Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Thomas Nelson Resurrection in May - eBook

Thomas Nelson Resurrection in May - eBook

Average Customer Rating:
4.182 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(22 Reviews) 22
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (22 reviews)
5 stars
7
4 stars
12
3 stars
3
2 stars
0
1 star
0
2 out of 2100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Resurrection in May - eBook
Review 1 for Resurrection in May - eBook
This review is fromResurrection in May.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Worth the read!

Date:February 9, 2011
Customer Avatar
alihsee
Location:Australia
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Resurrection in May is a book full of raw emotions and deep hurt. The beginning is quite light-hearted and Samson's brilliant character development soon has you in love with May, Claudius and their day to day life on Claudius' farm. The book, however, soon takes a turn into dark territory, where the war between the Tutsi and Hutu peoples is just beginning. Wow, what a punch! May's journey from hurt, to forgiveness, to a new life and dependance on God is one that is well worth the read and I recommend that you do!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Resurrection in May - eBook
This review is fromResurrection in May.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:November 19, 2010
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
next book i have is Resurrection in may by Lisa Samson. wasn't quite sure what to expect, since i haven't read any books by Lisa at all. so i kinda went into it blindly. the cover drew me in though because its so mysterious. and the book wasn't at all anything i would have expected. as you can tell by the description it kinda goes all over the place.
it did tend to be kinda confusing at times. with the different parts its almost like 3 books in one. it was really good though once i finally got a chance to sit down and read it, it went pretty fast. it was a pretty amazing and insane story though. so heartbreaking but uplifting at the same time. i would definitely recommend this author amazing writing here..
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Resurrection in May - eBook
This review is fromResurrection in May.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 29, 2010
Customer Avatar
Amy
Resurrection in May by Lisa Samson is now one of my top 5 favorite Christian fiction books. I have read many Christian fiction authors but have never read anything by Lisa Samson before. Since reading this I have sought out her books. In Resurrection in May she does such a beautiful job of bringing the characters to life and getting the reader attached, certainly this reader at least. May, Claudius, Eli and Sister Ruth are all characters I'd like to meet if they were real. The story of May's journey from being a pleasant but shallow college student with little ambition, to taking a mission trip to Africa that taught her love, selflessness and purpose but came with great pain and loss, is full of rich characters, descriptive and diverse landscapes and caries you along wanting to protect and push May forward depending on the page.I thoroughly enjoyed reading this book and didn't want to put it down yet didn't want the story to end. My favorite setting was that of Claudius' farm in Kentucky and my favorite character was Claudius himself. The author made him appealing in all the right ways, kind, honest, loyal, patient and unselfish. We all need at least one Claudius in our lives. His strong faith and genuine trust in God was just what May needed to find her way back from fear to love, life and hope. The story takes a few unexpected turns but each of them believable and revealing in their wisdom and inspiration. I would highly recommend this book and have already loaned it out to a friend who loved it as much as I did.I received this book free from Thomas Nelson Publishers as part of their BookSneeze.com
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Resurrection in May - eBook
This review is fromResurrection in May.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:September 26, 2010
Customer Avatar
sandra
Resurrection in May is written by Lisa Samson. This was the first book that I've read by her. I really enjoyed this book. It was a very interesting read and really held my attention. May Seymour is a young college girl, who seemed to have it all. An "accidental" meeting of an old bachelor man, Claudius Borne, changes her life. May leaves for a mission trip to Africa and there experiences much pain, tragedy and heartache. She returns to Claudius' farm to try to find healing for her life. Here she indeed finds healing, friendship and love..but she doesn't find it easily.I did enjoy this book and look forward to reading other books by this author.I received a complimentary copy of this book from Booksneeze.com in return for my honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Resurrection in May - eBook
This review is fromResurrection in May.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 23, 2010
Resurrection in May is a gripping saga and one I couldn't put down. Rich in characterization and description, Lisa Samson is a master storytellerone of the best. It's slightly different than her usual literary style, but Resurrection in May retains the intense beauty Samson is known for in her writing. A must read. Novel Journey and I give it a high recommendation.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Resurrection in May - eBook
This review is fromResurrection in May.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 18, 2010
Customer Avatar
Sarah
May Seymour is your typical twenty-something college grad. She's going into her future full of high hopes of becoming a journalist, starting with a missions trip to war-time Rwanda. Along with her bright future are even more harsh memories of her partying days. After one wild evening she is found by seventy-something Claudius on a deserted country road... from that moment on, her life and her future changes forever. We follow May's journey of finding who she is as a young woman, as well as finding her identity in Christ. In my opinion, this book started out very slow... it took me several sittings to even get through the first few chapter. However once the author brought life to the characters, I was soon sucked in, and felt like I was just another character. There were several genres represented, some suspense and mystery, and even some romance. I felt as if I was truly relating to the different characters in their humanity, imperfections, and search for a real relationship with God, which can be unheard of in Christian fiction. Overall, I would recommend this book, even with it's slow start. You may end up just as surprised as I was!--I received this book for free from Thomas Nelson publishers, in exchange for an honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Resurrection in May - eBook
