
MANY PEOPLE GO THRU LIFE WITH A NEED IN THEIR HEART. THEY NEVER WERE TOLD BY THEIR PARENTS THAT THEY HAD VALUE AND WORTH OR HEARD SAID----I AM PROUD OF YOU. THIS BOOK ADDRESSES THE PROBLEM AND WITH GOD'S HELP PROVIDES THE ANSWER. .FREEDOM--TO THE READER. GIVE THE BOOK TO PEOPLE WHO HURT.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for The Blessing: Giving the Gift of Unconditional Love and Acceptance - eBook
This review is fromThe Blessing, Original Edition.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 23, 2012
Customer Avatar
grandma evie 5
Location:Moose Jaw, SK. Canada
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book is incredibly helpful in understanding spiritual blessing.
It is practical and gives specific ideas for blessing the people in your lives; not only your children but your parents, family and friends.
You do not have to have any money to do what the book says because blessing is about the heart not about a ceremony or event, even though those are wonderful things to do.
I first read this book in 1992 and as a result had a blessing for my parents on their 45th Wedding Anniversary. My husband and I had a blessing for each of our four children. Then my husband for me on my 50th birthday and my family had an informal blessing for my husband in the hospital 3 months before he died of cancer.
I have leant my worn copy to so many people and finally decided to buy a number of "The Blessing" to give away. This is a life giving book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for The Blessing: Giving the Gift of Unconditional Love and Acceptance - eBook
This review is fromThe Blessing, Original Edition.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 3, 2012
Customer Avatar
TRMZ1617
Location:Peachland, NC
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Blessing is a book that every parent should read!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for The Blessing: Giving the Gift of Unconditional Love and Acceptance - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Specifics of The Blessing

Date:July 6, 2011
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Location:Savannah, GA
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I went from reading "A Place Called Blessing" to "The Blessing." And I wasn’t disappointed! I highly recommend this book.
Originally written by John Trent and Gary Smalley, the updates in this version were written by John Trent alone. The book’s primary purpose is to teach parents how to bless their children, but the concepts apply to all relationships. Readers will learn how to affirm, encourage, and unconditionally love and accept all the people who exist all around them all the time. They’ll learn how to offer The Blessing, a concept taken from the story in Genesis of Jacob stealing the firstborn blessing from Esau.
Readers who did not receive The Blessing as children will also learn how to recover from that, so they can move on contentedly and begin to bless others.
The book is divided into four sections: why the blessing is important, what it is, when it doesn’t happen, and living it. Also scattered throughout the book are links to websites with video presentations or other information to enhance what’s in the book. At the end of the book is an invitation to join The Blessing Challenge.
Thank you, Thomas Nelson Publishers, for sending a complimentary eCopy of this book for my honest review. "The Blessing" is definitely a worth-your-time read!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for The Blessing: Giving the Gift of Unconditional Love and Acceptance - eBook
This review is fromThe Blessing, Giving the Gift of Unconditional Love and Acceptance.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Technical but practical

Date:July 10, 2011
Customer Avatar
Natasha
Location:Vancouver, BC
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"The Blessing" by John Trent & Gary Smalley - Giving the Gift of Unconditional Love and Acceptance
This book was a biblical and scientific study on the effects of giving "the blessing" to your child. The authors explained that there are five parts to fully blessing your child: meaningful touch, a spoken message, attaching high value, picturing a special future, and an active commitment. They profile the benefits of a child receiving the blessing from their parents but also spend a lot of time on the effects on a child when the blessing doesn't happen.
I found this book to be written in a very unique format in that the premise of the blessing is based on science, the Bible and case studies from their counselling practice. Although the book was full of great insights I found it to be too technical and very long. The authors were obviously writing to a parent who has not given the blessing to their children but I had to wonder "how many of the parents who blessing-deprive their kids would actually go out and buy a long book like this?" As I read the book, I felt like I was in a trial hearing lists and lists of evidence being presented without an emotional break.
As a parent who has given the blessing to my kids, I found the book to be a good tune up and got a lot of great ideas for how to communicate the blessing even better to my children. Throughout the book the authors included tips and questions to consider which I found interesting.
I would recommend this book to someone who didn't understand fully how powerful "unconditional love and acceptance" are to their kids; however, I would make sure that they had at least the desire to communicate that to their kids or else the book would be too much to take. A parent who does not believe in the blessing would be in over their head reading this book as the volume of data about how not giving the blessing will hurt your kids is overwhelming.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for The Blessing: Giving the Gift of Unconditional Love and Acceptance - eBook
This review is fromThe Blessing, Giving the Gift of Unconditional Love and Acceptance.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Do YOU know about The Blessing?

