Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Thomas Nelson Daddy Dates: Four Daughters, One Clueless Dad, and His Quest to Win Their Hearts: The Road Map for Any Dad to Raise a Strong and Confident Daughter - eBook

Thomas Nelson Daddy Dates: Four Daughters, One Clueless Dad, and His Quest to Win Their Hearts: The Road Map for Any Dad to Raise a Strong and Confident Daughter - eBook

daddy dates is a witty and relevant book that's sure to help any dad build a strong relationship with his daughter, no matter her age. A father of four teen daughters, author Greg Wright woke up one day to the realization that he had no idea how to raise his girls to be confident young women. In this book he poses the concept that by showing teen daughters what it's like to be treated with respect, love, and true interest by a man who loves them, they will grow into confident women. This action-oriented "how-to" book makes a perfect gift for dads and dads-to-be.
Average Customer Rating:
4.641 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(39 Reviews) 39
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (39 reviews)
5 stars
27
4 stars
10
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
0
39 out of 39100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Daddy Dates: Four Daughters, One Clueless Dad, and His Quest to Win Their Hearts: The Road Map for Any Dad to Raise a Strong and Confident Daughter - eBook
Review 1 for Daddy Dates: Four Daughters, One Clueless Dad, and His Quest to Win Their Hearts: The Road Map for Any Dad to Raise a Strong and Confident Daughter - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Very down to earth advice

Date:March 13, 2012
Customer Avatar
smanscill
Location:prattville, al
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I got this book for my husband who sometimes has trouble talking to our 2 teenage girls. He has tried other books before and set them down because they weren't really what he was looking for. My husband finished this book fairly quickly and I have noticed a distinctive change in his conversations with our girls. I believe this book is a great book for fathers who need a little help with developing a deeper relationship with their daughter(s).
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Daddy Dates: Four Daughters, One Clueless Dad, and His Quest to Win Their Hearts: The Road Map for Any Dad to Raise a Strong and Confident Daughter - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great dad-daughter insights

Date:March 8, 2012
Customer Avatar
Anngladys Gichuhi
Location:Kenya
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is one book that I would recommend for all fathers to read. All fathers who want to be dads to their girls. Greg Wright writes about the dates that he has taken his daughters on, and the results of dating his daughters.
I was particularly awed by the ring factor, where upon turning 16, he gives his daughter a ring, promising to take care of her until he hands her over to her husband-to-be. This makes the girl feel very special, and as they continue to date, she matures through the learning process, and gets to know what treatment and attributes to expect from a man – setting her standards pretty high and consequently protecting her from very potential heartbreak.
I highlighted many of the parts as I read, such as the following.
QUOTES
“I believe it’s the job of every husband and father to understand that his job – perhaps his most important job is to be the pursuer. Not just at the beginning, but all the way through….Girls want us to discover their specialness, praise it, and treasure it.”
“Keep knocking. Your little girl is in there somewhere, and she wants and needs your love and approval.”
“I want their daughters to value their bodies, sure, but also understand that their bodies do not define who they are. That’s the plan, anyway. I am trying to teach them that sex – as fun and important as it is in life – will not deliver what they want, which is true love and real intimacy.” (Wright)
This is a book I will be reading over and over again. Only one disappointment though, he doesn’t talk about how to dad a woman, because as he honestly lets known, he doesn’t know how to (yet.) I’m waiting for that book, Wright. Write it, Wright!
This book was provided for review by Thomas Nelson Publishing. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 <http://www.access.gpo.gov/nara/cfr/waisidx_03/16cfr255_03.html>: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Daddy Dates: Four Daughters, One Clueless Dad, and His Quest to Win Their Hearts: The Road Map for Any Dad to Raise a Strong and Confident Daughter - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A great guide to winning your daughters' hearts

Date:February 19, 2012
Customer Avatar
welovetohomeschool
Location:New York
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Greg Wright is the father of 4 daughters. As they grew older, he felt a burden to capture and hold on to their hearts. In this book, he shares his journey of what he did and what he learned, in the hopes that other dads might benefit from it on their quest to win their daughters' hearts.
I liked the sound of this book. I have read and listened to many messages about making sure you have your children's hearts. So I was curious to read Greg Wright's suggestions.
He is honest and transparent in his story. He doesn't claim to have it all together or to know all the answers. But he does share what he has learned and what works for him. The book is intended for dads, but I enjoyed reading it. As a mom, I still learned a lot from it.
It is so important for children to feel loved and treasured, to know that they matter. They need to know that their parents are willing to take the time to get to know them and that they will make an effort to be available.
This book is a great place to start and includes lots of detailed advice.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze®.com book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the FTC’s 16 CFR, Part 255.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Daddy Dates: Four Daughters, One Clueless Dad, and His Quest to Win Their Hearts: The Road Map for Any Dad to Raise a Strong and Confident Daughter - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great book for all men with woman in their lives.

