Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Warner Press Hunter Brown and the Secret of the Shadow, The Codebearers Series

Warner Press Hunter Brown and the Secret of the Shadow, The Codebearers Series

Strange visions, hideous monsters, startling revelations . . . and Hunter Brown's summer vacation is just beginning! When the middle-school prankster discovers a mysterious book, he's suddenly spirited away to Solandria, a supernatural realm held captive by the Shadow. Who will be victorious as Hunter battles to save the world . . . and his own soul? Kids ages 9 to 12 who read this book will gain a better understanding that even in the darkest of circumstances, hope comes from knowing a greater purpose is at work.
Average Customer Rating:
4.919 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(37 Reviews) 37
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (37 reviews)
5 stars
34
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
1 out of 1100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Hunter Brown and the Secret of the Shadow, The Codebearers Series
Review 1 for Hunter Brown and the Secret of the Shadow, The Codebearers Series
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

MUST READ!!!

Date:November 17, 2012
Customer Avatar
7wheelers
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book is amazing! It is the best book I have read in years. Everyone should read this book - but not until you are 9 or 10, or it might be a little to scary. My son and I can't wait to read book 2 and I can't wait to re-read book 1 with my other kids! This would make the best movie ever!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Hunter Brown and the Secret of the Shadow, The Codebearers Series
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 28, 2010
Customer Avatar
carlson
the book was totally awsome any one who likes narnia, the door whinin andowther adventure books ule love it oh and be sure to become a code bearer
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Hunter Brown and the Secret of the Shadow, The Codebearers Series
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 7, 2009
Customer Avatar
Sarg
I bought this book just looking for a good book to read, but after reading it I must say that the Miller Brothers have EASILY made it to my list of top authors! If you enjoy the cleverness and action of Bryan Davis and Wayne Thomas Batson you will love this book!!! Also dont forget the sequel BECAUSE IT ROCKS!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Hunter Brown and the Secret of the Shadow, The Codebearers Series
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 24, 2009
Customer Avatar
Andrew Phelps
"Hunter Brown" is the best book I have ever read.The miller brothers are the best authors ever!!! Sometimes I can't find a good book to read now i can just read the "Hunter Brown" books because they never seem to get boring!!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Hunter Brown and the Secret of the Shadow, The Codebearers Series
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:October 14, 2009
Customer Avatar
Jill Williamson
Hunter and his friends play the ultimate prank on the school bully. They hide in a dumpster to avoid his wrath but cant get out. After yelling for help for quite some time, someone finally comes to their aid. This janitor promises not to tell the school principal where he found the boys if theyll do him a favor. He hands Hunter a card with the address of a book shop and asks him to pick up an item and bring it back to the boys bathroom. Feeling as if they have no choice, the boys complete the errand. But when they return to the bathroom with a fancy, old book and a key, the janitor is nowhere to be found.Hunter takes the things home and discovers that the book is magical. Before he can truly figure out what the book is for, he and his friend are whisked away to Solandria, a realm that is at war with the Shadow. There Hunter discovers that he must complete Codebearer training if he is to help defeat this Shadow and get home again. With dragons, trolls, giant birds and lizards, and weapons similar to light sabers, this book was truly fun for all ages. I thought the premise and allegory was very powerful. Hunter is a delightful and sarcastic character. The minor characters were also fun. This was the strength of the book, in my opinion. There were some unnecessary backflashes that jerked me out of the story at times and some writing craft issues that teens probably wont notice. There were also many punctuation issues. I was surprised to see such mistakes in a book from Warner Press. I read it to my seven-year-old son, and he loved it, especially the illustrations. The Miller brothers seem to be quite talented as artists and animators, and now story tellers.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Hunter Brown and the Secret of the Shadow, The Codebearers Series
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 23, 2009
Customer Avatar
dixie
This book was great! I balled my eyes out the first and second time I read it, and I'm planning on reading it for the fourth time!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Hunter Brown and the Secret of the Shadow, The Codebearers Series
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 22, 2009
Customer Avatar
Alyshia
AWESOME!!! GREAT FOR ALL AGES!!! Me and my sister wont stop talking about this book! I recommend this book for everyone from book worms to book haters!All will love this book!!!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Hunter Brown and the Secret of the Shadow, The Codebearers Series
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 22, 2009
Customer Avatar
Alyshia
AWESOME!!! GREAT FOR ALL AGES!!! Me and my sister wont stop talking about this book! I recommend this book for everyone from book worms to book haters!All will love this book!!!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Hunter Brown and the Secret of the Shadow, The Codebearers Series
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 24, 2009
Customer Avatar
Alexis