Date:July 1, 2011
Customer Avatar
EvaK
Location:Canada
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My thoughts:
I’m 20, enjoying complete singlehood, and God doesn’t seem to have any plans in the near future for that to change. So why would I want to read a book that seemed targeted at parents with children? I guess (from past experiences) I knew that it would also hold interesting insights that also extended to relationships outside of parent-child relationships. And that proved correct. Even though the book put a lot of stress parents giving the blessing with the child(ren) (and vice versa), it also repeatedly pointed out the fact that the lessons shared could go towards enriching any relationship.
From The Blessing website: "It’s a powerful way to move past self-protection and toward freedom, life and fulfilling relationships!"
Perhaps this is groundbreaking material? (Or, rather, was back in 1986 when The Blessing was first published). Imagine: us having to work towards successful, fulfilling relationships, instead waiting for them to always come to us!
In skeletal form,The Blessing is logical and very reader-friendly. It's doesn't use heavy technical terms, or 'powerful language' to convince the reader of the importance of giving the blessing, but rather does it through the sharing of different people's testimonies and telling of different studies done. =>A personal opinion on this: ((I believe that biblical teachings are powerful enough in themselves without having to do this. However, I am currently reading a non-fiction book and the author's approach of this book is more or less the author's opinion based on her own experiences. The result is actually rather narrow-minded in some cases, so I'm able to reflect back on reading The Blessing and appreciate its approach.))
I did notice some things while reading that might be a turn-off to some people. First, the exhaustively long introduction. Perhaps it wasn't meant as such, but what that's how it came across. Mostly the authors spend a huge chunk of the beginning of the book, saying this is what you'll should expect from the blessing, and gave a short intro, and then leave off with the promise of 'telling more about later in the book.' This was actually very frustrating, and a tad annoying and I thought on more then one occasion, 'just get on to the point of things!'.
Also, I noticed and wondered and disliked that The Blessing didn't put a a whole lot of pressure on taking a prayerful approach to giving the blessing. Which, to me, is odd, because good intentions are certainly not good enough, and we can read this book and go all out putting it into practice, but without God-given strength, patience, and wisdom, it can hardly stick.
These things however, kind of faded when I got to chapter 10 (all the way to chapter 10!) where it starts talking about the fifth element: an active commitment. There my questions concerning a prayerful approach, what I myself can do concerning giving the blessing to those around me, ect. were answered.So, if you can hold on all the way to chapter ten, and then all the way to the end, this will prove to be a very worthwhile read for you.
Overall, I found the book very thorough. Through it all, it didn't leave out much, (including making a comment on how the book wasn't meant to make you realize what you had been missing and make you all bitter towards your parents, but rather show what you can do to give the blessing.) I appreciated this, as I was actually wondering if whether or not the book would do that to some people.
I love that I got to learn about the blessing, as I've often read (and heard) the story of Esau and Jacob and never give such in-depth thought to the blessing that the one twin received and the other didn't. What I've learned will be definitely be put to work in current relationships and remembered if God should ever bless me with children of my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for The Blessing: Giving the Gift of Unconditional Love and Acceptance - eBook
This review is fromThe Blessing, Giving the Gift of Unconditional Love and Acceptance.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:June 22, 2011
Customer Avatar
ryan
Location:ontario
Age:18-24
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This book is AMAZING! It is beautiful, thoughtful, and made me cry. I believe anyone with a loved one can benefit from reading this book, not only one with a spouse, but most importantly anyone who has a parent or child.
John and Gary provide a new meaning to 'unconditional love'. I have never read anything by either of these authors before, but I definatly will in the future. Although this book drags on for a long time, "the blessing" is something you must read about.
"The Blessing" makes me cherish my loved ones a lot more than I ever thought I could.
John Trent has a PhD in marriage and family counselling and works with Gary Smalley. Gary is a famous speaker and writer in family relationships. He was a family life pastor and has a bachelors degree in psychology. Together they have written two other books: The Gift of Honor and The Language of Love.
I will cherish this book, and will be on the lookout for the other two books by the author. Thank you booksneeze for giving me the chance to read this excellent book
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for The Blessing: Giving the Gift of Unconditional Love and Acceptance - eBook
This review is fromThe Blessing, Original Edition.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

important

Date:January 7, 2011
Customer Avatar
sunshine
Location:Florida
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Nurturing children in a biblical manner is so important. Our pastor did a sermon series based on this book and it made a big impact on our church. We bought the book and recommend it to other families as well. This is a great resource for struggling families, happy families, therapist/counselors working with parents, grandparents, or anyone who touches the lives of youth.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for The Blessing: Giving the Gift of Unconditional Love and Acceptance - eBook
This review is fromThe Blessing, Original Edition.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Price!