Date:January 16, 2012
Customer Avatar
SommersR
Daddy Dates is a great book for dads looking to love on their daughters. The book is a great starter on how to get involved and actually know who your daughter is. What do they love. What makes them who they are. It gives you some great ideas on how to get to know your daughter and have your whole heart into it. You want your daughters to know that they are valued and loved for who they are.
I think that Greg Wright did a great job on writing this book. He is full of common sense and mixes it up with lots of humor. He is not afraid to say what he thinks and does a great job of saying things that stick with you.
I would really recommend this book to all dads with daughters. I also think it would be a great book for all guys to read so they may be able to understand any woman in their lives better!
*This book was graciously given to me by booksneeze for my review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Daddy Dates: Four Daughters, One Clueless Dad, and His Quest to Win Their Hearts: The Road Map for Any Dad to Raise a Strong and Confident Daughter - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great Book for parents, not just dads!

Date:November 23, 2011
Customer Avatar
anniecannie
Location:Ontario, Canada
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I had the pleasure of reading the book daddy dates by Greg Wright. Greg Wright is the father of 4 daughters and realized that he needed to get to know his daughters and came up with the idea to `date' his daughters. He realized he `needed a better strategy to understand what makes them tick so [he] could have a shot at connecting with them in a profound way'.
Although I am not a father as a parent I found this book heartwarming. Watching many children grow up including my own and their friends there are many times where the parent/child relationship is strained and challenged. Taking the time to get to know your child or in this case daughter beyond "how was your day today". The dates do not have to be expensive they just have to be tailored to the child. You must connect with them. Find out what is going on in their life.
I think the relationship between Father/Daughter is so important. It will definitely have an effect on them choosing a spouse. Giving the daughter an understanding on how she deserves to be treated and not just letting anyone into her life.
I was truly blessed reading this book which offers lots of practical advice and the reason why Greg chose to date his daughter. A must to read for every father!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Daddy Dates: Four Daughters, One Clueless Dad, and His Quest to Win Their Hearts: The Road Map for Any Dad to Raise a Strong and Confident Daughter - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great book for Dads!

Date:November 18, 2011
Customer Avatar
smasters
Location:Georgia
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Daddy Dates is written by a dad of four daughters. It was a quick, light read. The author talks about the importance of spending one on one time with each of your children (in this book, specifically your daughthers). He tells how you can't really know your daughters unless you spend that uninterrupted time with them individually. He gave some great ideas and examples from his own "dates" with his daughters. "Dating" your daughter doesn't have to be expensive, but it should be well-planned and meaningful. Study your daughter to know what she likes to do and then join her in doing it! This would make a great gift for a new Dad of a daughter or for Father's Day!
I was given a copy of this book from Thomas Nelson publishers via BookSneeze in return for my honest review of the book. I was not otherwise compensated and all opinions are my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Daddy Dates: Four Daughters, One Clueless Dad, and His Quest to Win Their Hearts: The Road Map for Any Dad to Raise a Strong and Confident Daughter - eBook
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Good topic but light on information

Date:October 6, 2011
Customer Avatar
tfkr
Location:Grand Rapids, MI
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Daddy Dates was a timely book as I have a young daughter and needed the encouragement to continue to build into my relationship with my daughter. The general idea behind the book is amazing, however it seemed that the book didn’t really move past the idea that fathers need to build a relationship with their children. He helps fathers see that a man must “date” his daughters just like he dates or dated their mother.
I believe that in our present times where so many fathers focus more on their career and providing for their family financially, Wright points out that we need to be there relationally and emotionally for our daughters.
In my mind the book could have had more practical ideas and ways for implementing the technique into the readers life. The book was a quick read which was primarily do to the fact that it was a culmination of stories about his own experiences. The book would have gained more in my rankings if it had more factual evidence or proof from others who have applied his techniques.
Overall it was a good read.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze®.com <http://BookSneeze®.com> book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 <http://www.access.gpo.gov/nara/cfr/waisidx_03/16cfr255_03.html> : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Daddy Dates: Four Daughters, One Clueless Dad, and His Quest to Win Their Hearts: The Road Map for Any Dad to Raise a Strong and Confident Daughter - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Simply put