This book was absolutely captivating. A highly recommended must read! Kids, tweens, teens, adults, and even book haters will be immediately drawn into this beautiful work of Art. IT WAS ABSOLUTELY JAW DROPPING!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Hunter Brown and the Secret of the Shadow, The Codebearers Series
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 23, 2009
Customer Avatar
Alexis
This book was truly captivating. I was drawn into the book the moment I picked it up. I highly recommend this to everyone kids, teens, and adults. While you read it you find yourself sharing the character's burdens, interests, sorrows, and you also learn great lessons about being true to yourself and giving your life up to the Author. It is truly a MUST read.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Hunter Brown and the Secret of the Shadow, The Codebearers Series
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 20, 2009
Customer Avatar
undisclosed denial
This is a truley awesome book!It will captivat the attention of any reader! Buy it now!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Hunter Brown and the Secret of the Shadow, The Codebearers Series
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 15, 2009
Customer Avatar
darkness
i love hunter brown!!!! it is the best "TWEENIE" book i ever read. (tied with jimmy coates assaasion) ROCK ON HUNTER BROWN
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Hunter Brown and the Secret of the Shadow, The Codebearers Series
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:March 21, 2009
Customer Avatar
Jen Quiverfullfamilycom
Drawing from modern sci-fi symbolism the authors integrate devices reminiscent of The Matrix and Star Wars, while mining the deep allegorical thread that The Pilgrims Progress is based upon. While the imagery is sci-fi in flavour, the story itself plants itself firmly within the realm of fantasy. While seemingly cobbled together from disparate elements some fairly common, others unique this presentation of scriptural truth in a vibrant adventure is surprisingly captivating. The quest that Hunter finds himself on is parallel to the story of mankinds fall into sin and redemption through sacrifice.Having two talented CGI men as co-authors and illustrators certainly comes in handy. From book trailers to the official Codebearers website, and the book itself, all of the images relating to the novel are drawn from the minds of the Miller Brothers themselves. Codebearers.com keeps young readers engaged in the adventure by providing mind-tingling challenges, forums, videos, and more. You can read the entire book for free online, or pick up an autographed hardcopy. The Millers even offer a unique Good Read guarantee if you (or your child) dont love the book theyll buy it back.While I read one part of me remained skeptical, the other was absorbed. The unusual blend of faith-powered light sabers, a chivalrous knight-like resistance, menacing forces of evil unique to the series and biblical truth work together to draw eager young minds into the tale. While the scriptural nods are strikingly clear to Christian readers, connections to the faith are not as blatantly drawn as to frighten away other readers. The series has great potential as a crossover novel, and a good clean read across markets. In all honesty, Im looking forward to future installments.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Hunter Brown and the Secret of the Shadow, The Codebearers Series
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 5, 2009
Customer Avatar
Dianne Timm
I purchased this product as a gift for my grandson. I am confident that he is thoroughly enjoying it. Price, prompt service and condition have been excellent.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Hunter Brown and the Secret of the Shadow, The Codebearers Series
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 4, 2009
Customer Avatar
Desiree Hagmayer
This is a brand new series. My 13 year old boy loved it. As homeschoolers, we strive to support those that are currently or have previously homeschooled. Kudos to these former homeschooled brothers! When is the next one coming out???
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Hunter Brown and the Secret of the Shadow, The Codebearers Series
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 25, 2008
Customer Avatar
Momto4LittleLambs
My 8 year old son really enjoyed this book and I am awaiting the next to purchase for him. A good story with good themes..what a blessing.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Hunter Brown and the Secret of the Shadow, The Codebearers Series
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 11, 2008
Customer Avatar
Samantha
I found this book to be amazing. A very excellent beginning and an even better conclusion. So good that Ill without a doubt buy the next book. Well done!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Hunter Brown and the Secret of the Shadow, The Codebearers Series
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 8, 2008
Customer Avatar
seth
Hunter Brown is amazing book filled with awesome morals. I have never ever liked a book so much that i would actually buy it. And let me tell you right now, this books is AWESOME. I am letting my friend read it right now and hes going to buy the sequel, same goes for me!-nice book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Hunter Brown and the Secret of the Shadow, The Codebearers Series
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 29, 2008
Customer Avatar
zach
I thought this book was great. It had everything a book could have like mystery, comedy, romance(a little), action and alot of other stuff. so go buy this book today if you lke all of that stuff. K
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Hunter Brown and the Secret of the Shadow, The Codebearers Series
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 29, 2008
Customer Avatar
abby
i love this book it is the best.i am so glad my cousin told me about this book because it is just so good.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>