This review is fromResurrection in May.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 31, 2010
Customer Avatar
a concerned parent
One of the best books I've read in a long time. I was sorry to see it end. Lisa Samson does an amazing job capturing the thoughts and feelings of her characters. They become like friends. This book is not for the faint of heart, but it gives you lots to think about. I loved it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Resurrection in May - eBook
This review is fromResurrection in May.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:August 18, 2010
Resurrection in May is not easy, summer reading but it's well worth your time. May has recently graduated from college and goes to Rwanda on a mission trip. When things start falling apart, she's given the choice to stay or go and chooses to stay with her new friends. Witnessing complete devastation of the village she has called home for the last few months, she is forced to survive in the wilderness. When she finally returns home, she is completely broken. Finding refuge at her friend Claudius's farm in rural Kentucky, she hides herself away from the world as her new friends try to help her recover.To be honest, I had a hard time getting into the book at first. However, once I got about 30 pages in, I couldn't put it down. The characters are deep and complex and emotional. Even several of the minor characters are quite memorable. The author also does a great job of describing things in a way that lets readers know what it looks like but without bogging the story down. This is the first Lisa Samson novel that I've read, but I know I'll be on the lookout for more of her books in the future!I received a FREE copy of this book in exchange for my fair and honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Resurrection in May - eBook
This review is fromResurrection in May.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:August 11, 2010
Customer Avatar
Mindy
Just leaving college, May sets off on a life-changing journey, but gets lost in the process. After coming back to Claudius's farm, she finds healing in unexpected places and people.This was a wonderful novel illustrating the power of forgiveness -- forgiving others and yourself. The novel drew me in from the beginning, and the descriptions Lisa Samson used made you feel part of the story. I can still see the farm in my mind, and I would love to spend some time there with Claudius, May, and the animals.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Resurrection in May - eBook
This review is fromResurrection in May.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:August 6, 2010
Customer Avatar
kathy
Resurrection In May written by Lisa Samson tells the story of May Seymour who just graduated from college and have the whole life ahead of her when Claudius Borne stumble upon her. She was at a stage where she didnt know what to do with her life.Claudius Borne, was a gentle old man who can relate well with animals and plants rather than human. His whole world revolves around his farm. May had a friend in him.May left on a mission to Rwanda while waiting for result of her various applications for job. There she found love in loving other human beings and believing in God. That is until a tragedy struck and she died.She was a walking and living corpse when she comes back to Claudius farm to heal. In helping her, Claudius also found himself a daughter. She stayed for many years, reclusive.Years later she learns that her old college flame, Eli is in death row and refusing to appeal the sentence. She is determined to help Eli but instead this determination changed her life. I love this book. Its easy to read. The language flows by itself and meaningfulIts thought provoking and emotionally charged. Not for those who likes to read the beginning and skipped to the ending type of person. Every page there is a message. The book is about faith, forgiveness, second chance and love. I would recommend this book to those who need resurrection in their faith and life.Thomas Nelson has provided me with a complimentary copy of this book as part of their Booksneeze bloggers program. I am not required to write a positive review and therefore, the book review is 100% my own opinion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Resurrection in May - eBook
This review is fromResurrection in May.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:July 30, 2010
Customer Avatar
Nicole Miller
I jumped at the chance to read this book after attending a conference where Lisa Samson was the keynote speaker. She was simply amazing and I've wanted to read her books ever since. Resurrection in May was as captivating, stirring and heartwarming as Lisa's keynote addresses. At first, I wasn't sure how to react to the author's unique writing style and creative use of point of view. The main character, May, is first introduced through the eyes of an old bachelor farmer, Claudius. We see the world and the spunky May through his eyes for a good half of the book and only catch a little of May's thoughts until a certain point. For me, this made it hard to connect with May at all. I actually had several parts where I had to push myself to keep reading even though I liked all the secondary characters. I wanted to connect with May but couldn't. That is, until Lisa's brilliance in writing is revealed with the point of view switch and you are as connected to Claudius as May is. Then, we dive deep into May's life as she struggles to overcome the wounds of her experience in Rwanda. The exchanges between May and Eli are heart-wrenching and so real. While this certainly wasn't a light-hearted novel, I still walked away with such hope and admiration of Lisa's amazing writing. This story unfolds with memorable characters, surprising twists and turns and satisfying moments that testify to God's grace. A great read of redemption and hope. Highly recommended. Disclosure: Thomas Nelson provided me with a copy of this book in exchange for my honest review, which is exactly what you'll see here!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Resurrection in May - eBook
