Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Thomas Nelson Nelsons New Illustrated Bible Commentary: Spreading the Light of God's Word into Your Life - eBook

Thomas Nelson Nelsons New Illustrated Bible Commentary: Spreading the Light of God's Word into Your Life - eBook

Average Customer Rating:
4.583 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(12 Reviews) 12
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (12 reviews)
5 stars
10
4 stars
0
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
0
2 out of 367%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Nelsons New Illustrated Bible Commentary: Spreading the Light of God's Word into Your Life - eBook
Review 1 for Nelsons New Illustrated Bible Commentary: Spreading the Light of God's Word into Your Life - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A great tool for Bible Study

Date:July 18, 2012
Customer Avatar
sabrina
Location:pinckney, mi
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this when I first became a Believer years ago to help me gain a better understanding of God's Word. I recently gave it to a friend so I purchased another one, this updated one. It is still a wonderful tool to have for a better understanding of God's Word.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Nelsons New Illustrated Bible Commentary: Spreading the Light of God's Word into Your Life - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This book is a great resource!

Date:May 24, 2011
Customer Avatar
Brenda Battle
Location:Wash., DC
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love this Bible commentary! It provides clear and concise commentary on Scripture and is thorough in its interpretation.
It is easy to understand and I highly recommend it to students, laypersons, etc.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Nelsons New Illustrated Bible Commentary: Spreading the Light of God's Word into Your Life - eBook
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Not what I wanted

Date:April 8, 2011
Customer Avatar
Manya Ferguson
Location:Winnemucca, NV
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I need more meat in my reference books. Maps and history are fine but I have other books with more detail that contain that information.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Nelsons New Illustrated Bible Commentary: Spreading the Light of God's Word into Your Life - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 7, 2009
I have possessed this book for more than two years. It is one of the one volume bible commentaries that I have had. At first I ignored this book because it looked like an undetailed kind of the short commentaries. Recently, I have turned my attention to study this book. What I find is that this is a meaty book. It gives me essential explanations in nearly every verse of the biblical book especially on NT. It is similar to NKJV study bible but gives more details and insert Greek and Hebrew words much more than NKJV study bible. Now my preferences are: this very book, NKJV study bible (the contents are the same as this book but lesser detail), believers' bible commentary, King James Bible commentary and ESV study bible. If you are a novice or a recently born again christian, you may try my lists above and you will be satisfactory with them and you need nothing more than these!!!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Nelsons New Illustrated Bible Commentary: Spreading the Light of God's Word into Your Life - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 23, 2009
Customer Avatar
Jenny Taylor
Great book. Not as detailed as some, but an additional view is always a plus. Interesting little tid-bits scattered throughout.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Nelsons New Illustrated Bible Commentary: Spreading the Light of God's Word into Your Life - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 21, 2009
Customer Avatar
Ronald Phillips
Excellent resource for bible study. It is concise and easy to understand. The "Insight" and "In Focus" boxes provide additional information about context or help in understanding the passage.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Nelsons New Illustrated Bible Commentary: Spreading the Light of God's Word into Your Life - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 19, 2008
Customer Avatar
Mary H. White
I love my Nelson Illustrated Bible. It's very helpful to my studies. It's a blessing to my Christian life.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Nelsons New Illustrated Bible Commentary: Spreading the Light of God's Word into Your Life - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 25, 2008
Customer Avatar
Barbara Kimball
I find the Nelsons Bible Commentary, to be concise, and complete, with an ability to help one understand verses and passages.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Nelsons New Illustrated Bible Commentary: Spreading the Light of God's Word into Your Life - eBook
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:November 24, 2008
Customer Avatar
Kathleen
While this commentary has useful information, I was quite disappointed with it. I have Nelson's NKJV Study Bible and the commentary is exactly the same as the study notes! Do NOT waste you're money on this commentary if you already own Nelson's NKJV Study Bible!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Nelsons New Illustrated Bible Commentary: Spreading the Light of God's Word into Your Life - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 1, 2007
Customer Avatar
John P. Chastain
If you want a great single volume commentary the Nelson's New Illustrated Bible Commentary is tough to beat. It contains valuable charts and maps (around 80), and it has many helpful articles on doctrine and other major biblical concepts. It also has a chronological harmony of the gospels and 350 key Hebrew and Greek word studies. It contains the same information as the Nelson NKJV Study Bible but without the biblical text and in larger print. It also has a few articles that were not included in the study Bible.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Nelsons New Illustrated Bible Commentary: Spreading the Light of God's Word into Your Life - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 14, 2006
Customer Avatar
Jeremy E. Rivers
This is a very good commentary with timeless Illustration. very deep for just 1 volume but the information you get is just incredible. Any one can use it and a good 1-2 punch with the Believers Bible Commentary
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Nelsons New Illustrated Bible Commentary: Spreading the Light of God's Word into Your Life - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 12, 2004
Customer Avatar
J Grier
This is one of the best single volume commentaries around. You can't go wrong with this one.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.