Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Avon Inspire Wedding Bell Blues, Piper Cove Chronicles Series #1

Avon Inspire Wedding Bell Blues, Piper Cove Chronicles Series #1

Josh Turner is one distraction that Alex doesn't need. After jilting her, he waltzes back into town to be best man in her sister's wedding. All Alex wants is to concentrate on planning her sister's nuptials, but she and Josh keep running into each other. Will she forgive him and give him another chance? 304 pages, softcover from Avon Inspire.
Average Customer Rating:
3.75 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
(16 Reviews) 16
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (16 reviews)
5 stars
7
4 stars
4
3 stars
1
2 stars
2
1 star
2
Customer Reviews for Wedding Bell Blues, Piper Cove Chronicles Series #1
Review 1 for Wedding Bell Blues, Piper Cove Chronicles Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 12, 2010
Customer Avatar
Merry
Wedding Bell Blues was a heart warming story with characters who seemed like real people with struggles and desires for a happy, fulfilled life. I loved the friends, the humor, the conflicts. Josh and Alex were great characters, I loved their story of faith and of love. I look forward to For Pete's Sake, book two in this series.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Wedding Bell Blues, Piper Cove Chronicles Series #1
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Date:April 19, 2010
Customer Avatar
Kim
Surprised by the worldliness in this story. Normally Linda has much more spiritual punch in her work. Not up to par.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Wedding Bell Blues, Piper Cove Chronicles Series #1
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Date:April 18, 2010
I have no idea how Alex stood Josh. His type of character flaw is dangerous - believer now or not. BJ is a jerk. Lenora was the only character I liked. There just wasn't anything exciting to recommend this story. The bosom buddies are desperate and you want to walk away from them. I did appreciate Josh making his acceptance of Christ clear, but the continual language, references to "dumb, young" things, poor way fences are mended just doesn't make you want to read on. Plus you already know by Alex's mental comments she's going to get together with Josh again. Very disappointing.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Wedding Bell Blues, Piper Cove Chronicles Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 8, 2008
Customer Avatar
Creative Madness Mama
What a wonderful book. Avon Inspire impresses me once again. So far with all of their books I have read, I have loved, not just liked, but loved every single one! Previously, I have read Linda Windsor's Scottish historical series and enjoyed it, but this book is way fabulous beyond that series. I cannot wait to read the sequel "For Pete's Sake". I'm glad I own it already, but it's too bad that it's packed for the move... *sigh* Alexandera, the main character in this story undergoes a lot of stress, and a lot of real life. Through her journey with family, friends, and Christ a reader can really get pulled into looking at where their own life is with listening silently to what we are to hear. I fully enjoyed this story with the ensemble of characters, and when I thought the book couldn't get any better a bit of a mysterious twist was thrown in that was great fun as well to uncover. I really enjoyed this book, and I'd relate it to Rachel Hauck's "Sweet Caroline" and "Love Starts with Elle". It is a book that I would should just about anyone read. It's a good vacation or weekender that will make you smile and sigh with contentment.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Wedding Bell Blues, Piper Cove Chronicles Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 17, 2008
This is a wonderfully romantic tale of two people who had too much, too soon. As teenagers, Alex and Josh fell in love and shared a stormy marriage that lasted less than a year! Sixteen years later, Alex's sister is getting married, and Alex is helping to plan the wedding as the Maid of Honor. She is about to pay off a business loan to her critical father. Life is looking good. Then, Alex learns that Josh is returning to Piper Cove as the Best Man in her sister's wedding! Will Alex be able to get through her dealings with Josh without losing her heart to him all over again? Wedding Bell Blues is a masterfully written story about choices and forgiveness and love. Bravo, Linda Windsor! I can't wait for book 2!!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Wedding Bell Blues, Piper Cove Chronicles Series #1
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Date:January 7, 2008
Customer Avatar
Lisa