This review is fromResurrection in May.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:July 30, 2010
My first impression of this book was that it was absolutely delightful! Fun-loving college student May meets grandfatherly Claudius who rescues her from a drunken predicament. While recovering at his farm, May tells Claudius her hopes, plans and dreams. Hes curiousand a little concerned, but content with his chosen life of solitude on a quiet Kentucky farm. The contrasting characters in such an unlikely setting made for a great story start.But then May goes to Rwanda for a missions trip and gets caught up in harsh events there. (Warning: do not read these chapters while waiting for your child in the dentists office because you will be uncomfortably disturbed and want to cry, and the dentists office is an awkward place for that.)May returns to Kentucky deeply scarred both physically and emotionally. She seeks solace on Claudius farmand stays there, refusing to talk about what happened, refusing to leave for any reason at all."Resurrection in May" is the story of her healing process, how the community helps and hinders and grows with her as a result. Its disturbing and frustrating and aggravating, yet author Lisa Samson highlights moments of joy in the midst of deep pain and shows how God can patiently work in individuals and society and how life moves steadily on even when death is all around.Thank you Thomas Nelson Publishers for sending a complimentary copy of this book for my review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Resurrection in May - eBook
This review is fromResurrection in May.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:July 29, 2010
Award-winning author Lisa Samson has released a new novel, "Resurrection in May." May has just graduated from college and is searching to find herself. An unexpected relationship is formed between May and Claudius, a kind old man. After witnessing a horrific scene in Africa on her missons trip, May returns to the sanctuary she found before her trip at Claudius' home. During this time May meets up with a former flame and the turns that his life have taken force May to think about life, choices and the path that she is taking. Thus begins May's resurrection. If you are looking for a light read, this is not the book for you. Samson has filled this novel with hurt, heartache and very emotionally draining scenes. However, this is also filled with forgiveness, love and grace as the characters bond and work through the issues in their lives. This book is thought-provoking and the story is one that will be remembered.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Resurrection in May - eBook
This review is fromResurrection in May.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:July 29, 2010
Customer Avatar
Melody
The scope of the storyline in Resurrection in May is so broad as to seem almost improbable until you begin reading the story. When we first meet May Seymour, she is in a sad state--deeply sunk in a fast-paced, shallow lifestyle at the end of her college years. Her physical journey takes her to Rwanda and back to Kentucky, after narrowly escaping the brutal destruction of the town she was volunteering in. Her spiritual journey is cloudy; she is lost and filled with doubt. May's wounds are deep and her recovery is long.It took me a few chapters to adapt to the author's writing style and get into the story, but it wasn't long before I was sucked into the story. Largely plot driven, I found myself hooked, not wanting to put the book down. I often wished for a more thorough understanding of the characters, as I believe that would have made the emotional impact that much greater, but what was lacking in depth of character was made up for with the engaging plot. The gardening, cooking, and book references throughout were a fun touch. I appreciated the picture of true religion (if you will) and the willingness on the part of the author and publisher to address a topic that wasn't candy coated.This was a diversion from my typical book selections, and overall I was pleasantly surprised.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Resurrection in May - eBook
This review is fromResurrection in May.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 29, 2010
Customer Avatar
Amy
Claudius, an elderly Kentucky farmer, finds a drunken May lost along a country roadside and takes her home to care for her until she can find her way home. May, a recent college graduate searching for meaning in her life, becomes fascinated with his simple, purposeful lifestyle and embraces it until she leaves for Rwanda to serve with a priest there. After being attacked during a war of ethnic cleansing in the village where she's living, May returns to Kentucky and tries to find the loving God of her farm and village amidst her memories of a violent world. Samson has written an emotionally charged book. While the action is slow and much of it is conversational or simply describing the everyday work of a farm, the reader gleans the heart condition of each character from these simple actions. Samson has turned the reader into a cheerleader as May grows and recovers from her ordeal. By the last page, the reader finds that May is stronger - and less predictable - than one would think. "Resurrection in May" is a wonderful book that will prompt the reader to affirm the power of forgiveness. I will definitely recommend this book and look up Samson's others! This book was given to me by Thomas Nelson in return for an unbiased review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Resurrection in May - eBook
This review is fromResurrection in May.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 27, 2010
Customer Avatar
Dot Hitchon
a very thoughtful and heart warming book from one of my favorite authors. Please keep writring Lisa, I can't wait for your next novel.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Resurrection in May - eBook
This review is fromResurrection in May.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:July 26, 2010
Customer Avatar
Ashlin
