Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Thomas Nelson The Oath - eBook

Thomas Nelson The Oath - eBook

Average Customer Rating:
4.6 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(25 Reviews) 25
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (25 reviews)
5 stars
18
4 stars
5
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
0
8 out of 8100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for The Oath - eBook
Review 1 for The Oath - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 28, 2013
Customer Avatar
momo
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have never purchased a e-book before and this was so simple to do. I can pull it up anytime I get a moment to read and it is fast and it is right where I left off. love Frank Perrettis' books.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for The Oath - eBook
This review is fromThe Oath (rpkgd).
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

The book was fantastic.

Date:October 31, 2013
Customer Avatar
Norma
Location:Yonkers, NY
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I could not put the book down. It took only 2 days to read.
It is amazing how we try so hard to justify our sins. How easy it is to point the finger at others, when there are 3 fingers and a thumb pointing back at us. The book keeps you on the edge. Fantastic.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for The Oath - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

The book everyone should read at least once.

Date:August 7, 2012
Customer Avatar
janet
Location:hastings ny
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Frank Peretti writes novels. He doesn't just write novels. He writes novels that leave you thinking for the rest of your life. This one is a thriller about sin. Since I read this book several years ago I have recommended it to a lot of people. I have bought several copies and loaned them to people and have never gotten them back. This e=book I read from my laptop and my cell phone. I am reading it with my 12 year old granddaughter this summer. One chapter everytime we get together always leaves her wanting more. Yes one chapter a day leaves you thinking about what you have read and these thoughts reach right to your core. Once you have read this book the message becomes a part of you.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for The Oath - eBook
This review is fromThe Oath.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Shows you what sin can do to your life.

Date:March 16, 2012
Customer Avatar
star
Location:Silver Spring, MD
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It took me a while to be able to "get into the book", but once I did it was one I did not want to put down.
It shows what mankind can do to win over sin.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for The Oath - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent book

Date:October 20, 2011
Customer Avatar
Olumesep
Location:Geneva, Switzerland
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is an excellent book which I recommend to all Christians to read. Having it available in ebook format made it easy to read anywhere on my various devices without having to carry a hard copy with me all the time. Great insight into the working and decit of the devil and ways we work in the victory we ahve in Jesus Christ!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for The Oath - eBook
This review is fromThe Oath.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Fantastic story! Loved it!!

Date:October 30, 2011
Customer Avatar
Julie
Location:Shirley, NY
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book was a page turner.....couldn't stop reading it! You will love it!!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for The Oath - eBook
This review is fromThe Oath.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

This is good.

Date:April 9, 2011
Customer Avatar
RICHARD HOLT
Location:Clovis, NM
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is a good piece of Christian fiction. I did not like it quite as much as "This Present Darkness" or "Piercing the Darkness," but it was still very good.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for The Oath - eBook
This review is fromThe Oath.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

This is fairly good.

Date:April 9, 2011
Customer Avatar
RICHARD HOLT
Location:Clovis, NM
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is a good piece of Christian fiction. I did not like it quite as much as "This Present Darkness" or "Piercing the Darkness," but it was still very good.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for The Oath - eBook
This review is fromThe Oath.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 13, 2010
Customer Avatar
Chris
I first read this book while working at my "dream" job: a Christian Music Book store. It had just come out and it was my intent to read it and write a review for the store. I took the book home and started it right after my "bowl of oatmeal" dinner. It took me one whole night to read "The Oath" and for those who have seen it on the shelves, that is one great feat! I was intrigued by the suspense and probably even a little scared to fall asleep. Peretti's decriptions took me to Hyde River and I enjoyed the main characters immensely. I gave my copy to a friend because of the subject matter and I can't WAIT to get this copy. Beware the lair and read with the lights on, in the daytime and waaay before bedtime. Enjoy!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for The Oath - eBook
This review is fromThe Oath.
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Date:September 8, 2010
Customer Avatar
Noway Inhell
Loved the story for the first half then it turned into a Jesus book. I was so disappointed. I had no idea this guy is a Christian author. I guess I will have to start doing background checks on authors before I read their books.
-3points
0of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for The Oath - eBook
This review is fromThe Oath.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:March 12, 2010
Customer Avatar
Marilyn Simmons
The Oath is, I think, my favorite book of Frank Peretti's. My students really liked reading The Monster, and so did I. However, this brings out the symbolism of sin in an emphatic way, that uses a symbol students are fascinated with. It gets the message of our sins and our involvement in sins out in a unique way, and it really makes the reader think! A great price for a very great book--will be useful for my students to read. Thanks. Marilyn
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for The Oath - eBook
This review is fromThe Oath.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 21, 2009
Customer Avatar
Deanna Richardson
Great book! Really keeps you on the edge of your seat! I couldn't put it down! I love Frank Peretti!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for The Oath - eBook
This review is fromThe Oath.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 31, 2009
Customer Avatar
Jan Saddington
As always Frank Peretti delivers on this book. I've read this several years ago and bought it again to read for a second time. Keep writing...can't get enough.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for The Oath - eBook
This review is fromThe Oath.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 22, 2009
Customer Avatar
Norma Kirks
I've loved Peretti since " This Present Darkness and The Oath proves to be just as exciting. I've read this book once before and gave it away but had to get it back for me collection. If you like christian fiction please do yourself a favor and check out Frank Peretti. He's great.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for The Oath - eBook
This review is fromThe Oath.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:March 13, 2009
So this was a great book that I couldn't put down......but some of the stuff in it I think could of been changed to make it more right/appropriate.So yah,thats what I thought.Other than those few spots it's a good book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for The Oath - eBook
This review is fromThe Oath.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:March 7, 2009
Customer Avatar
Jake
Not being a Peretti fan myself, I have to saythat this was a pretty good book. Can't say I didn't see the end coming, but very well written much better than Monster and The Visitation. I don't think that the book should of been so long. I liked how it was descent balance between light and dark. The Oath was a descent and interesting super-natural thriller.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for The Oath - eBook
This review is fromThe Oath.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 26, 2009
Customer Avatar
Tim Potoczny
Excellent storyline keeps you excited until the end. Nice analogy of the sin in our lives
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for The Oath - eBook
This review is fromThe Oath.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 31, 2008
Customer Avatar
Delores Jennings
Frank Peretti is by far the best author I ever read.The Oath describes the heart of mankind in such a way that I felt he knew me.. This is a must read for any one that loves suspence woven in and out of truth and fiction.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for The Oath - eBook
This review is fromThe Oath.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 13, 2008
Customer Avatar
Messenger
The best book I ever read! Frank Peretti has definitely impressed me! I was a little disappointed with Steve and Tracy's get-together that night, but after reading more, I understood why Mr. Peretti added that in there. I would definitely recommend this book!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for The Oath - eBook
This review is fromThe Oath.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:April 4, 2008
Customer Avatar
Thomas Antis
The descriptor for "The Oath" sucked me in. I have an affinity for these out of the way towns hiding an ancient secret. What I like best about Frank Peretti is when he works that spiritual warfare thread through the story. This book has that spiritual element. I think the book is too long, but there are some nice payoffs for the persevering reader. There are a couple chase sequences that really move along. I was disappointed with the ending. Overall, I wasn't enthralled with the book, but the premise is very cool and thought provoking. I can envision it as a movie, but would seriously rework the story. It could be much creepier. If you are looking for something that will really make you squirm, seek out HP Lovecraft. Not a Christian author, but classic, very scary stuff.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>