Date:January 3, 2011
Customer Avatar
Boot
Location:Georgia
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a timeless book, one I give often as a little "gift" to newlyweds, first-time parents, church friends, family, the oppressed/judged/marginalized...anyone in need of a relationship Blessing. The price of this paperback makes it very affordable to do just that! Thank you!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for The Blessing: Giving the Gift of Unconditional Love and Acceptance - eBook
This review is fromThe Blessing, Original Edition.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 4, 2010
Customer Avatar
Janice Ragsdale
this is a GREAt book. Used it is a Sunday School class several years ago, many have asked to do it again. We start it again this month. Also I have used it in a Bible study group. Great results with each time.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for The Blessing: Giving the Gift of Unconditional Love and Acceptance - eBook
This review is fromThe Blessing, Giving the Gift of Unconditional Love and Acceptance.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 2, 2010
Customer Avatar
Debra Hogan
Excellent book! A must read for any parent! A must read for any married couple. It will explain why we are the way we are...and give direction on how to break the generational curses of our families.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for The Blessing: Giving the Gift of Unconditional Love and Acceptance - eBook
This review is fromThe Blessing, Original Edition.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 4, 2009
Customer Avatar
Mary A
A wonderful book to buy and share. I first read this many years ago but have remembered and shared the wise and helpful suggestions on how to honor those you love from children to grandparents. Great price, wonderful book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for The Blessing: Giving the Gift of Unconditional Love and Acceptance - eBook
This review is fromThe Blessing, Giving the Gift of Unconditional Love and Acceptance.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 24, 2008
Customer Avatar
John Deckard
Like the original this book is a must read. I found this version exceptional for personal work outside of a small group and in starting a small group. Exceptional insights and valuable examples.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for The Blessing: Giving the Gift of Unconditional Love and Acceptance - eBook
This review is fromThe Blessing, Original Edition.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 24, 2008
Customer Avatar
John Deckard
This book is a must read for all christians who desire to grow stronger in their relationship with their children, spouse and God. Very useful for small study groups to grow the church.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for The Blessing: Giving the Gift of Unconditional Love and Acceptance - eBook
This review is fromThe Blessing, Original Edition.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 20, 2008
Customer Avatar
Beverly Keyse
I first read this book several years ago. This is probably the book that has most influenced my life besides the Bible. The book explains why we are lacking in the ability to love and communicate that love to others may be because of the way we were raised and perhaps, not shown love nor received,the blessing of our folks and other people that we have cared for and respected.This book clearly shows us how to communicate and actually change our patterns of a lifetime, and is truly "The Blessing."I will be using these books and the study guide to lead Bible Study at our homeless shelter in Painesville.GB You, Beverly Keyse; Pastor of Care. First Baptist Church of Painesville
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for The Blessing: Giving the Gift of Unconditional Love and Acceptance - eBook
This review is fromThe Blessing, Original Edition.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 18, 2008
Customer Avatar
Tammy O'Connor
I am a teacher with a bent toward Sociology and counseling. I read this book years ago and felt compelled to pass it on. I am akin to many disfunctional relationships, found this book "a blessing" and still recommend it to anyone who has difficulty maintaining healthy relationships. I am currently purchasing it for a family member who is disconnected from their adult children. It is a classic and the beginning of a long line of books by Smalley that continue to bless our relationships.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for The Blessing: Giving the Gift of Unconditional Love and Acceptance - eBook
This review is fromThe Blessing, Original Edition.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 3, 2007
Customer Avatar
Diane Davis
As a Bible study teacher, Christian counselor, and volunteer with drug-addicted teens (many of whom have been abused), I buy copies of this healing book by the dozen to give away, and I teach the principles to groups of all ages. This remarkable book, based on the five elements of the biblical concept of blessing, will help people of all ages come to appreciate what they have received from loved ones (parents and spouse) and come to terms with what they have not.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.