Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Thomas Nelson Time With God For Mothers - eBook

Thomas Nelson Time With God For Mothers - eBook

Average Customer Rating:
4.75 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(12 Reviews) 12
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (12 reviews)
5 stars
10
4 stars
1
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
11 out of 1292%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Time With God For Mothers - eBook
Review 1 for Time With God For Mothers - eBook
This review is fromTime with God for Mothers.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 18, 2013
Customer Avatar
trish
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
buy the book it's good, and everyone i gave to, loves it
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Time With God For Mothers - eBook
This review is fromTime with God for Mothers.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Quick Pick Me Up

Date:April 18, 2011
Customer Avatar
Brenda I
Location:Omaha, NE
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Time with God for Mother's is a great pick me up book. I am a busy, working mom of little boys. I often times feel like the day is just not long enough. I continue to use this book as a point to ponder or a great go to book when I feel a need in a certain area. This look book is a great resource for mom's to use. It is a short verse with a short story. This book would definetly strike the mom chord in your heart. At the end of the book there are also scripture references.
I received this book free from Thomas Nelson in return for an honest opinion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Time With God For Mothers - eBook
This review is fromTime with God for Mothers.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Very simple devotions

Date:April 8, 2011
Customer Avatar
DavidsMom
Location:Louisiana
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
The devotional was very simple with just a verse with a small devotion to accompany it. I was expecting the devotions to relate to motherhood on each page, when it wasn't as in depth as I thought. I do believe this would be good for a busy new mom who just needs a simple verse to meditate on during the day. I was just looking for more in depth devotions. There were a few really good ones that will have me keep this book nearby for busy days where I can stop and read a quick verse. The pictures are really cute the way they incorporate the different beads to look like flowers. I did enjoy the back of the book with the space for notes and guidance scriptures to where to find special verses.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze®.com book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Time With God For Mothers - eBook
This review is fromTime with God for Mothers.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Gift Book!

Date:April 8, 2011
Customer Avatar
Angell
Location:Ohio
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Time with God for Mothers" by Jack Countryman is the perfect pick me up for moms. It is a non-dated devotional...so you can read them whenever you want. I personally think this is a good "bathroom book." Moms of young ones know what I'm talking about lol!! Each devotional starts off with a scripture and then a short message...perfect for busy moms!
Each page is very pretty...filled with flowers, butterflies, jewelry...artwork is similar to the cover of the book. In the back of the book they have a list of verses for the following: - Mother's Prayers in the Bible - The Responsibilities of Motherhood and - The Promises of Motherhood. And then there is a spot for the mom to write out notes.
I think this is a great gift book for moms...throw a mug and a notebook in a gift bag and voila!
I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze.com book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Time With God For Mothers - eBook
This review is fromTime with God for Mothers.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Sweet little devotional

Date:April 5, 2011
Customer Avatar
iamsaffie
Location:Oklahoma
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A mother is a busy person, but taking time for a devotional can be just the thing she needs to recharge for the day. This is a gift book that is appropriate for mothers of any age. The author Jack Countryman must have had an awesome mother or at least some beautiful women in his life to have written such a sweet devotional book although having never been a mother himself.
If you read one a day, this devotional book would last you about 3 months, but I was so engrossed, that I read it through in just a few days! I doubt the messages of these very short devotionals will ever get old. Some of the topics are The Joy in Jesus, Serving Others with Joy and Mother's Sacrifice, just to name a few. Merely "snippets" as far as devotionals are concerned, they carry a powerful punch. The author gets to the point and uses some powerful scripture to back up his messages. The scripture is listed in New King James Version.
I especially enjoyed the extras at the back of the book such as, Mother's Prayers in the Bible, scripture relating to the responsibilities of motherhood and the space for note taking. If you are tired of the same old devotionals, this might be the book for you. I plan on using it daily in my own moments with Yahweh.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze®.com <http://BookSneeze®.com> book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 <http://www.access.gpo.gov/nara/cfr/waisidx_03/16cfr255_03.html> : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Time With God For Mothers - eBook
This review is fromTime with God for Mothers.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Time with God For Mothers: A Devotional

