Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Thomas Nelson Lonestar Secrets - eBook

Thomas Nelson Lonestar Secrets - eBook

Shannon Astor returns to southwest Texas to serve as the town's veterinarian, believing she's finally found the space to get her life back on track.

Then she catches a glimpse of Jack MacGowan, the man who ruined her life years before. But even more shocking is the sight of Jack's five-year-old daughter Faith, who bears an uncanny resemblance to Shannon's own daughter Kylie. Is it possible that their similarities could be more than just coincidence? Could Faith be the daughter that Shannon has believed to be dead for all these years?

Average Customer Rating:
4.357 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(14 Reviews) 14
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (14 reviews)
5 stars
8
4 stars
5
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
1
Customer Reviews for Lonestar Secrets - eBook
Review 1 for Lonestar Secrets - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 17, 2010
Colleen Coble has done it again. This book held my interest from beginning to end. The characters were interesting and the story riveting. I found myself agreeing with prayers and coaching when things didn't go as they should. I really enjoy this author. I find as I discover the authors I look for anything they wrote. I will definitely be looking for more from Colleen Coble.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Lonestar Secrets - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:May 5, 2010
Customer Avatar
Medley
Loved it! Just finished reading it on my flight back from the UK. Love the romance...makes you really want to work on your own marriage and keep that romance alive. Love the struggles but and how they work them out..but that it doesn't take the whole book to do so...hate books that struggle until the last chapter we like more than just happen endings...so good stuff throughout is awesome!!! I am a FAN!!! More spiritual lessons would be nice...but really appreciated the forgiveness and trust messages in the book...I will be reading all Colleen's books.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Lonestar Secrets - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 17, 2010
Customer Avatar
Ashley
awesome book. I couldn't put it down for days (it didn't take me days to read it, though, because it was so interesting) but i would definitely recommend it to readers who love suspense and romance put together. (I already got my Mom and my sister hooked on it)
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Lonestar Secrets - eBook
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Date:March 8, 2010
Customer Avatar
Constance
While this book was entertaining I prefer a book with a realistic plot and characters I can identify with. While I can overlook aspects of a plot that are a bit unrealistic, this plot was way out there somewhere--almost laughable. Even aspects of the heroine's character weren't consistent. If something so small that Jack did could "ruin" her life, it seems unlikely she would have also had the strength of character to overcome all she did and be such a "strong woman" as Jack saw her to be. Totally inconsistent to what I've seen in people. However, if you're looking for entertainment and you aren't the analytical type, it's a good book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Lonestar Secrets - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 13, 2009
Customer Avatar
Donna Safford
Shannon is looking for a chance to better her life for herself and her daughter. While she has struggled as a single mother and put herself through vet school, the ranch bequeathed to her offers a new opportunity. The vet clinic in town is also available to her, so off she goes. But, does the little town hold painful secrets for her? And, what's up with Mary Beth?Jack is struggling with painful memories of his deceased wife, but his daughter is the light of his life. The ranch and training horses give him an outlet for his passion and give him a great place to raise his daughter. What is his connection to Shannon?Faith and Kylie are two little girls caught in a whirlwind of secrets. What will happen when the secrets come out? Will they both accept the outcome?I totally enjoyed this book! There is mystery, suspense, love, faith, and humor. The location and characters drew me into the story and provided a comfortable place to hear the story. The animals also drew me in - Jewel the gorgeous stallion and the dogs, Moses, Wyatt, and Jem. This is a story for anyone who loves a good read.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Lonestar Secrets - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:September 18, 2009
Customer Avatar
Mocha with Linda