Resurrection in May is a story of a girl named May Seymour. After May graduates from college, she sets out on a journey that includes, loss, new friends, old friends and a search for spiritual answers. In the midst of this, she ends up on the farm of an old man named Claudius who plays a crucial part in the healing that must take place in her life. Through this journey, May encounters more than most people could imagine, but this journey transforms her life beyond what she could've ever expected.When thinking about my feelings toward this book, there are several emotions that begin to well up inside of me. First, I would have to say that this book brought forth a lot of depression and I never necessarily got much redemptive joy from it. From the title we can gather that this is supposed to be a story of resurrection, but I never felt like things really came back to life FULLY. I can't honestly say that this was a story that inspired or built my faith. In some ways it sent me into a quiet sadness filled with anything but joy. While the story had heart warming characters full of love and charm, they could not compensate for the utter sense of loss that overpowers you while you are reading and even when you finish. On a positive note, the writer's details and descriptions are exceptional and as far as her style of writing, I liked it very much. Sadly, this is probably not a book I would recommend to anyone. I like to finish a book with some sense of hope and joy, something that makes me look forward to life and this book did not give me that at all.___I received this book free from Thomas Nelson Publishers as part of their book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commissions 16 CFR, Part 255.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Resurrection in May - eBook
This review is fromResurrection in May.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:July 24, 2010
This was the first Lisa Samson book I've ever read and I was pleasantly surprised. This book is a very fast read and I enjoyed it. The author really pulls you in the May's world and doesn't disappoint you in the page turning eye opening book. It is set in Kentucky and the first character you meet is Claudius and he is a true farmer in every aspect, and you just like him instantly. May is a girl that was working as a missionary (by chance) and she loved Rwanda. She has a traumatizing event that has her healing at Claudius farm. Talk about two unlikely friends but great friends! Eli is an flame that maybe never died out and their love and friendship is put to the test as he is in prison. I would recommend this book to anyone who likes a great eye opening, heartfelt story but have some tissues ready and except some twist and turns you didn't except or see coming.thank you booksneeze for sending me a copy of this book to review
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Resurrection in May - eBook
This review is fromResurrection in May.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:July 19, 2010
Lisa Sampson poured her heart into this book. You can see that just by the depth of these characters. They are so thought out and poignant for the reader. This book carries issues that broke my heart. We see the poor black farmer, who lived his life alone, yearning for more. We see May, torn from faith and self, pouring herself into the people of Rwanda. We witness the torture there and we see how May must now not just live with the physical scars, but those buried deep within. We watch Eli, a sweet young man go off to war and come home a different man, trying to bury what he has seen, but cannot. It is eating him alive and he now makes a choice on one fateful day, taking the lives of others. He is imprisoned and on death row. We see these characters find life through death. We see them reaching for more and trying to release the past to get to the future. But is it possible without Christ? Without a strong faith? I am not sure if I enjoyed this book. It was beautifully written, but for me it was painful to read. Nothing of this was on the back cover, and I wish I would have been prepared for what I was about to read. It is one book that will make you ponder about life, death and resurrection. For May, she found Resurrection. She found life again, and for that I can find beauty in this book. My favorite character was Claudius. He carried life within him although he was searching for more. He did find joy in May, in helping her, and just in her company. It was a blessing for him to find her on the road that day as she was crawling to find safety. She found it, she found it within Claudius and his love. He showed the love of Christ in for others and forgiveness in wrongs. He was just what the Lord ordered for May to bring her to resurrection. This book was a gift from Thomas Nelson for it's review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Resurrection in May - eBook
This review is fromResurrection in May.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:July 18, 2010
Customer Avatar
Heatherly
This novel, by Lisa Sampson, is one that I wish I had read with a book club. It's topics are so heavy that, although they were handled well and in a well-written manner, I'm not sure that I can truly say I enjoyed it.Resurrection in May tells the story of Claudius, an elderly black farmer whose random act of kindness ends up changes the course of his life forever. The subject of his kindness, May, finds refuge on his farm before leaving for a season in Rwanda. She aims to help... somehow, but is lost herself.On April 15, 1994 thousands of Tutsi people are massacred and May is caught in the crossfire. Barely alive spiritually and emotionally, May returns to Claudius, her one refuge, and learns, slowly, how to truly live and love.Sampson is a talented writer and handled the historical genocide and other hard to swallow topics with grace and tract. You can't help but care about Claudius and May-May and feel their struggles.Resurrection in May is a great discussion starter, but is not for the weak of heart. I am glad to have read it, and I will recommend it to others, but I can't say that I enjoyed it. It's heavy topics have left me sorting through a myriad of thoughts and emotions.If any of you have read this thought-provoking novel, I would love to hear your take.I received a free copy of this book in exchange for my honest review as a part of Thomas Nelson's blogger program.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>