Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Foundation Publications Inc NAS Updated Side-Column Reference Bible, Genuine leather, black

Foundation Publications Inc NAS Updated Side-Column Reference Bible, Genuine leather, black

Discover the truth in the inspired Word of God by reading the New American Standard Bible. The updated edition continues the NASB's commitment to accuracy while increasing clarity and readability. Vocabulary, grammar, and sentence structure have been carefully updated for greater understanding and smoother reading. The NASB remains the most literally accurate Bible in the English language.

Features
  • Single-column text layout
  • Side-column cross references & translator's notes
  • An 82 page concordance
  • 10 black and white maps
  • Smyth sewn binding
  • Verse format
  • Black letter edition
  • Presentation page
  • 11-point text
  • Gold page edges
  • Ribbon Marker
  • Black genuine leather
  • 9.50" x 6.50" x 1.75"
Average Customer Rating:
4.545 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(33 Reviews) 33
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (33 reviews)
5 stars
22
4 stars
8
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
0
16 out of 16100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
1 Question | 4 Answers
Customer Reviews for NAS Updated Side-Column Reference Bible, Genuine leather, black
Review 1 for NAS Updated Side-Column Reference Bible, Genuine leather, black
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Excellent Bible ,but not as advertised

Date:June 13, 2013
Customer Avatar
Pastor Rich
Location:Philippines
Age:55-65
Gender:male
I want to say I would recommend this bible to you. Only if you know what you actually getting and not what you are not getting.
Now I know they tell you this is a good bible to write notes in because it has wide margins. Let me say that isn't exactly true. You know how when you are hungry and thinking you are going to die and you see the advertisement for big giant burger. When you buy it your disappointed by how small it is? If you buy this bible to write notes in you will be disappointed.
This does not mean this is not an excellent bible, because as a reference bible this a great bible.
Second, it has great translation notes letting you know about honest debate when it comes to some verses and passages in the bible.
Third, the print is easy on the eyes and easy to see.
Four, the leather is pretty good and for the price it really can't be beat.
Finally as a Missionary pastor here in the Philippines I love bibles like some men love to collect stamps or other valuable items.
I happen to collect and read bibles. I have all kinds of study bibles. I have King James bibles, New King James, NIV bibles, Amplified bibles, G-d's Word bibles and other bible versions.
I have read them all and been blessed by them all, but the bible I use when I do my personal devotion , when I personal teach my own family and when I preach to my people is the NASB side column reference bible.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for NAS Updated Side-Column Reference Bible, Genuine leather, black
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Very pleased

Date:July 11, 2012
Customer Avatar
Eric L. Harris
Location:Missouri
Age:25-34
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I don't think I have ever seen a Bible of this quality for this price. The fact that it has a good genuine leather cover, and is smyth-sewn would ordinarily put this in the $55-$75 bracket. The leather feels really good. The print is soooooo nice, 11 pt. Single column is very readable. No defects in the Bible whatsoever. I am very picky about my books, particularly my Bibles. I love the single column, references off to the side, words of Christ are black (the way the should be), the paper is thick and good quality, rather large concordance in the back, color maps, the most accurate text (ESV being a close second). The procduct itself is astounding. I half expected it to disappoint me for this price. I do have one complaint about the company though: when I added this Bible to the wishlist, as I was thinking about ordering it, it was listed as 32.99. A couple of days later the price randomly went up to 34.99. No big deal, I thought, its still a good price, right? So I order it. Before the Bible even arrives at my house, the price randomly goes back down to 32.99. So, Christian Book overcharged me 2.00. Strangest thing, but I have the invoice to prove it. Its just 2.00, no big deal, but it doesn't sit well with me in principle. Hopefully they will read this and resolve it for the sake of integrity. Othewise, very pleased with this product. Will probably get these to give as gifts...maybe an extra one for myself.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for NAS Updated Side-Column Reference Bible, Genuine leather, black
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This is a good read!

Date:June 3, 2012
Customer Avatar
winabina
Location:North Carolina
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This has accurate references, margin space for notes, and reads well.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for NAS Updated Side-Column Reference Bible, Genuine leather, black
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Can't beat it for the price.

Date:May 15, 2012
Customer Avatar
Jim M
Location:Princeton, IN
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The thing I don't care for is that the pages pucker where they go into the sewn binding when opened. I expect that to go away with use as the binding loosens up a little. Also, I didn't care for the fact it was printed in China.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for NAS Updated Side-Column Reference Bible, Genuine leather, black
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great value for the price

Date:January 18, 2012
Customer Avatar
jkib
Location:Spokane, WA
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Size/weight is quite good with the larger 11pt text sizing, which is nice for older eyes. Feel and texture of the leather cover is good, although a bit stiff. Very thorough concordance. Only complaints: I wish the paper was thicker...bleedless markers still bleed. I have to use colored pencils to mark text. Also wish each book started on a new page.
All in all a very nice bible for the price.
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for NAS Updated Side-Column Reference Bible, Genuine leather, black
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This is a fantastic Bible

Date:November 28, 2011
Customer Avatar
Wally
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I completely enjoyed the larger print, the side column reference is great, instead of in the middle. But for me, I like the single column text.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for NAS Updated Side-Column Reference Bible, Genuine leather, black
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

I like the simplicity of this Bible.