Date:April 5, 2011
Customer Avatar
Barb
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Time with God for Mothers is a gift book written by Jack Countryman and published by Thomas Nelson that contains ninety-four devotionals that are based on scripture. This devotional is an encouraging guide for mothers of all ages. Prayers from Mothers, such as Mary and Rachel, within the Bible are shared. Responsibilities that mothers have are also covered like that of obedience and discipline. Promises regarding being a mother are also discussed such as love and grace. There are also nine pages for notations to be made within the back of the book.
I thought that this was a lovely gift book. The overall design was appealing and the artwork throughout was inviting. The fact that the individual devotionals are not dated allows one to read at their own pace. The overall message that I received from the book was uplifting. I felt encouraged by the carefully chosen scriptures. Messages included “Facing Difficult Times”, “The Essence of Prayer”, “Seek His Guidance”, and “Let Go of the Past”. As a mother, there are days that this type of encouragement is needed! I would recommend this book to all mothers. Additionally, I find that this book would be an appropriate Mother’s Day gift paired with some lovely flowers like those displayed on the cover!
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze®.com <http://BookSneeze®.com> book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 <http://www.access.gpo.gov/nara/cfr/waisidx_03/16cfr255_03.html>: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Time With God For Mothers - eBook
This review is fromTime with God for Mothers.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Sweet Little Devotional Book

Date:March 29, 2011
Customer Avatar
JRiale
Location:Binghamton, NY
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sometimes I get a bogged-down feeling when I see a devotional. Seriously, I do. Why? Well, a lot of times I see it as just one more thing I should do, but I know I won't have the time to fully do it like I want to. When I first saw Time with God for Mothers, I was afraid that I'd have that same overwhelmed feeling I've gotten in the past. However, I can truly say that I did NOT get that same feeling. This devotional was like a gentle summer breeze which brings relief to an otherwise scorcher of a day. THAT is what this devotional did for me: it brought peace and it brought relief.
Time with God for Mothers contains ninety short, but "oh so powerful," devotional thoughts. There is a verse followed by a short exhortation/encouragement. I found that these short and sweet devotionals made me think more than some of the longer devotionals I've read in this past. How appropriate considering that this devotional is for mothers, a notoriously busy bunch.
The artwork in this book is also beautiful, once again conveying a sense of peace. Beautiful flowers and pieces of jewelry adorn the pages.
In addition to the wonderful devotions, this book also contains a list of mothers' prayers in the Bible, a list of responsibilities of motherhood with coordinating scripture, and a list of scripture verses related to the promises of motherhood.
I'd say this wonderful little gem of a devotional book is perfect for any mom. It only takes a few seconds a day to read one of the devotionals, and the encouragement it will provide will last long beyond that.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze®.com book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Time With God For Mothers - eBook
This review is fromTime with God for Mothers.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Nice Gift Book

Date:March 28, 2011
Customer Avatar
HomeSchool Mom of 4
Location:Lovely, MS
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Time with God for Mothers is a lovely hardcover devotional book that's sure to encourage any mother whether she's 25 or 52. The devotionals are short and sweet, and make it easy for a busy mom to pick up and spend some time with God when she has some spare minutes throughout the day. The pages are decorated with beautiful jewels, accenting the truth that we are God's jewels (Malachi 3:17).
Time with God for Mothers includes 90 pages of devotionals which are one page each; a page of "Mothers' Prayers in the Bible"... prayers of women like Hagar, Hannah, Leah, and Mary; pages of scripture references on "The Responsibilities of Motherhood," "The Promises of Motherhood;" and pages for notes. I have to admit, I want more than just mushy encouragement out of a book. The devotionals themselves are encouraging but lack the challenge I long for in a good book. I'm sure that was the author's intention, and he balances it out with the scripture sections at the end of the book. I'm eager to sit down and do some good studies on "The Responsibilities" and "The Promises of Motherhood."
This book makes a nice devotional, a great coffee table book, and would be a wonderful Mother's Day gift for your mom. I'll be giving one to my own mom for her birthday which is coming up soon!
The wonderful people at Thomas Nelson provided me with a complimentary copy of this book for the purposes of this review. All views presented are my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Time With God For Mothers - eBook
This review is fromTime with God for Mothers.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