Date:August 1, 2011
Customer Avatar
kaeb
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recently I read "Daddy Dates" and honestly couldn't put the book down. While I am a female and the book was intended for males, the message was still the same- dad's need to invest time in their daughters. Greg Wright wrote in such a simple way and offered so much advice when it came to this subject. His purpose was simple, show his daughters love before other men did.
I truly loved this book and felt that it was a book all ment of daughters need to read.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Daddy Dates: Four Daughters, One Clueless Dad, and His Quest to Win Their Hearts: The Road Map for Any Dad to Raise a Strong and Confident Daughter - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Daddy Dates are fun!

Date:July 29, 2011
Customer Avatar
Michelle
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
As a father with four daughters, Greg Wright has found what works for their family. Daddy Dates. He began dating his girls from a young age and has now put his experience into this entertaining and informative book. Wright takes us on a journey of age groups, personality types and the affects of peers.
Greg wants what we all want for our daughters, the hope that they will grow up to be strong and confident. The hope that we will have strong relationships with our children throughout their lives. And the hope to save them from too much heartache as they journey through adolescence.
continue reading... http://t.co/fabeErr
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Daddy Dates: Four Daughters, One Clueless Dad, and His Quest to Win Their Hearts: The Road Map for Any Dad to Raise a Strong and Confident Daughter - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

The Perfect Father/Daughter Guide to Life

Date:June 4, 2011
Customer Avatar
The Phantom Paragrapher
Location:Tauranga, New Zealand
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Review: Daddy Dates- Greg Wright - May 2011
Daddy Dates , this is a topic that hits close to home for me and as soon as I saw this book offered to review on Booksneeze , I knew I just had too. Growing up in my household has always been a challenge, but something that ever since I can remember is that my dad has always made time for us to go on daddy-dates . From just the two of us at the movies watching Pirates of the Carribean 4: On Stranger tides to having Thursday night dinners at either KFC or Crown and Badger to Saturday/Sunday afternoons every so often at Bayfair - Just the two of us. It is something that I think all parents and in this case fathers should do with their children and if they have sons , then have a father/son man's date. In Daddy Dates by Greg Wright it tells the adventures of his dates with his four daughters and at the back of the book it comes with a personality quiz to see if you are a lion, golden retriever, beaver, otter - I came in more a Golden Retriever followed closely by Mr. Beaver. It also includes 15 top date ideas for you and your daughter to have fun with. The one thing that you have to remember about father/daughter dates is that you dont have to be a switched on/ wealthy dad you just have to know how to love your daughter and have fun :)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Daddy Dates: Four Daughters, One Clueless Dad, and His Quest to Win Their Hearts: The Road Map for Any Dad to Raise a Strong and Confident Daughter - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Strongly Recommended!