After years away, Shannon Astor returns as a veterinarian to the ranching community of Bluebird Crossing, along with her young daughter, Kylie, determined to show the town she has risen above the rumors that drove her away. She realizes that is easier said than done when she runs smack dab into Jack MacGowan, who started those rumors. But her biggest shock is seeing Jack's daughter, Faith, who is the spitting image of Kylie. Surely this can't be a coincidence. What secrets are about to be brought to light and at what price? And how can this mess be fixed?In addition to sorting out the situation with Jack and the girls, Shannon is troubled by the cryptic and increasingly desperate phone calls from her friend Mary Beth, who seems to be in some sort of danger. And why are folks determined to dig up the story of the treasure supposedly hidden in the surrounding caves - the same caves that took her parents' lives? Is there something more sinister at work?This multi-layered story kept me spellbound from start to finish. So many elements weave together to make it a thoroughly satisfying read - suspense, grudges, betrayal, family secrets, heartbreak, power, romance, and trust. Set in the Big Bend area and with as many twists and turns as a West Texas tree, Lonestar Secrets shouldn't be kept a secret!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Lonestar Secrets - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:September 15, 2009
Customer Avatar
Shirley McClay
Colleen Coble is one of my favorite authors. Lonestar Secrets is the second book in a series (first is Lonestar Sanctuary and a third is coming out soon... Lonestar Homecoming). It is a great read... lots of fun stuff... horses, mystery, cowboys, twins, treasure, kidnapping, creaky old houses, dust storm, cave, scary attic, bats, spiders, and snakes (oh, my).I am glad to have it and will read it again I am sure. However. I found it very odd that some main parts of the plot line were repeated in both books. It was varied enough that it didn't take away from the story, but I still thought it odd. And there were a couple of places that came across as weak and unrealistic, mainly in the last chapter with the bad guy and the hero's reactions. With that said, it was still a good book and worth the read.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Lonestar Secrets - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 15, 2009
I have just ready Colleen Coble's book "Lonestar Secrets." This is the first book by Coble that I have read and it will not be the last! Coble ties together relationships, mystery of lost treasure and past incidents that have not been resolved and descriptions that make you feel as if you are part of the story. Single mom Shannon returns home to where she grew up and was the laugh of the town in order to give her daughter a better life and take on a new job. Running onto a guy from her past who caused much pain in her life led to Shannon discovering that her daughter's twin really did not die at birth, but is very much alive and living with her widowed father, the same man who caused Shannon pain in high school. Seeing no other way out the two single parents marry in order to keep the children together. Shannon has difficulty sharing her secrets with her new husband, causing problems between them and also putting herself into danger. However, Shannon is not the only one holding onto secrets as she discovers that her friend from her "old life" has placed a tracking chip in her arm and her new father-in-law has secrets of his own. The novel is filled with suspense, romance and unexpected twists. This is the second book in a series as it follows "Lonestar Sanctuary." You do not have to read them in order, however I have begun to "Lonestar Sanctuary" as I enjoyed this book so much and would like to read about Rick and Allie's story, Shannon's new friends. I highly recommend this novel!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Lonestar Secrets - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 14, 2009
Customer Avatar
Tracy
Lonestar secrets revolves around the life of Shannon Astor, the towns newest vet. Shannon grew up in the small south-west Texas town as an outcast. With parents who were more interested in hunting for treasure than raising a child, and an uncle who couldn't be bothered.As Shannon returns to her hometown she faces the same old problems with a few new ones added on. From hidden gold, to stolen horses this book is a great read from beginning to end. Although the situations that go on in the story sound incredulous Colleen Coble weaves a fantastic story that doesn't seem too 'out there'. Coble kept my attention throughout the entire story, and wove some great suspense and twists throughout the story. A great book that i definitely recommend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Lonestar Secrets - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 12, 2009
Customer Avatar
E.A. West
This is an amazing story of love and faith, betrayal and trust. Ms. Coble has written a wonderful novel that shows how devastating secrets can be and just how far desperate people will go to keep their secrets hidden. Through Jack and Shannons story, we see how one moment of betrayal can ruin trust for years, but bringing secrets into the open and having faith in others can heal. Jack and Shannons story is riddled with secrets and mistrust, not only between each other, but also between friends. And some of those secrets threaten to become deadly.Lonestar Secrets is filled with suspense, heart-rending emotion, and hope that everything will work out in the end. Its a great read that shows Christians living out their faith without showing even a hint of being preachy. It was a pleasure to read this book as a Thomas Nelson Book Review Blogger, and I highly recommend Lonestar Secrets to anyone looking for a compelling novel with a surprising ending.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Lonestar Secrets - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:September 12, 2009