Sigh. I have to disagree with most of the previous posts. "Wedding Bell Blues" is predictable, sappy and corny. The main character, Alex, belongs to a group of friends who refer to themselves as the "bosom buddies". When Anne, from "Anne of Green Gables" refers to Diana Berry as her "bosom friend", its endearing and heartfelt. In Windsor's book it's cheesy and childish. The story lacks depth and heart. I didn't feel myself rooting for the main characters because their personalities weren't well defined and they were slightly annoying. I wasn't offended by the curse word, although it did catch me off guard. Linda Windsor is a good writer, she just didn't have a good story to tell. I was feeling the blues after reading this book because I could have been reading something else. I will never return to Piper Cove, despite the prospect of a second novel in the series.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Wedding Bell Blues, Piper Cove Chronicles Series #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:October 5, 2007
Customer Avatar
Miralee Ferrell
It took me awhile to get into this book, for some of the same reasons as mentioned by others, the seeming "non-Christian" actions/vocubulary of some of the characters. I decided I needed to give it another chance and am SO glad I did. About half way through, I bumped into Linda Windsor in a restaurant and had a chance to chat with her. I expressed my concerns and she blushingly explained. Linda used to write non-Christian romances and has switched over to Christian fiction. She was embarrassed to admit that there were some slip-ups in her novel that she and her editor didn't catch, that shouldn't have been there. It's tough doing a cross-over novel, when you've been used to writing secular fiction. If the book goes into reprint in the future she assured me those items will be changed.Now..for my opinion. I loved the story line. It was fresh and the two main characters fleshed out enough to feel you knew them. I enjoyed the fact that they were far from perfect and depicted some of the struggles that do go on in our personal lives. The secondary plot that centered around the heroine's father added to the depth of the story line and the last half of the book in particular grabbed my attention and kept me moving forward. If you can turn a blind eye to some of the small boo-boo's that Linda overlooked, you'll enjoy the story.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Wedding Bell Blues, Piper Cove Chronicles Series #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:September 26, 2007
Linda Windsor has long been a favorite author of mine, penning humorous tales of spunky women looking for love and finding mishaps and adventure along the way. Wedding Belle Blues is no exception. Alex is a heartwarming mix of independence and loyalty, the latter holding her back from stepping away from her father's domineering presence in her life. When Josh Fraser shattered her heart and their wedding vows sixteen years earlier her devoted friends, Suzie, Ellen and Jan flew in to protection mode and with Josh's sudden reappearance, her friends once again take on their guardian roles.Wedding Belle Blues is a vibrant and fun story with plenty to love about the characters and setting. Alex learns transformation is possible and a future she thought lost may still be on the horizon, if she can get past her hurt and fear. Without a doubt, Linda has drawn me in with one story to the lives of the women of Piper Cove and it is with great anticipation I look forward to Ellen's story, a Harley riding, practical woman and absolutely no time for romance, in the 2008 release of For Pete's Sake.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Wedding Bell Blues, Piper Cove Chronicles Series #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:September 21, 2007
Customer Avatar
Katy
I LOOOOOVED this story! I think it could be Linda's best work! The characters are flawed but have depth, the spiritual issues are ones that everyone deals with, and the storyline is great! A worthy and fun read! I'm looking forward to the next one in the series!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Wedding Bell Blues, Piper Cove Chronicles Series #1
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Date:September 10, 2007
Customer Avatar
Linda from Dallas
Like a previous review said, this book was a disappointment. The so-called Christian characters in this book are laughable. They drink alcoholic drinks and one character says "d-mn." I would like to think that at least in the Christian fiction market we could choose a book and not have to worry that a curse word or drinking or some kind of immoral act is in it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Wedding Bell Blues, Piper Cove Chronicles Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 6, 2007
Customer Avatar
Cara Putman