Date:July 13, 2011
Customer Avatar
Jessica T
Location:Dallas, TX
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Daddy Dates by Greg Wright is a wonderful book for anyone(a mother or father) that wants to raise a strong, confident daughter. I was given the chance to read this book by Booksneeze and am so thankful for the opportunity! I laughed, I cried and I've tucked away a lot of helpful information about raising girls. We have 3 daughters, so I think the information will come in handy! The book was written really well, almost like Greg was sitting across from you at the coffee shop and was explaining what worked for him and his family. It is a book that I wish I could buy a copy for everyone of our friends that has daughters. I believe it could make a ton of difference in a young girls self esteem if fathers simply followed the principles in this book. He talks about spending time doing things that your daughters enjoy doing. He doesn't suggest simply quality time, but time doing an activity they enjoy and actually talking to them. I lost my Daddy when I was a preteen, but I had a wonderful relationship with him, because he took time to talk to me. We went on walks and talked and did things I wanted to do. It was not all about him. This book has really made me examine my parenting and I hope it helps me be a better parent.
I would definitely recommend this book to anyone that has a daughter, no matter if she's 1 or 21! This book was received from Thomas Nelson Press in exchange for an honest review. The opinions expressed are my own and have not been influenced in any way.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Daddy Dates: Four Daughters, One Clueless Dad, and His Quest to Win Their Hearts: The Road Map for Any Dad to Raise a Strong and Confident Daughter - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:July 6, 2011
Customer Avatar
lb4momma
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The book, "Daddy Dates," by motivational leader Greg Wright gave great insight on how dads can establish a better relationship with their daughter(s). I chose this book because we have 3 girls, and I'm sure my husband empathizes with the author of this book. Greg Wright has 4 girls and even their family pet is a female. We have 3 girls, and both pets are females as well. Anyway...
This book was written in an easy-to-read format sparing the reader from big words that therapists and psychologists or other doctors/professionals would use. There is a wealth of practical advice provided within the pages of the book. Wright is very open and honest about the details of the dates he took his daughters on and their reactions.
My prayer is that both my husband and I have great relationships with our daughters. We want them to be able to talk to us about anything!! “Daddy Dates” has wonderful ideas on how we can do that, of course, it begins with us.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze®.com <http://BookSneeze®.com> book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 <http://www.access.gpo.gov/nara/cfr/waisidx_03/16cfr255_03.html> : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Daddy Dates: Four Daughters, One Clueless Dad, and His Quest to Win Their Hearts: The Road Map for Any Dad to Raise a Strong and Confident Daughter - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great resource for dads

Date:July 5, 2011
Customer Avatar
MuseReviews
Location:Southern USA
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
It may be easy parenting a daughter when she's little....but what happens when she becomes even more independent, when she's less apt to be daddy's little girl?
That's the point of Greg Wright's book, Daddy Dates. He readily recognizes that all females desire to be pursued, and to be heard. This "man's man" and father of four teenage daughters writes a candid book of how he intentionally seeks out time with each of his girls, drawing on his skills as a master date planner.
The book is written for guys, clever, practical, and easily digestible in a weekend read. He holds to his main point, to grow a thriving relationship with your daughter, with the goal that she will be able to think for herself and make good, grounded decisions.
The book never gets preachy, and Wright even references that the idea is still an ongoing, real life experiment that's getting good results. But a dad with positive rapport with his teenage daughters? There's some wisdom in there I would like to glean. I don't remember his specifically stating if he is a Christian, but he does reference God several times in the book. The book never takes an extremely spiritual tone, but rather remains focused on practical examples of how to develop solid relationships with his daughters.
Wright does delve into some basic personality type psychology, but it's light and applicable...and a helpful reminder about what's truly important in parenting daughters today.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Daddy Dates: Four Daughters, One Clueless Dad, and His Quest to Win Their Hearts: The Road Map for Any Dad to Raise a Strong and Confident Daughter - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Loved it!!

Date:May 11, 2011
Customer Avatar
Sandy
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Daddy Dates by Greg Wright
"Daddy Dates" by Greg Wright is a quick, easy, charming read. Greg shares the story of his "dating life" with his 4 teenage daughters. He also points out reasons this "dating" is important for the growth and development of his daughters as women, as well as himself as a father.
His entertaining and humorous conversation style of writing made reading his adventures a joy. The chapters are short and sweet making it easy to put it down (if absolutely necessary-however I doubt you will want to) and pick right back up where you left off. Some chapters were hilarious making me giggle out loud. Others were touching and made me tear up at the sweetness and thoughtfulness that this father put into in daughters.
Not only was it insightful into the mind of a father but also to the mind of men and women alike. Comparing men's brains to "Container Store" store boxes made me think "Ohhhh so that's why!" And his comparing women's brains to pieces that all move and connect to each other also made me think "Ohhh so that's why!"
I would definitely recommend this book for fathers of girls of any age. My husband (who doesn't enjoy reading unless it's about fishing)will hear about this book for sure. Since it is such an easy, enjoyable, and humorous read maybe he will be able to pull some usable gems to put into practice. Happy Reading!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Daddy Dates: Four Daughters, One Clueless Dad, and His Quest to Win Their Hearts: The Road Map for Any Dad to Raise a Strong and Confident Daughter - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Book!