Date:November 25, 2011
Customer Avatar
Dick
Location:New Carlisle, Ohio
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Bible I ordered was exactly what I was told it would be. Genuine leather will make it last a long time. There is the text without all the other information about books and chapters, although good I just wanted the text itself. I like the side columns instead of the columns in the center for reference.
I will never hesitate when in need to order again from Christianbook Dist.
Thanks
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for NAS Updated Side-Column Reference Bible, Genuine leather, black
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent Value

Date:September 30, 2011
Customer Avatar
Buttercup
Location:Akron, Oh
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a wonderful bible, easy to read, and nice to handle. Very readable, and easy to understand. Do not hesitate to invest in such a nicely made bible.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for NAS Updated Side-Column Reference Bible, Genuine leather, black
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 30, 2011
Customer Avatar
Roxy
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
i love it, just what I was looking for. I like it's word for word accuracy since I don't know Greek and Hebrew.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for NAS Updated Side-Column Reference Bible, Genuine leather, black
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

single column

Date:September 23, 2011
Customer Avatar
Yappy
Location:Santa Rosa, NM
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
It has been years since I bought a new Bible, and this NASB with the single column was just what I was looking for. I could find single column Bibles, but they were study Bibles, or they were hard back, which are difficult to travel with due to thickness and lack of flexability.
Since I do a lot of study, I have found that study Bibles tend to distract me and muddle clarity of thought. So again this one fits the bill of what I was looking for.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for NAS Updated Side-Column Reference Bible, Genuine leather, black
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

great basic ref bible

Date:September 22, 2011
Customer Avatar
Donald
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very nice binding, very good paper, Fantastic author
The bible is very basic, but very nice
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for NAS Updated Side-Column Reference Bible, Genuine leather, black
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Modern English Bible

Date:August 26, 2011
Customer Avatar
JMac
Location:Rome, NY
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is the first modern English Bible I've purchased. I did it because my family and I started attending a new church, and the NASB Update is the version used. It has an easy-to-read font and great references.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for NAS Updated Side-Column Reference Bible, Genuine leather, black
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Love it.

Date:June 28, 2011
Customer Avatar
Mimi
Location:Fair Oaks Ranch, Texas
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
High quality production of the most accurate English version of the Bible. Lots of room to make notes. Leather is special. Great Father's Day present.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for NAS Updated Side-Column Reference Bible, Genuine leather, black
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Bible!

Date:May 26, 2011
Customer Avatar
Steve
Location:Louisville, KY
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have owned two of these Bibles; the second one I purchased to replace the first I owned that was ruined in a car fire. I have owned the one I now have for over 13 years and it is standing up very well to the use. Excellent durability. The single column is just right for me and I have never had a problem with too little space to enter my notes alongside the text. I do a lot of marking and underlining, as well as writing notes. The Bible is excellent except for the paper. The paper could be a little thicker but other than that this is my favorite Bible among many I own. I recommend this to anyone.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for NAS Updated Side-Column Reference Bible, Genuine leather, black
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 27, 2011
Customer Avatar
godschic
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent, beautifully presented Bible! The personalised name made all the difference!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for NAS Updated Side-Column Reference Bible, Genuine leather, black
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Only Single Column Reference Bible

Date:March 16, 2011
Customer Avatar
RALatalango
Location:Angora, MN
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I ordered three of these for friends at their request. They could not find a one verse per line, single coulmn refernce Bible in the NASB translation. The fact is, unless someone knows differently, only Foundation Publications makes such a version - I searched every major publisher and could only find multi column refernce Bibles which I, and my friends find difficult to read and study from. I myself am on my second Bible like this from Foundation, having worn out the first. The type size was increased on my second Bible by a point making it even more readable. I've been using my current Bible daily as my primary Bible for at least ten years and it is still in very good condition. However, I may just order another to put away for when my current Bible wears out. I am afarid that I may not be able to get this particular style in the future since everyone seems to be going to two and three column formats. The center column reference really seems to force visual gymnastics, at least for me. If a NASB single column, one verse per line reference Bible that is very readable and rugged, is what you want, this is the Bible for you. (I have the black leather version)
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for NAS Updated Side-Column Reference Bible, Genuine leather, black
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 20, 2010
Customer Avatar
David Barnett
This is an excellent word for word literal translation Bible. I find the references on the side margin are much easier to access than at the bottom of the page. This is the first Bible I've had with the single column text, and I love it. I had determined not to mark this Bible as I ruined my dearly loved RSV by underlining too much. The Smyth sewn binding is rock solid, and should last me many years.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for NAS Updated Side-Column Reference Bible, Genuine leather, black
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:September 7, 2010
Customer Avatar
Edward Reynolds
Nice Bible for the price but a few things...not as much space for note-taking in the margins as I thought there'd be and the highlighting does bleed thru pretty easy. Also, the genuine leather feels synthetic or plastic to me.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for NAS Updated Side-Column Reference Bible, Genuine leather, black
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:March 17, 2010
Customer Avatar
Michael Gabriel
Everything about this bible is excellent. The only downside is that the margins are not very wide for writing notes. The bible was listed in the wide-margin category; it is not wide.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for NAS Updated Side-Column Reference Bible, Genuine leather, black
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 12, 2010
Customer Avatar
Cheryl-Lee Raine
I own several Bibles, some of which are wide-margin Bibles. I think that every serious student of God's Word should own a wide-margin Bible. I own a NIV Wide-Margin Bible and also the NASB New Inductive Study Bible, however I recently purchased this Bible. I LOVE the New American Standard for study, it is also a great translation for reading (I use both the NIV & NLT for that).This Bible has excellent cross-references and I love how the text is single column, which makes it even better for reading. Having the words of our Lord in black letter is great and the type size is great, especially for my eyesight. I would recommend anyone to purchase this Bible and, if buying as a gift for someone, get their name embossed on the leather. I did and it looks great, an heirloom in the making. One qualm I have is that the marginal space is not as big as the NASB New Inductive Study Bible but still adequate for me and my notations.For anyone who is considering ordering from CBD.com overseas, I strongly recommend it. I ordered it a fortnight from the date of this review and it arrived promptly. The customer service is outstanding, cannot find a better Christian book distributor yet and don't intend to. Thanks CBD.com!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>