Shannon Astor wants to make a better life for herself and her daughter Kylie. When her uncle dies and leaves her his ranch this seems like the right move. Shannon will have to face the members of the small town of Bluebird Crossing where she left five years before as an unwed mother.Shannon has put herself through vet school and has returned to take over for Grady so he can spend more time in the ministry. At the Mustang Makeover she meets her high school enemy Jack MacGowen and his daughter Faith who looks exactly like Shannon's daughter Kylie. But that can't be because Kylie's twin sister died at birth. Or did she?This was a roller coaster of ride book. It seemed like about every couple pages there was a new secret revealed which kept me turning the pages till the very end. This was a mixture of thriller and romance. I don't usually like romance books but this one had enough suspence to keep me interested till the very end. Although God and faith were mentioned throughout the story it was not overbearing or "preachy".I would recommend this book to anyone looking for a fast paced raomance with alot of thrill packed in.I read this as a part of the Thomas Nelson's Book Review Blogger program. You can find info at http:/brb.thomasnelson.com/
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Lonestar Secrets - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:September 6, 2009
Customer Avatar
Lana
Shannon leaves San Antonio for the country life, the home she left 5 years ago. Now as a veterinarian, she is hoping to begin a new life. From the get go she runs into trials and misfortunes. As a single mom she has to overcome and succeed not only for her sake but her daughters future.I received this book Friday afternoon from the Thomas Nelsons Book Review Program, and couldnt put it down. Every page was filled with suspense and wonder. Shannon is someone who has a greater vision to get her through every day trials. Set in West Texas, you can almost taste the dirt on your tongue as you read through the book. Animals are her love and they seem to understand her, where as people have let her down time and time again. Betrayal seems to be at every door she opens and yet refuge comes from unwilling characters.Every page had more suspense and added more mystery to the overall story. Sometimes I felt lost with all the characters and would have to go back and re-read to find out who was who and how they related to the overall story.Being from Texas and being brought up around horses, I felt that I understood the setting of the book. The authors language made me feel like I was right there, like a fly on the wall, as I was reading the entire book. I was surprised at the end of the book. It was an ending, I really had not expected. The book was suspenseful, romantic, entertaining and had a sweet message. I would love to see this book become a movie.I would definitely share this book with a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Lonestar Secrets - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 5, 2009
Customer Avatar
Renee
I received Lonestar Secrets today as part of Thomas Nelson's Book Review Blogger program (http://brb.thomasnelson.com)and I started it immediately and finished it in one sitting! I really loved this story and it follows with the theme of women veterinarians that most of the books I'm reading seem to have this summer. I love stories with hunky cowboys too and this story did not disappoint, Jack was a terrific hero. Although this story was a little more suspense filled than what I usually read, I found it to be refreshing. The romance is there, as well as the mystery and tragedy. The ending was really surprising, I never saw it coming! I can't wait to read the other books in the series! This book was well written and any lover of a good western romance or romantic suspense will love this book. Even though it's a Christian romance I don't think readers of secular fiction would have a problem reading this as it's not too preachy, just a good, clean book!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Lonestar Secrets - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 4, 2009
What do you get when you combine identical twins, a case of baby-switching, a vengeful relative, a marriage of convenience, an emotionally unstable villain or three, Spanish treasure, and a racehorse? Normally, you get a story so convoluted it belongs in the tabloids, but Colleen Coble manages to piece all these elements together in a fluid, believable pattern. Her plotting, especially in terms of suspense, is far better than in the first Lonestar installment. Shannon and Jack are a well-rounded, realistic couple, and the twins practically carry the story on their six-year-old shoulders. The interplay between all four characters is fabulous, and the plot keeps pages turning. There are a few holes--Shannon's MS seems unncessary, and the Senator MacGowan connection seems to come out of nowhere. However, those aside, this is a wonderful book that left me anticipating Lonestar Homecoming. Beautiful work, Colleen!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.