Date:June 14, 2011
Customer Avatar
Thoughts from my hands
Location:Togo, West Africa
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Book Review: “Daddy Dates” Greg Wright
In the book “Daddy Dates” Greg Wright opens up about how raising four daughters has changed his life. He challenges dads today to not only raise their daughters, but to have a relationship with them. Weather you have a small daughter, teenager, or young women this book can really help you understand how to connect to your daughter. From feeling like your relationship with your daughter is slowly going downhill, or trying to figure out how in the world to do this dad-thing, this book is a plus for any dad!
Being a daughter myself, I was very curious as to what Mr. Wright had to say. As I started reading “Daddy Dates” I realized that Mr. Wright is not speaking about what he thinks rather what he knows. This book hit the mark! I have a great dad who has been totally involved in my life. I thank God everyday for my dad, but I have watched too many of my friends suffer from a lack of dad. Weather dad wasn’t there or just wasn’t interested, it hurts just the same. I would recommend that every dad read this book, and not just read, but practice what is says!
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze®.com <http://BookSneeze®.com> book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 <http://www.access.gpo.gov/nara/cfr/waisidx_03/16cfr255_03.html> : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Daddy Dates: Four Daughters, One Clueless Dad, and His Quest to Win Their Hearts: The Road Map for Any Dad to Raise a Strong and Confident Daughter - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A how-to with heart

Date:June 13, 2011
Customer Avatar
Patricia L
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Initially, I had a weird reaction to the idea of a dad taking his daughters on dates. I guess there was a bit of an ick factor. BUT I got over that pretty quickly. Wright has killed two birds with one stone with his Daddy dates. He has modeled what a "real" date should be like for his daughters {hopefully this keeps their standards high and helps them avoid less-than-desirable dates}. At the same time, he really did get to know his girls. There's something to be said for the amount of work that went into that. The dates were carefully planned and were tailored to each daughter's interests. Wright even shares personality tests which can shed some light on interests and personality traits.
Personally, I tend to assume a lot of things about my children... like that their interests will be similar to mine. A perfect example is when I took my oldest to Zumba not too long ago. I'd talked it up and been so excited for her to go with me, only to find out afterwards that she didn't enjoy it. I also feel like I spend a lot of time on auto-pilot or thinking about what needs to be done next instead of enjoying the "now". In doing this, I am missing opportunities to really get to know my kids.
I realize I'm not necessarily the intended audience for Daddy Dates, but I still enjoyed the book. Wright is funny and what he delivers is, for the most part, common sense. That might not seem like a compliment, but with as busy and distracted as we tend to get, common sense isn't always "common".
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Daddy Dates: Four Daughters, One Clueless Dad, and His Quest to Win Their Hearts: The Road Map for Any Dad to Raise a Strong and Confident Daughter - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Wish My Dad Had Taken Me out on Daddy Dates