beautiful presentation, uplifting messages

Date:March 24, 2011
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Do you ever pick up a book and the look and feel of it alone make you want to read it? Or maybe you bought it to give as a gift, but you can't quite part with it? This is one of those books. I loved Jack Countryman's Time with God for Mothers before reading a single word of it. The pages have a look of Bible-meets-scrapbooking-meets-artistic-jewelery. Truly enchanting.
Beyond the superficial, how does the book fare? The mini devotions are every bit as beautifying as you would expect. Covering topics from "the Joy of a Mother's Faith" to "the Essence of Prayer" and "When I Miss the Mark", you'll alternate between feeling blessed, to challenged, to uplifted, by motherhood.
Additional features include indexes referencing prayers from mothers of the Bible, the Biblical responsibilities of motherhood, and the Biblical promises of motherhood, as well as several pages for personal notes (although I can hardly imagine writing on these beautiful pages).
I feel compelled to state that the devotions aren't deep and life-changing as stand-alone pages. But, considering that their short length allows a busy Mom to "check in" while waiting in the pick-up line at school or meditate while waiting for soccer practice to end, an overall change in spirit and attitude could easily be cultivated by this book. Whether you're stealing random moments or have daily reading scheduled, spending a few moments with Scripture, guided by the thoughtfulness of Time With God, is sure to edify your Christian parenting efforts.
I received this book free from Thomas Nelson Publishers for the purpose of providing my honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Time With God For Mothers - eBook
This review is fromTime with God for Mothers.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Small gift book packed with powerful truths

Date:March 23, 2011
Customer Avatar
Dorie
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A small gift book packed with powerful truths arrived at my door just the other day. I was surprised at the simplicity of its design and individual pages. In a world of over visual stimulation, the book's minimalistic appearance was refreshing.
Written by Jack Countryman, Time With God For Mothers offers readers a brief respite each day to reflect on God's Word. The devotions are very concise. Each one page devotion consists of a verse and a short paragraph highlighting responses or applications of the quoted passage. The thoughtful words are forthright and easily understood. Much encouragement is sprinkled throughout the pages, urging the reader to grow closer to the Lord and seek His truths in their individual lives.
Diverse topics such as: "A Godly Mother," "Walking in His Word," and "Security In Jesus," offer readers a variety of concepts to ponder while progressing through the book. Although the book could be read in just a few sittings, with such a range of topics, one might benefit more by reading just one page at a time, allowing God's Word to permeate day to day life more deeply.
Delicately sized and adorned with simple graphics, this 90 day devotional is a lovely gift book for mothers of all ages.
Thank you to Thomas Nelson, Inc. for providing me with a complimentary copy of this book through the BookSneeze.com book review program in exchange for my honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Time With God For Mothers - eBook
This review is fromTime with God for Mothers.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Wonderful for Mothers

Date:March 21, 2011
Customer Avatar
Childoftheking84
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I recently had the chance to review this book,no I am not a mother and have not been blessed with children yet. I got this and reviewed it to give it too my mother! What a beautiful hardcover gift for your moms. Would make a great Mother's day gift or birthday gift. It is filled with bible verses and a passage about each verse. Their is a place to write down a few notes or thoughts in the back. Plus a page that directs you to verses in the bible on prayers for mothers. Then also a page on different topics that directs to bible verses in the bible. It's beautiful in color and and I was very pleased.
I received this book from Booksneeze.com for my honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Time With God For Mothers - eBook
This review is fromTime with God for Mothers.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent for all Mothers

Date:March 4, 2011
Customer Avatar
The Phantom Paragrapher
Location:Tauranga, New Zealand
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Review: Time with God for Mothers- Jack Countryman - April 2011
Are you a single mother or a wife ? Wanting to spend more time with God but can't seem to fit him into your busy schedule of running around with your children, cooking, cleaning and working. With Jack Countryman's new book "Time with God for Mothers" , it is the perfect recipe in developing a closer relationship with God. The book Time with God for Mothers is filled with 90 five-minute filled devotionals each with a verse and a short pray and discussion to get your brain moving and your heart pumping for God. At the back of the book, there is a selection of pages each titled with relevant meanings to Mothers and a list of bible verses that follow underneath and of course as we all like taking down notes on what we have read , in order to flick back at a later time and observe , there is a few pages and a section especially for Notes.
So Mothers what are you waiting for , head out now and purchase your Time with God for Mothers.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.