The first installment of The Piper Cove Chronicles from Linda Windsor shines with good writing and fun deeply layered characters.This is the first book of Linda Windsors that Ive read, but it wont be the last. She writes with a sensitivity that allowed me, as a reader, to fully engage with the characters and see both Alex and Joshs perspectives. And there are huge hurdles in this romance. Much more than the fact that he left her with only a note 16 years ago.While the old sparks and attraction are still there, Alex isnt willing to jump into his arms and repeat the mistakes of the past. And the characterization fully supports her reactions. The setting is the fun Maryland Eastern Shore which Linda writes well. I could practically see the community and the real ones that surround it. There is also a full cast of supporting characters who add to the books warmth and layering. And I have a feeling her girlfriends will find themselves in leading roles in future books.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Wedding Bell Blues, Piper Cove Chronicles Series #1
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:August 3, 2007
Customer Avatar
Melanie
I was disappointed with the book. Although the writing and story were OK, I did not like that the people in this story who are supposed to be Christians really act no better than the non-Christians in the book. There is a curse word (said by a Christian) and also they're drinking wine and champagne on numerous occations. The word "Christian" means "little Christ." I didn't notice anyone in this book acting very "Christ-like."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Wedding Bell Blues, Piper Cove Chronicles Series #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:August 1, 2007
Customer Avatar
Karen Baron
The book is well-written and captured my interest from the start. There are a few "twists" that surprised me and kept me turning the pages to find out what happened! A contemporary love story without any dreadful content that too many "best sellers" feature!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Wedding Bell Blues, Piper Cove Chronicles Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 26, 2007
Customer Avatar
Michelle Sutton
This is the first novel I've read by Linda Windsor and now I'm wondering what took me so long to delve into her stories. I own several more, which I will soon be reading, especially if they are all as good as this book was. I really enjoyed the tension between characters. Especially the hero and heroine. The longing for each other, and yet trying-to-remain-aloof-but-not-succeeding portion of the story kept me smiling.I love a book that has passionate kissing in it, especially when the two people who are drawn together also feel like they shouldn't succumb to what they long for. That makes for the best romantic tension. And this book has fabulous kissing and romance, yet they never fall into dangerous territory because Joshua is heroic enough to flee temptation. The author has a gift for description, making your heart float at times. She also has a great sense of humor and uses witty metaphors.Incredibly romantic, this novel had just enough sizzle to hook me on her books for life. Not to reduce it to sizzle, because the spiritual element was deep and edifying as well, but I SO love an inspirational novel that has more than just one kiss at the end. Trust me, if you love romantic tension, great character arcs and an interesting plot, this story has a gourmet distribution of them all. Delicious and addicting. I loved it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Wedding Bell Blues, Piper Cove Chronicles Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 24, 2007
Customer Avatar
Dy
Once you start the book, you will not want to put it down. With so many true to life situations, you will truly enjoy this book. I can't wait for book 2!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Wedding Bell Blues, Piper Cove Chronicles Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 3, 2007
I thoroughly enjoyed Wedding Bell Blues. The story centers around Alex and Josh. Once married 16 years ago, Josh left Piper Cove to persue his music career leaving Alex only a note. She went to school and then began her own interior design business. Now her little sister Lynn is getting married and Alex is planning her wedding. Lynn finally drops the bomb that John's (Lynn's finance) best friend and best man is Josh. Alex is stunned.Josh is a changed person though and determined to win Alex back. The chemistry is still very much there but the deep heart love had not really ever left. Both of them were determined to get through this situation, but it seemed every time they ran into each other (and that happen a lot) the "love" feelings became more pronounced.Realizing how they each felt....well, guess you'll have to read it to find out. This story, which is filled with lots of quirky characters (The Bosom Buddies) is such a fun read, yet has such a deep message. That of faith, love and forgiveness. (Stuff we can all relate to). Linda's characters are not perfect and struggle with doing things the way God wants them to and waiting on His timing. I think we can all identify with that. Realizing mistakes of the past and knowing we can't change them but reminded that God can use them for good and also use them to change you into a better person. Most of all, allowing second chances.I highly recommend this book if you enjoy humor, honesty, a great cast of characters and a timely message.Linda never disappoints.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.