Date:June 13, 2011
Customer Avatar
wahmivy
Location:Marikina City, Philippines
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Daddy Dates" is a how-to guide for fathers on taking out their own daughters on one-on-one outings and in the process, establishing a stronger bond with them. It is supposedly the "road map for any dad to raise a strong and confident daughter". It's not your typical parenting book written by a PhD. Greg Wright is your average dad who stumbled across a surprisingly simple and yet effective method of connecting with his daughters as well as impacting their lives positively during the typical years of growing pains. The book is aimed at fathers with at least one daughter, but it's really for any male who wishes to establish a special relationship with the females in his life.
I thought the book very entertaining. It is humorous and engaging, even if I found some of the ideas already familiar. It does give many useful tips, and if I were a father raising a daughter, I'd be excited to try out an idea or two as soon as possible. I'm not a father, but I'm married to somebody who is and we're raising a daughter together. I'm definitely making my husband read it as I'm certain it'll benefit our family immensely. Incidentally, I was also able to read the book from the perspective of a man's daughter. While I undoubtedly have a good father, I don't remember him taking me out on a real "daddy date". If we had done "daddy dates", I think my foray into dating life would have been a more positive and secure experience and not one that was prompted by magazine articles from doubtful sources.
The book has a good blend of theory and illustrations from Wright's personal experiences. The basic idea was discussed thoroughly, with plenty of insight and wit. Another good thing about it is that while the author knew what he was talking about, he never came off sounding like a know-it-all. He's somebody whom fathers could feel would be able to relate to them, even in their moments of confusion and uncertainty.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Daddy Dates: Four Daughters, One Clueless Dad, and His Quest to Win Their Hearts: The Road Map for Any Dad to Raise a Strong and Confident Daughter - eBook
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:June 11, 2011
Customer Avatar
Chris
Readers of Daddy Dates by Greg Wright should not approach this book expecting to glean some new, profound, or ground breaking insight. Really, a lot of what you'll read between the covers of this book is common sense. However, my experience is that common sense is not necessarily all that common. To that end, Daddy Dates is a very quick, easy, and lighthearted read that seeks to encourage fathers to pursue relationship with their daughters. Greg Wright shares how, through his own journey of trying to be a faithful and loving father to four daughters, he has come up with an approach that allows him to regularly break away from the household rut - away from school, sports, and family - and get real with his kids. He shares how, through studying his daughters and getting to know each of their unique personalities, he is able to plan special times (daddy dates) with each of his girls that ensures that they are the main event. And more importantly, Wright shares how through dating his daughters, he is able to perform some "daughter decoding" - using this one on one time to ferret out the truth of their hearts and minds in an effort to find their God-given abilities and nurture them. Best of all, Wright shares it in a way that is very approachable for the "average" dad.
In the end, Daddy Dates is really about encouraging dads to combine three readily available components - talk + action + time - to establish and build trust with their children in the hopes of maintaining a position of influence that will have eternal impacts.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Daddy Dates: Four Daughters, One Clueless Dad, and His Quest to Win Their Hearts: The Road Map for Any Dad to Raise a Strong and Confident Daughter - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

building relationships between father and daughter

Date:June 10, 2011
Customer Avatar
Hannah
Location:Minnesota
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Daddy Dates by Greg Wright was a great book to get you thinking about how you should be treating your daughters and get them thinking on how they want to be treated from a man in the future. As parents we should be training our children so why not carry that over to the dating arena and showing them what they should expect and how they should be treated. Greg does a great job of not only showing you what to expect with girls throughout the years but also getting into their minds to show the reader how girls think. He writes very cleary and adds a good amount of humor into it.
I recieved this book for my husband to read and he really enjoyed it. Our girls are still a little young but it is never too early to start. He has some great pointers on what to be watching out for and also ideas of things to do with them throughout the years. As fathers it is really important to win your little girls hearts so they will trust you and be strong, confident women when they grow up. Dad's play a key role in this. Daddy Dates is a must read for every dad who has little girls.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Daddy Dates: Four Daughters, One Clueless Dad, and His Quest to Win Their Hearts: The Road Map for Any Dad to Raise a Strong and Confident Daughter - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 5, 2011
Customer Avatar
Jack
Location:West Bend
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
As a dad to one precious daughter I was looking forward to diving into Daddy Dates by Greg Wright from the moment I saw the title. I have read numerous books on parenting, and some specifically for dad's and daughters, but this one was highly anticipated since the author has four daughters himself. What I liked from the start with this book was the humility of the author. He does not come out with a new "how to" or offer some theory of parenting that works with everyone; he is simply sharing his story of how he raised and continues to raise his daughters. My goal has been to be a hero to my own daughter and have her look to me as an example of how a man should act towards women. I often fail and fall short, and this is why it is great to have a plan and an outline. You may stray from it periodically but this book can certainly help you stay on course. One of the best reminders for me as a dad, and I think all men can relate, is the reminder that we try to fix things and don't give sufficient time for listening and hearing. Allowing for your daughter to talk without offering solutions every time is something I will have in my mind from now on....even when it is painful to do so. One of the key points that the author has done with his daughters is in regards to dating. Without spoiling this, it certainly will spark a conversation, regardless whether or not you agree with it. I admit, it has me thinking even though my daughter is not that age yet. For the fathers out there that are trying their best to understand women, specifically your daughter(s) this is a great book. I would highly recommend it to all fathers as you will undoubtedly glean at least a couple ideas that will help you be the father that God intended.
I did receive this book from the Booksneeze bloggers program for free in exchange for an honest review and was not compelled to post an positive review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>