Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Thomas Nelson Why I Believe - eBook

Thomas Nelson Why I Believe - eBook

Average Customer Rating:
4.75 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(8 Reviews) 8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (8 reviews)
5 stars
6
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
3 out of 3100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Why I Believe - eBook
Review 1 for Why I Believe - eBook
This review is fromWhy I Believe.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Good book

Date:July 30, 2011
Customer Avatar
Anthony Shuler
Location:Kansas, USA
Age:18-24
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
D. James Kennedy writes about the same things as every other Christian author out there but always manages to contribute something unique. If you read apologetics books regularly you should still read this one since Kennedy was a master of originality and making arguments no one else is.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Why I Believe - eBook
This review is fromWhy I Believe.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Useful but to what means?

Date:January 20, 2011
Customer Avatar
Russ
Location:Dayville, CT
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
While I came across this work several years ago I recently purchased a new copy as I do see value in this work. I found the material presented in a readable fashion and is indeed helpful. However (tongue in cheek) I would suggest a disclaimer in the use of the contents. The faith, while reasonable, goes not go forth or win converts via having a better argument. I (as perhaps you) have found reasonable people who despite the "facts" decide against Christ. While the work is helpful, I would urge caution. Use it as a tool, but have more tools (e.g., compassion, good works, mercy, forgiveness, etc.) to backup your faith.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Why I Believe - eBook
This review is fromWhy I Believe.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great book, some typos

Date:November 23, 2010
Customer Avatar
Lee G
Location:Maryville, MO
Age:18-24
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a good book for anyone who would like to hear the reasons a well established, long-believing Christian believes in many of the basic ideas and tenets behind Christianity. He usually explains why the topic is important as well. However, there are several typos in the book, which should have been corrected in the revision. This does not detract from the book, it is just a polish that is missing.
I may loan this to my brother! He is an athiest, but pretty open minded.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Why I Believe - eBook
This review is fromWhy I Believe.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 29, 2009
Customer Avatar
Donald Mckinney
One of the greatest outreach tools I have ever used and I found it very useful in my own life.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Why I Believe - eBook
This review is fromWhy I Believe.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 27, 2009
Customer Avatar
Raymond Holland
I first read this book while deployed to Qatar and really enjoyed it. It was the copy for the military, I picked several copies from the chapel and gave them to friends and co-workers. I didn't save a copy for myself and have wanted one ever since. I bought this copy with the hope that I may convince our pastor to put copies in our small church library for new believers and anyone else who may want to read them. It is a very good book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Why I Believe - eBook
This review is fromWhy I Believe.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:January 17, 2008
Customer Avatar
Glenda Jansson
This is truly a "back to basics" for mature Christians and an awesome beginning for newChristians. Dr. Kennedy really touches on each tenet of faith and makes it so simple to give an account to others of what, and why, we believe.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Why I Believe - eBook
This review is fromWhy I Believe.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 7, 2008
Customer Avatar
Lance Winburn
Very well written, easy to understand defense for Christianity. Helped me reaffirm what I already believed.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Why I Believe - eBook
This review is fromWhy I Believe.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 8, 2001
Customer Avatar
John A.
This book is the best apologetic book on Christianity that has been written since "Mere Christianity." Give it to anyone struggling with belief, and read it yourself to reinforce your faith. He has another book called "Skeptics Answered" which is similar. Both are excellent, and highly recommended! "Why I Believe" will help you defend the faith with the facts.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.